Mandarin Oriental Singapore

purpleh

Bring your cameras! Heard from Sandy that they will be opening up all the ballrooms and have the different themes displayed. =)

chloe_qy

Sher, u mean their muslim set is not completely halal? Just no pork / lard? My coor didn't inform me abt this, she told me there is Muslim set to cater for my guest, so I assumed it should be halal. I will check with her.

Purple h, yup bring camera to take pics. I'm taking atrium suites n 'love' theme will be setup during the wed show, just nice for me cos I have alrdy chosen love theme for my banquet, so can see the whole setup n feel the ambience hehe.

poorthing

im offical oriental btb. i wan mar lunch too but the dates are fully taken up. so is pushed to apr.
the love theme is really sweet. exp the heart-shaped cushion. sth special

stanknight

Hi Poorthing, you sign at the roadshow today?

u r lunch or dinner? Love theme got cushion? i thought that was sweetheart or something..

sha2012

Poorthing, is lunch a lot cheaper?
I signed up at the roadshow on 24 apr too.
Mine is a sunday dinner..I find it ex..
so heartpain! Anyone care to share their experience on wedding held in oriental?

stanknight

Sha, lunch is $888++.
The themes are nice but i am Wondering if anyone has the dazzle theme in atrium room to share?
Dazzle looks nice in oriental ballroom because of the lightnings in the ceiling and such but atrium does not have that...

icecream894

MO BTB 2012
booked!

chloe_qy

stanley, dont think dazzle will looks like in atrium suites, cos oriental ballrooms lighting match very well with dazzle theme.

i think love theme looks really nice at atrium suite during their show yesterday. their food is nice too, tried a few of canepes, love the honey glazed spare ribs!

poorthing

Stanley, the perks are the same as 2011 lunch package. Except that if sign on roadshow will have free flow beer, 1 wine per cmf table, waiver corkage n 30bucks off per table which means is 858++

U tking their lunch too? Did u sign with them?

stanknight

$858++? they quoted me $888++ but beer thay have to consult their manager (not free flow, only 20L i think) and no free wine per table. unless yours is the oriental ballroom? i am taking atrium, but not sign yet as they say will get back to me on the contract.. wonder y the perks so good for u..

stanknight

chloe, ya most prob will take love theme at atrium..

but Poorthing perks are so much way better than mine.. can i renegotiate with them again?

sha2012

Poorthing, how u manage to negotiate to have 30 bucks off per table? Mine die die got nothing much to offer me except free flow of beer. The rest will be the same as the package.

stanknight

ya.. poorthing perks are good.. she must know how to bargain..

anyway glad for her.. wonder how long they take to draft out the contract? anyone knows?

poorthing

Oh I nv bargain. The perks are like this when they quote me if I sign on roadshow. I try to bargain free food tasting but not allow unless I have 28 cmf tables. Ya I'm tking the oriental ballroom

stanknight

wah so good.. i think yours is oriental ballroom, that's y got so much diff from mine. Mine is atrium for lunch. anyway i have not sign yet, possible for me to ask for more things when they are meeting me for the contract?

poorthing

But as what I knw u can't change anything once u sign the contract. So the best is to email ur planner to ask her. We oso got email our coordinator if we can have food tasting for free. Cos my fren oso taking 25 tables lunch n she got free food tasting

stanknight

I think it actually depends on each individual. Some will get more perks while some will get lesser, depends on the day, no of tables etc..

Main thing is that we like the place and feel MO is worth it. Mine in end 2012.. still so long to go..

Anyway how much u gals pay for the deposit? I heard it was $5k? can we bring it down to $3k?

sha2012

Stanley, mine is also end 2012. It's a sunday dinner plus my estimated tables is 35-40..find it ex but no way to bring down the cost!!! No extra perks..So heartpain!!! Yup, deposit is $5k..

stanknight

Sha, just tell urself u r paying more for the service and happiness lor.

anyway, i am still waiting for them to contact me. Should i call them for another appointment to discuss further before signing the contract?

poorthing

sha,
how much is ur dinner?
wat extra perks u have when u sign during the show? Dun feel heartpain, at least u wnt regret for life.

sha2012

Poorthing, mine is 1288++ so shld be ard $1500 per table.

Stanley, my package include a 45 min piano playing during reception. But if moving the piano to the ballroom, there will be charges.

sha2012

Stan..not sure how much is it..but guess will be quite ex..maybe you can check with yr coord..
Wah.. so nice of you to tink of playing a piece for your wife..sweet!

stanknight

i still got to go and learn it.. dunno if i can do it or not. Planning to play Canon.. nice song.

Ok i will call my coord next week. Who is your coord? there are only 2 now? Eve and Bethany?

confettis

I went down to the wedding show as well, received a call from their coordinator this morning asking me if I had any dates in mind. Good follow-up service!

Am feeling sorely tempted to be a MO bride as well. Congrats to all who have signed up!

chloe_qy

Sha, MO's service & food is really top notch, so rest assured that u will feel different from other hotel and ur guest will enjoy as much too!

my wedding is less than 3 weeks. Gosh! so excited!

sha2012

Stan - my coord is Bethany. She's quite good except she talk reali fast. Haha!

Chloe - Congrats! Must share your feelings after your wedding alright!

I noe MO's food is really good. Went for the wedding show & was mesmerized by their food. But can see cannot eat..haha..

chloe_qy

Sha, really?? haha. hi 5^

my coordinator is Eve and she talks really fast too, and covers all the details. we dont have to ask any questions!

viclxy, from my understand, if u sign during wedding show, there is $30++ off per table.

stanknight

hmm.. i did not sign and pay deposit at the wedding show but did a soft booking on the date i want and they told me they will get back to me on the contract, will i be able to get this $30 off per table?

sha2012

If the 30++ off is for wedding btw jan 2012 to jun 2012, then i dun qualify. But guess I need to check with my coord cos my draft contract is just out. Wanna see if I can bargain further..

stanknight

Eve just call to follow up, meeting her this sunday to see if can bargain for more perks!

But hor cannot ask her about the piano coz wife will be going with me.. hmm.. after meeting then call her.. Is there a piano on the 1st floor?

chloe_qy

stan, try to bargain for the $30 off since u have not sign the contract. good luck!

i will be going to MO for my AV testing today..

icecream894

i'm having banquet in nov 2012. perhaps thats the reason nothing was mentioned about the $30 off..hmm. havent signed the contract, shall check with coordinator on that. thanks for the info guys!

michantz

hi there, may i know if MO launch any new themes during the wedding show?? aiya, i miss their wedding show but i quite like their ballroom.

care to share with me your comments?

sha2012

I tried bargaining for the $30 off per table but was told is for wedding btw jan 2012 to jun 2012.
So disappointed plus can't get any other better perks.

stanknight

ya, i also cannot get the $30 off per table. Same reason given. But overall i am still very satisfied with MO and will be signing up this weekend. Contract is out already.