Mandarin Oriental Singapore

jaci

Hi inc,

Would like to share picture of the ice vase.
72467.jpg

oops

Tks jaci for sharing. gives me a better picture how it looks now. do all of u hv idea how to better the stage deco :p?

heard of the reno rumour.. seems like not confirmed. better to check and hear from the horse mouth (agnes, wendy). but understand the period is end of tis yr (rumour). cheers.

audreysu

Wendy told me that the reno is more or less confirmed as the contractors has went down & will probably start work towards the end of the year. Do check with your co-ordinator if the reno will affect your wedding

stupy

Hi Ladies.... I'm a Mar05 bride. Will be holding my banquet @ Oriental too. Still find the wine is quite ex$$$. They will charge me $10nett per bottle on wine for corkage. Do you gals feel tat the aisle for the march is abit too short? This is juz my own opinion lah....

audreysu

Hi Karen

How many tables have u committed? Waiver of wine corkage can be neg. They waive 1 bottle per table. I have committed 35 tables, which means I can bring in 35 bottles of wine. Btw, who is ur coordinator?

wedding9999

Hi Karen, how much they charge u for wine ? How many tables u hv ? Like wat Audrey say, maybe u can ask for waiver of wine corkage.

Btw Patricia, cld find out from u wat u give up to exchange for more nites stay ? Besides anniversary voucher & cake, anything else ? Becos I also thinking of giving up some other stuff t exchange for more nites stay....;p....btw, u comitted 25 tables, right ?

Thks !

stupy

Audrey & 9999 - Im having 25 tables & they are charging me $21nett per bottle of wine. Agnes is my coordinator

Pat - you mean they hav a coplimentary on anniversary voucher? How come they never offer me hah? I'm giving up the champagne part.

wedding9999

Hi karen,

Think the voucher was for those pple who signed up much earlier last yr. This yr onwards no voucher. Think they replaced for something else. Anyway, voucher not much use. I was thinking of changing for something else, more flowers also better.

stupy

9999 - My Ad is on 26 Mar 05. Haven't decided on the BS. Infact I haven't really start to prepare anything yet.

wedding9999

Hi stupy, then maybe u shld look ard for BS. There r quite a no of shows ard these few wks. U may get gd offers.

Btw, I'm with Santiago. Too bad I didnt signed up during their shows.....;p

audreysu

Karen, u're really lucky to get such cheap wine, Wendy is charging me $22nett per bottle, but I still it's a little expensive & decided to source myself outside

fong2

Hi Karen

Agnes is also my coordinator and she's charging me $23 nett per bottle of wine with waiver of corkage. Decided to buy from the hotel itself.

Hi Wedding9999

I'm with Santiago too!!!

I signed up with them last yr for my ROM and also not during the bridal show. I heard from 1 of my colleagues who had signed up during the bridal show that they gave better perks for the same price that I have signed up for.

wedding9999

Hi Fong,

When's yr AD ? How many tables u hv ?

I also signed up Santiago b4 my ROM last yr not during the bridal show. So, how's yr package like ?

stupy

Hi Fong, so when is your AD? Have you chosen any BS. Im thinking of Aullure Charix. They have bigger size for me.

fong2

Hi Wedding9999

My AD is 23/10/04 but my dinner will be held on 25/10/04. We prefer it that way bcos me and hubby will be able to relax. Besides, my MIL is teochew. Gotta wake up very early. @_@

So, when's your AD? We have confirmed 30 tables and might be adding some more. How many tables are you getting? When's your PS? Mine will be in June. Have just chosen my WG & EG last Monday. Most of the off the rack gowns are so small size!!! I'm not considered fat but to look good on photos, still gotta slim down abit. Gotta start going on a diet within this precious 2 mths. Hopefully can shed a few inches off my waist. keekkee...

I took up the $3188 nett package which includes:
- 26 copies of 15R standard photo
- 48 copies of 4R (6 pose)
- WG & EG (Only 1 MTM)
- Men's suit (2 Jackets & 1 MTM pants to keep)
- Bridal Bouquet - 1 Studio (Indoor/Outdoor)
- Actual Day
- Car Decoration (Max 4 Bridesmaid's cars)
- Bridal Car (minus $200 if don't want)
- Bridal Makeup & hairstyling
- Trial Makeup (Taken on my ROM last yr)
- Studio (6 Hairstyles)
- Actual Day
- Actual Nite
FOC items:
- 2X 8R Table top
- Mini Album (5R)
- Tea Dress / Kua
- 1X Daddy's Jacket
- 1X Bridesmaid's gown
- 1X Bestman's Jacket

How's your package? Did you sign up for the magazine style album? I would like to have that magazine style album but gotta top up another $1350 which is off our budget.

My designer is Sia and had chosen Ah Da to be my photograher for my PS. How abt you?

Hi Stupy

I've signed up with Santiago last yr before my ROM. When's your AD? How many BS have you been too? Santiago is my first stop. Was at bugis shopping when me and my then bf (now hubby) stop at Santiago to take a look at the album outside its shop. Then coincidently met my fren and his wife having their PS. They said their phototaking skills are good. That's how we signed up with them. Regretted for not shopping around for more BS before making the decision. But after looking thru the thread on Santiago, we are more rest assured that we are in good hands.

Maybe you can go thru some of the threads here on BS. It will give u some ideas of some BS. Good luck.

wedding9999

Hi Fong,

My AD & dinner is on 23 Oct.....;p

Is it ? The gowns all so small sized ? How come those gowns that they show me are so big ? Mmmm....I am too skinny....;p

My designer is Sia, MU is Joey & photographer is Ah Da. PS will be end of May becos I wat it earlier....;p

Hey, I also took the $3188 package but u hv more 15R pic than me. I only hv 24 pcs & only 1 tabletop. I also use my trial MU for my ROM last yr.....;p

Actually wat is magazine style ? Is it those more than 1 pic on 1 page ? That need to upgrade to digital than can hv those effect wan, right ? I dun intend to spend so much $$$ on my pic becos no budget for it. Heard if u upgrade to digital, then u need to hv min 32 pgs for yr album, means hv to pay extra for the more pgs.

Btw, I'm Teochew but I dun care abt timing on my side....;p....so juz stick to normal 7am time....;p

wanlow1

Gywen,
can share with me ur wedding at Oriental's Ariel & Taiping Suite? coz i have 12 tables only.
-------------
Jaci,
is ur picture at Oriental's Ariel & Taiping room?

jaci

wanlow,

Mine is at the Main Ballroom but the stage is the same for Ariel & Taiping room...I have seen a wedding setup there before.

fong2

Hi Wedding9999

Regarding my package, it includes a large photo (to be hung on the wall). But we told our coordinator that we dun want it. So instead she gave us 2 table tops and a few more pics.

Would you be taking the long, short or L-shape march in? I would prefer the long march in so that a lot of our guest will be able to see the pretty bride. kekeke...
I'm currently looking for songs for the long march in. Any recommendations?

How abt AD photography? Hv you got your photographer? We are still sourcing for 1. Any idea wat is the market rate now? Any recommendations? :p

Do you know wat's the difference between normal AD photograhy and Journalistic photograhy? Saw this from some of the photograhers' website from the suggested photographers list here.

wedding9999

Hi Fong2,

Oic. I think maybe I may wat to switch my tabletop for more pic....;p

Actually, hv not decided whether to take long or short march-in....;p

I also currently looking for my march-in, photo montage & express editing....;p....now still looking ard for videographer. Already found a photographer. Although he is expensive, but my HB seen his work & he was my HB buddy photogapher, so my HB knows his attitude & work & so juz take him....;p....if u like can PM u his contact. Btw, what's yr budeget for photgrapher ? U looking ard for videographer ? Budget ?

I dunno wat the diff for journalistic photgraphy. My photgapher is using digital camera & will do special effects / montage for us on the pictures....;p

jaci

wanlow,

Of course, it is not as grand as the grand ballroom since it is smaller and rectangular in shape. But for just 12 tables, I think it is cosy enough. My suggestion is to go and see an actual wedding setup......u can always check with the wedding cordinator for any wedding to be held there....that's what I did when I was deciding on the venue.

gwyen

hi wanlow, what would u like to know? Like what jaci mentioned, I think its cosy enuff for 12 tables at The Ariel & Taeping Suite. Just that the march in is pretty short.

wedding9999

Hi stupy,

Juz finding wat perks u choose for yr wedding ? Mmmm....I choose food tasting....;p

Btw, how many nites stay u hv ? Maybe shld exchange for more nites stay. Think Patricia exchange for more nite stay.

Patricia : wat u exchange for more nite stay ?

Btw stupy & Patricia, do u hv free flow of beer ?

stupy

Wedding9999 - Im entitled for the food tasting as well. But wondering the rest have tried the food there yet.

I only have 1 nite stay coz I exchange for free flow of beer coz alot of drinking frens...

Btw, since we will be holding our banquet in the same hotel, shall we find a day to meet up so that we can actually discuss more bout it. Can gather the rest as well. Wat do you think? Maybe you can email me your contacts. [email protected]

wedding9999

Sure, we can meet up toegther with the rest.

I also hv not tried the food. But heard cod fish, duck, 'o ni', honey prawns, crab stick r gd....;p

Btw, wat u exchange for free flow of beer ? When u signed up ? How come I dun hv free flow wan ?

Btw, my email is [email protected].

U can drop me an email.

c0co

hi gals... i m also an oriental bride... let me know if u gals are meeting... my wedding is in Oct... afraid cant help much if u gals wedding are much earlier but still hope to chit chat with u gals :p

fong2

Hi Wedding9999

Maybe u can exchanged for a smaller suite with another nite's stay? That's wat my hubby and i hv decided on. U shld asked your coordinator to let u view the bridal suite. It's a president suite!!! But it's facing suntec. We hv oso viewed the harbour suite which is half the size of the president suite and is facing the river. We are satisfied with the harbour suite and have requested to exchanged for it for 2 nites' stay.

fong2

Hi Wedding9999

The advantage of taking the President suite is that you can hold your tea ceremony there at it's living room. As my hubby and I would not be holding our tea ceremony there, we would rather exchanged for a smaller suite with another nite's stay.

pat

Hi Wedding999

Sorry for my late reply as i'm very busy lately.

I did not exchange anything for free flow of beer as i was referred by one of my friend to sign up from oriental hotel.

BTW, anyone know what type of rooms are they referring when they mention about 1 or 2 nite stay at the bridal suite?Is it a President suite or harbour suite?

wedding9999

Hi Patricia,

So, when did u signed up ? So, u r referred ? Did u get a better package ? $798 nett ?

So sad, I du hv free flow....

Btw, did u choose food tasting or extra nite stay as perk ? What other perks u hv ?

wedding9999

Hi fong2,

How to arrange tea ceremony at hotel rm ? Thought can only check in ard 2pm ?

So, u choose extra nite stay for yr perk ? Did u choose food tasting ? What other perks u hv ?

Btw, u hv free flow of beer ? It seems that everyone her hv free flow except me....

inlove

Hi Wedding9999,

I did not have any free flow of beer too. Don't worry too much. Anybody knows how they charge for extra beer? I was given a free 20 or 30L of beer only.

sassy

Hi Inlove,

I think they charge about $600+ for an extra 30L barrel of beer.

Also, the free flow was given to couples who signed up during their promotion show last year.

Hope that helps.

fong2

Hi Patricia & Wedding9999

I've checked with Agnes regarding the suite they are giving the newly weds. She said the hotel will give the higher end suite (which my hubby and i tot shld be the president suite). She had showed us the room. It is really big! There is a guest toilet, a living room (which Agnes said the tea ceremony can be held there), a mini bar, a kitchennette, a master toilet (with bathtub and a separate shower area)with build in wardrobe facing the master toilet and of cos the bedroom. This is as far as i can remember.

We didn't choose another nite's stay fr the perks. Instead we asked Agnes if we can change to another smaller suite (preferably facing the sea) for 2 nites' stay. She said that can be arranged.

As for the perks, we will be choosing the food tasting. And if our final confirmed tables increases (currently we have confirmed 30 tables = 1 perk, >30 tables = 2 perks), we might choose the 30 litre barrel of beer.

As for the tea ceremony, I'm not sure how the hotel will arrange for it. Cos Agnes mentioned that there are some brides who had held their tea ceremony there. Maybe u can check with your coordinator?

We also do not have free flow of beer. Instead what we have is the 30l barrel of beer.

Hi Inlove

Additional barrel of beer are chargeable @
- $680 Nett per 30l
- $480 Nett per 20l
- $10 Nett per glass
That's what is stated in my contract.

pat

Hi Fong2

Thanks for the information about the suite. As my hubby is a foreigner, i'll be having my tea ceremony in the hotel.

Wedding999
I took the package in dec last year. As usaual, I'm paying $798 nett per table.

As i need rooms for my overseas friends, thus i exchange some of my perks to room.

Dun worry about the free flow of beer. Maybe you can discuss with your coordinator when the date draws nearer.

My coordinator has offered me $29 for red wind. I think is it too expensive as others in the forum are getting it bet $23 or $24. Though of negotiating with her by then.

pat

Heard about the renovation at Oriental. Kind of worry that it mind affect the wedding. Anyone is aware about the renovation work?

angeliqueho

Hi Patricia, I just held my wedding dinner at oriental on the 24th. Wendy is my co-ordinator and she offers me $21 for the wine. I think the price will change from time to time.

angeliqueho

Hi inc, I havn't got back most of my guest's feedback yet. But so far a number of them commented that the food are nice. I have 14 tables and thus is using the Ariel and Taping Suit. Layout wise, I feel that the match in pathway is too short. But is ok for me, I'm a rather shy person hehe.

1) Prawns & Lobster salad with melon
2) Shark fin with scallop and crab meat
3) Roast Chicken with crackers
4) Battered Prawn (something like that, can't remember, but its a sticked prawn)
5) Abalone with seasoned vege
6) Steam Garoupa
7) E-fu noodle
8) mango pudding with strawberries
9) One more I forgotten

hehe, nearly forgotten the dishes, but most of them commented the sticked prawn is very nice.

oops

Tks Angelique.
Just hope it turns out fine for the rest of us esp the food (dat why i choose Oriental)

stupy

9999 - Sorry that I get back to so late, I 4got to mention that I was in K.L from 22/4 till yesterday for work.

Coco/Pat/Fong2/Inlove/Jo Lim/Angelique/Inc - Hi Ladies....Hope we can keep in touch till the AD for all of us. Btw, when you gals mention $798 nett, is it on a weekend and also for this year?