Maldives

zenn
Oh...it's you who's preggie...
congras gal..
how many mths?

starstar, thanks! 10 wks now. i just spoke to my client who went to mirihi n pregnant now. she dun encouage me to go. partially becos she feel seaplane is shaky and landing is hard so not suitable for pregnant lady

zenn
hmm...when it's in aug..u'll be in your second trimester? if so, I think should not be a prob.. it's not good to go if it's still in the 1st trimester..

zenn,

if i rem correctly, the seaplane ride was ok to me. not too rough..plus the view..priceless. but still since preggie, better to b safe.
why dun u try resorts which dun need seaplane transfer bu via speedboat? eg angsana, banyan, taj and alot more. the resorts n rooms r equally nice, depending on ur budget.

Yo T&P,

Har....$40~105 only??? Thats super low leh, how u manage that?
How abt others here, how much is your elec/water bills per mth?
Jurong west I presume right? Not too bad lah, just something noisy(fighter jet) and the cocoa smell only right?? kekek...I heard the price there increase alot at some route, as some MRT station currently under construction.

Yo Starstar,

All of the waitress/waiter are young adults lah, probably the most "A" level or poly? I suspect most are sec student. Most of them super blur, ask them for spare chopstick never bring, and the staff is really under strength! Probably 1 person serve 2 tables kind of thingy. Then never refill our tea. I think whole event only refill once. Most don't even bother. I don't blame those kids, I blame the manager and the hotel for providing such service. If it's the profit margin that they're looking for, they're making big mistake here!!!

Yo Zenn,

For me, I don't think the seaplane take off is that bad. Probably it the sound insulation(the propeller sound) that makes it feel bad. Landing wise, I think much better than lots of SQ landing.
We ganna more turbulence on the SQ flight back then the seaplane.
Can try Anantara lah...
but Speed boat ride might be even more bouncy as compare to seaplane.
I heard they got private speedboat, not sure whether it's the big one. I think Huvafen or Reethi rah got those super luxury big Speed cruiser...then not so bouncy..but their rates is super high(min USD1000). ...sianzzz...

Yo Mish,

Thanks, I got the power point from my wife liao.
anw, the water villa suite in the first powerpt is the high end one, only 2 on the island. The rates is at least USD900 per nite.
Oh yes...super nice!!! The bath-tub is like a mini pludge pool!!

The beach villa looks like a mini-Huvafenfushi style but smaller, somewhat very similar to one of the full-moon beach villa.
I like the beach villa proximity to the beach though!

Hmm....next year if got money, another good contender liao!!!

Hey starstar
even though both me n zenn start with letter Z..but its she who is pregnant now..

Hey zenn
the seaplane ride was ok..takin off and landing quite smooth..agreed with Wu that the sound of the propeller was deafening..but they got give earplug lar..

Yo Zhuzhu,

I take out the ear-plug half way thru the trip...kekekek...feel like I'm deaf with the ear-plug on. Very funny feeling....somehow with the ear plug on, the scenary doesn't looks real. Weird hor?

wu,

never do anything special to save on bills leh.
both of us work, so only home at nite n WEs. use all normal appliances u named, iron, hairdryer, aircon, fan, cook on WE, blah blah blah...we jus shifted in, so monitor a few mths n we'll prob get a better estimation on average bill size.
yap..the price hike cos of the MRT extension n new sports stadium. I'm lucky, got it jus a few mths b4 the price went up.unlike wat alot of pple say, the fighter planes ain't tat bad, only once in a blue moon. not like they train everyday..fuel very ex these days u noe..cocoa smell also occassionally..like last nite..otherwise ok leh.

t & P
hey.. u me in the same neighbour hood!!!
which blk u staying? yup...agree wif ya...keke.. think got my flat when it was the lowest pt..bef the announcement of MRT extension n stadium..:p me staying at the 65X series.. shifted in a year liao.. got my flat in july 04.. ;p

wu
sigh..sad to see the hotel become like that...if it was bef..one year back..think it was better..

my flat is $292600.. mine is an E flat..yours how much? my flat is the one wif green n yellow clour one... whihc blk is yours?

T&P
how much u got yours? for my flat, that time I checked wif my neighbours who shifted in earlier.. they got theirs for ard more than $300k... now the WIS for jurong west..think the price went up slightly for those flats near the MRT one..

Yo T&P, starstar,

Wah..you 2 neighbor ah? kekkeke.. maybe just stone throw away! Hmm..... is Bt Panjang electric rates different from other places? kekekke....
if this mth bill more ex than u all hor then something wrong liao, cost 1/3 of the mth I'll be in Maldives. :P

Hi Irene,

hm.... hv you been to the www.mal-dives.com website? becos there's one irene who wrote some comments there, asking me question but I can't post back cos I think ganna block by the moderator. Don know why?
I book thru Mal-dives.com website, Maldives based agent( they actually book thru another bigger agent called the crown tours). It's cheaper than booking thru direct for mirihi.
My expediture is as breakdown below:-

1)Mirihi 8 nights water villa stay:- S$4427 Nett (Bed breakfast only, incl seaplane plus all transfer)
2)SQ flight for 2 return:- S$1548
3)Male 1 nite stay:- S$137
Total ard S$6.2K total for 9 nites.

So hv you decided where to go yet?

hi Wu

yes, its the same me..hahaha

planning this trip was quite a headache for us

cos we arranged our own flight (my hubby has staff tics), so didnt dare to commit to accomodation till this week

wanted club med, called up to enquire details, but when we went down to book, they actually said lagoons fully booked, and no honeymoon privileges for village only bookings. Quite disappointed..

then tried a few we shortlisted, like Taj..full le...sob sob...felt like crying..

so emailed mirihi direct, they still have water villas available

the mal-dives website slightly more exp rite? I remeber comparing for baros and found that agency rates higher by US$42 overall....

Hi Irene,

Hahahaha.....so it's you har? So sorry, in fact I wrote you 2 seperate long reply but they never even put it online. :P
I remember you're inquiring on the HIlton sunset water villa thingy right?
Actually I got my upgrade to the sunset water villa there...

So when are you planning to go?

Mal-dives.com website shld be cheaper the most local tour agent, except for Holiday tours, some of the resort they can offer lower.
Which other agent you're comparing Mal-dives.com to? You hv to be careful loh, Mal-dives.com rate is nett, unlike other agent where they haven add in the taxes(10% + USD8 bed tax) and transfer charges.

Why don't you try the Anantara resort? I think for their price of water villa, it's really very good value.

Oh yes...Mirihi also very good choice....then I can explore/recce first and write a report to you and the others!!
So you contacted Antony john from mirihi lah isit? That guy super duper helpful!! I'll be buying a gift for him later!!

wahaha...so kind of you, still buying him a gift?

i compared mal-dives with mirihi antony's quote, not another agent.

i can't remember if I enquired abt hilton..but the prices are too exp for my budget.

the anantara opening in aug only right? Im going next week.
Just read archive that you will also be at mirihi during tat period!! haha...cool..

Yo Irene,

Is it? Next week? I going there this Thurs till next Sunday, so we can meet there lah?? HAHAHAH...

Oh...so you confirm booking next week? I confirm with Antony liao...booking direct from them more ex than their agent. But they cannot give me the discount so I book thru Mal-dives.com loh. Anyway, it's a hussle booking from agent lah...they almost miss my booking. :P

However, if you book thru Antony, it's guaranteed!!!

Book book book!!!
Let me know if you're booking okie!

yeah..can meet there..hahaha.
so means you booked through mal-dives.com...
your one-nite stay at Male also thru this agent?

Do you know what time they will transfer us from airport island to resort? not decided if to get BB from Male hotel...cos..kekeke...me & hubby cannot go without food one..hahaha

So for mirihi, we will go for fullboard
Do you know if it's buffet style?

hey everyone,
wah! how come monday the thread even more active boy! super busy day today!! taking a short break to take a peek here...

Wu,
my utilities bill so far between $70-$90. hardly cook and only home in e evenings..

zenn,
haha..my mum loves adrenalin. She even took the Top Gun (the one that spins upside down normally at pasar malam) few years ago, came home with a bad bruise coz she was hanging upside down and her whole body weight was pressed on the safety strap. even i dun hv as much guts as her...=P

YO Irene,

See u There!! You must ask Antony to block book ur stay period first to guarantee okie!
The 1 nite stay I book thru Relax inn hotel website.

The transfer starts as early as 8am. The transfer can only be arrange 1 day b4. Request Antony for earlier transfer lah!

Their BB is standard USD10 for 2. Not sure nice or not but I've try another hotel one...er... Can eat lah but not much variety.

Yes... the full board is buffet style. However I suggest u go there then choose lah! I find it really bored if I eat at same rest.

Yo Haru, LPH,

Wah.....something wrong with my meter liao!! Hm..... must do some experiment to see if there's any leakage! :P

Yo LPH, I got 4 "person"...kekeke..plus 2 doggie mah!! kekekkekeek..... :P

hey Wu,
like u said, things such as a large capacity refrigerator can contribute to a huge bill. Heard that appliance like slow cooker and heater are also high energy consumption items...

Yo Haru,

That's why loh... Last time b4 moving into the house want to buy nice nice designer fridge mah. So I got the Fisher and Parkel 570ltr fridge loh.
We use vaccum like almost 3-4times a week..suck the doggie fur loh. Boil water, bath hot water twice a day, Hair dryer use to dry our doggies(on for 2hrs), sometime leave the aircon on for them...all this exceeded the Singapore average. Only water and gas we use below Singapore average.

Hiaz....need to re-evaluate our electricity usage liao. :P

Buay tan han liao:P

hi people
I actually called SP Power to enquire on possibility of people tapping into our gas pipes, the Cust Svc staff told me not possible leh.. cos my mum's place, she cook daily, the gas usage is double of national average!!

Wu
May I know your total quote from mal-dives.com? I tried to simulate your period of stay, it came up to US$2960.00.
You mean can go there then decide I want fullboard meh? kekeke...

Yo Irene,

I think best way to confirm is to don't use anything at home for a day or 2 to check for any possible "Leakage(by what ever means lah, leak, steal etc.. :P)", see the meter usage b4 and after loh!

My quote from them is 02 rooms, 4 pax, Total USD5367. So u divide by 2 loh. So it's USD2683.50.
Oh..no...my stay is actually This friday(30th Jun) till sat (8th July), total 8 nites...so fly there thurs, reach Singapore Sun morning.
Oh can decide full board there or not also can. Say on ur 2nd day you wanna to try full board, just tell them loh, then they'll add that to your bills(A lot of resort practice that, if u want 100%, try email Antony).

Yo T&P,

I Highly recommend Fu Kwee kitchen
Kekek...cos no matter what occasion, my family clan(includes my wife side) always go to them. Primarily, nice food.
Tel:- 64462933
anw, we not affliated with them, just think it's one of the best out there.

T&P & starstar,

Which block both of you are staying?
5-room flat? My parents are considering to shift to Blk 9.. (4-room) the blocks next to the future stadium. Good?

Nope. I dun have any caterer to recommend. but sure interested to get one for my wedding day.

Wu,
My current old flat electric bill just $120 per month (max) for 6pax excluding doggies. but my hb's hse electric bill is $200 (5pax) on aircondition for 2 rooms everyday.

Yo Adel,

Hahaha....how to calculate excluding doggies? so funny...kekekek...

My highest bill is $180 plus. Near to ur HB's house. Only 2 pax plus 2 doggies. Hmmm.....seems like my neighbour is stealing my electricity. :P
I'll find 1 day, don't on any appliances except for the fridge and find out my fridge power consumption...work out from there. Really if this goes on hor, Next year can go Sentosa rather than Maldives liao. :P Kekekek...

Hi T&P, my client who went to mirihi said the same thing as you. Look for resort nearer to male. Even mirihi seems very concern and suggested I can look into resorts nearer. He keep stressing if in case need medicial help, it will take at least 1/2 hr seaplane. My client also concern in case need help ve to wait for seaplane or what if no seaplane after 4pm. Hmm...

For caterer, you can consider Angeli http://www.angeli.com.sg/

Hi Wu, not looking at so high end lah. Still must save $$$ for bb leh haha What are the resorts I can consider for around US300 per nite for water villa and near airport?

Hi Haru, I really must saute ur mum. I dare not pla too.

yoyoyo everyone!!
so glad the monday blues are over but tmr is another day worr....

Starstar_ hello to u !! so happy someone knows i MIA sometimes hor..kekek...will update as and when i can ok...abit caught up with work stuf... got some new system stuf to pick up and learn la - sianz....but wil be more active sometime soon - hopefully. miss chatting online with u peeps le.

speaking of electricity bills hor...husb and i pay like $110-$120 per mth. a/con only for 4-5hrs in the evning when we watch TV/WCup etc then off liao. hot showers are compulsory daily, boil water user cheapo kettle method cos i thought gas is cheaper then using the electrical kettle. ironing for one big heap of my ah lau clothes takes about 1hr per week

T and P - when i just shifted in hor my bill also like yours 40-50bucks - your SP "bomb" usually comes the follwg mth! keep us posted yeah?
if stil status quo then really must tell us your method of conserving electricity le .....kekekeke

Hee.... I got 3 more days b4 departure.
381884.gif

Yo Idono,
U can take a look at various different Maldives resort pics in each member's photo link below. have fun!!

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Photo Album</TD><TD>Departure</TD><TD>Returned</TD><TD>Total nites</TD><TD>Countdown(Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Taj Exotica/Baros(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/album/208550556KcSIWJ </font><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/user/plannerholiday3</font></TD><TD>Oct 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral(WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2120573087</font></TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla/Sunset WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645</font></TD><TD>30-June-05</TD><TD>8-July-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana(Beach Villa) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wpwgrent/my_photos</font></TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Clubmed(SupRm/WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://photos.yahoo.com/lengph</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Apr-06</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Clubmed(BVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.moonlight00.shutterfly.com/</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>13-May-06</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=2105956261</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>25-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>T&amp;P</TD><TD>Taj Exotica(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.tajexotica.shutterfly.com </font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>10-Jun-06</TD><TD>16-Jun-06</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nelc</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Jun-06</TD><TD>25-Jun-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Mirihi(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.mirihi.com</font></TD><TD>29-Jun-06</TD><TD>8-July-06</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-July-06</TD><TD>7-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>5 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon/Hilton(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.fullmoonmaldives.com/</font></TD><TD>9-July-06</TD><TD>14-July-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>13 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-July-06</TD><TD>16-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>14 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Oct-06</TD><TD>27-Oct-06</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>117 </TD></TR><TR><TD>FanFan</TD><TD>Mirihi</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Nov-06</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>140 </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Laguna or Club Rannalhi</TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Maybe Very Soon! </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Wu

Good hor u...flying off soon...

Antony didnt reply my qns leh.. perhaps i bombarded him too many qns like machine gun.. kakaka

we intend to depart on 02 july, stay one nite at overnite hotel, then go mirihi
guess i have no choice but to go thru mal-dives

btw, u booked thru website and email mirihi also? cos you mentioned antony replied you

Hi Irene,

He normally takes 1 day to reply. When did you write to him?
If you write in point form, he can be more specific I guess... kekeke...thru my experience. Slowly once he knows you... he can joke with u.

Hmm... but you did say they hv rooms for your intended date right? If it's the case, just book loh!
I don't think u got time to book thru Mal-dives.com cos there's a whole list of procedure to do b4 they can confirm your trip. My advise is, just wait for Antony's email or simple just call him direct!! really!

I wrote to him straight, at [email protected]
did u wrote to him at the address as well?
Kekeke... you said I recommend u to him can liao. If he never help u, I Ham-Tam him when I'm there!

I wrote to both Antony and Mal-dives.com compare price. I take mal-dive.com becos it's cheaper.

But Mal-dives.com book thru crown tours...so to revert here and there is time consuming. then after confirmation u need to fax a credit card form to mal-dives.com for confirmation....revert here and there, I took around 2 weeks to confirm. So not a good choice for u. Jus call Antony up will be best!

Oki?...kekek.hope I explain clearly.

wow, this thread very hard to catch up if just missed by a day!!! gotta read from previous archives.!!!

starstar,
they did offer to do laundry for me, but i didn't wanted coz wanna bring that piece to maldives, so did my own laundry instead.. heng the stain can be removed...

zenn,
these few days no heart to work lei, how..? kekeke.. but lucky still got activity ratio... if not boss will yak yak yak!!!

hi irene,
see you in mirihi!!!

errmm.... i hv just booked with mal-dives.com
anyway will see what they say tomorrow
cos this waiting is killing me...hahaha
panicky..

yup, same email add for mirihi

Joy, haha can understand lah. Think ur heart at maldives liao. Me also not been working much since pregnant. Now worst, keep surfing for maldives. My hb shake head haha

Wu, any comments on Angsana and Thulhagiri? I saw you posting photos on Thulhagiri and seems quite nice too.

For those who took speedboat, what kind of speedboat they used? I read its aircon but issit stable or small small type? I always thought airplane is more stable dan speedboat. Confused now...