Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi AnW,

U can try to do a L-shaped march in lor....
not too long not too short....
hehehhe...
me will be doing the L-shaped march in ;p
max 45 tables, so stil alright for you.

Hi Pipi
You mean if 45 tables and below can do L-sharp march in??? hee hee...... Erm, will the other side of the guest not see us as clearly then?
Does it mean if got projector, can only have one at the centre only????
I actually planned to have some kids (nephews & nieces ) line up along the path way and throw petals at us lor......cos hard to choose which little ones to walk in as page boy/ flower girl as i am close to all of them.

Oh Yes......Brides out there:
Anyone of of you have the Map of Oriental Hotel???
I thought of adding on an insert together with my invitation cards , showing them that they must park with the hotel to enjoy complimentary parking. If park at Marina Sq, they got to pay themselves. pls assist

Hi AnW,

Actually i haven't see the layout yet... Just tot the long is too long and the short is too short... so decided on the L-shaped lor....
But guess if u dun hv so many tables, not many guest will missed your march-in lah... they can still see u clearly on stage, rite? ;)

Hi all Oriental couples-to-be

I have about 100 Oriental's maroon invitation cards and envelopes left over from my wedding. Some of the cards are already tied with gold strings.

I would like to give them away. Is any one interested in taking over the cards?

Dear Starduzt,

u are really our "jiu xing"..my hubby and I just had a bad headache that we run out of 100+ maroon cards and we not sure how to ask Agnes for the extra cos she has been very nice to give us 20 cards extra. But after we work out the confirmed guests tonite, we find that we need any extra 100 cards cos most of our guests are our friends instead of relatives.

My hubby and I would really really appreciate if you could give us the extra cards, cos we really don't want to top up for the extra wedding cards as we are quite budgted...and we really feel shy to ask Agnes for more..

Starduzt, could you email me at [email protected], so that I could reply you my hp no. and we can meet up.

Hope to hear your good news soon..

Thank you very much...
: )

Hi there esp ex oriental brides

could i check wat colour evening gown did u wear to match the theme/lighting of oriental?

m in the midst of gown fitting and need some advice.

was thinking more of bright colours like red etc?

Tks.

Hi inc,

I think colours in the family of red / gold / brown will match the theme well. For my case, I chose maroon. Don't worry about clashing with the VIP table cloths coz Agnes used pale orange crinkled table cloths instead or red / maroon when she learnt about the colour of my evening gown.

heehee.. but i prefer the maroon table cloth as opposed to the orange crinkled table.

out of red, gold, brown
think i will prefer red.. cannot take brown.
as for gold, need to try it out.
Tks starduzt.

Babbit,

You were so lucky to get the complimentary stay from Saturday onwards. I have to pay 391+++ for the harbour suite on Saturday and move to the complimentary Bridal suite the next day as my church wedding is on Saturday and ballroom is not available for me on that very day and I have to throw my dinner on Sunday. Too bad, I did not read yr message until now.

Mind I ask why did u choose the crab claw instead of noodle or rice on the 8th course, not quite the norm to me.

Jaci

Anyone swapping the free flow of beer to wine? And how much wine would Oriental provide for this swap, advice?

Many of our friends are wine drinkers and my FMIL is telling us her business associates prefer wine!!

Hi tiara
hope things r gg fine for u!

i swopped mine for 38 bottles of red wine. i think it's a very gd deal. u can discuss with agnes. =)
mine was the same situation as yrs, all my frens and parent's frens, relatives all indicate preference for red wine.

Hi bortei!

38 bottles of red wine - did you have any whites? Also what about beer then?

yo tiara
i opt for all red wine, nope, i didn't serve any beer at all.
total wine consumption for my 30 tables were 40 bottles. i think agnes will ask you what;s the cut off bottle, us was 50 bottles then as most of my guests are great wine drinkers.but at the end of the day, we only paid for 2 bottles.
we opened 2 bottles of different wine during our food tasting, thus decided not to bring in bring in our own ( very ley chey), just order from Oriental.

just wanna ask about the parking thing. I know we have complimentry VALET parking. Does any of you know if guests drive straight into Oriental Carpark themelves, can get complimentary tickets as well?

Oh ya, on food tasting day, bascially what we need to do is EAT right? How if we feel one dish is not that good? Can ask them to cook immediately on the spot another choice?hee hee

And when do we choose our favours???

Thanks!!!

Hi AnW

I am going for my food tasting mid Nov. I believe we will have to discuss with our co-ordinator if we want changes to the dishes... I really don't know, tell you after I ask Agnes.

As for favors, it will be during your final discussion session with Agnes, 3-4 weeks before wedding

Hi, I've attended a wedding dinner first time at Oriental recently. Sadly, I'm a bit disappointed with the food. The food were served very slowly, by 10pm, we only finished the 3rd dish. A lot of people do not like a dish which is only a piece of winter melon (and that consider a dish?!). If possible, opt it out and exchange to something else. Lastly, the food portion is too little, I'm still hungry after I got home.

I've had my foodtasting and quite satisfied with the food. I find the portions big enough for 10 person and the chef is friendly too and willing to accomodate to changes. Felt v full after the foodtasting session. Didn't choose the winter melon dish so can't comment, maybe can opt for the other dishes to be on the safe side.

Hi Beverly

Any 'recommendations" on which dishes are the MUST TRY ones???? hee hee
Well Fritt, the dinner you attended was it a weekday one? Perhaps the dinner started later becos most guests haven't arrive yet - then dinner started pretty late? Other than the wnter melon, any other dishes which you think is not good - would be good if you could gvie us more of your comments because we as Oriental Brides will be a little worried you know.

Hi AnW, I attended a weekend one. The dinner started late still consider a norm. But the speed they serve food was really slow, I think it's because not enough waiters.

Another dish which I find it troublesome (esp for the ladies) is the fried prawn in a satay stick. Think the purpose for the satay stick is to keep the prawn body straightened up while they fried. Someone beside me attempted to pull the prawn out of the stick and as expected, it fly out and landed on the table. I think he's not alone. While some of us try to eat it with the stick and as we apply chilli sauce or the special sauce provided on the prawn, we dirtied our cheek while sinking our teeth on the prawn. It may not look good for those beautiful female guests. Also do not like the braised duck, maybe because I had duck noodle from coffee shop in the afternoon, it tasted exactly like it.

AnW, my favourites are the king prawn with honey sauce and the crab dish! Quite true that the king prawn can be messy to eat but i really love it. It's really good with the honey sauce. Just ask the hotel to leave the stick longer then it's easier to pull it out. Problem solved! Tried the duck dish as well, so so. But it's not too bad.

Thanks Fritt/ Beverly
For your comments.....think will chose the prawn to food taste first. I guess the rest of the dishes should be qite standard and ok eh? Oh the duck - think try that first too, at 1st wanted to get just the simple roast chicken, but parents say "duck" look better. Will substitute straight with Chicken if the duck taste no good. Har - FISH leh???? Promfret good??? I like to eat promfret - hee hee
Thanks ladies

Hi beverly,

The chef came out to talk to you during the food tasting? Was your co-ordinator there? How was the whole process like? Thanks!

Tiara,
If there's anything item you want to change or any comments on the dish u can get the chef to come over and talk. My coordinator wasn't around, we just eat and write comments on a form provided.

Hey Gals
The food tasting is for how many PAX har???
This is one thing I didn't check with Agnes at all - haha.....10pax???

Just wanna check, how many "themes" are we allowed to choose for our ballroom? Or Oriental only has one standard theme?
Have been to a wedding dinner at Orchard Parade (Club Chinos), they had balloons everywhere - so sweet. Perhaps we got to pay for our own balloons?

Hi AnW,

I believe you can do whatever you want to the ballroom, but if it's out of what Oriental provides, you have to pay for the extras.

I am going for my food tasting soon, update you gals when I am back

Thanks Inc/ Tiara

I remember so other hotels can choose themes one!

Anyway Tiara, enjoy your food......will wait patiently for your feedback. I going end of the month.

We've had our food tasting already, and I must say the food tasted great. My parents and PIL love the food too. And thankfully for us, both sets of parents have same comments on the same dishes, so it's a breeze.

The chef also came out at dessert time to speak to us. He's a very cheerful man. He also told us to let him have our most honest opinion so he can work on the dishes to suit our likes.

We had our minds on the lobster salad for first dish before we went (even though we tried the BBQ platter). But after the food tasting, we are sticking to the BBQ platter - it's yummy! One thing we all didn't like was the duck in red wine sauce - tasted funny!~ The sauce for the cod fish was tad too sweet, chef said he'd reduce the honey on that day.

The yam pudding we had was also nice - not too sweet.

I believe that there are a few head chefs so all of us may not get the same chef to prepare our dishes.

Hi tiara

dat great. i do intend to get the lobster salad too.. any one has tried this? how is the portion?
i heard that the duck, cod fish and the crab claws with bun are delicious items.

So what are u going to replace the duck dish?

Hv a good preparation and great wedding day.

Hi oops,

I fell in love with the BBQ platter so not getting lobster. Heard the portion for lobster salad is quite small, but I haven't seen it so maybe the other gals can comment.

Will probably change the duck to the all-so-common chicken

When's your food tasting?

Hi tiara

not so soon, mine is next yr but gathering feedback.
did ask Melanie for some recommendation wen she is still wif Oriental.

Hee hee, i MIA for so long - was too busy preparing for the wedding and work committments

Anyway, went for my food tasting last weekend.
THe BBQ Platter was good - but we changed the duck to Lobster and some seafood roll.....they are very flexible. The Crisy Prawn was Fantastic- very special dish. The Duck in Red Wine was to our liking as well - really special taste , think depends on individual taste lah. The Ee-Fu Noodles was the best, we felt. Tasted very good.....Yam Pudding also great- not too sweet. There is a Mushroom & Shitake with Garden vege - the sauce was very 'xiang' too......we had the Promfret - very fresh, just that soup may be slight saltish- we told the chef that.He is a very helpful and 'easy-going' person i felt.
hee hee Basically, we are satsified with the food taste on the whole, just commented that they must help us make the dishes more 'colourful".

Recently went to a friend's wedding at Oriental.
Must say that their dishes are quite innovative. Like some1 has mentioned the Crispy Prawn n chilli crab claw with bun... Yummy. Service was good. Love their wedding favours... Small teddy bears n lover key chain (a couple).

So all the good things and now thgs I dun really like abt Oriental is the low ceiling n bad sound system. The music sounded very coarse n rough, hence not that lomantic.

Juz my personal opinions

Hi Chatterbox
har - their sound system so poor one ..... hmmmm, i must reflect to Agnes.

Anyway, i have one very big concern - the parking.
All Oriental Brides out there, how did you settle parking??? Hotel said Complimentary with only Valet Parking BUT what if guests drive in straight?? I actually noticed that there is a Marina Square Car Park entrance next to the hotel lobby. Many guests will gladly assume that is Oriental hotel car park- which the hotel will not validate for us.How did most of you 'settle'???

hi all, juz had my banquet last tue so tot of sharing some experiences.

food was better than wat we had during food tasting according to my dad. no complaints heard on food so far. chef Roy was very friendly. came to us aft the dinner to ask for our comments. very professional.

we chose the couple keychains as the favour and its a hit !!! our guests simply love it !! asked my sis in law to collect the leftovers aft the dinner and to our surprise there was not many left !!

sound system was really bad. like wat chatterbox said, coarse and rough. heard it the first time during my dinner and was very disappy wif it. really affected the ambience for march in.

anyway we opted for the long march in since having only 35 tables. but it was not that ideal tho as guests kinda got "bored" as we marched in...so very paisay to hear applause dying aft some time and we were merely half way thru it.

parking was the biggest confusion. an advice to those who hvnt printed their cards - you might wanna add in "Valet Parking is Complimentary" in your card. coz despite reminders to guests, many still parked in the marina sq. carpark. some were very funny, when they realised that the comp. parking is only for valet they asked me wat to do... i really felt like replying "too bad lor" hahahhaa....

the $80 worth of supper was a very gd idea. we really pigged out aft the dinner since we hvnt eaten much during the dinner.... the most impt thing is, we get to enjoy the meal in the privacy of our suite aft the long day...

overall, i wld say oriental is good. agnes has been really helpful. the banquet manager ricky did a great job too. and i muz say oriental ballroom looks really classy....

u can change it for $80 worth of supper if u dun take the 9 course dinner. But the price is a bit on the high end, $80 can really get u much.just share what i gone thru last mth. overall, this is a d deal.thanks agnes for all ur help.

hm... the $80 supper is part of my package. din exchange anything for it... for $80, we had 2 main courses and a soup. enuf for a meal before bed

Hi AnW,

Yes, the sound system was really bad - heard it when we were there for the food tasting. Already fed that to Agnes, but wonder what can be done about it!

As for the valet parking, it really is a tricky issue. When Agnes confirmed that, I told my fiance - 'Darn! If only we found out earlier, we would have printed that line in the invites' as what edde has suggested.

But I don't think you need to be unduly worried about that, the parking is only $1.50 so reckon your guests won't complain too much. Oriental does not have its own car park, when you drive straight into the entrance of the car park, that is Marina Square's already.