Mandarin Oriental Singapore

delldell

lala, are you getting any compensation? should make them pay for their mistake, man!
how are they going to pay you back for the inconvenience? i think it is abt biz ethics man....they want their reputation back? Fine, make us happy lah...

delldell

terrapin, i am extremely upset cos my contract only signed this late mar...i am sure they already got wind of the reno, and yet they did not even breath a word abt reno...
i think this would definitely affect my decision then whether to take oriental or not. Anyone with a common sense will then think twice before taking their offer....
i feel like kena misled into this...donno whether this can constitute to misrepresentation of a contract?

fong2

Oriental's reputation is obviously at stake such that they are willing to accede to almost every request.

Here's our update after meeting up with Agnes and the Sales Director:
1) They will definitely stick to the agreement. That is we will still be paying the same rate and getting the same thing as stipulated in the agreement.
2) They are willing to pay for all extra charges and top up amt from the hotel we chose including 5 stars like Ritz Carlton or hotels situated in Orchard like Shangri la (if the hotel have the date u want). So, please check with every possible hotel u have in mind for the dates u want. Or u may give your co-ordinator a list of hotels u prefer instead of the few which they had proposed (Pan Pac, Marina Mandarin, Chijmes). Then it's for them to liaise with the hotels.
3) They will refund us the deposit so that we can pay the other hotel's deposit.
3) You may check with the sales director regarding compensation. For us, we told him that we'll deal with them abt it at a later stage. (cos wat's impt now is to get a venue for the banquet first).
4) Oriental has offered to give us some extras like few nites stay in the newly renovated hotel rooms.
5) They will also be giving us a letter of termination.
6) FYI, the renovation will start from mid August to Nov'04.

Hope this piece of info helps.

terrapin

Hi abc,

I can understand your frustration. If you can prove that Oriental knew of the renovation before you confirmed with them (which isn't too difficult to do so from the renovation contractors), you do have quite a strong case.

However, taking legal action may not be your best course of action. From Fong2's note, Oriental seems quite willing to compromise, and you might want to just listen to what they have to offer before making your decision.

lsc

Hi Fong2

wow, u managed to meet up with the Sales Director as well

They mentioned tt we can retain the existing package even if we postpone our banquet... but i wanted them to honour the px but to lemme have the flexibilty to choose between the current package & the new package in 2005 (after their reno)... not sure if this is wise.. can some1 offer some advice to me??

Fong2: u mentioned tt u spoke to them on compensation.. so wat did they offer? appreciate if cld update me their offer.. thanks..

delldell

Hi fong2, my AD is end Oct...met up with them oredi...but still not satisfied with their offer, bec i realli felt that they should have been more transparent to me abt their reno in Mar...sigh...
hi terra, i agree. i will negotiate with them further. i want them to explain to me abt the reno info that they might already know in Mar. Why never alert me to facilitate my decision making?

wedding9999

I thought Pan Pac is fully booked until next yr ?

Anyway, need to source ard for various hotels these few days.

I insist on equivalent hotel - 5 star ones. I am not going to top up any amt than wat is stated in the contract.

Hi Fong2, u found yr venue ? Wat other alternatives u hv ?

Most other 5-star hotel are fully booked on my wedding date liao....

wedding9999

For those affected, maybe u all wat to drop your email here, so we can keep each other updated ?

Mine is [email protected]

Btw Fong2, did they mention how they going to compensate us ? How many extra nites' stay they going to give u ? Must ask them the next time. Think now I need to act fast to find new venue becos lots of hotels are booked for my AD....

delldell

i think we should get as much compensation as we can get...
we did'nt ask for the reno, they did! pls remember we are the innocent victims here, we are only poor souls here trying to get married. Noboby cares a hoot abt their reno....
Of all choices, we must choose this hotel and get all the troubles.....what rotten luck....

tealeaf

We have spoken to the banquet manager of Pan Pac. She mentioned that there is a couple who can't decide on the date, thus she has reserved that day for us instead. For the price, she will liaise directly with Agnes. We want at the very minimum everything to be same as the contract we signed with Oriental. No TOP-UP OF COURSE !!!!

Yep, it's the ocean ballroom. In fact, I find that the Pan Pac ballroom is even nicer than the Oriental one, so no complains.

wedding9999

No wonder lala. Yrs is on a weekday, so muh higher choice of avaialability.

Mine falls on sat so lots of hotels are booked for my date....

vinegal

what i am trying to say is that if pan pac is cheaper than oriental, why 'downgrade' in that sense since you gals r innocent? go for higher end ones, sure will hv the dates you want. try ritz,fullerton,4 seasons,asian cilvilsation museum,shangrila,conrad,etc

wedding9999

My coordinator is Wendy....;p

Yes, she is helping me to source for another venue. But it seems not much luck now.....;p....any suggestions ?

Mine on 23 Oct.

Btw, u receiving any compensation ?

tealeaf

Vinegal,

I know what you mean ... am also considering Conrad

Wedding9999,

We haven't discuss on the compensation thing yet. Agnes suggested to first look for hotel ...

fong2

Hi LSC

Didn't u meet up with Oriental's sales director? Actually we didn't expect to meet him. We were rather surprised to be welcomed by him and Agnes when we entered the hotel. Most of the talking is done by him and we were even brought to a semi-covered up edge of the lounge (trying to minimise any commotions i think
).

Regarding compensation, we just briefly told the sales director that we would like to be compensated for all the inconveniences that they have brought to us. But we will settle this after we have settled with our banquet venue.

abc

Didn't you get a chance to speak with their sales director? U still not satisfied with their offer? Y not u try source for other hotel venue and let them know wat u want? This is wat we did.

Wedding9999

Maybe u shld source higher end hotels which might still hv the date u want. For me, my AD is on Monday. Some hotels still hv my AD available. We hv found our venue at Fullerton. Still waiting for Agnes to liaise with them. Anyway, we will still be paying the same price stated in the contract. Oriental will be paying for the top-ups. Y not?

I agree with Vine. Maybe u shld check with Shangri-la, four seasons, ritz carlton, conrad, Sheraton etc.

wedding9999

I check out other high end hotel like raffles, ritz, conrad but all already booked for our date....
.....we are in the waiting list for fullerton & sheraton.....;(

bao_bao

I heard abt this incident and came in to have a look. Totally emphatises with you gals. We had nearly signed up with Oriental and would had be one of the victims like you if we had kept our first original date - Oct. Now I felt lucky not to have choose Oriental.

I must say that the hotel is quite unprofessional in this issue. However, we must also understand and try not to push the staff too hard. It is not their decision but the management. You gals would have to make sure that the management know the crisis that they have put you gals to and of course, it is their responsibilty to source for a alternative and compensate.

I suggest that you gals come together to write a letter to Case, and circulate among the major newspaper, including the chinese newspapers. You may also like to call up the media, tv, radio to voice your opinions on this issue.

The contracts by the hotel are very one-sided, which do not protect the consumer at all. Their so-called standard contract leaves us the consumers with no choice but to sign the contract. This incident just reminds me of the unfairness in the contract.

Good luck to you gals and I hope things will turn up well.

vinegal

lala,

when is ur ad? do you intend to postpone? i hv booked wif conrad for 20 mar 2005 but have to postpone to later date. so right now the 20 mar is available, it is a very hot date but bec i booked early, many enquiries were turned away.

delldell

hi fong2, i think we are most likely pushing back our AD.... but will make sure we get full compensation for the inconveniences they caused. I mean as much as we can get, to be exact! Unless they tell me their reputation is not worth a dime....
but i am also checking ritz carlton, shangri-la and fullerton for their availability....any extra cost, they shall foot!

hannah

I am one of the victims too. After planning for so long, so much effort being put into making my big day, everything has to be re-adjusted.

After meeting the coordinators from the Oriental, I haven't had a good nite sleep so far.. It's a traumatic experience!

The mgt just go ahead with whatever things they want to do but failed to consider for the customers who had trusted them to make their wedding day a memorable one. Wedding is a once a lifetime thing... how can they go ahead at our expense.

Me & my husband did not vent our frustration on the coordinator. We even went to source our own hotel but have to change our dates and chop our no. of guests! Its so NEAR, just impossible to get a good alternative at this 11th hour! Furthermore, my photographer is no longer available on my new date! So I will have to do my booking all over again! And its just impossible to get what you want now! Imagine the helplessness!

Hope all affected couples will work your way out soon!

I think we deserve compensation for the traumatic experience!

acer27

I am also another victim!

Although I have sort of found an alternative place but the feeling is never the same again.

I believe most affected couples choose Oriental for some good reasons and most important is that they know they will have a memorable wedding at Oriental. But now what Oriental did is like crashing our dreams.

Although compensation is neccessary..I still feel that Oriental management should at least gather all the victims and give us a good explanation and also apology! "RENOVATION" is not a good enough reason coz we didnt ask for it!

Good luck all!

delldell

yes, we did'nt ask for the renovation! they wanted it and it had really caused havoc to our wedding planning....
they should say sorry and make sure all the victims are nicely compensated........if not, i am surely making a big fuss out of this....

bong

i agree that feelings will never be the same again due to this traumatic experience Oriental has caused us. important thing is that we can stil have our wedding as planned in this yr even if we have to chg our AD. Aftr we met up with their Dir and mgr, we feel that at least they are sincere in helping us source for alternatives venue. b4 meeting them, we are very unsure as to how they will compensate us or help. the compensation they offered me is similar to what Fong2 has listed. So i supposed Oriental is sincere in their dealings with the affected couples. Unlike some of the lucky couples who are still able to secure other venues in the same date, i gota postpone my banquet to other dates as my original date has been fully booked for all other equivalent hotels.its really a headache having to coordinate ur videogrphr, photogrphr,makeup artist etc, on the new date again.

starbreeze

I am one of those affected as well. Words simply cannot describe the nightmare and trauma that my FH and I have gone through for the past few days. We have been running all around looking for venues but all are booked on our date. We have simply examined all possiblities including changing dates, but our families are getting very heated and unhappy over this. Now we still have not managed to find any alternative venue... Refunding or compensating us is simply useless at this point. We are seriously looking into calling up our journalist friends and spreading the word around. Why should the management get away with this and leave us all in the lurch like this???

lsc

I've more or less confirmed my banquet with another hotel. I agree with Bbong that i can feel Oriental's sincerity when dealing with this but at the same time, we're really traumatised by the sudden twist in events.
Nonetheless, I've emailed my coordinator on my change of venue and the px difference which they shd absorb.
I'll keep u'll informed on their reply.

oops

sorry to hear tis. i hv a very good experience wif them for my dinner.
i m very surprised to hear their reno plan so sudden wen m back in singapore. hope things work out fine for all at the end of the day.

delldell

hi all, when you are negotiating with oriental...pls make sure you get your contract amended first. don't wait until it's too late....now is the best time for you to bargain for compensation....i don't think we should wait till later then talk abt compensation....

wedding9999

I also one of the victim who after hearing abt the reno hv not been sleeping well for the past 1 wk. Has been calling hotels if they r available on our date but most of them are fully booked.

Finally, last sat, seen a hotel & decided to go ahead with them. Juz email Oriental 2day abt it & the price diff too (same as LSC) in which they shld aborb. Now waiting for them to get back to me. Hope everything will be ok.

Wat u mean by get Oriental to amend the contract, abc ? Wat we need to amend ?

Has anyone talked abt compensation with them yet ?

delldell

hi wedding 999, i am more referring to those who decide to stay with them on a later date.....should get them to compensate for the inconvenience in whatever you demmed fit............

delldell

and therefore remember to amend contract to seal their commitment... if later then bargain, too late already....there is 1 co-ordinator who is well known for not willing to negotiate at all!!! now is our best chance!

delldell

hi LSC and wedding999, have they replied your email? i hope they are not taking ages to respond to us....time is critical at this moment, don't you all agree......

lsc

Hi abc and all

They've yet to revert. I sent the email on Sun(6/6). Once they do so, I'll let u noe.

Thanks for your suggestion, i should get some form of written agreement from Oriental, juz in case they deny our arrangement.

eggster

I have aso managed to secure a venue but goto change my date. seems like they havn't discuss any compensation with any couples yet. they aso say will get back to me after they discuss with the new hotel. kinda of worid that they will back out of their initial agreement to compensate us after the venue problem is settled.

anyone has any suggestion wat i can do nex? all are now verbal agreement oni. dangerous....

delldell

ya man....me too............
i've sent my email to them, but yet to receive anything from them....
i am giving them 1 or 2 more days, if not, send reminder. Still no news, i will shoot to newspaper....the more they drag, the nearer to our AD.........
they simply don't seem to understand the agony we are going thru...so what if they meet us and promise us they will do everything to resolve the prob.....but now, no response to close the issue...it surely did'nt to keep wondering if our problem had been settled.

bong

hi gals, seems like no one has yet to hear from Oriental yet about the new hotel contract, compensation, etc including me even though I've confirmed with them the new venue.

tealeaf

same here gals. Agnes said they have booked Pan Pac for us already and is processing now. It has been a while already but has yet to confirm the details with us.

delldell

by word of mouth only, sigh...i scared liao....even their contract also can cancel bec of reno, how to be sure about verbal agreement?
anyway i am giving them 2 more days to respond, if not, escalate...........i think we have been veri patient with them oredi...

wedding9999

I still waiting for them to get back to me abt my new confirmed venue & when i can sign with the new venue.

Juz checking what yr coordinator told u all how they going to compensate us for all the inconvenience caused ?

I read one of the gals mentioned a few nites stay at Oriental (after reno) ? How many nites ? What else ?

wedding9999

Hi Lala,

So u signed the contract with Pan Pac ? Better make sure everything in black & white.

I still waiting for them to get back to me abt the new venue....;p

Btw, Oriental giving u any other form of compensation ?

tealeaf

Hi wedding999,

Nope, have not sign anything yet. Will be meeting Agnes end of this week. Will discuss compensation then. What to ask for, huh??

oops

Hi lala

thought the rates is the same, i feel that oriental menu is much better than pan pac menu (for dat price range). tis is jus my personal opinion. but guess the issue now is to get a ballroom and hotel dat u like which pan pac also gives pple a good impression (other than my personal bad experience wif their coordinator once). Tks.

tealeaf

Hi inc,

is oriental menu better? I didn't know about it. Personally I like the Pan Pac ballroom coz it gives a very cool & romantic feel.