Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi Kelsey

tks for the tips. i hv not seen the suites yet. heard the oriental suites are big n nice.
likely to go down over the weekend.

Hi babbit,

you can't choose the specific suite but you can request for one with a harbour view or city view....subject to availablity of course.

Hi kelsey..

i have not seen the harbour view suite...oni the biggest suite (3in1) but i dun really like the view.i think i'll like the harbour view better.

hi peace

Have u spoken to any of the coordinator?maybe u give me ur email add & i mail the info. to u

Hi bride to be

i hv spoken to the coordinator, know the package.tks for the offer

now just consolidating feedback. one concern is of course food which May has feedback it is good.would like to hear from more.

anyone who has tried the long walk -in. Does it look okay?
tks.

hi peace
i have seen the long march in and it looks pretty good. but it seems to be able to only accomodate 30 - 33 tables, anything more than that seems pretty cramp.

Hi Bortei

i only saw the short march in n find it really quite short. glad to know the long march in looks good. okay, i will target less than 33 tables then. did u see how they place the screen, projector with long march in. Tks.

hi peace and tiara
yes, it's coming from the cocktail area.
the day i went i did not see any screen nor projector.

the stage is all the way at the end, placed at the center.

L shaped?? Bortei, care to share if it is straight march in? L shaped would mean some views are blocked right.

Tks.

hi peace

i'm going to have to long march-in.i think it's nice to have a straight long march.i have the floor plan & the tables are lay 2 sides.good arrangment so tat the bride & the groom sides are seperated.

Hi bride to be

i would love to have it too. tks for the assurance.

any comment on oriental ballroom. went down once. like the pte reception area. as for the ballroom, it is cosy but not as grand as some others. no pillar though the ceiling is not too high. will pay more attention the next time i go down :P

hi peace

how many r u intending to have?

mine is abt 25 to 27 tables.i dun see any pillar for the ballroom & i think the ceiling is just nice cos if it's really too high then it will looks abit too empty for my number of tables

hi peace

r u the "peace" tat wrote in the forum abt the couple who can't have a proper wedding???
Just agree with wat ever u wrote

Hi bride to be

sorry, not me. guess there is another peace.

m hving the range of 25 to 32 tables as of this point. yup, there is no pillar. wat made u sign up with oriental?

Tks.

went down to view the ballroom today. there is 2 weddings going on. hm.. it is the short march in arrangment.. really short. trying to imagine the long march in. personally think the stage is a bit low n the deco is a bit simple. really like the reception area.

wat do all of u think??

hi peace..

u went to view the ballroom??which ballroom did u visit?i saw raffles the plaza..the stage is low also...i also feel tat the stage is low for oriental.

Hi Bride to be

happens dat there are 2 weddings. Hence, one is at the grand ballroom n the other at the function room. yup, low stage, sorry but to mention the small champagne fountain too.

but when they dim the lights, the ballroom still looks quite good.

did not go to raffles the plaza. so why did u choose oriental?? i hv not paid yet.

hi peace

yup...i paid deposite for oriental ;)

i'm deciding if i wan to have some decoration for balloons...

as for deco, m not too worried as it can be arranged. do u hv any idea how old is oriental? does look a bit old for the ballroom. but heard good review abt the food n it caters to the no of tables i would like to hv.

anyone - care to share why u choose oriental. m really considering n appreciate some help.

Hi everyone, i m back!!!!!!

Wedding at Oriental had been wonderful!!!!! Kudos to Agnes and the banquest staff who helped to make it a success.

Actually, that night was quite abit of a daze of us. We just went thru the motion and got the things over and done with. Didnt even notice the floral centrepiece, floral stands, wedding cakes...

Anyway, i chose the short march-in. Initially debated to have the long march-in but forgo the idea as felt that some of the guests might not hv a good view at the stage. Strangly, on the day itself, didnt feel that the aisle was too short. In fact, i think if it's any longer, i might had freaked out. hahaha....

Hubby and i had time for only the cold dish. General comments on the food were that it was not hot enough and sharksfin soup abit bland. But everyone gave thumbs up for Oriental's service. My uncle even wrote an email to the banquet director to compliment them on the good service.

sigh... cant believe it's really over liao....

Hi Peace,

There are two ballrooms. We use the smaller ballroom as we have less than 20 tables. The March is quite long as the tables are on both sides of the walkway.

There was no hidden cost even though the cook suggested we add vegetables to the abalone dish.

We chose Ivory for the deco. As for the projector our photographer co-ordinate with Oriental afterall he knows most of the staff there.

The harbour view from the suite is nice especially in the evening. We managed to get 2 nights stay in the suite.

Hi cuite22

Welcome back...Nice to hear from the good comments that you have with Oriental..Remember to share with us your pictures once ready hor...

Really!!! The march in you choose is really not that short huh...Yeah...Was so worried that it is so short that the song that I choose is too long for the march...Do you think that the march in will last about 3 min from the time u walked in to the stage. Need to plan the song that I want....

You mean you have choosen the harbour suite for your nite stay...Is it very small as compared to the other one with the city view...Maybe i would want to change to harbourview also...

Tks to Cutie22 & May for sharing. A few of my frens feedback they have received good reviews of Oriental food though they hv not tasted them. But the next comment will be Oriental expensive rite:P

btw, how many bottles of wine did you both serve? did u use the hotel wine? Tks.

Hi Feb,

hhmm.... 3 mins seems too long for the march-in. Think we took less than a minute to do so. But sure felt like ages. Just before the march-in, i was so nervous and paranoid abt tripping over the gown and falling flat on my face! For me, i played the first bit of the song to build up the guests' anticipation before marching in.

I stayed at the City view suite. Preferred that cos it's much more bigger. I figured that most of the time, i would hv the curtains drawn so no pt getting the Harbour View.

Hi peace,

Actually I did some research on the various package from different hotels and Oriental is offering the best deal. It is offering free flow of beer, 9 course dinner, not forgetting that it is a 5 star hotel. Taking all this into consideration, it is actually not that expensive. Initially, Merchant Court and Hotel intercontinental were in my list too, but Oriental really win hands down!

We didnt serve wine for the dinner. If you are asking about hard liquor, we only open 3 1/2 bottles.

HI cutie...

Hahahaha...you so funny the way u stated...Ya think when it come to my turn, i sure will be as nervous as you and hope that the march in will end as quickly as possible. Thanks for your sharing...

By the way, is the sound system of Oriental good.I ever saw the video on a couple who is holding their wedding in Oriental and it seem that the sound system is too soft leh then in the end cannot hear the march in song in the video...

Hi Cutie 22

no matter how nervous i m, still like the long march in :P

ya, prefer hotel intercon ballroom but the coordinator is not very friendly. yup, the package for Oriental seems attractive.

still thinking n tks for ur reply.

Hi Cutie22!

Glad you are back! how was the honeymoon?

Seems like you had a great wedding. So happy for you! Can take a look at your pics?

Was juz wondering if we were to use the long march in for the grand ballroom, wldn't the stage be too far away. Esp considering the room is in a fan shaped, those sitting near the exit wld have difficulties seeing the stage. N i agree, if one decide to use the long march in, the number of tables that can be squezzed in wld be limited. I doubt can put in 40++ tables.

Hi rabbit

if it is the long walk, the max capacity would be 30. anything more than 30 is not possible. yup, the tables r far but there are other ballrooms dat are long which present similar situation such as Pan Pac, Amara (if m not wrong).

Hey Cutie
glad yr wedding went fine!!

btw, which banyan trree did you go? bintan ?

so now i reckon it's back to work liao for u? or still in honeymoon mood??

btw cutie how was the sound system on yr big day? any comments?

ya, like what gawain said, when can we see yr pixs?

gawain, how's yr wedding cordination with oriental so far?

i am now finalising the invites wordings with Jasvy Printer.

Hi peace, me sama sama like u! still prefer the long march in. anyway, i think the long march in will take abt 2 mins.

Hi bortei

When is your wedding huh...Think you mention earlier but i missed it cos I still have not received the call from Agnes to collect the wedding cards leh. How is the service of Jasvy printer and the cost ? Heard comments that this printer made a lot of mistakes in their wording and the couples always have to confirm again n again..

hi feb
mine is in late august.
there are 1 or 2 mistakes in the first draft but it's not so bad lah.
but i reckon fax here and there, wait here and there will take around 1 week lor.

Hi Bortei,

can let me know the work of the printer too. r they recommended by the hotel?
my dinner is in Oct, so what I'm supposed to sort out with the hotel now? any one can guide me?

br
coal

Hi Bortiei,

Mine is end of next month. So far so good. The invitations printed and waiting to be sent out, which is what I am supposed to do today.

Agnes also called to make arrangments to meet up to finalise the details, so I have to work out some time for that.

That's about it.. so far so good. =)
you?

Hi gawain!
good for you! must be very Xcited right?
have you thought of your march in songs?

hi coal, i will let u know after my cards are printed out.

yo gawain and cutie
hope you guys manage to catch this...

i am in the midst of arranging food tasting and i was hoping for it to be in the aftern, but it seemed to be only available in the evening at 7pm leh...is that true? did you guys go for it in the aftern or evening har?

tks!

Dear Bortei

When do we have to go for the food tasting before our actual wedding day?

Does ur package come with the free food tasting?

My package doesn't come with it...so don't know whether I can still negoitate for one??

Can anyone share yr package with Oriental ? What it includes ? Heard that some pple manage to get free flow of beer but I cannot. How many bottles of wine did u manage to waive ? Any other additional perks ?

Thanks !

hi jane

i think u can go for ur fd tasting abt 1 mth b4 ur wedding

when did u book ur ballroom??maybe u can try to ask for them cos anyway no harm trying

hi sweetysweetgal

If u book 25 tables & above u can choose a perk from a few choices like a extra nite in suite rm,1 free barrel of beer,1 nite stay in deluxe rm for parents,food tasting for 10,a pianist performance or $200 spa...
i think the free flow beer is during the april bridal show promotion (i think it's worth it)During the promotion,those having the dinner on weekday gets a free table oso.
i manage to get 12 bottles of wine waived.

hope tat my information helps u

Thanks bride-to-be !

Becos I may hv only abt 23 tables, so may not get the extra 1 more perks.....;p...unless I try to hit the 25 tables.....;p

For the free flow of beer, does it also incl weekend package ? Becos mine shld be on weekend - maybe Sat....;p

Only waive 12 bttles ? So little ? Thinking of bringing in 48 bttles, then need to bear a lot of corkage fees liao....;p

So, did u book with Oriental ? When's yr wedding ? Wat extra perks u hv ? How many tables ?

hi sweety

i think the free flow is oni for those who sign during or b4 the bridal show promotion.it's included even for wkend.yah lor...oni 12 btls
i think maybe u can try to ask them for more (if u managed to get more then remember to update me hor...kekek)
i already booked mine.my wedding dinner is on 11/9/03,how abt u????
i chose extra nite cos i dun need the extra stuff from the perk.Maybe for u,u can get the 30l barrel beer(cost $680).i'm getting abt 25 to 27 tbls