Mandarin Oriental Singapore

winnie
no lah..mine is 19/03/05... on 12th is my JB side one...

Hi everyone! I'm planning my wedding from overseas and have heard that oriental ballroom is gorgeous following the renovation. Not initially in my shortlist but I'm now seriously considering it.

Does anyone have photos of the renovated ballroom to share as the next time I'm back in Singapore is Oct this year. Thanks

starstar

My hb also can hold liquer well bt both of us were empty stomach thru'out the whole day & he really kena alot - qty alot, quality also jin 'good.

I also drank lah bt nt as much as him, thin 1 or 2 glasses of mixed drinks (hard liquer & wine only), then others were all wine.

Imagine Oriental's glasses were big & they were all filled up.

hi winniepooh,

So you're having your wedding dinner next sat? my coordinator Caroline told me there's a wedding dinner on 14 May and i asked if i could go take a look at the room setting, flora deco & etc... heheh...

Has anyone seen the Atrium suite or have pictures to share ([email protected])? i'm considering doing my wedding luncheon there next year. I've only seen the floor plan but not the actual room.

star....my experience with oriental is not as good as wat most of u experuence, anyway I'm putting the matter to rest, I juz came back from my honeymoon & life after marriage is as good as b4

winnie
wah..taiwan? which part of taiwan? did u go gao shiong? heard the street side food are real nice..
so how's your meeting wif agnes n liping went? ok?

hi star

I'm meeting agnes & liping on wed, but I've decided to put the matter to a rest since it's already over, no point crying over spill milk.

I went to tour the whole of taiwan, i went gao shiong also, the street side food are really nice, my hubby enjoyed himself so much & he still drool when he think of those food

Hi gals, long time nv chat.

winniepooh

Can I kpo abit? Is Taiwan really nice? I m thinking of going to Taipei.

But b'cos of all the coming up wedd dinners we had, hb & I r thinking of gng only in Jul/ Aug, wonder hw bad the weather would be, my ex-coll told frm Taiwan said it will be real hot.

Are the things expensive? How long were you there? Was it on F&E? How much did you change?

Thks.

hi ah ger

I had a really good time in Taipei. jul/Aug will be pretty warm cos its their summer season. the things there are not too expensive, but dun buy imported products there, cos their import duty is very high, I was there for 10 days, 7 days with a guided tour & extended 3 days myself, I change $2K, I still have a bit of NT$ with me now

I'm still in the process of negotiating with Oriental for my dinner. Only managed to get free corkage, more cards and parking.

I told them I need more cards and parking cos a lot of my guests are single especially friends and colleagues. I think cards I got 80%, and they say they'll stand by the complimentary parking coupons on that day for the guests who don't do the valet parking.

Jessann
If possible ask for more freebies... for me, when I was still negotiating... I ask for a helper's room etc...they are very helpful..good choice...
when it was near my dinner, I asked for Merlot..but the house wine supplier dun have... so we order from an external supplier..they even waiver the corkage fees for all tables and on top of that, cos we have 35 tables... we got a nite stay for our anniversary which we switch from a nite stay for helpers during the dinner. (it's one of the entitlement but we managed to "squeeze" it out from the coordinator during the negotiaing stage)...so this entitlement was switched to our anni stay...
The event manager is also very helpful...
u gals made a great choice...

oh... ok. Actually the anniversary stay was not included in my package, but when I signed it, I noticed that it was included, so I just kept quiet and signed. I don't have that many tables, so it was a little difficult to bargain with, but thanks to a little help, I was able to get a pretty good deal. I got a day use helper's room as well. Well thank goodness that part is settled.

i went to oriental for its launch...I LOVE that place..it's got such a warm yet glam feel about it. I prefer more personal ballrooms, as opposed to those super glam ones..so i like low to mid-height ceilings, so Oriental is just right.

We haven't quite talked to the Oriental staff, cos i'm still deciding between Four Seasons and Oriental..so well, we'll see how it goes

akoyo
u can find her office number on the hotel's web site or in any bridal mags that feature them...
u tried these sources?

hi mandarin oriental brides!
I am seriously considering the hotel, but i haven't had a chance to see the ballroom all set up yet.
tho i agree their package is very comprehensive, the guests will be spending all the time in the ballroom...scared the ballroom not that nice ler...it seemed a bit bare when i went in to look at it..i've seen the official pics but i always think that is never as nice as the real thing...hehehhe, photographer's angle mar....anyone here got pics of their wedding at the ballroom post-renovations? can send to me? at [email protected]
thank you!!!! ;)

lilyn

the ballrm is fabulous after renovation, & after decoration, it's really nice. Very classic look, most of my guests love the place.

I m afraid I do nt have the pic w/ me off hand also. Sorry.

the price is $880+++ for weekend.
you can negotiate for wine, beer, corkage waiver, extra room for helpers, more parking, more cards

Hi ex-Oriental brides,

Those ex-Oriential brides who are previously affected by Oriential renovation, are you all compensated by Oriential ?

E.g. did Oriential offer you free 1 nite stay at Oriential hotel after their renovation ?

or other forms of compensation ?

I'm also considering the Oriental. Love its black theme! Spied by chance when I was there in Jul this year, so decide that i will be asking abt it. Can share the pictures and wedding packages with me please too? Thanks so much

Is anyone considering the Harbour Terrace (poolside) too? My AD is in Jul 06 with abt 150-200 pax...

Any feedback abt the food, service, etc?

any Oriental BTBs here?

i just went to meet the co-ordinator Michele... abit dunno how to bargain for free stuff... argh...

anyone care to share if they manage to get wavier for cockage? free beer?