Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hello All,

How are you all?

Cuties22, soo excited for you!!!! must take good care of yourself so you will look like a princess bride on the actual day ok?

I did so many things over the weekend! First photo shoot. I like the studio one much better. not so hot and easy to move around and dun have all these ppl staring at us. =P Never smiled so much in my life in one day either.. needed Sat to rest my facial muscels. but having said all of that, it was really really really fun as well. We went to Tanjong Rhu for phototaking and the esplande and I was already ready to go back.
My parents came to take a few shots so that we have a family pic. Very nice.

Then food tasting on Sat night. Must say that the food was good. We chose the prawn and lobster salad to start although the finace's parents would like a more traditional cold dish. Then we had the 5 treasures soup which I thought was sooo much better shark's fin. Can really taste the abalone, prawns etc. But the finace parents are insisting on shark's fin soup cos they say they will be ridiculed if they do not serve shark's fin soup.. so we have to change to shark's fin soup.

The honey king prawns are great, but they have a satay sick in them, so I found it a little difficlt to handle. Also the portion is 1 prawn per person so we changed that to seafood in yam ring with hopes that the serving will be bigger.

Best dishes of the night was the cod fish - absolutely yummy!- and the duck in red dates and red wine.. yum yum YUM..the cod fish is not to be missed.

Overall the quality of the food is good but the portions somewhat small when compared with servings at Merchant Court or Sheraton.

So Tiara, no worries ok.. the food is quite good. the problem with wedding shows is that there are so many ppl queueing up for the food that it does get cold. But seriously, the food is good.

I had booked my banquet with oriental last year & intend to wear gold evening gown. Recently I had went down to take a look & realise that wall is light yellow, carpet mixture of biege & other color, gold flower print on the edge of the surronding wall, gold holder of light... so many item that is gold & color that is near to gold. Due to coordinator did not know how to tune the lightening to actual one, I can only tell that the environment is more yellowish. However I come across a picture of oriental ball room that is more goldish than yellow while surfing net.

Need advise from you gals is the ballroom is gold or yellow when the light is bright down to the actual lightening?

Thanks very much

Hi gawain

Great you had an enjoyable time at your photoshoot and the food tasting. Thanks for the assurance too

Hi Kiki

I considered Gold for my evening gown too but my designer advised against it as the entire set up at Oriental has a creamy feel and with gold you may get lost in it.

Hi gawain
so glad to hear abt yr Food Tasting experience. i can't wait for mine. think will be in july then i will get to have a taste!

when will yr pixs be ready?

I'm new here. Did anybody manage to get waiver of corkage for the wine or get a reduction for it? Any other additional items to look out for before signing the contract?

Glad to be of help on the food section. I know it can be so worrisome especially when every banquet is somewhat different.

Oh, the chef comes in at the end of the food tasting and you can give him your comments directly.. =) and he was quite good at working out some sort of mutual agreement.

Bortei, when r u going for your food tasting?

KiKi, can you change the colour of your EG? the ballroom's lighting are somewhat yellowish and I think gold won't stand out as much. Try for stronger colours.. you'll stand out a little more.

Hope that helps.

Fruite,
Try to negotiate for as many things as you can cos the hospitality industry is very badly hit recently. Please check on the place settings, cockage for other liquers etc before signing.. if you cannot negotiate for a lower cockage fee, try to negotiate for a blanket corckage fee so it becomes a fixed cost instead of a variable cost.

Also make sure that the wine you take from the hotel is on consignment basis.

Hi gawain & tiara,

Billion million thanks for your speedy advise
... as my designer will be waiting
for my decision. Guess I really have to drop the idea of wearing gold EG.
My designer propose me to wear light blue but I dun really like blue. BTW, what both of you will be wearing. Anges told me that most of the couple wear maroon... but isn't that color belong to the same category as red carpet & VIP table??

Hi kiki

I have not decided on my EG color yet - between fuschia pink and turquoise.

When's your wedding?

Anyone of you ever attended the wedding at Oriental? How is their sound system like...Really scare the sound system is that type where the guest cannot even hear the music for the first and second march in...

Saw from one of the thread there is a bride complaining about the songs not being played when they are suppose to march in. Worst is the BM asked them to moved on without any music...Kind of worried here...

Hi Kiki,

I'm wearing a maroon EG. I don't think ppl will pay much attention to the VIP table and the carpet.. usually when they do notice the bride it is during the march in and when the wedding couple are on stage.

Try for more striking colours if you want to stand out...

Feb,
You can arrange to test the sound system and do a rehersal before the actual day if it will alay your fears. Talk to Agnes about your concerns and see what she can work out for you.

Meanwhile don't fret, things will fall into place =)

Hi Kiki,

I'll be wearing a turquoise EG (what a coincidence, tiara!!). Actually didnt come across my mind that wearing gold will "blend" in with the ballroom deco. But come to think of it, it's true. So maybe you would like to consider another colour.

My SIL wore a maroon EG for her wedding. Didnt notice that it's the same category as the VIP tables though. Dun worry, the attention will be on the bride and the guests wont notice such things.

Hi Feb,

I've been to a wedding dinner at Oriental but that was quite some time back. Dun remember anything wrong with the sound systems. Till now, my friend still have praises for Oriental and can't wait to attend my wedding to re-savour the sweet memories of her wedding...

I am planning to do a slideshow that day. Anyone knows where the screen will be? Hvnt got the chance to chk with Agnes yet...

Hi gawain, tiara, Obride and Bortei Khan,

I had received the CD-Rom for my photoshoot. But simply no time (and also duno hw) to download to the website. So guess u guys might hv to wait...

wow, cutie, 1 week to go and your slide show still not ready and u still planning huh? for me i also had plans for that but dilly dally till quite late, in the end ditch that idea as i din want to stress myself too much.... also i'm too lazy (real reason actually :-p)

think u better call agnes soon. if u need help in the slide show, i'm at your service.... i can try to put something together for u. in fact i have a fren into flash, can check with u if u want whether she can help u put together something. hehe.... not sure if can do it using flash anyway.... if u want then i check with her... jsut sms me or call me if u want bcos i think quite urgent leh... next fri leh.....

Hi Fruite

Mine deal had 1st 12 btl of wine waived and all 4 beer & duty paid hard liq...they r quite flex & u can exchange stuff...

Hi Fizz,

I got the same offer of the 1st 12 btl wine waived when I asked for it, subsequent bottle at 20nett. I must say Oriental is quite good so far, quite a good deal.

Gawain,
thanks for your advice! One more qn, do I need to ask for more invites.. how much is sufficient?

Hey Obride! How have you been? Sent you an sms just before your first posting

Cutie, yeah, I'll most likely go for turqoise as I am fair with a golden tone so my dad says fuschia may look a little wierd on me ;) Your wedding is drawing so near.... getting excited for you too. Okie, will wait patiently to see your pix.

Gawain, Bortei - your photos ready?

Work has been stressful again and seems like I am losing weight. Designer told me to stay this way not lose or put on - so trying hard to keep to this size....

Take Care all!

Hi Fizz & Fruite

Can i check with u what can i exchange in order to hv the 1st 12 bottles of wines free? I was quoted $26 nett per bottle.

Thks for ur help.

New Bird,

I didn't exchange anything for this free waiver of 1st 12 bottles wine. It was just offered without any condition to me when I tried to request for free waiver. BTW, who is your coordinator? Maybe you can try to ask for it again.

Hi Fruite

Does free waiver means u got to get 12 bottles foc or just the corkage fee waived? btw, how much discount r we entitled to for 10 pxs food tasting if we booked less than 25 tables?

Me still very blurred here

Hi Tiara,

My wedding will be on 1 Dec.. the pro is my gown have to be ready on Aug for PS & designer will charge extra for short lead time.....
So when is ur?

Hi gawin,

Thanks for your reassurance!
I ever thought of wearing maroon but kind of worry of the red in the banquet...

Hi Cutie,

Thanks for your reassurance.... really touch that some of you give advise here .. initial kind of worry that no response...

Lastly thanks for all the advise.

Hi kiki

You still have time to decide for your gown I would think. I have not decided on my gowns design too - just can't make up my mind....

Hi Obride,

No problem! Almost done with my slideshow. Thanks for the offer.

Just had a meeting with all my helpers on my actual day schedule. They are really helpful and fun!!! Glad to hv them to help out. Getting really excited...

Most likely will be going to Banyan Tree for honeymoon. All along my dream destination....

Had also just collected my gowns. Everything is going smoothly to the plan. Hope there are no last min hiccups on the day itself!

Hi Cutie!
yr big day is just days ahead!!
btw, what time will yr groom be coming over to pick you up on yr day?

hi tiara, my album will only be ready in late june, i suppose.
must take good care of yourself ya! try not to let work get to you.

obride, how's yr studies coming along?

gawain, your dinner is end of the month right? also akan datang (coming soon) !!!

hi gals..... i just passed my first exam today.... 3 more to go. :-)

hey,.... gals i was reading the old postings and realised that i may have made a mistake... hehe... my EG was champagne gold in colour!! but i as usual,.. bochap one la,... din even realised i blend into the surroundings... now think back,... realised that ya... the lighting was abit goldish in the room. but mine was done in the smaller rooms at ground floor, and their is red carpet on the floor which covered majority of the floor except under tables and chairs.... also the vip tables had red table cloths, so it actually looked good i think .. if i had worn maroon... then all the more would have looked like the carpet :-)

think it may be different in the ballroom.... since it's bigger and thus the red carpet will not occupy so much space in the room, :-)

Hi Kelsey,
Went back to see ur wedding pics again... still never fail to excite me every time i look at em... They are just beautiful...
I would like to ask u where u tailored ur maroon EG/cheong sum... It looks gorgeous!!!... Mind sharing how much it cost u?
Could u pls mail me at [email protected] if it's not con to post the details here... Thank u!

Hi Pebble,

I've emailed the details to you already. I left out the fact that Francis was the one that came up the design for me....I just gave him a rough idea of what I wanted (e.g. low back, something modern) and he sketched out the design for me.

Hi Kelsey,
Received ur mail liao... Thank u for taking time to mail me the details... ll pop by his shop when i'm free!

Hi Lin,

I have checked on the solemnization thingy.I wanted to have my solemnization at the poolside before my dinner and Melanie quotated me S$300 for labor and setup fee. They will be also be serving the reception at the poolside as well. Flowerstands will most likely be recycled from the ballroom.

There will be seats with covers, portable sound system as well. That's all I can remember..

When are you planning to have the solemnization?

hi Yan,
I wanted to have my solemnization there next year. I saw kelsey's photos..and i thought it's nice to have solemnization there. But now, my parents insists of me having my solemnization at home. So, i'm forgoing the solemnization at The Oriental to please my parents.

The oriental menu looks good too. But i don't know how their decor looks like. I like Pan Pacific decor..but their menu doesn't seem appealing to me. So now i'm torn between both. The oriental is giving me only 10% discount if i want to hire their florist. Which i feel that is an added cost..

forgot to add in,
Do you girls have trial dinner given in your package? coz my didn't... which i'm quite puzzled.

Hi Lin,

I just had my wedding dinner at Oriental last week. Melaine is our co-ordinator. All our guests are very satisified with the food. My package includes trial dinner. In fact, we met up with the cook during the trial dinner and after the wedding dinner itself. Bascially I think you can neg. with Melaine. She is a very nice person.

Hi May,
It's good to hear that. The one who replied my email was agnes so i think she might be the one who is coordinating me. Oh, it's nice to meet up with the cook. Yes, i think i will negotiate for trial dinner.

Hi Lin,

You can negotiate with them for a lot of other stuff too. Bascially I think they are quite flexible.

Hi Lin,

Mine came with a trial dinner, but the package last year was that one had to pay for 50% of that. I did not need invitations, so I contra-ed that off with the trial dinner.

You can negotiate for a lot more now as the hospitality industry is quite badly affected with the war and SARS.

Cutie22, Obride, Tiara, Bortei,

I got my sample photos back! Quite good. trying to get my man to scan it in so that I can put them online. Actually David made me laugh quite a lot cos he said that Barnabas was very worried that the photos would not turn out ok as I was a little stiff and not the posey kind, but the photos came up very nice.

In the end, Barnabas gave us 180 shots for us to pick 20 and 1 table top. Tonight I'm going back to pick the ones we want out. =)

Cutie22, it's a few more days right? How does it feel?

Tiara & Bortei, how's the preparations coming?

Obride, how were the exams? no wonder haven't seen you on email...

I'm having a headache with my tables right now.. I have catered for max 40 tables, but my parents was 14 tables and my soon to be MIL wants 24.. so now I got to tell them to reduce tables.. is there ever a nice way of telling parents that?

anyhow guo da li is this weekend, so I have to sort out the invitations.... wish me luck!

Hi Gawain
glad to know yr pixs came out well! must be very excited right?

ya, tell me abt a nice way of telling parents. my other half and i wanted to keep our tables at 30, strictly 30. but it's seems to have balloon to 33-35. As we prefer the long march-in, which cannot exceed more than 33 tables,...so well..keep my fingers crossed now! i wish you luck too!!

so far, my preparations has slowed down. Busy with work. lotsa changes.

hey i think Cutie had her wedding last week leh.
hope to hear from her soon abt her experience at oriental.

i went down on last thurs to take a look at the long march in and we have decided to go with the long isle. That day was a red and white theme.

Hi Gawain

Glad your photos turned out great

My preps - nothing much to do for now but it's indeed getting fun. Now working on the design of my gowns..... still can't decide on the EG color and the designs.... SIGH I am so so fussy....

BTW what's guo da li?

Hi Feb,

1.barbecued meat platter. after the food tasting, we told the chef that the char siew pork is quite tough, so we changed it to the prawn cocktail.
2. Shark's fin with dried scallops and crabmeat
3. crispy king prawns in honey sauce
4. stewed duck with deep-fried taro cubes
5. Sliced abalone and sea cucumber. But later the chef added vegatables as he think that our meal lacks of green.
6. steamed garoupa
7. winter melon with enoki mushrooms and dried scallops
8. fried rice with scallops and prawns
9. yam pudding with gingko nuts.

Initially our package does not have food tasting. But we negogiate with Melaine.

Hi May

Would you like to share more info on the deco or projector etc?Is there anything we ought to look out? Any hidden cost? How much wines did u purchase?

i hv made tentatively booking with Oriental. I also prefer the long march-in though i hv not seen the layout of it yet.

Is the wedding favour pralines? Can we change others? How is the bridal suite?

Thanks thanks much.

hi peace

i always having a long march-in too!!Can slowly cat walk..kekekekek

u can choose between pralines or potpurri..if not u may change to something else u wish if their supplier(wedding wishes)but u have to top up the balance cost as each praline is $1

Hi bride to be

u booked wif oriental liao?? care to share?
strangely, wen i asked around my frens and most hv not been to oriental for any weddings? so i do not hv much feedback.

Tks.

Hi Peace,

I specifically requested for the Habour View Suites. It's smaller than the Cityview Suite but the view is awesome and the room is quite big also. Love the suite. There is the bedroom, 2 toilets and a living area which is separated from the bedroom. You can get your coordinator to show you the rooms.