Maldives

hey Wu,
wil there b extra charge if Hilton book the Male hotel for us? I tot they would only b able to book the airport hotel..anyway, wil send one final email to relax inn then see how...if not, i think i'm gg for Mookai.

Hey Haru
U wan me to go and ask relax inn tomolo o not?

Wu
Got another way...get zhuzhu to book for haru...

Yo haru,

Don't think so lah... try to write to them and tell them your problem, in a "nice" manners. They'll normally book the hulhulhe hotel for guest, why not others? We are the guest you see.
That's should be customer service!

Kekek...don't tell them airport hotel is ex lah, maybe can tell them u would like to walk around Male in the morning b4 departure! :P

Good luck! Yo,... can cc ur Relax inn email to me or zhuzhu also.... at least tell them hey we're watching! :P

Last method. Zhuzhu please help Haru gal here when you're there in Male, check with them how's Haru's reservation status!

Haru, if zhuzhu did reply here, better give her ur reservation details loh! Cheers!

Last but not least, zhuzhu! Enjoy ur trip!!! Thats tomorrow!!!
kao_byebye.gif

Hi Starstar,
dun wan go back taj exotica liao. Should try other. Ok, i will take a look at your recommended Taj Coral...Can share any pic? wanna know how the place looked like. And can tell me how much it cost/package?

Hi Wu
Thanks for your comments. YEs, you are right, the first 4 days a Baros was sunning. Weather is good. But after that when we reached Taj Exotica for 3 days stay, weather so cloudy throughout, last day even rain ah..tsk tsk..
..so sad. lucky the room is good...and we rented DVD watch lor..

This time i hope to get sunny weather throughout. Going there with a few photography kakis..this time got better camera and lens liao. Hope to capture the nice scenery there. But problem now is dunno which resorts to go ah...headache ah... haizz..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Hahahhaa.....Just after I post the mail, you got there faster than me!
Help out our Haru gal!

Take care and have a wonderful and unforgetable trip! Cheers!

Talk to u folks tomorrow!

hey zhuzhu,
i think i'm so sianz of emailing that i'm thinkin of just booking another hotel..anyway, if you can just ask them tomorrow when you are there tom, that would be great.

Yo imagesxela,

Tough isn't it? Mine too on my last day there in Hilton b4 seaplane departure...... Tropical storm!!! That's the biggest storm I ever encountered! :P Me too. watching DVD as well and listening to music!
So what camera you've got this time round? Those paranomic shots, you used software to stitch or is it a "wide" angle lens?

I'm thinking to buy a nikon D70s, what's ur recommendation? Preferably less than S$1800 lah.

So this time round how many days are you planning? however, if you're talking about August, there's a likely chance lots of resort will be full though.

Yo zhuzhu,

So u working tomorrow? likely not eh!

Haru,

better lah, ask Zhuzhu to check for u,then email u the Saturday afternoon loh(Singapore's evening). Anyway, there's 4 internet station there, free of charge....Haizz..... My Mirihi is charging for internet usage! :P

Hi Wu
Now I using canon 350D leh.
Those shots in Taj Exotica and Baros are shot using a 2 megpixel IXUS camera..kekeke..So those paranomic is stitch. heheh.

This time have wide to zoom lens liao. Hope to take better pics. But of course main thing to go there eat sleep and nua lor..not forgetting swim/snorkel. hehe..

Nikon D70s not bad mah. really depends which brand u want lor. I think now canon 350D can get below $1600 already. Wait for IT show in June for good deals.

Hope to stay at a resort there for 4 nights. 1 night will be "wasted" mah because arrived there will be midnight right.August is off peak mah, isn;t it? still full meh...haizz..headache again.

Hey Wu
tomolo i work half day...cos got conference call early morning...SIAN!!!!!

Toking bout stiching..the canon cam I bought oso can do stiching oso...interesting.. (or maybe i too sua ku??)

hi zhuzhu,
i just forward you the email that i received from relax inn. hope that helps! let me know if you need more details..thanks so much!

u're working tom?? wow, i think my brain wil be soooo switched off...

erm...whats stitching??=P

Hey Haru
ok..got ur email...wait for my reply..

stiching is when u wan to take some pic, like some scenary..but its too wide to capture in a single pic..so u can take 2 different views..then "match" them together...(if u get wat i meant)

Yo imagesxela,

OIC...350D eh! kekekek..... we got one in our lab. Testing our 8GB Microdrives compatibilities with the camera! Oh yes, it's a really good camera! no more stitching with software liao leh kekekek.....

Looks like you are Canon fans.. Me still undecided, cos once you're a canon user, most likely in the rest of ur life, a canon fan! Especially true for DSLR! kekekek...

I thinking of getting the camera from MS color, heard of it? Lots of ppl recommend them. Will the IT show price be attractive?

Off peak? no leh... lots of resort, i.e. Hilton, Mirihi, komandoo etc... are fully book till at least end of July, and that's 3 weeks ago.

however, if you're going to book thru agent, then possible there are more left lah.

Hi Wu
Yup, i bought my lens from MS Colour.
IT show will only bundle unnecessary stuff lor. If u get the body only, then go MS Colour lor.

I think those resorts really high end one therefore usually fully book especailly if u go direct. I going thru an agent.

Waiting for Starstar to give me review on Taj Coral leh..

Yo imagesxela,

Okie thanks! will go down MS color to take a look.
those resort I'd mention not really very high end lah, but some like mirihi and komandoo are being block book by bigger agents in Maldives.

Yo..paging for Starstar!! need help from u here!! Taj Coral!!!
kao_babydust.gif

Yo Zhuzhu,

U sure Ixus800 got stitching function? .....
I thot most are done using PC software instead. Hmmmm.....will check it out when I go down MS color.

Now don't know how...buy a DSLR or some compact digital cam like yours!
My casio serves me well, although only 4MP but good enough for my previous trip. Now Casio coming out with their 10MP compact..... really fast!!!

conference call eh! .... I know.... Sianx! Sianx! Sianx!

Sleep well.... you'll hv a long day tomorrow!!

Hi Wu
I think u better dun rush into buying one lor. Should check things out first...kekek

Haizz...will check those resorts u mentioned also.
My budget not much leh. Still thinking per pax around $1K to $1.5K can go Maldives or not.
Have a save a bit as i will be going australia end of yr for longer holiday leh...

imagesxela,

i 5 nites at club med, 3 nites in lagoon and 2 nites in superior. cost abt $2900+ pr pax, all inclusive. i did not spend any extra there except for some souveniers. not many childern when i was there too...as my villa was the furthest out in the sea, it is very exclusive. but cannot compare to Hilton la. I find that going to club med is a nice experince as they have a lot of programme line up for you.

imagesxela,

Wow, All your photos very nice leh... hehhee. But Taj exotica still bit too ex leh for me leh. Hehe. Above budget. hehe.

Hey guys, Airport tax went up again... sigh. Any forecast that it will drop?? heh heh

Yo imagesxela,

Kekekek.....I've been doing research on cameras and video cam for the past 2 mths... Not rushing. Will also compare with IT shows if there's one in June.
$1K difficult lah, but $1.5K maybe can but it's not gonna be 4 or 5 stars resort. A 3 stars one perhaps. But hey, to nau, snorkel, and do nothing, no where else can compare to maldives isn't it? 3stars so what, u got the same beautiful sand, sea and sun!

u see, if going in group hor, your SQ tickets already $500 + at least 200++ for taxes, surcharge.

If u confirm 1.5K, I can look out a resort for u.... anyway I not agent har, jus helping out!

Yo Zhuzhu!

That's good! Wha...the compact digital-cam now so advance and powerful liao....and with that price, it's reasonable. I got my 4MP 3yrs back at $750 also......

Yo Mish,

Hv u check out ur electrical bills lately? It's been going up for donno how many donkeys mth liao....no signs of dropping lah! This US lah, relation with Iran and Venezuala so bad, cause oil prices to hit record high.....SianXXXX.....

Kekkeke...and there's a saying, once election over, everything up! Kekek....more to come loh! :P

Wu

Since u Nikon fan. Get D70 lor...or best,D200 (newer i think).

Wah..You is expert in Maldives ah? kekekeke...
Ok lor, give me some suggestions for resorts budget from 1K to 1.5K for considerations leh. I have to persuade 9 other people to go with me u know. I am the organiser for this trip mah..haizz..

Nice resort hor. Not so crowded one. I think i really asking for too much ah..ai pi ai qi..mauhahahaha...

Yo Wu
ok ok ..me here...

Yo imagesxela
here's the link to my album...
http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2120573087&code=18301393&mode=invite&DCMP=isc-email-AlbumInvite

btw I stayed there for 6 nights n went full board wif the resort. paid a total of abt $6k for two pax inclusive of air tics, taxes,etc.. everything... oh ya..also includes the spas n activities expenses.
went there in march 05... so if u are going for shorter nights n abt $3k for two pax..it's feasible. We stayed in water villa... hee..something we always wanted but not enough $$ to go for 5 star resorts' one...

For us, the next time we go Maldives, we'll not be so 'hardcore' for water villa liao.. it'll be based on whether if it's a good deal or not...beach villa also can..
esp the Hilton ones..haha..

zhuzhu
yo.. excited or not? tonight flying off liao...
thaks for the package..I'll trasnfer the $$ when received k?

starstar

Thanks for the link. Nice.
U know i paid $6K for 4 nights in Baros and 3 nights in Taj Exotica that time in Oct 04.

So Taj Coral water kind of rough isn't it. I mean from your pics lah. Hows the condition over there? Facilities good or not?

This time we want to stay at least 4 nights.

Yo imagesxela,

Hmmmm....still thinking leh. Not sure want to spent so much on camera or not. Unless I use it frequent lah, else probably just go for a Panasonice Lumix.

No expert lah, just went there once. This yr july going again. Read up lots' of stuff on the net loh. Roughly know the resort inside out, paper understanding only lah.

Wah...9person ah! All of u folks photographer?

Jus now went and look ard hor, 1K really difficult. u see airtix oredi $750 liao. then $250 for 3 nights full board? Not possible.
1.5K still a bit tight, as the cheapest period is from Mid May till Mid July.

Found only 1 that match ur budget of ard 1.5K, it's called the Embudhu Village. 3Nights full board will cost u USD458 nett. Covert to Sing ard S$740, plus air tix will be ard 1.5K.
If U wanna stay full 3 nites, advise u to stay 1st nite in Male, spent another ard S$120(Bed breakfast) then transfer to the resort around noon time, so total 4 nites ard S$1620, but bear in mind hor, this mean no other spending hor!

Er....anyway if ur 1.5K is on resort only w/o airtix then more choices lah....

Check out the website here, and look for the Embudhu resort details, they got live quotes there:-
http://www.mal-dives.com

imagesxela
rough as in alot of waves isit? think it's still fine... not choppy till can't swim... least there are water breaks ard the resort to reduce the waves. basically it all depends leh...there are times during my stay the water is rather calm... basically still fine n safe to swim ard...

facilities as in recreation? yup.. it's ok..but the swimming pool not very fantastic..so for us, we spend all our days there swimmiing in the sea. What's more the pool can get a bit crowded at times when there's some diving lessons ongoing.. cos there's a PADI dive school there. Spa is good.. the water villa we stayed is nice.. u know the basics are there n most of all, it's clean.
rather decent place to stay in ..

service wise, no complains... basically, the waiters there know us by names... n keke.. since we are allocated a same table for every meal... the waiters serving also know what drink we want without asking... haha..
not too bad.

wah..$1.5k for 4 nights? hmmm... when u going? like Wu mentioned.. it's abit tight leh...

Yo imagesxela,

Check out Embudhu homepage. Can write to them direct to ask for quotes. ANyway the USD458 is only standard room, no A/C. Superior rooms, got A/C cos USD519. All quotes by Mal-dives.com.

You can check out with Embudhu village direct and ask for quotes, got 9 person leh, ask for more discount! Anyway, their July season got 20% discount and Sept session got 15% discount, but Aug don't hv.

Here's their website! Cheers!

http://www.embudu.com/index.php

Wu n imagesxela
Embudhu looks nice!!!
hey..think it's the resort I mentioned before that I dun mind going...:p quite a good deal..

Yo Starstar,

Ya....you still remember ah. That's the one I say lah...stay 14nites during low season, pay 3K. Where to find! :P

kekekekeke.....

Yo starstar,

Yah lor hor....a 3 stars resort got so many things. REally, I wld rather go there during low season rather than to Malaysia resort. Last time I did my own calculation. These kind of resort in Maldives even cheaper than those equivalent 3stars resort in Malaysia. Just that diving in Maldives more ex lah!
Oh yes, a great hideaway. Look at the water villa, quite decent also.

Wu
aiyo..die lah... u make my heart "itch' leh... really feel like going there NOW!!! haha...

imagesxela
go see it for yourself...

hey imagesxela,

ur baros pics looks great. siao liao..as i mentioned somewhere, i have shortlisted baros n taj exotica, now back to sq one, dunno which to go but tink i tend towards taj abit more.

also saw the angsana pics..very nice too. but this time i want to stay in water villa, so banyan n angsana r out. they only have beach villa. but i heard they have one of the best corals around cos of their conservation efforts.

also saw

"I must go against the FORCE... I dun want to go to the DARK side".... hahaha...

Wu..dun tempt me lah.... next year then I should decide on joining the FORCE...hahaha quota for long trip met for the year leh... my CO won't approve my request one...
haha

Wu
everything except food.

Truffles
go for Taj...u wont regret. i went to both before mah. given a choice to choice these 2 to go..i go for taj exotica..no need to think one.
Baros pics great because sunny day mah... taj pic not so good because weather gloomy mah..hahahaha..

wu,
Sigh... ya... i should have bought the tix when it was 220 tax that time. I tot might drop ma... hehehe... die liao lo... now up 30 per pax... sigh...Help!!

Hey about the camera, I thinking of getting a new one for my maldives trip. Since you guys discussing.. how's Nikon? Hmm. Or Sony? Or Canon?

How about underwater? We thinking of buying the little bag thing that they sell in the travel shop. Maybe can use underwater. What do u guys think?

Zhu zhu... all excited. everyone here also excited for you. haha. Have fun!!

Yo Starstar,

Join our Force right? Kekeke..... 14 nites Embudhu? :P

Yo imagesxela,

Okie...anyway the price including all 3 meals liao. Check it out! So u can spent on other stuff.

Yo Mish,

Wah....now surcharge us S$250? Mine is S$224. Aiya, ya loh , shld hv book earlier isn't it?

Personally, for Compact digital camera, go for either Canon, Panasonic or Casio(uses SD/MMC card,cheaper). Don't go for Olympus(XD card, ex) or Sony(mem-stick, ex) lah. For me, I find Casio very easy to use and the blue colour always turn out to be very vibrant! kekekek....my pics speak for it liao... quite blue right?

Underwater ah....you better get a proper underwater casing, by the camera manufacturer. Don't play play. Anyway, it's gonna cost at least S$200 dollars. If not, just go for disposable underwater camera(rated at 30m), will do also.

Wu,

Sony not gd meh? Shutter speed seems alot faster? I considering mainly canon and sony. But my ixus 500 quite slow. Ur pix quite nice leh. Maybe can consider casio as well. dunno leh.

As for the underwater camera, Bit ex to buy the casing leh... The disposable one dunno take already can see anything not. Hmm

Wu
haha..14 nites sounds GOOD!!!!

mish
think there's a digital cam can go underwater...can't rem from which manufacturer... think it's panasonic or Olympus... price is ard $799.