Maldives

Mish,

Oh you are right about the non-combination...

Hmmm I will rather take the free night. Cos stay in WVilla, one FOC night is worth $980 minus $120 bed tax + bf = $860. 6 days of set lunch for 2 worth oni $660.

Btw, how did you book your tour and how much u pay in total ah? Care share share your experience?

Wu,

Yup me been in ClubMed Kani but its company retreat lor so no count....Wifey not there too...

Somemore not I did not plan it. Now different, more fun spending time on researching and reading all the posts here.

Yes thank god I went b4 the tsunami. Same year, I went in Jan, Tsunami in Dec...

Now looking at some of the pics we took there. Most of the time we are having fun doing something. Not much time to nua....hehehehe

hey Adi,
wah, so late still up ya? me up early tis mornin coz have to send hubby to work. loggin in here for awhile be going climbing. wah, can tell u are very organized (like Wu!) for your trip. i checked out anantara's webby, looks very nice! i think if we were to visit maldives again i wont mind to consider anantara too. other that that, my other choice would be full moon. but like Wu said, prices are gg up consistently so wonder how much it would cost in e future for a week's trip..hmm..anyway, happy planning!!!

Yo Adi, Haru,

Both of you woke up so early! Kekeke.... I think Adi is in oversea right, that's why timing weird, or you are really a night owl!

Yo Adi,

Looks like you're all planned and ready to go!

There's nothing much we can help you liao!
yes yes, plan for your expenses first, at least it'll be spending around the amount you've plan earlier!
Oh, as for th SD Card..wah...you really do read up alot of our archive hor! I think that's long long time ago leh! ANW, I think now even cheaper liao. I always, or rather ppl always go to Sim Lim Square(SLS), 2nd floor, an indian shop. I forgot the name liao, just look out for a small shop, indian boss with chinese/indian helper standing outside guarding their display of Memory cards. That's the one...cheapest in SGP, Malaysia and even Batam! :P

Oki lah, Hope you'll have a wonderful wonderful HM there in Anantara! It'll be even romantic if you folks can take a seaplane...... I still find the seaplane flight,landing/taking off much more smooth than the SQ flight((don't know why, whenever SQ fly pass certain area around the Indian Ocean, there's bound to be very serious turbulence.:P)
P.S:- My pilot friend told me, most Jet or propeller plane can glide even if all engine mal-function! Ask ur wife don't worry so much...oki!

Just enjoy your trip and your nites over there in Maldives. Oh yes, if can bring a bino there to see your Stars Stars.....

Cheers! )

I should be able to go online at home. Can I have your Window Messenger Account? Can PM me if you want. My work is going on 5th gear liao! Hence cannot always view the thread. Going on MIA again.

Hi Adi,
I stayed at Fullmoon few years back. It's a great resort. Because it is nearer to Clubmed Kani, I would suggest you to try other resort. As for budget-wise, Fullmoon can definitely meet your target without doing any diving activites.

Yo Adel!

Err....sorry hor, not sure who are u talking to.:P are you asking for my MSN acc or all the others as well?? Kekeke....

Same here lah, my work now 5th gear, and might go up to 7th very soon!

Yo Yo Yo
Greetings from The Racha!!!

Internet free access in my room wor!! woo hoo... Lucky i bought my laptop. will be online most of the time liao

Weather good! Sunny!!

But the speed boat ride from the chalong beach to The Racha is .....er..how to describe.. rollar coaster ride man!! Up down up down ...water splash here and there...fwaaah...a bit wet man. The water is super choppy..Not for the faint hearted. 30 mins ride hor... maybe i weak...i got sea sick one.. hahaha..but really super choppy and rough. Worst then that time i went to maldives resort..

The resort is fwaaaaah....very nice..very white..everything is white theme.

K lah..i go makan and take pictures liao...
see ya..

club med kani having a promo now, think muz book by aug. the price i paid for staying 3n water villa n 2 nitees superior can let u stay 5n water villa now.

hey blue ginger,
oh! so u've been to full moon before??any pix that you can share with me? hv shortlisted it as one of my choices for our next maldives trip (if we plan to go again in e near future!)..kekek..

hey imagesxela,
take lotsa pictures okie?? think u in truly in bliss liao,hahah..

Happy National Day to all of you!

Yup, I am outstationed for 2 years already in Germany. That's why the weird hours of posting. Today also got to work.
Envy you all having nice mid week hols.

So all my maldives planning is done remotely thanks to the internet. Hehehe...

Still haven't got reply from Holiday travel. Guess they are closed today cos no one picked up the phone.

Fullmoon is on my list as well, but now must focus on making Anantara come true. Next year Hilton or Fullmoon then. Depends on prices
and this year's experience. Kekeke...must buy a piggy bank to "tong" $$$.

So enjoy your holiday today!

Wu
Thanks a lot for your help
owe u a big one

my company 1 week leave is on top of the annual leave..so it's considered free...heehee...but people like me who handle china region as well sometimes have to go back and help them or work from home abit

Hi Wu,

Maldivian liao la... u and joy.... bth can migrate there liaoz.

Joy/haru,

No more pokey feeling liaoz.. bit sore throat only. Like scratchy scratchy. But lucky got it out liao. If not.. Pokey pokey...pain!!

Adi,

Please send me the activities when u get it!!! Email me! [email protected]

My package is book directly from the hotel. cost about 8k i think... with the air tix and 7n accom. hmm more than what i tot i would spend. Bo pian... wanted to get the WV!!!

Image,

Take pics!! take pics!!! Seeee the racha ppl nv bluff u! Its really sunny!!

Adi
Just out of curiousity, for your Anatara calculation, is it based on Oct or Nov?

Imagesxela,
Happy Birthday in advance

Glad that the weather is good for u..must enjoy yourself okay

Yo Alex,

pics pics pics!! :P I thot u 24hrs online? Never see u on MSN leh! :P
kekeke..... okie lah, let u off on the 1st day.. tomorrow give us some pics oki?
So hows the weather in the afternoon? Good?

Yo LPH,

Wha... finally hear from u again. hows life? Still miss Maldives? Kekekek....
Oh ya..saw the adver by clubmed. Buy 4N get 1N free. WV 5 nites cost around S$5850 for 2 pax all inclusive, incl fuel surcharge etc... Hmm....but read carefully got block out period plus high season rates during some dates. So not much day to choose from.
Still it's tempting!!! :P If I strike toto tomorrow, 2nd prize also good ah, sure go!

Yo Adi,

Wah, you in Germany? So u have fun during the world cup???

Yo Fanfan,

No prob. Have they reply you yet? Else I'll need to bark at them again liao!

Good nite everyone!!

Hello and hope you all had a nice national day hols. Watched any of the fireworks??

Mish,
Sent you the activities list and the "dine by design" list too. The activities list nuttin to shout about...standard fare as other resorts. The "dine by design" concept quite interesting, you chose a menu you like and pick a location to have it and then they will set it up for you. Got one setup on deserted island with a big indian tent....

As usual prob is the $$$. Quite ex, but guess once a lifetime experience, just do it!

Oh btw, dun worry about construction. I checked with them too, they say it is fully completed already (hopefully is true) and they are receiving the first guest on 14th Aug. Guess by the time we are there, they should be running smoothly and cleared most of the operational and service hiccups. ;)

Fanfan,

My calculation is based on 2 days in Oct and 5 days in Nov. Not much difference during this two time period.

Wu,

World cup in Germany is not too bad, very good atmosphere, but never go for any live action lor. Only went to large screenings for the first couple of games to feel the mood. Quite fun and best of all no need to stay up late at night! The Germans run amok in their cars honking and driving all around waving flags when they win, joined in the chaos as well....but under the watchful eyes of a dozen policemen...HAhahahaha....

i'm back at work and arrived in office quite early tis morn. quite a lot of work to clear before the weekend. every week now is busy busy..=P anyway, its already thurs today!!so before you noe it, its friday!!

hey Adi,
it must be soo fun to see all those football fanatics all around the country! haaha....

Hey Fan fan,

I came online to post the msg. Then off computer already lo. Hehe. Thats why you didnt see me i think. Hmmm honey... ya i think i should eat some honey.. thx

Adi,

Got your email! Thx! Am looking at it nw! Saw the excursions. Hmmm.. quite pricey. We are definately going for the snorkelling one. And probably the submarine one..

Btw, I book the package and it includes one of the "dine by design" thingie. Not sure if its the same one. Hmmm.

Hopefully they are really all ready. I am worried about the construction thingie. hmmm.

Haru,
Yap! I have photos, but it is oso photo before renovation. Fullmoon renovated their water villa last year, hence it is different now. You still need the photo?

Wu,
Interested to take any firework photo tmr or sat?

hihi all....

how was the National Day break for all?
was suppose to get up early yday like 4am for curry rice at the very popular stall near my place. friend called us but we were so deep in slumber that we didnt bother to get up and go!!! so lazzy....kekekek....the break has been fantastic. rested pretty well but gotta drag ourselves back to work today...what a bummer...kekekke

Haru - think we hv the same train of thoughts !!! me considering Anantara or Fullmoon!!! was thinking if the water at Fullmoon is good and the beaches are lovely why not right??
So Adel - pls show us your full moon pix plsssssssssssss.....~~~

Mish! hihi- take care!! yr misadventure sounded really painful le....i was poked by a prawn tail recently but only ganna my lips - super painful already !!!

chat more soon!! cheers!!!!

Wu,
They havent reply me..sob sob...
anw, I'm going to Aleenta Phuket too..yeah yeah!

Adi,
your computations made it sound more Wu-hua than the Mirihi leh..cos for Mirihi 5N at water villa @ Nov, it's USD2881 (inclusive of seaplane and taxes) for me..and oni breakfast provided..assuming that the exchange rate is 1.6 for USD, yours is only more ex than mine by $1.5k with 3 nights extra and halfboard somemore and got candlelight dinner wor...sounds tempting leh..
i'm in the same situation as u as i dun nid to buy any air tickets as well..

how how how??????

Yo Folks,

Haiz...back to work liao isn't it? Anyone still Holidaying? Alex only right?

Yo Adel,

Errr..... interested but too lazy to go there leh....heard the road and parking all will be full. I hate crowded area.
That's why we went over to Karen's boss place to take yesterday fireworks!

See how loh..... but Saturday I'll be going to the Zoo with my wife, to take some photos...it's our yearly birthday event!

U wanna to join in and take some animals? Kkekeke./..

Yo Bvbride,

When u planning to go Maldives again??? I want to go.... Kekekeke....
These few days all folks is tempting the forum with different different promo...LPH with Club med and Mish/Adi with Anantara.
I think I'm addicted with Maldives liao...now feeling so itchy!!!

Yo Fanfan,

Haiz....don't know what happened to them. I'll bark at them again. However I think yours is confirm liao, in the last mail Antony email u(If u decided to cancel, must write to them again), just that you're asking for more details, i.e final confirmation, transfer etc....

As for the comparison betweem Anantara and Mirihi, it shld be 2N extra in Anantara plus extra ard $1.5K. Haizz.... then Mirihi need to take seaplane leh(pros:- unforgettable flight, breath taking view at a price! and cons:- extra USD540 lah).
Then hor if you compare this way hor, lets say if you add another 1.5K to Anantara rates of 6K, you can go Hilton, then add another 1.5K you can go O&O etc.... no ending leh! Kekekek........

HOWEVER, I think Anantara 6N(WV)+1N(BV) ~ 6K is a very tempting and reasonable rates as well. Worth to think about it! You still got time!
That's my thots lah!

hi blueginger,
yes pweeze!!=D thanks so much!

hey bvbride,
keke,yeah!i noe that hilton is gona cost alot more if we were to go again esp since if we go, will wana try to go at a better time of the year with less rain which means, perhaps between nov-march. so perhaps full moon or anantara mite be more suited to budget. =P for me, i prefer to choose a resort where we can take the seaplane. i think its one of the highlights..heheh...

hi Wu,
wow!! e zoo for both ur b'days!so cute leh!!! i was also thinkin of taking my nephew to the zoo, but will see how. am trying to get the free pass.=P

i also really wana go back to maldives again but i think hubby wld rather visit some other places first esp, for winter activities as we have been wanting to try snowboarding. i am praying for a huge financial breakthrough so that we can have both our winter holiday and summer holiday at maldives!!! Hehehheh....how bout u? u planning to go again soon?

Bvbride & Haru,
OK. I had to dig out the photo. PM me your email add.

Wu,
Any masterpiece from ytd firework?
Dun wanna b a 'BIG' lightbulb. Not going. kekeke!

Wu,
I agree that Anatara rates really made it worth a consideration..i was so excited over the rates that i just went to Holiday Tours to check the rates...the rates they'd given are Nett (included the bed taxes, etc)

Told my bf abt it..and we decided..if Anatara got the room we want, then we will go for it, if not, we will stick with Mirihi...cos we were thinking, next time, most prob we wun be able to afford Anatara

Yo Haru,

Hahaha..... How I wish I can bring both Ryo n Pepper to Zoo to see Animals! Kekeke....they'll be busy sniffing here and there! :P
Haiz.... It's all about $$$$$.
I've also discuss with my wifey, the ideal case is go Maldives twice a year, 1 during Mar/Apr and another period is Nov/Dec. 1 for diving trip and other for Spa trip!

If $$$$ enough, my next trip wld be next yr April!! But now I must be careful, I've spending too much on my 2 Maldives trip liao, almost 20K+ for the 2 trips plus equip like Camera, bino, tripod etc...... That's really my saving for the past few years. Now we're left with little in the bank.
Oh yes, I wld like to try snow boarding as well, try Ski in Scotland once but so difficult! I wld like to either visit Scotland again, or probably Norway to see Aurora or Alaska cruise....Haiz...problem is Money not Enough!:P

YO Adel,

Err..... Try N error on the fireworks loh!. Let me arrange the pics and u give me some comments oki? I'll put it up tomorrow.

I took some F16 and apache heli shots as well..and the parachute, but too far loh!
Show u tomorrow!

Yo Fanfan,

Oh yes...now "Ting Tien You Ming".
Then hor you shld hv try Hilton mah! It's gonna be even more un-affordable in the future! :P
Let us know your decision okie!

NEed to change the Excel spreadsheet liao! :P

Wu
cannot lah...Hilton i cant afford...cos i want to stay at Water Villa ma...think think hor..the Anatara water villa bigger than my HDB flat leh..132 sq metre...kekeke

Haru: i get what u mean - Fullmoon not as "hiclass" as Anantara so should be more affordable. if the water is as good as Hilton's or Angsana - why not right?? can spend more days there as well...for me i dun need 7N - 5N i will be very happy liao

Huge Financial breakthru?? where to find le?? tell me if u hv any great ideas !! u just invested in stocks?? ;P

Wu: hihi!!! i really want to go next week la but the thought of making a huge dent on my hardearned savings really scares me le...i am very insecure one...kekeke....so like what Haru said - hoping for "financial breakthru" lor...kekekke...

Good luck to those who bot TOTO today

hi Wu,
wah! 2x/year!!! i think if i can go once a year is already very good liao,hahaha....ya, guess can never get enough of the beauty of maldives eh? =>

hey bvbride,
haha, actually now other than some insurance policies i never invest in anything else. intend to start slowly from next year. good way to "force" ourselves to save too. at e moment we are spending watever savings we have all e time on holidays, shopping etc..kekeke..looking around on the suitable products to invest money in. was looking at some offshore investment but its minium US$500 per month, quite alot...so mayb wil start with some unit trusts lor..any tips??

Yo Fanfan,

Aiyo....Hilton Deluxe beach villa is almost 3X our HDB flat leh!! Kekekek..... got water also mah, the plunge pool. Get the unit with Plunge pool just at the door steps(terrace), then it looks like water villa liao.:P
Someone just told me those water villa in Maldives is only high class Kelong!!! Muahahaha..... Package until nice nice Kelong! :P

Yo bvbride,

I think it's a good time to buy and hold stocks. Drop a fair bit liao..... I'm looking at Chartered semi-con, TSMC, Intel and Microsoft,mainly I'm buying into Tech stock, actually quite volatile.... Haiz.... I got USD3700 cash in US, really not much to invest in. Err......Fanfan in Financial sector right? Maybe can advise abit.
Feel like bringing back the money and go Maldives!!! :P
Sometimes hor, no risk no gain loh!! If you're insecure, can get some balance fund, safer, probably around 6-12% p.a.
However tech stock can be quite fun, I'm averaging around 10~35% p.a.
but stop for a while liao.
Any luck in ToTo???

Yo Haru,

Aiya, I wish only lah! 2X per year then next time I old liao eat what?? Kekekek..... Ya loh, actually once a year very very good liao loh! Haizzz.....you n me and others who went B4 can never forget that place for sure!
Sometimes I'm looking at alternative, cheaper resort, i.e. those in Malaysia and Thailand, but the rates also not fantastic also, same as some Maldives resort(only SQ flight cost money loh), so I might as well go Maldives! I think Bvbride think this way too, ain't you bvbride?

hi wu...i didnt disappear from this thread...was reading all the postings quietly

still miss maldives n wish to go back again. but bf say want to try other places we've not been to. after long discussion, still no conclusion where to go this yr end.

Hi LPH!

Eh...secretly reading har!!

Kekekeke......you gal's bf all have the same answer, kekeke....try other places.
Not like us, too lazy to walk or shopping so Maldives would be a perfect choice for us for years to come! :P
Off course if got $$$$ would like to travel to other places.....But I think I ganna the Maldivian "Gong Tao" liao. Kept thinking Maldives when time comes or when travel is on our mind! :P

So where have you been to, and any preference? Taiwan? HK? Japan? Or China..take the train to Tibet!!!

So How's your company doing? CHRT right? Do u participate in ur company's Employee stock purchase plan? Got 15% discount or not?
Cos I'm thinking to speculate..err..shld be "invest" in this counter but not sure how's is the short term financial doing....It used to be a USD100++ stocks! Haizz.....

Wu,
don't like that tease me leh..me just want the kick of staying @ water villa mah...bimbo right...got big and nice bath tub bettre...i'm a sucker for bathtubs..but Hilton really out of budget lah

Me not in financial sector..i'm doing finance..if you guys want to invest in stocks for long term, try to find those with high-paying dividend stocks as a form of investment lor..SPH, ST Engineering, Singpost, Telcos (Singtel, M1, Starhub) are some good paying dividend companies..
If you guys, aiming for speculative, try to buy those with high-volume..
SG shares all see luck one lah..

Actually hor..i got thot of going to Tibet next yr leh..seems fun...still considering abt it..
I went Holiday Tours office just now and noticed they do packages to Seychelles as well..

in my whole lifetime, die die must go England to watch one EPL match...hahaha...St James Park it shall be...

Yo Fanfan,

Kekeke.... Kidding only lah! If got budget, I think all would want to stay in luxury resort for sure! Don't waste water lah! Big bath-tub takes lots of water leh! kekekek.... Okie okie...stop teasing you!
Actually I start to like Water villa after staying in Hilton SWV and Mirihi WV...I like to listen to the wave crashing in, then at the same time listening to some spa music..oh yes it's really pampering!
Haiz.... see how lah, see got luck in stock investment or not! :P
Wha..those blue chip no money buy lah! All must buy 1 lot! That's why I like US stock..can buy 100 shares here and there! :P

nice nice Tibet can take very nice pics!!

Seychelles might as well choose Maldives again. Really, so far those resort area looks like those in Phuket, Redang etc.... not really nice beaches loh!

When I study in Wales, saw once, Not EPL lah, but international game between Belgium and Wales! Wha.... tell u hor, very diff Atmosphere compare to Kallang. Really no fight! nice pitch, and most impt of all...those fans cheering...deafening cheers!!!

Yes Yes..shld go but hor most tickets like those MU or liverpool ones hor, tickets all sold out for up to 1 ~ 2 years. so u wanna watch? must book now, then travel there 2 years later to watch! :P (Info from some locals lah!, those lousy team still got tickets!) Kekekek....

hihi all

Haru and Wu: am lazy to go do all the admin stuff lor...if only someone can just help me sign up and do all the admin stuff and i just sign...although i work in a bank and rub shoulders with all those personal financial advisors day in day out - i still dun believe in Unit Trust la...guess for UT u must really hold until u old old lor...dun see the point le...dun see the gains so no motivation there....

Mr WU is better at those speculative stuff...i hv 0 stock investment in my name le..kekekke...
shares arrr..hmmm...perhaps will start from there...def no unit trust,structured deposits for moi...too "boring" maybe im jus greedy HAHAHA!!!

Wu: no TOTO luck la...i really no luck at TOTO and 4D one - hvnt won a single cent on those man. haizzzzzzz...sometimes just buy to get some hope and excitement lor....
Agree abt the gog Maldives instead of neighbouring countries...after all the evaluations Maldives still overall better value for $$ then those posh resorts in Bintan/Msia!
those how to fight man??kekekeke
recently there was a new episode of Globe Trekker whereby Ian Wright went exploring 3 diff island in the Indian Ocean!!! unfortunately Maldives is not one of them! he went to a SUPER posh resort in Mauritius and he had like 3 butlers waiting on him all day! WHOA!!!!

talk more tmr!! cannot wait to see Alex's pix he took at the RACHA~

cheers!!!

Yo bvbride,

So late haven sleep ah?? Kekek....thinking about making money??Kekekekek.....Haiz.... I think about it every night!

Wei....cannot put all money in one basket!! Off course Structure deposit is a no-no, I would rather put in a fix-D instead. But UT is a recommend basket for ppl as well. That's for your retirement funds mah!
Lets say you go $10K, u shld cater some for old age so, maybe put $6K into long term basket like UT. Get a balance fund UT that comprises of stocks, fixed income, bonds, etc... Some really fetching like 12% PA. Just imagine u put inside for say 20yrs.... don't under estimate the power of compounding....your egg can grow very big loh!

Give u an example of the power of Compounding. If someone gonna give u 2 option, and choose 1 only.
1)Give you USD1 Million today.
2)Give u 1 cents(Singapore currency) on the first day, and 2cents on the 2nd, and 4cents on the 3rd and 8cents on the 4th day and so on until the 30th day.

Kekeke..... just think and tell me lah...don't calculate oki!
Give u answer tomorrow!

Another type of investor is they buy stocks and hold for like 20 years...that'll fetch u even more, but we normal folks got limited money to diversify, so UT is an option. Unlike US folks they can invest in stuff like DRIP(buy small small amt of diff company shares every mth, no charges, then Wu-Hua).
Must ask Fanfan....am I right on the investment concept?? Correct me if I'm wrong, anyone!

In short, we small investor better not put everything in stocks loh!

Regarding Toto, big sweep and 4D...don't give up!!! I treat this as an "investment" as well! Statistically hor, a person would strike 1 Big one every 18 years(Heard from one of my wise friend lah). Me too very sua still these 2 years loh, strike the 3rd prize Toto and 6th prize Big sweep. Better than nothing lah, I think money spent is almost on par with the prize liao...kekek.....

Okie lah, got to get some sleep....haven been sleeping well since my return from Maldives... :P

This thread is moving sooooo fast that I have to spend quite a while going through it!

Wah maldives thread even got tips on how to get rich to go Maldives! hahaha...not bad, very informative.

Fanfan,
For me, other than $$$, Anantara took first place eventually cos of one thing I saw in the room that Mirihi do not have! The NICE NICE BATHTUB! Mirihi only got shower...so a sucker like yourself, I want to relax in the tub overlooking the sea...SHIOK ah!

Another thing is the bed...looks so comfy with all the pillows and stuff. So just take the risk and book liao.

Lastly, I think the price will really go up very very soon after the soft-opening period. So if dun do it now, next year will be more ex...

Mirihi still can go during the low season and still get a neat bargain.

That's my tots, hope it helps you!

Wu,
Think you can add me to the list already, Anantara staff already kept the rooms for me. I kiasu call them 3 times to ask them to reserve first before my agent takes over. Air tickets confirmed too! Yeah.....29th Oct till 4th Nov! 6 nights! Can't wait....

Boy I have been doing so much research and readups that I really dreamt about the place last night!
Hahahhaha, so not bad, got free trip in my dreamzzzzz!

You really good man 20K on just on Maldives. I pay and pay for all the wedding preps and house furniture until I faint liao. Think I have to read your investment tips carefully to get some $$$.

Btw, I am seriously considering getting a good camera for the trip too! Only got a 5 Mega Pix Casio now...Considering between a Prosumer cam n a entry level SLR like the D50 or D70. How much you pay for your dSLR & basic accessories like lens, tripod, cards...? How long you take to learn to use it or you already expert before buying it? I dun wan to be a "gong-kia" buy already then dunno how to use it correctly....

Morning ppl,

I also went to buy toto... but didint become an over night millionaire. BUT NVM.... still got chance. next round is 5.5million!! Quick quick! go buy!

Adi,

I also got the rates for the spa and the diving. Do you want the rates??

BVbride,

Thanks for your concern. My throat okie liaoz!!! I also the same as you. No tot or 4d luck. Nv win anything so far. so sad!

Wu,

Where are your fireworks shots?? Come on! Your wifey says that you will post it last night leh.

Wu,
you're right..never ever put everything in stocks..it's very risky now...if want, buy a little now as the market is recovering...keep all the spare cash for the next economy crisis..from what i understand, its cyclical and it seems that the cycle is getting shorter and shorter...last last time it was a 10 yr cycle, then the recent one is abt 7-8 yrs...
if you're a small risk taker, blue chip is safer..dun be like me, now still holding Accord and China Aviation Oil shares..hahaha...bo bian..can only hold and wait for now...

Adi,
I shall leave it to fate whether i go Anantara or Mirihi...haha....my only worry is that the water at Anantara wun be as nice as Mirihi bcos of its proximity to airport and the conhstructions that had just ended

YO Adi,

Okei...
Will add u into the Excel list and post it tonight!

HAhaah....It's a norm lah.... I think everybody dreamt it B4 they go and after we're back.
20K is almost my entire saving liao, and long ago faint on all my wedding prep plus reno plus accessories, furniture etc. You must be rather young right...kekek.... more saving will come right after your wedding lah! We too were damn broke right after the wedding. :P

Yo...ur 5MP casio exilim can take very nice pics liao. I got one 4MP casio as well, used for my Hilton trips last year. I always like Casio colour tone....more blue so take sky, sea very nice!

I got my D70s kit for S$1638, free 2GB high speed CF,bag. Got another 70-300mm zoom for S$320. Then the boss gave me 2 UV filter for lens protection. Got another S$10 Polorising filter. Tripod bought last year for my telescope but can be use for the camera, a Manfrotto one cost me S$350. That's about all.
It takes me around a few days to learn using lah..me "gong Gia" b4 hand also. Still got more to learn. B4 u buy can read up some photo techniques first, i.e using shutter priority,Aperture priority, etc... There's a couple of better and more lau jiao folks here, like Blue Ginger and Imagesxela(AKA Alex). They can give u some tips. Else can go Clubsnap.org read up some tips as well! Another good site to learn is Kenrockwell.com

Wah....must buy buy... can consider D80 liao loh! or the new sony Alpha. Prosumer cam like Canon S3 also can consider, can buy after market lens kit to do wide or zoom!

Have fun researching!

Good Morning all

Master Wu - agree w u but with so many UTs in the market still dunno which ones to buy and using CPF most prob la. excess cash (though not much) wil buy stocks - even those DBS VIckers stuff i see until "hin" liao. pple all say just sign up online can liao blah blah..think qt the complex le...hmmm..so scary

actually the $$ spent on Maldives for like5N can go to my fav shopping spot L** V**** liao le..hence im also kinda torn....haizzzzzzzzzzz
both are equally fantastic and enjoyable. my priorty lies w Maldives and then L** V****

Yo Mish,

Still doing some sorting leh on the pics. Any it's already in my album list lah..Let me sort out and do some basic editing to make it look nicer can? Kekekekke....... Kiasu!

Yo Fanfan,

Ya loh...the economy down turn is more like 5yrs for us the tech sector...REally sianx...and we're like going thru roller coaster. Every now and then got Retrenchment here and there and company consolidation

Actually cannot blame you..the media/newspaper are partly responsible as well for investor like u, on Accord and CAO. They protray them until like very solid company, I still remember some chinese docu, like meeting with CEO also feature CAO and Accord CEO B4.
Haiz...Singapore Blue chip no money buy ah... Now I can only rely on some US tech stocks! :P
ANd it's true now the world stock market is so fragile...better not go in yet unless we're really a risk taker and can hold!
Terrorism lah, oil prices lah, regional conflicts lah are the affecting everyone! :P HAte it!

Yo Bvbride,

You can take a look at the AIG Acorns of Asia, investing in China, Korea, Taiwan and asia primarily. I'm getting around 12% PA return so far for 3~4yrs liao. China Balance fund pretty good also. I'm getting 8% PA. Both I uses CPF OA and SA to buy.

I got from my wife AIA lah, but got more charges. If you get from outside some fund managers, maybe less charges. Imagine, with all charges in, I'm still getting ard 8-12% PA.

Hey...play the game with me leh.... which option u would choose on my earlier question I ask u!

When ppl ask me this question, I got the less money one, Then when I started pressing the calculation for answer, I've a shock on how 1cents become astronmical value!(Hint)

You can start getting some investment books from book store to learn loh or get from library.
Aiya....Go Maldives!!! forget LV!!!

one silly question...
is the water (sea) @ Maldives same regardless of the location of your resort? will it be lesser blue and lesser clear if i stay nearer to airport (i.e. Anantara)?

I understand that china market seems to be slowing down. Government wanna intervene or something. Dunno whether true or not. If so... China market will slow down. But i think will still grow but its at a slower rate. Hmmm

Wu,

You sound more like finance person/tour agent then an engineer. hahahahah

Anyone knows about warrant? I heard on the radio today on warrants. abit strange explanation by deutche representative.. She says that if they sell a call option to us and we excercise it.. they might not be losing money.. coz they will buy the underlying stocks when they sees that it is going up...

My pt is... if thats the case, wouldn't they be losing the difference between the amount that they bought the stocks and the amount that they sell us the stocks? Unless its in a perfect hedge situation.. hmmm. dunno la

Yo Fanfan,

Kekeke....That's the question I ask myself too!

It'll really depends on the sand quality, any strong current(washing up the sand and make it milky), and any coral reef(Darker blue patches) etc...
We fly pass some islands around Male, and most are very nice turqoise blue sea around the islands(Except for Hulhulhe airport island).
The only myth I heard(on the web in some AngMo Forum) is nearby island can be noisy at times becos of the proximity to the airport, and can be annoying.

Other factor u need to consider is new resort(due to construction) might have milky sea water quality, just like last year in Hilton, happened in Huvafenfushi as well.
Aiya, don't worry lah.... no matter what, it'll still be nicer than in Singapore or phuket!

Yo Mish,

No lah, just some basic understanding on stocks and UT. :P
Warrant I ganna burn b4. Expired and lost S$500. It can be very speculative if "time" is good, just like that time..1997~1998 period! Really good money!

wah...everyone posting very long reply.
me not working in CHRT anymore. just changed job not long ago.
talking abt stocks...me still have stocks like datacarft when the exchange rate is at least $1.8...now not only exchange rate drop, the stock value also drop.

the whole investment mkt seems to be very quiet recently lo. those funds i bought, now dont earn a lot. shld have sold it earlier
the result of being too greedy. same as Capitaland, was praying that they get the IR contract. Now got to wait again.

Wu, i want to see the fireworks photo too.

HEY HEY HARU!!!!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!!
Where are you gonna celebrate your BD..?
Are you on leave today..? coz never see your any of your post today...
Enjoy your day.........