Mandarin Oriental Singapore

hannah

Hi wedding9999, sorry to reply u late! I have been very busy with work and my fittings coz going for photo shoot on monday...

Well, I found Grand Hyatt... But my priority is to have a pillarless ballroom (felt so sorry for guests who will be blocked or got to see TV telecast hahaaha) So I can only take the Hibiscus room will can only hold max 28 (I originally have about 30) Now I have to chop the no. of guests. But I can't wait anymore to look for another hotel which can meet my needs (Sunday difficult lah)... I changed my AD from Sep to 31 Oct lor.

I have paid Grand Hyatt the deposit before I went overseas 2 weeks ago, now that I am back,I still haven't heard of either side!

hannah

Hi wedding9999, I haven't replied all your questions. I have asked oriental's coordinator earlier about the new contract with Grand Hyatt whether besides getting what Oriental provides, will I also get what Grand Hyatt provides??? (Coz Grand Hyatt has 2 nites stay etc..) She said SHOULD have!!! So have been waiting to see the new contract, but no news yet. I have sort of done my homework by going through both package to compare what each hotel provides so that I wouldn't miss out lor...

Take Care...

wedding9999

So Hannah, the contract with Hyatt not ready yet ? U get the same perks as Oriental contract & also the same perks as Grand Hyatt ?

Do u gals get additional perks from your new venue except those already in your contract with Oriental ?

Can we get the perks offered by the new hotel venue in addition to the perks we hv with Oriental ?

Hi Warren, your new venu is Swissotel the Plaza or Swissotel the Raffles ? Is yr AD on Sat or wkdays ? When of Oct ?

tealeaf

I find that though Oriental promised to find us a better hotel, we will not be given the same perks as the couples from that hotel. We will have a different package with lower quality food, etc.

For example, if per table in the new hotel is $850, Oriental's is $700, the tailormade package for the oriental couples will also be $700 per table in the new hotel, thus compromising on the quality of food.

Very angry !!

acer27

LaLa: You confirm about the customised package of the food menu? If that's the case..then Oriental is so smart that they dun need to top up or minimise top up and yet we have to go thru all the worry and anxiety!!!!

If they really want to do this.. we should demand Oriental to give us a detail cost breakdown of the new menu and all the food ingredient.. to make sure it really worth these much!!!

wedding999: Raffles the plaza and swissotel share the same ballrooms! AD on Friday!

wedding9999

Hi Fong2, u taking Fullerton ? How many tables u hv ? Do u need to top up?

Anyone else took Fullerton ? How many tables ? Any top-up?

My coodinator told me they can only reply me back end of this mth becos they are still negotiating.....so long wan, cant they juz negotiate & settle matters faster ?

Oriental keep on telling me that I cant meet their min table & the new hotel will only allow if we upgrade menu but Oriental refused to pay for the upgraded price, so we may hv to top up. How can Oriental be like it ? In the first place they never specifiy how much they are only willing to top-up for new venue.

Btw, any couples need to top up ?

How can they compromise on the quality of the menu? Oriental must be trying to minimise cost.

I think Oriental can be unprofessional in handling matters.

tealeaf

We have not confirmed the package coz don't want the tailormade package ... the reason I chose Oriental was bcoz it has good reputation for food, the same goes to Regent Hotel. Now if take the tailormade package, we have to compromise on the qly liao ...

Yep, think they are very smart... they allow us to choose whichever expensive hotels, but the package will be inferior to other couples so they won't have to top up ... so bad !!!

fong2

Hi Wedding9999

We r oso taking Fullerton. We had 30 tables which meets the min. requirement for weekday dinner. There's no mention of any top-up required.

How many tables u hv?

wedding9999

I only hv 25 tables & they told me I hv to either top you the price difference for a higher menu price or to hv 30 tables but Oriental only pay the difference for that 25 tables.

How can Oriental be like this ? By right we shld not be paying for any price difference or any top up. In the first place they never specifiy how much the max $$$ they only willing to pay for the new venue, now wat us to pay the price difference.

So bad & unprofessional !!!!

tealeaf

Hi wedding999,

We have already discussed with Oriental and finalised our decision. Same, we have only 25 tables, Oriental will only pay the difference of 25 tables, any increase will be absorbed by us (the contract signed with them in the first plc was 25 tables loh, don't expect any increase.).

fong2

Hi lala

So where is your new venue?

Hi Wedding9999

Are there any other hotels that hv your date and except your no. of tables?

How abt Grand Copthorne Waterfront? They have other smaller ballrooms with big reception area too.

wedding9999

Hi Fong2, most hotels are booked for our AD already. We dun wat to change date becos very troublesome - need to coordinate schedule for our MU, photographer & videographer.

Well, I feel Oriental shld fulfil wat they promised & absorb watever amt for each table as per contract previously. They never specify that they only willing to pay difference for a certain amt only wat.

Our new venue allow us to hv 25 tables for our wedding but price per table need to increase. So I feel Oriental shld bear watever price difference. It's their problem now becos they unwilling to pay so much now !!!

We dun really like Grand Copthorne Watefront becos inconvenient.

tealeaf

Hi Fong,
My new venue is Regent Hotel.

Hi Wedding999,
Oriental agreed to pay us the difference for our 25 tables too. So, I think u shouldn't have problem with that. I don't really like Grand Copthorne Watefront too coz not very cozy ...

bynne

hi all . .
must say it's quite distressing to read the flurry of messages exchanged between you guys...mine's gonna b within e 1st few days of dec but i haven't received any calls from anyone from O as yet ... any chance i'd be affected as well?

i think if they tell me at the very last minute, i'd really 'beng san'!!! It's next to impossible for me to find an alternative venue cos mine's a fri, and i'd probably be competing with people holding their prom nites, graduation nites, d&d and not to mention, weddings . .

anyone heard word from them as to when their reno will begin/end?

tokyo

hi bynne, why don't you call and check with them?
it is their responsibility to assure their customers....
i really don't have much faith in this so called 5 star hotel anymore....

wedding9999

Hi lala,

Oriental agreed to pay the difference for the 25 tables as stated in the contract but now our new venue min table is 30 which they wil not reduce.

Oriental told us our new venue will allow our weddings either we upgrade our menu or increase tables to 30. We wat to stick to original no of tables as stated in our previous contract with Oriental. Oriental only willing to pay for the 25 tables. They refuse to pay diff for the upgrade menu for our 25 tables. How can Oriental do that ? By right they shld pay the price diff no matter how much it is for the 25 tables (as in our contract), whether the diff is only $50 or $400/table or wat ! Now Oriental refuse to pay for our upgrade menu price difference. !

Btw, lala, how much per table at Regent ?

tealeaf

Hi Wedding999,

hearing your case, now I understand your frustration. I agree with u that Oriental should then pay for the difference. Not that you are greedy but you are left with no choice !!! I wouldn't want to increase my no. of tables too ... Think they should pay for the upgrade ...

The classic package in Regent is about $720 nett.

wedding9999

Regent cheaper than Oriental ? No +++ for their package ?

Yes, Oriental shld pay for our table difference becos I dun intend to increase my tables to 30(remain as per my contract), so by right they shld bear for all price difference even if there must be an upgrade of our menu becos by right our new venue allow us to hold our wedding there but now Oriental refuse to pay for our upgrade menu price difference.

Besides, they hv been dragging our matter for 2 wks already & now still cant really get back to us. We wat to settle our new venue & signed the contract by end of this mth becos time running out for us. We wat to collect our wedding cards next mth, Jul liao.

tealeaf

Hi Wedding999,
I think should be $718 +++, not too sure, will check with HB.

Yep, have to quickly resolved the matter, really very tiring. I told the Sales Director & Agnes that we want to hear from them & resolve the issue by end this week. Hope to receive the letter of undertakings by Oriental by next week.

acer27

Any affected couple signed up more than 25 tables with Oriental and is entitled the additonal perks? are you transfering these perks to your new venue?

acer27

I thought if those who sign up more than 25 or 30 tables with oriental have extra perks to choose from? like extra nite stay for parents or free litres of beer etc??

wedding9999

I not sure becos they hv not let me know the terms for my new venue. Oriental still negotiating with them & hv not get back to me.

Anyone hv the terms for their new venue ? Does the terms remains the same as previous contract with Oriental ? Wat abt the menu ? Anyone signed the new contract already ? Anyone receive any formal letter from Oriental ?

Any feedback ?

hannah

Wah, after reading all ur msgs, I think I have been too good to Oriental and Grand Hyatt. I thot I should give them more time to come up with my new contract but to-date, no news from either hotel. Now I start to get panic liao... For me, I like Grand Hyatt's smaller pillarless ballroom and had to chop from 30 to 28 tables. Wonder will they compensate me with the other 2 tables?? Its heartpain to chop 20 guests.. But got no choice... Oriental said I should be what both hotels' package offer, but till now no new leh... Take note that she said should and not will be getting both. After reading all ur msg, think that Oriental is not keeping their words to help us with whatever they can... Our wedding dates are drawing nearer and nothing seems to be confirmed... What have we done to deserve this leh...
I think Oriental should meet us all together and explain to us how are their basis/guidelines of drawing up the new contracts with the whatever new hotels we are signing up, like their limit of top-ups (if any), so that we the affected ones can understand and work better with them and not kept waiting in the dark, which we will get more worried and angry with them.

happyflower

Can't help but to notice this tread and feel sad for you gals...Hrmm, maybe those who cannot get dates to try M Hotel? Me having mine there in Dec and another bride who got married there recently came back with good reviews.
My main concern is that 1 hotel should not have many ballrooms cos then the standard of food/service maybe sub-standard especially when there is so many weddings on a nite?
Just my 2 cents worth.

hannah

Frankly speaking, I am getting so tired about the matter. I will ask Grand Hyatt for the new contract so that I can see exactly what I am getting, must make sure that I will not be worst-off then the Oriental package, not to mention about compensation.

In the earlier postings, many affected brides actually said the contract is one-sided. Very unlikely that we can get any other additional compensation. How I wish emotional stress caused by Oriental can be proved and asked for compensation.
Recently they said Oriental will not top up but instead, ask the new hotel to downgrade the food or whatever to meet the Oriental price...

Hence, my main concern is that at least I will not be worst off than the Oriental Package and get what is offered in both the hotels package. I think I am not asking too much in that sense. I am forced to get an alternative hotel in such a short notice, the other hotel has its own package, so I should have what is provided in both. Its only fair that they do top-up the price difference in the packages too. Everyone of us have some benchmarks in mind when finding a hotel. They cannot forced us to go for hotel packages which are lower than Oriental so that they only need to refund us. Moreover, I meet Hyatt's minimum no. of tables (infact I need to chop my guests as the ballroom I booked holds 2 tables less than my contract with Oriental)

wedding9999

Juz checking if anyone of u hv seen or signed yr new contract ? Does the terms remains the same as wat u signed with Oriental ? Do u still the same perks as wat u signed with Oriental and also the wat is given by yr new venue ? What's the price stated on the contract ?

Hi Fong2, u receive yr contract ? Can send me a copy ? Thks !

Btw Hannah, u mention they refund u the deposit thru credit card ? They hv yr credit card acct ? Did Oriental issue a termination letter or any formal letter ?

How abt u, lala & Warren ? How's yr contract ?

I still waiting for them to get back to me abt my new venue contract...
...already 3 wks liao....;(

hannah

I originally paid thru Credit Card, so they just do a refund thru the same card lor. I now got credit balance for my credit card, so got to keep charging to this card...

I just got my new contract today... Looks OK... but yet to do a detailed comparison. From a glance, I got the 2 nites stay from the new hotel instead of 1 nite for Oriental.. And the menu is exactly what the new hotel offers and not what earlier postings said downgrade food..

Probably, u should liaise more with the new hotel coordinator instead of Oriental.

wedding9999

Hi Hannah, when's yr AD ?

So, u got extra from yr new venue ? Do u still get wat's being offer by the new venue & also same as wat u signed at Oriental ?

I hv been calling them & dropping them email but cld not get them (always not in, busy, engaged, etc) & they didnt even reply back my email !

I call my new hotel, but they told me they still waiting for Oriental to get back to them too.

How abt the rest of u gals ? Any updates ? Contract ?

wedding9999

Hi Fong2,

Hv u receive yr new venue contract ? Can take a look ? Thks !

Is everything remains the same as wat u signed with Oriental ? Any additional stuff with yr new venue ? How's yr menu ?

tealeaf

Hi wedding999,

We have terminated our contract with Oriental and gotten back our refund. At the same time, received the compensation we have discussed. Case closed liao ... finally.

wedding9999

Hi lala, so u found yr new venue ? Signed yr new contract ? Yr new venue at Regent, right ? Does the terms same as wat u signed with Oriental ? Any more perks / addition for the new venue ? Yrs on wkend or wkday? AD ?

Wat kind of compensation Oriental gv u ?

I am still waiting.....;p

wedding9999

Hi body shop & LSC,

Hv u all signed the new venue contract ? Settle already ? Terms remain the same as wat u signed with Oriental ? All additions ?

I'm still waiting from Oriental.....;(

lsc

I'm going to sign my NEW contract this coming weeks. Perks remain unchanged but the menu offered by the new hotel is not as gd as Oriental's

Anyway, they din talk to me abt compensation issues. Hope my coordinator will bring it up when i go sign the new contract.

fong2

Hi LSC

So where is your new venue? Is the deposit amt the same as Oriental's?

We r getting rather impatient with Oriental as they have not finalise some of our request regarding our new venue's perks. Certainly, we r not going to top up any amt since in the first place, they mentioned that everything will follow as per the Oriental's contract and we will be paying the same rate as per Oriental's contract. But now it seems like they r going to swallow their words.

We'll want to speak to their sales director again if this issue is still not resolve. If they r going to renovate their hotel, then surely they must be prepared to pay a price to compensate our losses in terms of time sourcing for other venues, etc.

Wedding9999

Any feedback from Oriental yet? Think we shld keep contact with each other. I'll PM u my email add.

audreysu

No, Oriental is not closing. But their grand ballroom undergo a renovation from Aug to Dec'04. So they've cancelled all the confirmed bookings during this renovation period

audreysu

yes...I'm serious. tats y all the brides here are so stressed up. I'm also holding my wedding in Oriental but mine is in May'05, I'm keeping my fingers crossed tat nothing serious like this will happen to me

oops

know this incident has affected some brides. agree dat they hv not handled tis incident well.

But being an ex bride, i really hv a wonderful experience wif them. It is sad dat such thing has to happen.

lsc

Hi Fong2

I'm going to sign up with Hyatt tmw. Yes, the dep is the same as what I've paid to Oriental.