Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Hi Bug,

I am also looking at meritus mandarin and just got the 2006 wedding package from them. Had just fwd u a copy too.

i gotten married at MM last yr.. and sunddenly came across the packages again.. kekek. by chance and realise MM package is still very reasonable but they do not have the ANNIVERSARY Celebrations for those married in MM for their anniversary... Maybe tts why the package on comparision is much cheaper.

hi skyblu,

thanks.. i received them.. have u decided which hotel? confirm MM? which month?

Hi jellybean07,

care to share which month u book? for 2006? we haven select our AD.. so quite worried.. scared the date we want fully booked already..

what abt wine and beer? any free? usually free beer, some hotels provide free wine (thats what my fren told me).

Hi Bug,

I booked for 11 March 06...Yes they do have free flow of beer...
dun think a lot of hotels have free flow, normally one barrel free or something...

When you planning to have you AD?

Hi Bug,

Don't mention.

No, we havent seen MM. Haven't decide on the specific date, but it shld be in March or June.

I think u are in the same shoe as me... are u waiting for the lunar calendar to be out?

hi jellybean & skyblu,

actually me and hubby waiting for our fengshui master to advice on AD.. as our flat just finish reno.. need to invite him back for final comments.. haven arrange to meet fengshui master yet... after that then can start planning AD...

we have no preference which month or any special date.. any good date is fine with us.. wkend wkday also can.. but hoping it be later, so we can save up more..

jollybean,
free beer.. sounds good.. cos some hotels oni give yah one barrel which is abt 30litre (serves abt 90 glasses only)... free flow more worth it... but free beer for everyday? some hotels free flow oni for wkend package..

Hi Bug,

think it should be all days free flow leh...not too sure... hee hee...

but i remembered this is one of the plus points of MM, cos beer can actually add up to quite a significant sum...

Hi Ling

i'm back...my wedding was last sat, everything turns out great...

really thanks 2 Malcolm for making my wedding dinner a memorable one...three cheers 4 him...

i din noe tat malcolm prepared the flowers petals 2 b used during my 1st march in, the effects was fantastic...haven't get 2 c my fotos n video, but tink it will b great as well...

thanks ling 4 guiding me during my wedding preparation...

Hi Vivian,

Congrats!
kao_wedding.gif

I am new here. I am also looking at MM as my AD venue. which ballroom did you use? How's the food and service?

Hi Bug,

Same here, we also dun have a particular date in mind too, but me and my hubby are waiting for the lunar calendar to be out...so as to use it as a guide to find a gd AD.

Hi skyblu

Thanks...i'm using the belvedere..the services is great, food wise, my guests commended soso...i din really eat much tat day, so can't tell..but i loved their oh nee...hehehe..

Hi holly

thanks...

Hi Vivian,
I am also using Belverdere room. Can u tell me how was the lighting in the room and also the deco? I am having 28 tables...will that be too crowded?

I heard they use JM florist huh...what kind flowers they use huh...sorry i ask so much cos me kinda worried lah..

I like the room alot but worried abt florist and lighting.

Skyblu, i have abt 28 tables also. Not very small..just nice lor.

Hi holly

i liked the effect of the lighting in the room, tat's wat attracts me in the first place...
initially i aso having abt 28, but when nearer 2 date, ppl start backing out so end up i hve abt 25...i dun tink the room would b too crowded...if 30 might b too crowded liao...

abt the deco, i loved the color of the flowers, whitish pink, beri nice....i've no idea which florist they r using....probably when my pic is out, can show u the pic...

Hi skyblu

there r pillars in belvedere..hve u been there? probably u might wanna take a look at the ballroom this wkend when there's a wedding going on 2 look at the size of ballroom...

Hi Vivian,

Nope, I never been to MM.
Oh u mean i can just pop in? Normally when is the ideal time to take a look?

Hi skyblu

yes, u can just pop in n take a look at the deco of the ballroom, i tink usually wkend they shd hve dinner...u can go after 5.30 b4 6.30, cos the ballroom usually b ready at abt 5.30-5.45...then guest will start arriving after 6.15...
although if u pop by there, there will b ppl ard, such as the frz or relatives of bride or bridegroom helping out there...it's ok, u just go in n c, i aso did tat when i was looking 4 htl 4 my wedding...

Hi dawn

sure will share with u my pics when i get it..
but dunno did my photographer take a pic of the whole of the ballroom, or bits n pieces here n there...

Hi, for those who had their wedding dinner at Meritus Mandarin, may I ask what is the ratio of waiter to table? 1:1? And how did you find the food's taste and portion? Thanks!

earl grey: usu ratio for table to server is 2:1 / 3:1... but u can request 1:1 at additional cost.

as for food.. during Food tasting and the actual wont be the same.. cos the Quantity kitchen is doing is many times during the Banquet. I had my wedding in Oct 04, and the food being served is good enough for all the guest. and already in my mind then, i had minus some pts.. cos i dun have chance to sit down n eat... but when the dinner ended, with some friends still hanging ard.. i ask them abt the food.. all mentioned, nice n good n good portion too..

here are some deco pics which my photographer took.. for ur reference.
294011.jpg

294012.jpg

294013.jpg

Hi Dawn,
My coordinator is Adeline.
I've yet to confirm the number of tables with them, but i'm hoping to not exceed 25-28 COX of the PILLARS~
Yar the price increased by $10 to $618+++. Sadx but no choice.
As for my perks, onli extra nite stay for helpers room and increase 10% of wedding cards..

Hi Holly,
Me TOO~! took belverdere. Same dissatisfaction.. the pillars... =( but i've discuss with my FH, n decide on putting those close fren to sit at those tables blocked by the pillars. Guess that's my some little solution.. =)

hi poshbb

i think i took mandarin court too. I spoken to my coordintor knowing that the color theme in march06 is gold which i believe is different from this year.

But i was wondering, will the seating arrangement be changed? where is the march in, is it grand??

Wong: the aisle for MC is ok. distance wise is a good lengthy road to the stage. Floral Arrangements are real impt for a grand atmosphere and walk in too. so choose your floral wisely. Maybe u wanna add things to make it grand, bubbles, and having friends to toss flower petals and even flower girl n page boy too.

i think in Oct 04, my theme is gold too... but i chose Artificial flowers cos the look better and more cluster.

wong: MM will give you basic Floral Arrangments. But if you wan something very beautiful, well a sum to pay for sure.
how much? i am not sure.. cos i made use wat was provided. It oso depends whether your Coordinator advice you well or not.

hi poshbb

hmmm....since you feel comfortable with what is provided for you then to me should not be a prob.

I trust my coordinator will advice me well.

wong: ya... best for you to sit down with ur coordinator to discuss.. but during this period of waiting time, u might ask ur CO to keep u update on the wedding happening at MC. so u can pop in to see the different decos.
i did my homework. My CO even given me contacts of their offical florist if i require more floral arrangements. As for the confirmation of Deco, that will happen only 1-2 mths before your wedding.. so u dun have to rush to see ur CO, they will sure come after u.

hmmhmm..poshbb you are one hardworking bride.

Now i facing some issue and have a tendency to call off my wedding. Is all cos of my FH. Nothing serious but i lost faith that he can be a leader / husband / father of the household.

Currently i am slowing things down. Hope this will help me to calm down and to see things for clearly in order not to make any rash decision.

wong: well i understand. we girls usually little Kan Chiong abt wedding stuffs, where man tends to take it slowly. Thats it nature. All men the same... Do you think man will go ard asking what to prepare, what to buy, what to have? wat to do? no they dont.

That's the difference between a man n woman. Well, dun becos he take things slowly, u wanna call the wedding off. He dun participate, doesnt mean he dun care. Maybe he just taking life real slowly thats all.

I am a hard working bride? kekeke.. yes n no.. kekke. i did all my table planning way before, so i have less a problem to tackle. I took my photos ages before, my AD in Oct, i took in May. so one less problem. I printed my cards in Aug, so early, so i wont rush into things.

Guess what i missed... keke my Manicure & pedicure... Cos my SIL refused to help my in laws and us with my HB's housework. So we rushed all day on the Eve of the wedding to get his house up. And i did my mani & pedi at abt 5pm. I did not get back to my mum's plc till abt 1am. kekeke...

well... its take ages to prepare a wedding, but it only take you one day to go through it.

hi poshbb,

can you stand a man for life if he's been treating you like his mother?

do you think he can shower love for you?

I am not sure now and I am uncertain what i am feeling is common.

BTW, when did you start planning the sitting arrangement? When can I get from my coordiator? Sorry, my coordinator is Malcom, how abt yours?

Wong: kekeke Malcolm ur coordinator.. kekeke.. dun worry.. HE SURE COMES after you.. keke.. He is my coordinator too.. kekkee.. I love him.. JUST TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE!

I did my planning of seats the moment i have the seating arrangements. I am a super KS bride, and everything had to be in placed as I have a Minister invited to the wedding. Which too means, he will have to know where he sits way before the wedding day.

Dun Worry, if Malcolm gng to be ur coordinator, i bet with you, he will sure give u ample time to discuss with him on the details. Try to have the Food Tasting one mth before the AD. I bet he is reading this thread now too.. kekeke Malcolm hor.. kekeke.... Malcolm has turned from my Coordinator to our Friend. He is real nice and friendly, but when he is serious.. he is really on the ball.
I did not choose him, but his boss recommended him to me.
i was very glad to have him around.

As for your hubby, well thats very normal. Guy dun get as excited as we do. Discuss with him, if he fails to respond, dun mean he dun care.... but jsut he felt you can do it good n well without him.

Malcolm: my bb girl gng to due abt the same time when I celebrate my 1st wedding anniversary. kekeke... Its a Girl! kekeke. catch up with you when i head town for some food n shopping.. kekeke

hi poshbb

yeah, i love Malcom too....It's God's planning to get him as my coordinator. He complaint that I did not appreciate him but actually I trust him alot but without telling him...heehee....

with your assurance, my trust in him increase even futher...say 200%.

So poshbb, you are now going thru another stage. MTB, congrates!

BTW, are you sure he is reading this thread if so might as well leave him a note:-

Dearest Malcom, I apologise for my ignorance. Now with the words of poshbb, I am sure that you are an angel send by God to help me with my banquet. Thank you Angel & God Bless. Btw if you are not working on 18 March 2006 do come to my church wedding with your other half. Will invite you again when time is near.

Wong: yes he is reading.. or i can say they are reading.. kekeke... Btw, he knows me as Carole.
u are bad.. never invite me
so sad.. kekeke joking..

pinky: ur coordinator is Malcolm too?
nice nice.. kekeke.. have u had ur Food tasting yet? cos if u do it in Aug, it will falls on the 7th Mth, maybe u wanna consider doing it before. When u have a ready date for the Food Tasting, give Malcolm a call and let him have sometime to arrange. As for when will he contact u, surely One mth before ur AD. unless u wanna do it all before the 7th Mth.

You are assured tt Malcolm will do a good job. he is very responsible and into details.

poshbb,

no i haven had my food tasting yet.

OH..7th mth..kk i will go & ask my FH & my in laws c they wan it b4 7th mth or after.

thanks alot poshbb u are reali a gooood help in tis forum!

Pinky: Foodtasting should be done at least one mth before.. if u done after 7th Mth, i doubt MM will entertain u. do it before..

Aug 19, is the 7th mth 15th day... if u gng to do FT later.. it will be in Sept, its far too late.

just helping.. pls dun mention

had arrange to see the ballrooms on friday..actually i noe actually how the ballrooms is like cos hve seminars there and the food is definitely good, cos my company always use them as our caterer for our major function... just tat need to give my FH see.. i would prefer Mandarin Court without the pillars...

but just want to know how's the bridal suite is like cos i wanted to hve my soleminisation in the suite..

if anyone got pics to share pls email me.. [email protected] ... wanted to know how the ballroom will looks like for wedding...

My wedding is around next year and I'm looking around for a hotel enough to accomodate at least 40 tables. Hmm...heard a lot of good comments about Malcolm. Can someone give me his email address or contact number? Since he's so nice, I will prefer to talk to him directly rather than another coordinator. Thank you gals.

I noticed that there have been mentions of Mandarin Court, Belvedere, Act I.....are they the names of the ballroom? which is the grand ballroom?