Mandarin Oriental Singapore

wedding9999

I'll be having my wedding at Oriental end of this yr. So, when is yr AD ?

From my understanding, u need to pay $250 for the usage of the projector.

If u hv the food tasting & if there r 1-2 dishes u dun like & wld like to change, u can but u cant hv the food tasting of the changed dishes again.

So, who's yr coordinator ?

clueless2705

Hi Jo,

I will be having my dinner with Oriental coming July... Will try my best to answer your questions, but if i give u the wrong answers, dun scold me hor... must put disclaimer first.. heheee

The screen that they are using is the tripod type.. not those that comes down from the ceiling.according to my coordinator then, the screen will be placed at the corner.. ie when u enter from the main door at the foyer, its at your top extreme left corner... It will be beside the stage... so i guess the guests will not have problem seeing it.

As for projector, they do supply. some at a cost, some get it free... it all have to depend on your bargining skills n powers.. and most of the time, depend on your coordinator... I got mine free,

lastly for the food tasting, i have not gone for mine.. but definitely u can change the dishes if you dun like them.. but personally dun tink that u can have food tasting for those dishes... however, if u really really need to taste them, u can "buy" another food tasting session.. For me, i do not have the free food tasting, so i will be paying for that session... cant remember exactly how much though... think its around the range of $450 to $550

sassy

Hi wedding999,
Thanks for answering my queries. My AD is coming 2nd June. Ok, will take note of the food tasting part. Thanks a lot!

My co-ordinator is Agnes.

Hi Yan, thank you so much for being so helpful. Really appreciate it!! Okie, got a better idea now regards the screen. Wonder if it will look unsightly? Thanks, will try to negotiate for free use of the projector and also not have another food tasting.
Cheers! Thanks again!

Congrats to you both too!

audreysu

My current co-ordinator is Wendy. Is it possible to change the co-ordinator? Eg I do not get extra beer when I neg with her, she insist on 1 30l barrel for me

wedding9999

Hi Audrey,

When's yr AD ?

My coordinator also Wendy & I also can't get extra beer....

I dun think can change coordinator becos they already allocated....

clueless2705

ladies,

for those who were under melanie, who is your new coordinator now?? Are we all under wendy or its split between agnes and wendy??

wedding9999

I think those under Melanie are now under Wendy.....;p....becos I also previously liase with Melanie wan....;p

Btw Yan, is yr bday on 27 May ?

fizz

Hi girls!...Jus finished my weddin...Was previously under Melanie...But was handed over to Agnes...Guess it depends on their schedules and yr AD...

audreysu

Hi wedding9999

My AD is May'05. What abt urs? Now I'm trying to get help from my cousin cos she got contacts with Oriental see if I can more beer or wine, best if I can get both

wedding9999

Hi Audrey,

I dropped u an email. Plse check.

Hi Patricia,

Wanting to find out from u if yr coordinator waive wine corkage for u ? If yes, how many bttles did she waive for u ? Btw, wat's yr email address ? I only come in here sometimes.....;p....so may drop u an email instead....;p

audreysu

Hi wedding9999

I've replied ur e-mail. Wendy waive corkage for wine, 1 bottle per table so it depends on the number of confirmed attendance you have

fong2

I've just signed a contract with Oriental. My AD will be on 23 Oct but dinner will be on 25 Oct 2004. We have confirmed 30 tables and may increase 2 or more tables. My co-ordinator is Agnes. Like Patricia, we'll forgo the cake and exchanged for 4 bottles of wine. As for the bridal suite, we'll exchanged for the harbour suite + another nite's stay.

As my husband and I don't drink, can you share with us how much does a bottle of wine cost? Agnes have offered us a special rate of house pour wine at $23.00 nett per bottle with waiver of corkage charges. Is this considered as relatively cheaper than market rate? The corkage charge for wine brought in will be at $13 per bottle.

How do you manage to negotiate for free flow of beer?

As for the projector, according to Agnes if there is a function going on our AD, she will negotiate with the company which they rent the projector and let us have it for free that nite. We'll just have to keep our fingers cross. Else i'll have to borrow from my church.

audreysu

Hi Fong
MY AD is actually May'05 & I'm signing the contract today. My co-ordinator is Wendy, we did not forgo anything but neg very hard for a lot of things. We go extra 20 litres of beer, so now I got a total of 50 liters which is more than enough for the nite (cos my wedding anniversary is very close to my AD).

If you buy wine from supplier, they'll normally charge between $18 - $20 per bottle, but if your guest is not heavy drinkers, then its advisable to get it from hotel. Wendy charge me $22 nett per bottle.

As for projector, I've not talk to her about it, so we shall see about it.

fong2

Hi Audrey

Thks for your advice. We hv decided to get it fr the hotel. We anticipate that our guess won't be drinking that much on our wedding dinner since it's a monday.

fong2

Hi all former Oriental brides

Any of you had different dishes served for different tables? I'm asking this question as my MIL (traditional teochew) had requested that she wants steam promfret to be served but i would prefer baked sliced cod fish to be served. As for dessert, she will prefer Yam Pudding while my mum would prefer Mango pudding.
We have asked Agnes but she said we have to check with the chef when we go for the food tasting.

sassy

Hi yan or all former oriental brides(if you still come in this chat room),

Do you think it's possible to ask for two screens? I am concerned that beccuse the projector is at the far left corner of the ballroom, may be difficult for some guests to see.

What do you think?

Anyone had two screens before?

audreysu

Hi wedding9999

I committed 35 tables as we have abt 37 tables of attendence.

I get 1 night stay from the package & the other night from the perks, so 2 nites stay in total.

What about u?

audreysu

Hi Pat

I did not neg with Wendy on the wine part as we find the price pretty reasonable, I'll check with her again tomorrow & indicate in my contract just in case she change her mind

wedding9999

Hi Audrey,

I hv abt 25 tables.....;p....much lesser than u....mmmm, maybe becos I hv less tables so Wendy didnt gv me more beer. I was also quoted $29 nett for wine. So I shld get my own wine outside.....;p

audreysu

Hi wedding9999

r u using the grand ballroom? if she's charging u $29 for wine, the its adviseable for u to get it outside, but u must find those that can let u go on consignment. As for the beer, I really neg very very hard with her b4 she gave me the extra 20 litres, there are some brides here that manage to get free flow

clueless2705

Hi Wedding 9999,

nope, my birthday is not on the 27 May..

i called oriental.. and found out that my coordinator is agnes.. so heehe,, its not that all brides under melanie before came under wendy...

me have also confirmed my food tasting session with agnes.its going to be on mother days... abit cheapskate la,.. but it can kill 3 birds with one stone.. *sign* got to pay to makan...

sassy

Hi Yan,

Are you having your food tasting on 9 May too? Me also. Btw, do you know if they can accommodate 2 screens?

When is your AD?

Jo

clueless2705

Hi Jo,

ya, food tasting on the 9th May...
how many tables are u having?? if its not the max, i think its possible to have 2 screens... just that not too sure whether does oriental has 2 projectors and 2 screens or not??

Pandon my ignorance... but can projectors be linked up to the network?? if not, then u would need to prepare 2 notebooks, and 2 disks right?? how to ensure that both projectors are played at the same second?

my actual day is on the 11th Jul...

sassy

Hi yan,

I am having 45 tables. I just checked with Agnes. She said they can provide 2 screens but we would need 2 LCD projectors and a distributor. I guess the distributor is the main source that distribute to the 2 projectors. Me trying to find out if Oriental has and if not, whether their suppliers can provide. How many tables are you having?

My AD is on 2nd June

Our AD only a month apart.

clueless2705

my tables are not confirmed yet... so we only booked the minimum... 25 tables.. will firm up the numbers and let agnes know again...

yours is less tha 2 months ahead.. so, hows preparations?? Have u collected the cards from Oriental already?? which printer are u using?? the preferred printer by oriental or you sourcing outside??

where u got your gowns from?? u must have taken your photos already right??

Me still waiting for my first fitting this friday.. hope everythings is fine... and my PS is in late may, praying hard that the album will be ready in time...

sassy

Hi yan, preparation is now in full swing. Just sent the banquet cards and my church cards in for print this week. For my church invites, I am printing the 2 side full colour postcard type. Yup! I am using Oriental's printer, save the trouble of having to pick up the cards though I think there are cheaper rates else where. Like 0.04 cents cheaper I think.

For this month and next, will be sourcing materials for my church deco, source for wedding favours, meet up with Agnes to finalise details, food tasting, order cakes, Guo Da Li, get some furniture for our room and cater for church buffet, meet up with helpers etc.

I am a Flamingo bride. What about you? Yes, my PS was in March and we hope to collect our album by mid May.

You are having your first fitting this Friday? Wow! Enjoy
How many more fittings have you got and when is your PS?

The rental rate for LCD projector Agnes quoted me is pretty ex. $250/- + GST + Cess. May source for my own outside. I think will likely put up 2 screens. Alternative will be to put the screen on the stage. What do you think?

clueless2705

I din sign up with any BS.. I had David Lim Lee to design my gowns for me... he took care of everything.. oh, btw, he is a freelance designer.. and he sorts of have a package that includes almost everything...

As for the fitting, think I have 2 more before the PS, and after that I got to take the gowns home.. oh, FYI, i get to keep all my gowns, so after PS, i will have to bring the gowns home already...

I think the stage will be a good idea since its pretty empty. May I know what are u screening?? is it going to be at the begining of the dinner, during or throughout the dinner??

where is your stage going to be?? at the centre or at the end??

sassy

Hi yan, wow! SO nice to get to keep your gowns
How did you get to know David? I have never heard of him.

I will be screening a video montage which is a combination of video clip on what happened in the morning in church, some of our PS photos and some of our photos. Will probably screen before the march-in but have not decided whether 1st or 2nd march-in.

The stage? Oh! I mean the stage which Oriental set up. I am taking the short march-in so my stage will be at the centre. I am just afraid the stage may look weird with a screen after the screening. Not to mention out screen is a tripod type.

Jo

clueless2705

I got to know david cos he is a personal friend of my sister... but had read many good reviews of him from this forum.. that's why I decided to go with him... We managed to click very well.. we are more like friends now.. We got a very good deal from him, and I must say that this guy is very good at keeping to budget.. He managed to give me everything that i ask for, in fact more and within my budget...

If the screening is before your march in.. u can arrange with Oriental to remove the screen quietly when u are matching in... as everyone's attention is on u and your hubby when u walked in... think oriental is able to deploy staff to remove the screen... That's what a friend of mine did during her wedding at M hotel...
Maybe u can discuss this with Agnes??

c0co

hi gals... just wondering... if the ice scrupture is included.. if we dun want it, will we be able to get something else, like more flower? Did everyone take the scrupture????? Thanks...

audreysu

Hi c0co

ice scrupture is not included in the package & I dun think Oriental provide. I dun think u can request for more flowers as their setup is pretty standard. If u wan more flowers, then u got to get it at ur own cost, but no harm trying to neg with ur co-ordinator

clueless2705

ice scruption is included.. think u can use between a vase, swans or dolphins...

usu they wun exchange anything for it cos they ask that the cost is rather low.. so they will lugi if u want to exchange for other items... at least that's what my ex coordinator told me...

u can request for more flower stands, provided that there are excess ... there are only like 8 stands.. but they do charge u for extra stands.. in terms of pricing.. its up to your bargaining...

babbit

Hi coco,
Ice sculpture is definitley included. And like what yan said, they will not be able to exchange anything for u if u decide not to take the sculpture. I have chose the vase, so i managed to get more flowers on the stage. The effect is actually very nice n romantic.

audreysu

I din know that ice sculpture is included in the package as its not stated in the package. I've signed the contract with them already, is it still possible to get them to include it in my package?

Please advise. tks

oops

Hi babbit

could u share the foto on stage wif the vase and flower. at lst, i tot of doing away wif the ice sculpture as it seems like "old" idea. Tks.

c0co

Hi babbit... u mean u actually put flowers in the ice sculpture vase? Interesting?

Dun think i will be taking dolphins/swans though..

Audrey... maybe its included automatically... but u should always check with them again...

fong2

Like Audrey, there's no mention of ice sculpture in my contract too. Maybe it's only for btbs who signed up before 31 October 2003. I happen to know abt this when i was flipping thru Sep03-Feb'04 Style Weddings mag. Comparing the perks stated in the mag and those in my contract, i notice that the "tastefully done ice carving to adorn your stage" is replaced by "red carpet aisle with fresh floral stands and dramatic 'misty' effect during bridal entrance".

oops

Hi fong2

our contract also states the red carpet aisle with fresh floral stands. maybe they realise not many pple like the ice sculpture now. so do away with it.

audreysu

Hi c0co

I'm not too sure if its added automatically into the contract, I shouldn't have missed this item cos I really read thru every single detail before I sign on the dotted line. But I'm not very interested with ice sculpture, I'll rather they give me more fresh florals to brighten up the place

babbit

Maybe they have indeed change the contract. But for ours, we too got the red carpet, fresh flowers stands n candles and flowers for my centre table piece. N of course, the misty entrance.

audreysu

hi wanlow1

If u have only 12 tables, then u can't use the grand ballroom, cos their min is 25. You can try restaurant like Jade which serves really good food & their ambience is fantastic

fizz

Hi Wanlow1
For 12 tables, u may wanna check the Ariel/ Taiping rms...heard tat they r quite nice.. rms...heard tat they r quite nice...

wedding9999

Juz finding out if any of u heard of the renovation abt Oriental end of this yr ? Is the reno confirmed ? When will it be ? Will it affect the weddings for end of the yr ?