Maldives

hi t&p,
i tried once at the restaurant, i can't recall the name. very good! i think they now have a high tea (heard on radio) at e Top of the M rite?

hey Wu,
actually my aunt lives in NZ so i cld stay at her place, but the flight alone and the transfer and accomodation at bora bora...eh...maybe not..i think maldives is good enough for me for now!kkekekkee...

enjoy your weekend...
time to relax...

i rather pay the price to go maldives than bora bora n tahiti. mayb, if i strike toto, then i'll go bora bora or tahiti.

my budget of 5K is for accomodation n air tic, possible?

mish, ur US4K is for 2 pax accomodation only?

hi LPH,
agree with you, can prob stay many more nites in maldives!! i think ur budget is workable as long as the season nt super peak and not those really high end resorts. => happy planning!

Yo starstar,Haru,LPH, Mish,

Value wise, Maldives still wins clearly! If got chance and off course money, wld like to experience a diff culture, Polynesian!! Heard alots of folks say that they're more genuine than Maldivians, don't know how true, maybe somewhat like Hawaiian? Hmmm......
Last but not least, the Maldive's water villa is the winner, in terms of value also. Saw those bora Bora water villa, even high ends one, when compare to Maldives ones, are more ex and smaller and not as nice as well. they uses Bamboo in their architecture....don't really like.

Yo LPH,

Sure!! Ur 5K is very useful during the low season period. Even ur Clubmed also possible isn't it?
However, if you're thinking to travel further out(resort that need seaplane), you'll hv to be careful on your budgetting loh, to take into account the seaplane + 1 nite stay Male.
Anyway, more decent water villa like Mirihi and veligandu will cost around that amount with only breakfast. Komandoo need at least S$5.7K full board. Then there'll be more choice on those resort that need only speedboat transfer, the list is long loh....

Don't forget to Jio at least another couple, to save on the SQ 4-to-go thingy! Additional S$100 Spending money!

itz the weekend liao..time to relac and catch up on sleep. tmr not gog back to office yippee!!!!

really hope to make it next year... saving up!! or trying to save la. just visited the newly revamped Cathay - love the concept there. they hv qt a no of shops not opened but those that hv opened are pretty good..saw this realy cute shop selling very hip accessories from japan and korea
Uber hip~!!! spent qt abit there liao ($60)...yikes!!!

my budget is around $6K all in (incl activities)
hence May will be a better time to go for me
prob is Komandoo is really qt fully booked so left with Anantara. Mr Wu - 5N at Anantara possible right?? My SIL who has stayed at Anantara is Hua Hin said that their resortlooked really good

Have fun everyone

cheers!!

Yo bvbride,

If I calculated correctly, uses a factor of 0.8X the rate of March(rates for Apr 07 onwards not out yet) for Anantara, ur S$6K can go for beach villa 5 nites stay comfortably, but not water villa. For water villa, you need S$6.2K at least just for bed and breakfast. All based on Mal-dives.com rates. Beach villa/Beach villa with pool will be ard S$5.2K and S$5.5K respectively. Hope that Holiday tours can hv a slightly better rates but really will not be alot also loh. Probably they'll have free nites stay during the low season, but likely to be July period.....hmmm...
Unless u mix mix lah, some days beach villa some days water villa. It's possible still though!

Not to worry, the rates will be soon out isn't it? Jus wait awhile more. Oki

hi bvbride,
since you already have e intention to go, just plan and start to make ur bookings! once u make the bookings, its just counting down to the vacation. kekeke...

really ah? the last time i went, only adidas, ben & jerry's and strip was opened. i bot 2 really cute ice cream spoons from B&J then. I wana go check out the accessories shop!!

hey everyone,
me just had dinner with my parents after i picked them up frm e airport. they just came back from melbourne, and boy, now hubby is so gian to go snow boarding trip next year in melbourne. for winter sports, thats prob e nearest and cheapest compared to canada, europe or japan. i would really love to go too for a winter holiday. never see snow before, so sua ku! my parents say we always go beach vacation, time for a change liao..hahahah...

haru
wah..seems fun in melbourne....
can see snow!! gosh...me also like u...never see snow before too...:p think it's a good alternative to europe, japan n canada...there's another alternative...korea...

bvbride
think wu's suggestion on mix mix...good leh...get to experience two diffferent villa...

enjoy the sunday!!

Hey all,

I did my gown shoot today. And my hubby doing the montage. I am dead beat! Last nite slept ar 4am. My fwens were here to discuss about the wedding stuff. Loads to do. yawn.

i really need to sleep soon... so tired

BVbride,

the reviews on anantara quite gd. Especially the beach villa. Hmm. Will post pix and all when we get back next mth.... OoooOo so fast! I can still remember the time when i was planning about 200days ago. Hahaha. Now left 1 mth!!!!!! SO EXCITED!!!! Cant believe it!

Wu
there's a travel supplement in today's papers on sydney...
can go read up for your upcoming trip...

Mish
take care...have fun on your AD...

monday is here again so hang in there y'all~
bro has very kindly come over to maintain my very aged PC so just testing it out now...kekeke
Haru: the shop is called "to a tee" 3rd floor. alot of plain tees but i really like their accessories.

Mr WU:! thanks for your advise again. in that case no choice got to do a mixture.hmm...think if i book thru Holiday Tours then can do a 3N BV and 2N WV for me hor...abit lazy to call here and there sometimes haha..

so much for now

shall chat more tmr

cheers!!

i had a busy but good weekend. hubby is on MC today with fever. duno is it the seafood marinara pasta he ate last nite..

hey bvbride,
thanks! will go check it out one day soon..=D talking of shopping, just when i said i wana slow down on shopping i went to Topshop and bot a denim skirt ($66!!) last nite, couldnt resist!!tink i should just leave my atm and credit cards at home for the best.sigh...

had a busy sunday yesterday..went mystery shopping @ Sentosa...quite fun...heehee

starstar> thanks for introducing the aq-services website to us.

fanfan
no prob...
fun right? ;p like some undercover detective....

how's the weekend?
glad haru u had a good weekend... think weather not good that's why your hubby fell sick... rest well n drink lots of water.

oh mish...speaking of being sick... have u recovered from your cough? glad u enjoyed your wedding process...
take care n have fun..

hi haru,
just pretend to be a visitor to sentosa..do as per what the agency had instructed lor..e.g. asking the staff for help in directions, etc.

starstar>
yup..felt like being on a mission...my bf went with me..so it was like a "paid-for" Sentosa outing for us

Star star,

I have kinda recovered from my cough. But every nw and then will cough a little. I think not fully recovered. But much better liaoz. Thx!

Wedding process is fun. Just that the invites are such a headache to do. Hee. that the only problem.

I am going to bkk! Confirm liao. I booked my room! so happy nw. But nw baht very high leh

isnt it supposed to b a gd time to change thai baht now?

juz came back from bintan yesterday...thou its only for 1 night, i came back feeling like i've lost touch with sgp. really a worry free break

hi LPH,
that's nice! so where did you stay at bintan? glad u had a good break. noe what u mean, sometimes just one day makes so much difference eh?

hey Mish,
good for you! i really enjoyed my wedding preps too and i enjoyed my AD lots too. until now, i still think back and miss those days of preparation and anticipation to the big day. kekek...=P

stayed at nirwana...went in a grp of 8 girls so it was a laughter filled trip. think nirwana is the best choice for big grp, nt as crowded as bintan lagoon n not as small as angsana.

bintan lagoon having a sept promo which is cheaper than nirwana.

Hello all!!!

Haru: yep yep i know whatcah mean. hv been dying to go for tan but hubby just too lazy to move his butt!! haizz.. bintan is a relatively cheap place for quick 1-2N getaway. but its kinda rainy nowadays hor...hmm..
i got the same prob as u. love to shop esp when stressed! for the last 12mths my wardrobe has been getting qt alot of new additions...but i do give away some of the older stuff which im sick of wearing liao. besides not bringing cr cards along, another way to wean ourselves off shopping is to not read anymore fashion mags! hahaha...easier said then done! kekkeke.

Mish - glad u are feeling better!

hi bvbride,
ya, i just calculated my shopping bills last nite with both restaurant meals and clothes, etc..came up to $800+!! oh boy..

yo haru
your $800+ is in one month or over how many days? yup...think fanfan gave u the web site liao..

bvbride
hmm...how abt cancelling your credit cards n leave only one wif ya? think it's one way to curb spending...:p

mish
good to hear u feel so much better...still watch what u eat... think try to avoid cold drinks for the time being...
least till your wedding's over...

LPH
nirwana is nice...I stayed at mayang sari the last time I went bintan...
within walking distance to nirwana.
when u going krabi? is it u who's going?

hi starstar,
eh, tink its about 2-3 weeks..=P mainly credit card expenses (only one credit card somemore!!).kekeke...

yup! will check the website, thanks!!

oh ya, Wu & Joy,
forgot u both gg australia..so nice! have a beautiful time ya? =D

Thanks Starstar n Haru!

I'm pretty busy...trying to clear up my work stuff b4 the trip. no time to write much things here....Sianz.....

Will try to take more pics... bring my newly bought lens, and probably renting another 2, wide angle and another fast lens for this trip!

Haizz... shld hv ask more tips from Alex first, but really no time liao.

Talk 2 u folks next week, if free will drop by tomorrow.... Flying off tomorrow!

Have a wonderfully week and weekends ahead folks!

me just came back from doc, having a fever..sigh..so funny coz hubby gg back to work tom, then i on MC tom.=P

hello ppl....Wu n Joy enjoy Australia...u'll love it and remember ur "Good Day Mate".

I've been following up with Komandoo and at first so efficient with replies and suddenly when i ask for comfimration of reservation...no news for a week. How How How????

Also just found out Komandoo no swimming pool so cannot relax at the pool and have drink...sad. I dun really like the sea water...i know how ironical rite...wanna go to maldives dun wanna go in the water. Honestly i
i cant swim so intention just to enjoy the sand and sun and POOL....but no pool how.

Checked Club Rannalhi oso but seems like no pool how how how????

My budget has been cut... now only have 5k to 5.5k max for all inclusive. My heart still wid Taj or Ananatara but i need to wake up from my dream!!!!!

Shld i juist not bother abt the pool!!!!

STarstar,

Hee. Talking about that. i just started to have itchy throat again. Hee.

I am dead beat today. Slept at 2ish and hub wakie me at 3ish to give me my pressssie! Hee. So happy. I got a painting! He and his fwen painted a picture for me! Heee.

Hey Piggy,

DOnt stress la. How about mirihi?? U dont chill at the pool la. Just chill at the beach? Also nice nice ma. heee.

Yo Piggy,

Cheers Mate!! kekeke......
Hmmm... u don't know how to swim,then don't need swimming pool mah!

If u're the first time there to Maldives, I think the sea will really impress u more than the swimming pool. Normal resort got very normal swimming pool, and u want exotic ones, it's gonna be ex loh....really sad but true.
Most seaside got really calm waves, so nothing diff from swimming pool lah dear!

Hmm... Taj and Anantara is way out from ur budget liao..

What about u use my method, go for something cheaper this time round like some Malaysia resort(redang or Tioman), just chill out, and save up for the following year for Taj and Anantara? I did that in 2004 b4 I went to Maldives in 2005?
U still can chill out at really nice of Redang too!
Oh yes, don't forget abt Mirihi, really nice cosy little island, better class than Club Rannalhi. On par with Komandoo!, anw, still no swimming pool.

Yo Mish!!!

Happy Belated Birthday!!! So any wishes for this year beside marriage and go Maldives? U still got chance to swap with me Sydney....kekekekke.... :P

Aiyo...stop eating junk food lah...and sleep early do helps ur throat. Believe it or not, chinese doc say late sleep will create "Fire", heatyness! thus, ur symptom! From now till ur big day, try sleep early, and you'll look even more pretty, nice skin, good health.....etc...
Take care, and drink more water, add abit of salt lah! (Da Chang Jing)!!

Wu,

Not belated la. today is my birthday leh!

Hard to sleep early leh. Last nite, got tempted by dante to play games. In the end play until 2am. then my hub come hm and give me my birthday pressie! hee. so errm slept bit late lo.

hi yall

looks like the sick virus is attacking us again
i also feeling under the weather - didnt sleep well work up w feverish feeling and headache! hv been hvg the giddy spells since last week aiyoh....
Haru - take care gal!
Mish - itchy throat - i know....i get it all the time! just want to cough really hard to "scratch" it right...kekkeke...and Happy BDay!!

Piggy: wasted la u go Maldives - everyone goes there for the beautiful beaches and clear blue waters!!!

cheers!!

take care!!

Mish... shen re kuai le...i hope i spelt it rite... i dun even know if it's correct pronounciation!!! hahahahah ok simple...Happy birthday.

Wu ok ok... will gif Pool a miss...let fiance enjoy the sea while i watch and hang ard close to the stairs...

Will see what Komandoo come back with, otherwise will look see look see at Natas this weekend. Mirihi will be researched rite now. I came across two more resorts...Wu, the expert your review highly necessary. Olhuveli & Vilu Reef.

Hi Piggy,

if u like Komandoo so much, check our Kuredu, cos it's actually a sister island, same mgt. Their rooms layout also very similar except the jacuzzi i think.
They do have a pool and is a bigger island than Komandoo..

Yo Mish,

Oppss.....my wife yesterday say u BD...oh ya hor, pass midnite liao. :P Happy Birthday!!!
This Alex har....always play game... kekekek...
Wah...ur hubby work so late one?

Yo bvbride,

Aiyo....why everyone sick? I slept late, then this morning cough cough cough....thus confirm, late nite not good for body! U take care also.

Yo Piggy,

Hahaha.....just be careful oki...make sure at anytime ur hubby is with u when in the sea.

Olhuveli, destroy during the Tsunami, now it's the newly rebuild ones. Quite a big resort, it think got 2 sets of water villa structure now, thus more rooms and villa equals to more crowd. New villas + got swimming pool.
Price not fantastic though....water villa price at high side. Oct pricing at USD700++

Vilu Reef is my first research location. only 2 resort down all the way south of Maldives, at the Dhaalu atoll. I think they've also juz build new water villa units there. However, the rates for water villa is not cheap as well. The other beach villas are pretty old liao, n interior too simple liao, round hut villa. This resort got swimming pool also!
Water villa rates very high...not that value, price at USD550.

U can do some research on Veligandu, I find it price right and got nice water villa, can even go for their higher end deluxe water villa at good rates. I like their sundeck, extended out ones, like those in OneNonly and HIlton Spa Water villa design.
The other value resort I've in mind is Filtheyo, the only resort in Faafu Atoll. It's price is ok also, and it got pool! pool bar somemore(now out-dated liao). :P

In short, there're better value resort out there than Vilu reef n Oluveli(anw I think this 2 are sister resort).

hi Mish,
happy birthday! ur hubby is really sweet.=D ya, try nt to have late nites ya? i think my fever also coz of my lates nites, early wakey routine..

hey everyone,
me chilling and resting at mum's place today. found some really old and sentimental stuff in my old bedroom..hahah..body still achy, so mum's making watercress soup and believe it or not, she bot roast duck too,hahah...

hi piggy,
ya, its a real pity not to enjoy the clear sea waters when in maldives. trust me, when u go other beaches, its not always as inviting to swim in...=P just make sure someone is with you ALL the time when u swim in e sea..

Wu...Veligandu looks great...doing research now...tot i'll stop and praise u a little... takin my breadth away....but scared too. Dunno if it only looks gd in photos. Anyway all excited to find out more on Veligandu....off i go surfing!!!!

Haru, mish n bvbride
take care u gals...
weather's bad...haze is still looming ard... drink more water n less oily n fried stuffs...

piggy
go maldives should go for the sea water...
swimming pool is not a must liao when u go there..

mish
happy birthday! have fun lady...

Wu n joy
have a great trip!

WU,

My hub working la. he is actually bz doing the montage for the wedding. Thats why come back so late.

Haru,

Thanks! ya. i think we all need more rest!!

Piggy,

Thanks! Hope that you find ur ideal resort soon!!!!

Yo Piggy,

have fun with ur research! As for NATAS, just do ur homework, cos, it'll not be as cheap as u think, especially on Maldives. Check out only Holiday tours booth if u want too, I think others can't even match close enough!
Prepare some resort pricing from holiday tours and even Mal-dives.com as a benchmark. Just don't forget to include those +++ extra.. oki?

I'll be away to Sdyney, and these folks here are expert in calculation and advice too...let them guide u alone!
kekekek.....

Yo Starstar,Mish,

U folks have a great week ahead also! Will miss talking to u folks for these 1 week
...Scardy got internet access there, then I'll log on!

Cheers for now!

hey all, back from krabi. too lazy to post pics as din really take that much hahaa not as nice as maldives mah :p
here just read my blog if interested, got some pics posted there http://m1rr0r.blogs.friendster.com/_m1rr0rs_life_/2006/09/krabi_thailand_.html

the exchange rate was not good ler, 1st day 1 SGD was 23.47, few days later was 1 SGD = 23.25
tot can get better due to the situation.. but no.. haiz

if wanna ask me about krabi pls email [email protected], can't check this forum so often hee

mira,

u juz came back from maldives not long ago rite?
anyway, need ur help on krabi.
i'll b staying a la playa. how to get to the hotel from airport? is there metered taxi from the airport?

im thinking of the 4 island tour also. do they provide the snorkelling equipment and is it at very deep water? any life jacket? im not a very strong swimmer

me back at work today and already full on with loads of emails and paperwork. good thing i am on leave next monday to wednesday,kekeke....anywayz, its alway extra work load after any leave, even a day. sigh...

hey zhuzhu,
i forgot my folic yesterday when i was on MC, but other than that, i still remember to take it daily.

Wu and Joy,
have lots of fun for your trip k? take plenty of pix for us to see ya?