Maldives

starstar,
the resort opened end last yr. the transfer is B850. but u can take the metered taxi from the airport, it will be cheaper. theres taxi service at the resort. its 250B to patong. i've got the namecard of the taxi driver. he sent us to the airport at 750B. it will b cheaper if u can get it from outside. but me n bf dont like to bargain, so since he's reliable we dont mind paying a bit more.
i paid 1999B per nite for 3 nites.

hey everyone,
gosh..been really busy lately that dun have the time to log in during the day also. =p me just came home, bot some buns from crystal jade bakery for lite dinner,yum!

yo imagesxela,
wah..must be really bad man. i dun find choppy as long as its fast!haha..but that can normaly happen on those small boats, then when hit e wave, the boat "flies" up before crashing on the water, quite thrilling yet scary at the same time.hahahah....

starstar,
Central Karon's room think all pretty much e same. its all private with own balcony and secluded from each other as its built among the trees. i dun remember them having beach and garden villa tho..hmm..but mine had sea view among the trees lah..kekeke...

hi haru

saw u in the market place
kekeke
i also selling off some extra stuff. i think i got enough VS toiletries to last me till 2008!! hahha :D
your belt is still very in - why dun u keep it for yourself? :p

cheers!!!

hi bvbride,
yeah! i tot you meant the market place at Raffles City,hahah...silly me..

how come u have so much of the VS toiletries?? i am selling off the belt coz i have used it since i bot it!!impulse buy..sigh..

yoz ppl..me back again...

must be very heaty these few days....sun nite suddenly got nose bleed..wah man..give me such a scared..dun remember I ever ganna nose bleed b4..

Updating imagesxela pics link on Racha!!
For u Bro Alex!

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Photo Album</TD><TD>Departure</TD><TD>Returned</TD><TD>Total nites</TD><TD>Countdown(Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Taj Exotica/Baros(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/album/208550556KcSIWJ </font><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/user/plannerholiday3</font></TD><TD>Oct 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral(WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2120573087</font></TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla/Sunset WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645</font></TD><TD>30-June-05</TD><TD>8-July-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana(Beach Villa) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wpwgrent/my_photos</font></TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Clubmed(SupRm/WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://photos.yahoo.com/lengph</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Apr-06</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Clubmed(BVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.moonlight00.shutterfly.com/</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>13-May-06</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=2105956261</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>25-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>T&amp;P</TD><TD>Taj Exotica(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.tajexotica.shutterfly.com </font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>10-Jun-06</TD><TD>16-Jun-06</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nelc</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Jun-06</TD><TD>25-Jun-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned MIA!! </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Mirihi(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2104321453</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Jun-06</TD><TD>8-July-06</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton(DBVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD>Please contact Haru here in Singapore brides forum <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>1-July-06</TD><TD>7-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon/Hilton(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.fullmoonmaldives.com/</font></TD><TD>9-July-06</TD><TD>14-July-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Returned MIA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2103908628</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>10-July-06</TD><TD>16-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Racha(Phuket)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://ausplanner.multiply.com/photos/album/32</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>9-Aug-06</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jopej</TD><TD>Hakuraa Club(WVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Sept-06</TD><TD>8-Sept-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>5 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tingz</TD><TD>Fullmoon(Water Villa)</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Oct-06</TD><TD>13-Oct-06</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>41 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Anantara(Water Villa)</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Oct-06</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>52 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adi</TD><TD>Anantara(Water Villa)</TD><TD></TD><TD>29-Oct-06</TD><TD>4-Nov-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>61 </TD></TR><TR><TD>FanFan</TD><TD>Anantara(Water Villa)</TD><TD></TD><TD>8-Nov-06</TD><TD>14-Nov-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>70 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Wu
thanks for the table..wah..seems like we r getting alot reviews on Anantara in the coming mths...
good...

LPH
oh..u got a name card from a cab driver? hmmm..is it possible to PM me his details? thanks...

haru
thanks for the info..
think it's abit like banyan tree kind of resort right? Checked out banyan tree phuket...super duper ex... rather stay at Aleenta.

bvbride
what's VS?

zhuzhu
gosh...u better drink alot of water... weather is indeed lousy...hazy n hot...the rest of the gang also take care...

anybody noe where can buy cheap snorkeling mask?...heard dat the rental of snorkeling mask at Maldives is reali exp...bou USD50 per day...so its more wu hua to buy n bring there...is it true?

Yo Shan shan,

I think it's around USD10 per set. Snorkel plus mask. So better get a set here, and it's more hygiene also.

Get a decent set from The Concourse, there's several dive shop there. Mask around $50 and $25 for snorkel. They'll last u a long time.

So which resort u going?
When going?

zhuzhu n bvbride
VS= victoria secrets? Tot Victoria secrets is only clothing...got toiletries one?! something new..

imagesxela
ya lor...your pics are so pro looking...

shanshan
think the rental depends on resorts...that time the resort I went charge me for USD11 for whole day rental for flippers n mask.
Whihc resort u going?

fanfan, the tigerair voucher need to redeem by tomorrow? can only book till Apr 07 le...

Wu's going to update the table again when shanshan annouce her destination

hi shan shan,
do take care and pack ur mask properly.mine cracked the last time i brot mine. and its brand new somemore, so heart pain...
kao_frustrated.gif

Yo Folks,

Need help here!
I know this is for the Maldives thread but ask u folks first loh! kekeke...

Anyone can advise on self drive in Australia, Starting point is Sydney. I might be extending 4 days in Australia...should I drive up north to brisbane or even up Cairns, Or shld I drive south west to Canberra(or bypass) straight to Melbourne then to Adelaide?

Any recommendation and attraction that I shld go, even in Sydney?

Ah Wu,

don't be ambitious ok. The drive from Sydney to Brisbane is about 10hrs. The drive from Sydney to Melbourne also about 8-10hrs. Dun waste time on these journey lah. U should explore the whole of NSW... dun venture out..unless u got 2 weeks there.

And by the way hor, the drive from brisbane to cairns is 22-26hrs. And u telling me u are considering driving from Sydney to Cairns????? duh!!! please please...hahaha..

All of the above i been before. Therefore suggest u explore New South Wales. Dun venture out.

NSW got alot of things to see liao mah...

hey guys,

i am thinking of buying a new cam, can recommend me a few good ones, say below $800? a fairly decent one will do lah..i am not a pro and not too big on photography.

fanfan...im trying to book the flight now...mayb going krabi in oct. still thinking le.

y r u nt using this tic for phuket? i shld hav used it for this phuket so now no need to crack brain.

Yo Alex,

Oh yah hor...u study there right? U say NSW meaning what? around Sydney area is it?
first 5 days we'll be around those area liao, maybe visiting Blue mountain. Then we wanna to extend another 4 days, driving to Melbourne, then fly off from there, not too bad is it?
I heard the coastal area drive quite scenic?
Wat to see in NSW har, any recommendation?

Yo T&amp;P,

My preference for cam under $800 would be Canon S3 IS(prosumer cam), as for compact cam, can go for either Ixus 800IS, Casio exlim series(new EX770), Panasonic Lumix serios(FX01 or FX07 - I think with wide angle ~ 28mm).
I don't like Sony, olympus and fujifilm(becos they uses memory stick and XD card which are more ex per GB).

Yo Starstar,

we'll go blue mountain for sure, but wine tasting, our group folks don't like leh....hmmmm.....
I wanna to try farmstay to see stars..

Hi Wu,

Just passing by this thread. Besides Blue Mountains, u can also visit the famous Jenolan caves to see the spectacular limestone formation, The Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge Climb, The Rocks, Chinatown as well as the Paddington Markets.

Hubby &amp; I went for a 3-week trip to Australia 4 yrs back. Started in Goldcoast, Sydney, Melbourne then Perth. U can't drive from Sydney to Melbourne cos it's really far away. If u're intending to visit Melbourne as well, take a domestic flight there, which is only 1hr or so. When in Melbourne, go for the Great Southern Touring Route which is basically the Great Ocean Road. Fantastic scenery esp. when u get to Apollo Bay &amp; the Twelve Apostles. It'll be an unforgettable experience..

Yo Cosmic,

Hi hi...thanks for your info. Will look thru and digest the places u mention.
So did u come in to discuss Maldives as well?? Kekeke...

Anyway, just curious, do you have any pets(a dog to be specific)? just cross my mind lah, cos I know someone who name their pet dog cosmic. Don't be offended okie....cos I also have nick using my doggies name

Hey no prob.. if u need further info I'll be glad to help if I can..

Actually me been dying to go to Maldives for along time, haha. But with our little girl of 3 yrs now.. dun think it's possible to go at this moment cos I understand most of the water villas do not allow kids below 12 yrs cos am I right? Even so, will be very dangerous cos she's a very mischievious little imp, wldn't wanna wake up &amp; find her in the water the next morning. I only have 1 life ya.. keke.

Pets?? Oh yes, I do hv a 3 yr old pet lamby at home.. haha :p No lah, it's not me. Actually, I do own a dog long time back when I was a little girl but cldn't bring him over when we shifted house &amp; had to leave him with our neighbour. Not too long later, he was attacked by their dogs &amp; died. I was so devastated cos he was with me since he's a little puppy. From then on, I told myself not to have anymore pets cos if anything happens to them again, I'll never forgive myself. It'll also be very sinful.

Wu...

NSW actually quite big leh. Those places u mentioned hor is tourist area. I mean of course must go lah, but also try suburbs area ma. Port Stephen.. Bryon bay where u see dunno what ocean meet what ocean lah. i also forget. I am sure got other places to go one. Are u sure your first 5 days enough to cover all. u want rush rush see everything and go one or relax enjoy life one?

The drive from Sydney to Melbourne is not bad. I done it before. Can stop half day at Canberra (nothing much there also lah, small capital).

how to advise u? 9 days in sydney, if me, i stay all 9 days in NSW to explore. Go to those non tourist area. In 2002, i spent 14 days in Western Australia.. explore alot of places, not just perth.

And hor, me from Brisbane...not NSW..hahaha.

eh...no need talk so much..just see this.. http://www.about-australia.com/nsw.htm

Look how big NSW is... so many things, so many places. U better reconsider your plan. Unless u only wanna see tourist attraction. anyway, CHIONG 2 weeks!! and bring back those photos for us!!! ..kekeke..

hey starstar
VS got toiletries...some of my colleagues using their body lotion...but the fragrance is too strong for my liking..

Hey cosmic
U can try asking around which Maldives resorts allow 3yrs old kids..when i was in Hilton..i saw a no. of families also with around 2-3 yrs old kid..maybe club med allow?

noone mention abt philip island in melbourne...i remembered that we stop at some small costal town on the way to philip island.
n theres a street with quite a lot of cafe...nearby the street with a lot of factory outlet.

Hi Cosmic,

Oh I see...
Ya...sad to hear ur pet dog tragic dead. DOn't worry, all dogs actually goes to heaven. They are in a better place now.

Actually some beach villa in Maldives are very nice too, i.e hilton ones, or O&amp;O Reethi Rah, Banyan Tree and Angsana.... Can try looking at those as well. Clubmed beach villa looks nice as well too. :P

I think all Maldives water villa do not allow kids below 12yrs loh...so can you wait? Sure cannot one right...
Another solution is to leave ur kids with ur parents loh. That's what l'll do next time... kekeke...

Yo Alex,

Wah...u really travel alot during ur study days eh.!! U shld hv pick up photography during those days...add on to ur collection.

During my study days in UK hor....sad to say, never travel much, no money that time. Have to go out work in a restaurant as a cook, washer, general worker etc to earn a living. It's a pity cos I see so many of my friends go travel the entire Europe, including Russia.....Pity...

Hmmm..... Thanks for ur tips.....will discuss with my gang here.

Anyway hor....I would rather go back Maldives than to australia...kekekek.....my wife force me to go this time round....Haiz.... :P

Cheers Bro!

good morning everyone
had been in office since 730am for the consecutive 2nd day..tired man...knock off at arnd 9pm last night...less than 12 hrs back in office..sigh

hope i can go home early today...

~just complaining~

Hi Wu,

Thanks for the recommendation n link. Will check it out. I dun mean to sound like a bimbo, but a prosumer cam means 1/2 pro, 1/2 amature cam rite. Nice for pple who is starting out experimenting with photography? Besides the S3, any other recommendation for cams around this range, as in prosumer? which model r u using now?

hello starstar,
will check out ur recommendation too. btw, i got my 1st "assignment" frm mysteryshopper, but i didn't sign up for it..cos it's at sentosa...=)

Haru,
u also got a new cam right? which model is it?

hi fanfan,
wah..why so early? i had that for a while too...all the more you should really enjoy the weekend to the max!!!kekekek....

T&amp;P,
mine is Canon 350D

haru,

wats the diff bw a S3 n 350D besides the price of cos. haha? sorry...complete cam idiot..i think my hb was eyeing the 350D but i tot it's too pro for us. wat do u think?

morning all!!

downpour today is no joke le!!! waited for my bus and when i finally came it was so jam packed - luckily i managed ot grab a cab and now poorer by $10

Haru: Im the Victoria Secret toiletires "spree" consolidator for my prev office and hence ended up buying loads for myself...they always hv something new and fancy so just buy and try
am a sucker for sweet smelling stuff and i cannot stop myself!!! Muaahahhahhaha!!!!!!!!!!!!

So any guys and gals out there who think they might want something from there pls let me knw and i will chk if they are avail in my private collection !! haha...most of the stuff not even opened and are in org boxes

Yo T&amp;P,

350D is canon's entry level DSLR. Price off course more ex than prosumers one. And ur concept is absolutely right....it got DSLR function like Shutter/aperture priority stuff etc... good b4 u transit into a real DSLR, and compact enought to bring around, and most important of all, super zoom(12X) without the need to change lens.
Other brand do hv such prosumer cam as well, like sony and panasonic.
Sony got DSC-H5 and H2, and the more ex R1(more ex than canon 350D).
Panasonic got it's lumix IS range, DMC-FZ50, FZ30 and the older FZ-7 and FZ-5 range.

I'm currently using a DSLR Nikon D70s(Also entry level). If u're willing to stretch a little more budget, can get the new Nikon D50 DSLR kit(entry level as well), at around $1200 new!!

Anw canon 400D is out so it'll push the 350D price lower, I guess.
If u're thinking of DSLR, 3 main brands for u to choose, Canon, Nikon and Sony!! Can slowly learn to use loh, anw it's gonna be more heavy, and buying kit lens to achieve zoom will be extra money loh!

Happy searching okie!!

Hi T&amp;P,

Don't worry, we slowly work it out.

Okie...now do u really want to venture into DSLR? if the answer is no so we focus on compact cam.

Now we got prosumer and compact. Prosumer might be great choice for u, as it's small, easy to shoot, and it can go DSLR function as well. For canon S3 IS, it can be easily expandable, with 3rd party zoom lens, macro lens etc....

As for compact ones.. it's even more simple to use, basically just point and shoot. It's like a DSLR in Auto mode loh.

I personnally like Casio Exlim series, got one 3yrs old Exlim Z4, and it take very blue pics of Maldives...(I personally like bluish tone.)
However, the new Z1000 I think is abit not up till standard(build quality), and function wise, some expert recommends the older Z850.
Look at Kenrockwell website..He's a Pro but uses and recommend Casio Compact cam as well.

http://www.kenrockwell.com/casio/ex-z1000.htm

anw, there's a newer slimmer casio exlim model 770 launching soon this COMEX...check it out!
Casio is a good choice...don't worry...do u know they are the first to come out compact digital cam? Kekkeke...

Another 2 good contender are Canon Ixus800 IS and panasonic FX-01 &amp; FX-07(wide angle lens ~ 28mm).

Hey Wu,

I'm told tat casio colours not tat good, not vibrant but drab looking. true?
seems like a lot of pple recommending me the S3.
if i go shop shop at sim lims, which is a good shop to check out rates?
will check out comex too..

yeah! i just booked massage for my bf and I this Sat @ Fullerton..will tell u guys whether good or not..Amex Platinum got 20% discount

thanx for the info....wil go to concourse n recce for the snorkeling mask...

yeah...i wil b goin to full moon water villa....abit budget constraint...:p...n like wat u all suggest, i book the Relax Inn for the first nite stay too...
...wil b goin from 2 Nov to 7 Nov...

Yo T&amp;P,

Kekeke...2 identity ah?
No leh, my Casio colour very vibrant leh, very blue when comes to sea, sky....then green when taking plants, grass etc..
U see those pics below I taken with a casio, no processiong done(I suspect the processiong already done on board the cam). point and shot only!
I even find my DSLR not as Vibrant as my compact cam.
http://ryonpepper.multiply.com/photos/album/4 >>> Greenary
http://ryonpepper.multiply.com/photos/album/2 >>>> Blue

The casio range we talking here is compact cam, while Canon S3IS is prosumer.
S3 u can buy external lens,i.e wide lens to achieve a beautiful wide angle shot on landscape, or Macro lens to take flowers, insects, then zoom lens to take far away buildings or birds etc...very versatile! The closer u can get w/o getting a DSLR!
Then Compact cam cannot expand further loh.

Personally I don't like to go Sim LIm, because I don't like their service there. If u know them, then good for u, if not, prepare to receive bad-faces from them :P (prices not fixed there too...so if u're not confident enough, u might be chop) In short, I would rather get from Best Denki or Harvey norman, pay premiun price to have better service. anw Harvey norman can bargain some more!

I would recommend MS Color in AMK(can do online quotation or call them for quote also). Look for Florence or any one of them. Anw, you still need to have a rough guide on how much the camera is selling elsewhere.

Remember to ask whether price quote is with or w/o GST!

anw, don't put too much hope on Comex. U still can get a cam cheaper outside even with the same freebies thrown in.

Yo Shan shan,

Congrats!!! Finally eh, after planning for a long time. So it'll be a 5N trip is it?
Where did u book from?

Kekeke.... Relax inn is ok lah, u got the deluxe or exec room?

Enjoy okie!
Will wait for ur pics! Okie? Please kindly share with us...don't MIA after that hor.

hi wu,

noted. i'll prob go harvey tonite.
not double id lah, was at my colleague station, forgot to change ID, jus key enter..argh...then cannot delete somemore