Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Wow! That's alot of people!!! Have u all decides how wld u want your ballroom to be decorated? I have seen a table decor in the Style brides magazine n i intend to show it to Agnes n see whether i can have somethin similar.

I'll b plannin mine next Mar...gotta get tis done 1st b4 decidin on the WG...prob go 4 Bridal Veil or Ted Wu...def not GI...found Melanie quite prompt in her replies...left voicemail at Plaza Parkroyal and never get a call back...

Fizz,

BV n TW quite different leh. BV is more structured gowns wif crystals. Ted's is more Peranakan like wif embrioderies. Have u visited them?

No lah...tot still got plenty of time...will get to it after signin the ctt for the dinner...anyway...must use the time to tink of more details to include in the ctt b4 signin it...u leh???

Hi hi gals!!!!

I'm back after missing in action for so long! Wedding in May 03... Can hardly wait...

I had my food tasting. Not bad. They are very flexible. For example, for the 1st dish, you can interchange certain food from the different dishes(e.g. exchange roasted duck to jellyfish). Quite pleased with it.

Kelsey, your photos are really nice... Hope mine will turn out as good.

Hey, Bortei Khan. Sorry nvr reply your email. Completely burnt out at work...
My photoshoot is next Friday. Yipee!!!!

Did I tell you I lost so much weight that my designer warned me not to lose weight anymore???? Aarrgghh!!!! As if I want to... How can I gain back 3 kg????

Agnes is quite ok. Yah can be quite slow in responding. She said she will arrange to meet up with the May 03 brides in April. Going to discuss the ballroom setup with her then.

Hi Bortei

Just happen to know that you are also an JLC bride. Same here..So believe more or less you have settled most of your wedding preparation liao is it??

Now a bit worried cos saw one of the thread about the poor comment on Oriental Hotel....What if the worst happened like the march in, cannot even hear the music?

Hey Cutie

Wah!!! u lost weight!! aiyo, u so slim liao...try to take care ya gal..anyway, think u will still look very nice!

so work is still busy huh? when will yr marriage leave start?

good luck to yr PS ya! my PS is also next week but my other half now got a super big 'oucle' in his mouth! He said it's very painful! and it's affecting his smile. thus really keeping my fingers cross and hope he will be fine...guess it's the weather.

have you decided on yr march-in? whether to use the short isle or the long isle? Melanie showed me the long isle with the stage at the end and we quite like it leh. there will be 2 tables by the side.

take good care!

hi bunny
not sure abt the wedding cake though.
but i do know first tier is real and you may choose the flavour you want.

hi feb
glad to see another JLC bride here.
. do u liase with lynn or anna? mine is anna.

hmm...so far we only met up with Melanie and talked abt the timeline. We will be collecting our cards in May, food tasting in june or july and confirmation of certain perks and our march in isle. we also went down a few times to look at the different table cloth colours!! heheheh

hmm..i can't comment much on that lor. but maybe we can highlight our concerns and the incident to oriental and see how they can assure us.

when is yr wedding?

Do any of you know whether the invitation cards come with the envelopes? Or do we have to get it ourselves. I got a friend who got married in the hotel and he had to get the envelope by himself.

Hi bunny,

When I got married at the Oriental in 2001, they gave us cards and the envelopes. I collected both from their recommended printer, not fr the hotel itself.

To all Oriental brides getting married this year,
Ok..... When shld i call up Agnes to check out the ballroom decor, food tasting, details like exchanging the ice carving for better flowers etc? Cos' mine is in Sep n i'm not too sure if i'm bothering Agnes too early?

To Fizz,
U r rite that u shld confirm your banquet venue b4 deciding on your WG cos' many a times, the design of your gown will depend very much on your ballroom. Think u may want something more drama if u r using Orientals' grand ballroom. Esp, for small size brides like me, think the guests will miss me if my gown is not outstanding enuf :p

Hi Bortei

Mine is on 8/11/03 (sat) and dinner on 10/11/03. Lynn is my coordinator.When is your big day.So far it seem that I have only finalise my WG and EG with JLC and dunno what to do next leh...Was thinking of sorcing some jewellers to match my WG and EG instead of getting from JLC. Have you seen their accessories?

I was also thinking that the Oriental isle was too short and Agnes did mention tat we can have it the other way with the longer isle but she did not encourage that cos the tables at the end might not be able to see us leh...What do you think??

Hi bunny,

We printed on inserts. I chose the dark red longish card instead of the square one. Not sure if its still the same? Hmmm..can't remember the printing cost now...I might still keep the receipts tho. Will chk and let u know. Alternatively, perhaps the other brides or brides-to-be here can help on the printing cost?

Hi Feb,
U can use the other aisle but its L-shaped. Seems a bit werid n people on the other side of the hall may have problems seeing the bride. So i'm not considering using it.

Hi Babbit

I dunno whether Agnes say is the L Shaped one. She only mention that if we use the long aisle , will be the other entrance lor. But she say not a good idea cos people might not be able to see us.

So you mean you are taking the normal short aisle is it. Now I cannot even remember how short the aisle is? You have any idea such as from the entrance to the stage , will it take about 5 min?

All Oriental brides / bride-to-bes

Is there only 1 ballroom at Oriental? So it doesn't matter how many tables I have, I'll get the fan-shaped ballroom?

What abt the reception area? Do I have to share with anybody else?

there is only one main ballroom, if u booked >20tables.
(what jessie told us last yr when we booked, <20 go function rm)
dun know if abv still hold now.
hope it help

Hi Kelsey,

Yup, email is [email protected]
Had to re-activate it as I have not had the time to check that email in a long long long time!

Bortei!!!! Cutie!!!
How r u all? it's been soooo long!
I was soo bz after I switched jobs that I had no time to check email or come back to this forum! Just dropped you all an email!

From reading the forum it seems like you guys are way way ahead of me in terms of prep already!

How are all of you?

Feb,
Have u viewed the grand ballroom??? Its a fan shaped, so the main aisle is thru the centre of the fan (can imagine?) So its rather short. If u come in by the other entrance, the one wherby the reception area is, its at the other end of the fan, so u need to make a turn to get to the stage. Will take 5min, dunno leh. Walk super slow, loh.... :p

Jul 04,
Juz to add, if u take the main ballroom, u will get to have the whole enclosed recep area, lots of privacy. There's a piano in that area too. But if u take the other smaller room, the recep area is actually quite open.

Hi gawain!!!!!

Yah, u really MIA for a lllooonnnggg time... Everyone is wondering where u r.

Anyway, I had brought forward my wedding to mid May. Had gone for my food tasting and will be meeting up with Agnes sometime next week to confirm the ballroom setup.

Had also printed the wedding invites. Chose the beige ones although personally I preferred the red ones.

I saw ur email just now but no time to reply. Will reply u 2moro. Take care ya!!!

Hey Gawain and Cutie!
gawain so happy to hear from u !! was thinking that you must be bogged down with work! hope things are fine for u !
how's yr WG and EG coming along? taken yr pix yet?

cutie, how much did u print for yr invites har? did u use hot stamping of inserts? personally me also prefer the maroon ones.

Hi Feb
dun worry, JLC has a lot of accesories and they looked pretty nice. It's actually at the glass cabinet , next to where the designer, Marcus always sits. It's all there, not a bad array of selection. Who's yr makeup artist? mine is keith.

hmm, i guess for the march in isle is really up to you lor. I saw 3 floorplans. One is the short march-in, the other is the L-shape march and the last one is the long march-in.

I am pretty happy with what Melanie has drawn out for me, using the long march-in concept. However she said it's not recommended to have more than 30 tables. The stage is all the way at the end in the center and the guest are able to have a good view of it. hee hee, for me i quite like the look of the floorplan. but then again, we yet to confirm that with her.

Hi babbit

Have seen the grand ballroom liao and really feel that the asile is very short leh....Ya lor think me and my hubby has to walk super slow liao cos to take the long asile is not recommended for us cos we have more than 30 tables lor...So which asile u taking?

Hi cutie22

How is the food tasting? Good??? hee hee....You mention you are going to discuss the ballroom setup with Agnes, do you mean the floral that you want for your ballroom..Me a bit blur here...pai say...

Hi bortei

How many tables do you have and you thinking to take the longer asile?
I also dunno who is my make up artisit leh...They never tell me ..When will we be able to know who is our make up artist huh...My PS is in June 03 and still have not gone for my trial yet. You mean you have settled for your trial already?? When is your PS?? You intend to take their customary accessories? Sorry huh..at one short so many question for you...I very cham leh still have not source for my wedding shoes yet...Sigh....

Hi bunny,

Sorry, but I really can't recall the cost of printing the wedding invites. Thought I still kept the receipt but nope, dun have it anymore.

Hi Feb
hmmm me is around 28 - 32 tables. Yes, i am definitely thinking abt the long isle one.

you can actually select your makeup artist. There are 2, i think. Irene and Keith and they are very nice people. yup, me will be taking their accesseries. I have went for my trial and pretty okie. Had a good time selecting and trying the gowns.

I think Melanie is quite on the ball. 2 days after I called her, I received the invites for the wedding show. Dunno y, but I'm always more impressed &amp; confident of efficient pple.

Anyone know if the present package is valid for 2004? Might have px increase or not?

Is Melanie flexible? For eg, dun want dry ice / floral shower, can we exchange for something else? Can we bargain for 2 nites stay etc..

hi Jul 04
how many tables are you looking at ? you may choose 1 perk for more than 25 tables and 2 perks for more than 31 tables.

i find her melanie pretty okie. think she's negotiable lah.

Hi bortei

I'm thinking 30 tables. But a bit silly to confirm 31 tables just for the extra perks right? If can't meet the no of guests, I'll end up with 1 empty table

I hope to meet Melanie at the show next Sun. A bit wary of Agnes after reading the comments abt her. Think I'm a 'kan cheong spider' type - Think I'll go crazy if she takes too long to return my emails / calls!

ya, just stick to your original invite list will do.

hey, we sama sama leh..i also kan cheong spide one leh.

Hi Jul04

If i am not mistaken, this promo is valid till Mar 2004. Double check with her during the bridal show.

Hi bortei

Thanks..But when we need to select our make up artist huh??

Hi jul 04

Dun think Agnes is tat bad lor..Cos she is my co-ordinator and quite flexible and easy to talk with leh..This morning i send an email to her and she reply quite prompt and just learnt tat she has been sick for sometimes...

Hi Bortei,
Which is the last march in u were mentioning abt?? Didn't know that there were 3, always tot there were only 2.

Jul 04,
U wan the extra perks??? No prob, juz ask Agnes, she very chin chai one. She gave me the extra perks when i said mine will be 40 tables. And i agree wif Feb, Agnes is nice. She had indeed fallen sick. Received her reply today n was pretty prompt when i re-send another mail today. Already got a reply! So, i'm shld say i m very happy wif Agnes from the time i 1st called Oriental to make a tentative booking til now.

hi feb
maybe you can go down and asked to view the works of the 2 makeup artist. for me, i confirmed abt 1 week after i placed the deposit in feb. It was a pretty simple decision as my one of my cousins had irene as her makeup artist. I dun wanna clash , so i chose keith.

babbit, the last one i saw was a long march in. with the stage at the end of the other side of the ballroom...er...how should i describe har? i think you can ask agnes to show you or draw up the long floorplan for you.

so far i heard from other oriental brides that agnes is actually very nice but just very busy!
glad to know you are also one hapy bride with her!

Hi Bortei

Wow...so early u already booked the make up artist liao huh...Hahaha..me still tot is on the day of our trial then JLC assigned to us..

Your cousin using Irene? Is she good??Heard that both Irene and Keith are quite good leh so to me doesn't matter lor...

hi Feb
cos my trial was in march, so anna asked me to think abt it lor. ya, both irene and keith are nice people lor.

Hi Bortei,

Yup, so bz that the wedding planning took a real back seat for a long time.

Finally back on track again. Went to see David Lim Lee for my first fitting last week (a bit late I know) but it was just great! the gowns were gorgeous and the WG was very Vera Wang. Totally blew my soon to be sis in law away with the design. She tot it was a real Vera Wang!

Will be going for my second fitting early next week and the photoshoot will be done early next month (cos that the only time I'll be free!).

How's your WG and EG coming along? Got pix?

Kelsey,
Thanks for the pix! Will check them out later!

Hi gals!...wow...jus miss a few days &amp; there's so much additions...
...hmmm...I'll b hvg a poolside dinner...so won't b able to comment on the asile...but I'll b hvg the grand ballroom as the backup rm...

Jul 04: Melanie is quite alright when it comes to negotiation...she tried to gimme most of the dish exchanges...if some doesn't work out, like the wedding cake and ice carving, by themselves individually, may not hv any value...but u may negotiate based on bundles like forgoing a few items to exchange for another...