Mandarin Oriental Singapore

sassy

Hi Stupy,

Yup! Let's keep in touch through the forum till our AD.

For a start, how about we put down our AD date and bridal? When's your's Stupy?

Jo, 2nd June 04, Flamingo Bridal

Me having my food tasting on 9 May. Same as Yan I think.

stupy

Jo Lim - Think my AD is the latest cos my on 7/5/2005. BS still not decided yet. Remember to let me know the outcome after your food tasting.

inlove

Hi Fong2, thanks for the info of the beer price. I din see it stated in my contract
I signed up beginning of this year.

Hi Jo Lim, Stubby, and the rest of Oriental brides, its a good idea to stay in touch and exchange ideas. My AD on 02 Dec 2004. Oops...Wendy will know who I am
My bridal is Kowloon Bridal. Till now I have not gone for gown choosing yet cos' never slim down at all. How about you guys?

sassy

Ok, here's the list then.

Jo, 02 Jun 04, Flamingo Bridal
Inlove, 02 Dec 04, Kowloon Bridal
Stupy, 07 May 05, not decided yet

Hey ladies, what about the rest of you?

Inlove, me finished my fittings and PS already. Yeah, was also quite stressed so took up some exercise beginning of the year.

Cheers, Jo

stupy

Jo Lim - Thanks for the list. So, somebody's big day is coming soon huh? How are you feeling? Dun forget to share your pics w us ok?

Inlove - Your AD is end of the year & you havent choosen any gowns yet? You not afraid it will too late meh?

inlove

Hi Jo, at least you have the will power to exercise and I always put it off
Think there is not much time left for me to lose weight and I hate exercising

Hi Stupy, actually wanted to go choose my gown this month then hubby say postpone so can have more time to lose weigh hahahaha......fat hope of him
Anyway, heard from some of my friends they got their gown pretty fast

audreysu

Dear Ladies

My AD is 14/5/05, BS is Seletar Broadway. I've not done anything yet, but I just confirmed my AD photographer. I'll be choosing my gown sometime in September

wedding9999

Hi Fong2 & everyone,

My AD is also on 23 Oct 2004, dinner on same day. BS same too - Santiago.

Btw Fong2, when's yr PS ? Who's yr MU, designer, photographer ? How's yr package like ? U converting to digital ? Must top up lots of $$$ if wat to convert to digital....;p....how's yr preparation ?

c0co

Hi gals, here's the updated list
mine is on 18 oct 2004 (monday) hee

c0co, 18 oct 2004, Frederick Lee
Fong2, 25 Oct 04, Santiago
Winniepooh 14 May 05, Seletar Broadway

Jo, u must be really excited and busy now with the invitations etc... hehe

clueless2705

Hi Jo,
hehe.. so will we see each other during food tasting?? Who is your coordinator?? Have u told her what dishes u want for the food tasting?? oh, btw, have u collected the wedding cards?? btw, if i have not confirmed the final table number, how do we determine the number of cards to take from Oriental??

I have updated mine details below...seems like its in sequence, so i have inserted mine in between

Yan, 11 Jul 04, BS : David Lim Lee

sassy

Hi Inlove, don't worry. You will look beautiful on your wedding day. Our body and look are not important. It's the confident way we carry ourselves that matters. I have seen ladies who are plain looking or more on the plump side but they looked very good. So, do what you can to make yourself look even better but just stay happy and you will look radiant on that day

Hi Stupy, do you mean my PS pixs? Or my AD pixs? You decided on your BS?

C0Co dear, thanks for the update. yeah! Lots of things to do now and you are right! Just sent out the wedding invites
My food tasting is next week, will let you know how it went okie!

Here's the latest with wedding9999 included:

wedding9999, 23 Oct 04, Santiago

Cheers Ladies!

pat

Hi Winniepooh

May i know how much are you paying for your AD photography? I'm also looking around for one.... Any recommendations?

audreysu

Hi Pat

My AD photographer charge me $480 for 8 rolls of film, additional roll at $35 per roll. It include redeveloping & he'll sort out into an album for you, and he'll return you all the negatives. I saw his portfolio & I quite like it.

You can call him & meet up with him to see his portfolio. He's Alan Dai & Hp number 97591469.

wedding9999

Thanks for the compilation.

My photgrapher is expensive but gd becos he use digital & will do special effects / montage (2-3 pic on 1 pic) on my pictures....;p

Thus, I will need to save cost on other stuff like BS pic, videographer & dinner....;p

Btw, Patricia, did u choose food tasting as perk ? I choosing that so now trying to get feedback which food shld I choose ?

Hi Jo & Yan, u 2 also choose food tasting, right ? wat food did u choose ?

wedding9999

So Yan, how much did u pay for yr food tasting ? So, wat perk did u choose from the list ?

Well, heard duck & crab stick is nice. But basically hv not try any food at Oriental wedding b4. Anyone tried b4 ? Anyone attended wedding at Oriental b4 ? What food is nice ?

fong2

Hi Wedding9999

My PS is on 14/6/2004. My Designer and MU is Sia, Photographer is Ah Da. U can refer to my earlier msg on my package. I think i'll stick to the standard package. The digital one have to pay additional $1380. I'm still looking for AD photographer.

You will be taking your PS this mth right? So, on which day will it be?

Hi Winniepooh

U are AudreySu right? So u hv decided to use a nickname now. Can share with us wat's your photographer's shop name? Does your photographer have any website?

c0co

no problem gals... lets all be happy and gorgeous Oriental Brides... hehe... talking about oriental, anyone having Cheong sum as EG? hehe...

Pat, congrats, u ar just three weeks away from your AD! Let us know if the florist is good... me thinking of getting outside vendor to do the job but dunno if there is any penalty(heard that some hotels charge penalty etc? weird huh)

Jo... do let us know about the food tasting... eager to know... hehe...

Pat, 24th May 04 ,French Studio
c0co, 18 oct 04, Frederick Lee
wedding9999, 23 Oct 04, Santiago

wedding9999

My PS on 28 May. Photographer also Ah Da. Must pay so much for upgrade to digital ? $1380 ? How u derive ? How many 15R u hv ? Can't find yr package u posted previously....;p

wedding9999

Hi Fong2,

My PS on 28 May. Photographer also Ah Da. Must pay so much for upgrade to digital ? $1380 ? How u derive ? How many 15R u hv ? Can't find yr package u posted previously....;p

audreysu

Hi Fong

My photographer name is Alan Dai. You have see other bride's review under photographer's thread. He does not have any website, if u wan to see his portfolio, u'll have to meet up with him personally.

fong2

Hi Wedding9999

Here's my package:

I took up the $3188 nett package which includes:
- 26 copies of 15R standard photo
- 48 copies of 4R (6 pose)
- WG & EG (Only 1 MTM)
- Men's suit (2 Jackets & 1 MTM pants to keep)
- Bridal Bouquet - 1 Studio (Indoor/Outdoor)
- Actual Day
- Car Decoration (Max 4 Bridesmaid's cars)
- Bridal Car (minus $200 if don't want)
- Bridal Makeup & hairstyling
- Trial Makeup (Taken on my ROM last yr)
- Studio (6 Hairstyles)
- Actual Day
- Actual Nite
FOC items:
- 2X 8R Table top
- Mini Album (5R)
- Tea Dress / Kua
- 1X Daddy's Jacket
- 1X Bridesmaid's gown
- 1X Bestman's Jacket

Upgrade to digital for us hv to top up another $1350. Cos min 32 pages for digital. So, i hv to top up another 6 pics @$95 each + existing 26 pics top up another $30 each.

Hi Winniepooh

Thks for the info. I'll check out the thread.

sassy

C0Co, thanks for adding in Pat's AD. Sure! Will let you know how it goes.

Wedding9999, my food tasting is one of the perks I choose so don't need to pay.

As for food... we chose the following:
1) BBQ Platter
2) 5 treasure soup(I think, doing away with sharkfins)
3) Abalone with Sea-cucumber
4) Roast Chicken with crackers
5) Fried King prawn with honey
6) Cod fish
7) I forgot what this dish is
8) E-fu noodle
9) Yam pudding

Yan, I heard many comments that the cod fish is nice. I have also tried it during the last bridal show when they gave us food sampling. Also, I read in one of the earlier thread that the ctabmeat with buns is unique. I am not choosing it though cause never try but you may want to give it a shot?

Hey all 2005 brides, what all of you can do is to ask you co-ordinator for the next time Oriental will be holding its bridal show. They usually show you the food display and you get to sample the food. You can then have a rough idea what food you want to try during your food tasting.

I wanted to do that but Agnes told me they won't be having any show in the early part of the year. Sighz!

wedding9999

Thanks Fong2 !

That mean I need to pay at least $1500 to upgrade to 32 pg digital becos I hv only 24 pcs.....;p....woh, so expensive wan....;p

Thanks Jo Lim ! So, u hv yr food tasting ?

Mmmmm....I like yr dish 4, 5, 6 & 9. But some pple think cod fish not very presentable becos not whole fish. Well, heard that the crab stick is nice but small so dunno enough for guest or not ?....;p

Well, ususally they hv wedding show early of the yr, so since this yr dun hv then maybe dun hv wedding show this yr....;p

So Jo Lim, wat other perks u choose ? U hv lots of tables, right ?

oops

HI

Urgent Advice needed from ex oriental bride:

i would like to check with ex oriental bride if anyone shows their video montage in the main ballroom and in wat kind of layout. M concerned about the viewing. not sure which layout m taking yet.

btw, to share wif the rest, i hv gone for my food tasting.

- Lobster salad(okay)
- Sharkfin (good)
- King Prawn (unique but each guest only get to eat one stick)
- Abalone with Sea-cucumber (good)
- Duck in red wine(personally i quite like it but it has mixed review and hence we are changing it to the normal chicken)
- cod fish (good)
- Veg - aspargus (okay)
- buns (unique but the buns are too little)
- yam (good)

Would like to ask ex oriental bride anyone comments the portion is small.....

Tks much

gwyen

I had my video montage at Ariel & Taeping, so I cant comment on the main ballroom.
As for the portion of foof, I think it is just nice.

stupy

Hi Inc, so during the food tasting, do you yrself find the portion too small or still ok. ( exclude the King Prawns)

wedding9999

Thanks Inc !

I was thinking of showing video montage for my wedding at the main ballroom too....;p

Btw, how's the portion for the food ? Are they too small, little, ok or big ?

Thks !

Btw, when's yr AD ? Who's yr coordinator ? How many tables u hv ? Which perks u choose ?

oops

find the food portion for all dishes okay(more towards the small portion). u will feel neither full nor hungry at the end of the session. maybe i did not go for the rice/noodles as a staple food. The food is unique and quite nice. Oriental services have been very good so far.
my coordinator is Agnes and hving about 30 odd tables.

sassy

Hi wedding999,
Yeah, my mum also said cod fish not whole but actually cod fish is exepensive fish so I told her it's ok, we'll just try.
I am having about 45 tables. As for the perks, have not really decided but will likely choose:
1) Food tasting for 10 (confirmed)
2) A deluxe room for helpers (maybe)
3) A night stay on our anniversary (maybe) we are using the 30l barrel of beer to exchange for this since our beer is already free flow.

Let you know after our food tasting this Sun!

Hi Inc, I think their standard video montage display is at the left corner of the stage. As I am having 45 tables, I am considering having 2 screens. Agnes told me they can provide 2 screens but I need to source for 2 LCD projectors + a distributor.

oops

Hi Jo

the left corner of the stage.. does it mean some of them at the corner will not be able to see it.
i suppose tis is the short march in layout given dat u hv 45 tables...

sassy

Hi Inc,

Yup, very likely that some guests won't be able to see it. I doubt some of the guests at the extreme right can see clearly also. That's why I am considering having 2 screens.

yes, this is the layout for the short march in.

oops

hm... i dun like hving 2screen. in fact,the screen does not look professional like those drop down from the wall dat kind :p

wonder if i should screen it at the reception

oops

To ex bride

May i know wat song did Oriental use for lst dish presentation and throughout the dinner (background music)?

Tks

pat

Hi inc

A list of songs will be provided from Oriental Hotel. You can choose from there.

For 1st dish they have

1)Summon the Heroes
2)Chariots of Fire
3) The Olympic Spirit
4) Flights over North Rim
5) Aria
6) Be our Guests
7) Carrick Fergus

Ask your coordinator to pass you the list. My list was given by Agnes. Try to check with them.

sassy

Hi wedding999,

1) Anniversary stay in bridal suite
2) A deluxe room for helpers
3) Likely another deluxe suite maybe

Hi Inc,
We went to the ballroom and took a peek. I think it's still ok, the guests from the extra right side can still see from the screen so I am sticking to just one screen.

As for the food, we like most of it except the roast chicken is a bit tough. Told the chef already. The 5 treasure soup tasted so good my husband said he don't missed the sharksfin

Overall, they are very accommodating to our requests and comments and won't mind if you would like customize a bit