Maldives

I might wan to book Relax Inn Executive room..they quoted me US$88 + 10% service charge...still wthin my US$100 budget..;)

Thanks for the advice given!Can recommend me any tour agencies doing Maldives as their core biz? I emailed GSA.. they said that their Jan pricing will only be released in oct! So want to bk early also cannot leh.. I dun mind 3* resort, no need those water villa, jacuzzi in the room sort of resorts. It will be more relaxation and outdoors.

My budget of 3k is solely for accomodation, air tics, transfers & taxes. Prob another $1k for food and entertainment. Just want to experience the kind of lovely beaches that SG will never come close to having.

jac
think this is the website where u can find the 3 star resorts...
hope this helps... Wu poast it up earlier...
www.Mal-dives.com

yo haru..
ooh...TWP! great gowns!! No wonder u're still missing ur wedding...keke...

woah...haha..we r all so excited for LPH now...can't wait for all the juicy fotos dat lph will bring back to share wif us!!! kekeke

argh....can't wait for 13th may!! tis wait is sooooo torturing!! muahahaha

Wu...thnx 2 ur link! juz realise i need to vote.. haha...gona b mi veri 1st time! haaa

Yo Jacquise,

Yes, go to www.Mal-dives.com

Not neccessary need to book from them but use their website info/price as a baseline. click on the "clickable map of resorts" to under more about the atoll formation/location, i.e need transfer by speedboat or seaplane, these are all cost.

Take your time to go thru all resort and understand more about them, the price, amenities, facilities, accom, activities etc.
Those resort that I'd earlier point out to you can all be found on this map, and it's one of the few that suits ur budget(as u must understand that it's the super peak season, and ur 3K really can't get u much, unless u go during off peak which u might get more).

Happy researching! Anything not sure, lets discuss with others here or u can pm/ email me :[email protected]
okie? cheers!

starstar,
no lah, in fact i hardly work late. but i really had stuff that i wanted to clear so tt its nt on my mind all weekend. my boss tot something happened to me,how come stay until so late..but it was quite nice working late at nite, really peaceful.=P

hey moonlight,
you like TWP too??=> i love their BS, so lush and well decorated. i really feel like a princess everything i tried my gown and walked out to their huge mirror..

dun think too much about it and before you know it, you'll be packing to go!! ya, i wonder whats LPH doin now too...hmm.....

hey peeps

Haru: am suppose to go office today la but ended up too lazy to crawl out of bed and go...plus was "partying" w collegues at Villa Bali the night before so was too tired to wake up early (excuse only...)felt bad leaving my poor husb alone at home most sat so ended up staying in today. saw incredible HP deal in the newspapers so went down to starhub and queue and finally got a new HP after >2years.

Got a Nokia N70 - still trying to figure out how to use some of their functions...

will most prob work till late fr Tues-Thurs next week so will be around to monitor the movement of this thread more closely :D
yep working at night can be cool cos the phone is not ringing off the hook and no "authorities" around to breath down your neck

All of ya hv a nice long weekend
!!!!

Zhu zhu,

I am impressed!! How did you get everything from hilton? The menu looks good. yum.. got lobster somemore. I must go there and see.. 23 days to your holiday!!! so exciting!!! you going for any of the dinner event kind?

Yo bvbride!

N70 is a great phone at a great price...but really, the function is getting more and more, getting very complicated to use.
I got myself a Nokia 6280 recently from Starhub as well... S$648, then next day drop to S$398. I called and complain and they said they cannot do anything... and that's b4 I got my phone(need 1 week to deliver). I then complain to my company's starhub acc manager and they agrees to drop the price..... I almost wrote a letter to CASE to complain.

Yo Mish!

U're again very early!

Hahaha..... why hilton folks don't ans ur question? Maybe they say, wah.... ur trip is in Oct 06, aiya can wait. zhuzhu diff.... she's going very very soon... 20 days and counting down real fast!!! :P

Yo Zhuzhu,

I already submit my reservation request for Exec Rooms at Relax Inn. Now waiting for their booking confirmation.
I think worth it lah.... go ahead, price diff is not much but room size diff alot. hopefully the pics are accurate lah...
but I'm always really to be disappointed. :P

wow this thread is bustlingwith lots of fun! Me also thinkg of going maldives end of year. AD in nov. how do you all go? through package, book through club med, or just book ur own plane and hotel to go? tks eh.

Yo Macadamia,

Not all are ladies, some are hubby, like me...kekek....

End of the year would be peak sesson though. It'll depends on which resort u wanna to go, but in fact most of us here book direct with the resort that we wanna to go, as it's much cheaper. Off course we'll book our flight there as well, thru SQ website.

Hv u got any preference, which resort you are interested?

Well u can go thru www.mal-dives.com to book ur trip, but first do some research first. You can find lots of info on their webiste.

hi Wu and zhuzhu,
so you both made a reservatn at relax inn oledi? i think i should go book soon too...did you do it via the the website directly?

Hey Mish
I just be more thick-skinned..and ask them for all the menu and price list lor...like I said..the duty mgr must be gettin irriated by me already..scally he already marked me when I arrive..

I already planned 1 candlelite dinner..and 1 BBq dinner...the rest..go there then see how lor..

Hey haru
I just sent my confirmation to relax inn on their executive double room..I did it thru their website..but they never reply to me after 2 days..so I sent them an email...then they reply..I very troublesome...send 1 email askin rates for deluxe room..then another email asking rates for executive room...they must be thinkin..I so troublesome..

Hey Wu
Just check with you again..the beach villa got those small water flask for boilin water + an espresso machine hor?

Yo Haru,

Yeh... better book earlier. Yes thru their website reservation. U can view the rooms first. At least must book the Deluxe one lah, I think USD6++ diff from standard but much bigger loh. Or best go with the exec rms.

Yo Zhuzhu,

I'll wait for 3 days, and if they never reply, I call them straight! kekeke.... no lah, write to them loh.

And as for the beach villa, my time got only espresso machine, don't have the water boiler thingy(where most hotels would hv). We used the integrated boiling function on the espresso to boil water(2 cups noodles hor, need to at least boil 2 time). So that's why I reckon that u shld buy one small water boiler there. Just saw 1 by philips, a very small one, cost around S$36, when I visited BIG this evening. I even try to look out for any mini-BBQ machine to bring to Maldives! so I can warm up my can tuna or salmon! :P

Hey Wu
So u going to have a mini BBQ there lar...I saw at isetan they have those traveller hot flask (those kind we saw in the hotel)..less than $30...think its toyogi brand..another one (which can hold more water, same brand) is about $36 i think...maybe wait for isetan private sls then go n buy....

hey zhuzhu and Wu,
think i'll do it now..=> thanks for the tips!

i think i mite bring along a mini kettle for boiling water, if nt use the expresso maching wait until sunset boy,hahah...Wu, u beri funny leh!even wana bring along a mini BBQ machine? so you all gona pack all ur makan? in a box or luggage?

hey all

great day to rest today hor...
Wu: thank goodness they let u buy at the lower price - its only logical right cos the phone is not even in yr hands yet. i traded in my v old T630 from Sony Ericsson (ancient hor) then plus voucher plus upgrade using my husb plan cos his plan is a so called hi plan and tada!! i paid like $148 - qt pleased cos he was monitoring the phone price for me for ages kekekeke....now can save better save kekeke...

aiyoh all planning the final final details liao hor...really hope my new job works out got enough comm and i will be heading there next year man kekekek....will see will see....

cheers!!!

Yo folks,

Wah....never go out today ah? I early morning go to Marina sq for makan....eat some tim-sum. My wife has been bugging me wake up early and go out. True enough, it's very refreshing and we had a great day! jus got back.

Zhuzhu,

kekeke.... don't think so lah, later burnt down the water villa. :P but really tempted loh, so fun, can BBQ at the terrace with the sea in front of you.

Ya, I saw that too. the toyogi one. I went to Giant and saw one donno what brand lah, cost only $11.90 I think it's 1 litre. I'm thinking of buying the Philips one $36. It'll much more compact then others.

Yo Haru,

Ya...really tempted to bring my own BBQ thingy. So I can fried/heat up my can food mah.... This time round, maybe would pack all my makan into my luggage but will buy more varieties of food. Last year only bought maggi mee, sausages, cup soup and tuna can. Hmmmm.........

Yo Bvbride,

you got the N70 at only $148? Oh after trade in isn't? but the T630 really don't hv much value right, or you're having a high plan thus much cheaper?

Anyway, that's a really good price... so this phone will last u for another 2 yrs?

All the best in ur new job search! May u hv lots and lots of comms ah! then can go Maldives twice a year!
kkekkekeke...... if I financially can hor, I would go there 2 times a year. 1 to do hardcore diving(during the high season where I can see more giant Manta rays) and another trip just to relax!

hey Wu,
i've sent an email reservation tis aft, so just waiting for their confirmation now. think i'll bring lotsa instant 3-in-1,biscuits mayb even luncheon meat!hahah..oh wait, its halah place rite?..

ya, its quite nice to go out early in the morn once in a while coz the days seems so long and you can do so much in e day. i really enjoyed it when hubby and i went to changi early in e morn for bak kut teh and a stroll at e beach, really refreshing. then we headed to whampoa to get some freshly baked traditional bread, and made kaya toast at home.=P but hubby working hours are long, so its not often that he can wake up early!

hi bvbride,
i'm a idiot when it comes to hp, i only noe how to use, but i can never follow e latest model,etc.normally i just take over hubby's when he upgrades. he always wana get me a brand new one, but i dun see the need since i only need it for its function,to call and sms thats all.=P

Yo Haru,

Yes.... it's a muslim country lah. Don't even think of replacing or tearing away the sticker on the can hor. It's a no no. :P
I know how u will feel. you'll miss the luncheon meat very much when u're there! Fried luncheon meat!!

Hahaha...... I'll try to wait up early more often during the weekends, so that I don't waste my day!

hi Wu,
okie, understood..better not to make any unintentional mistakes to offend them. =Z btw, you also mentioned that the ladies will need to cover up rite? does that mean long sleeves, pants and shoes? would it matter if ladies wear short sleeve, sandals,etc?

hahaha, i noe what u mean. weekends are e only times we get to sleep in late, so it can be really tough to wake up early sometimes. but i think my body does not need so much sleep gradually..hubby thinks its our body preparing for parenthood, wahahah!

Hi Wu,

But i dun really wish for the hassle to book everything separately. I prefer to go thru a travel agent. I think not many in SG do it. Found about 3, but havent gone down to enquire. A bit kiasu at this point in time. Hee. Thanks for all the help!

Wah, some folks are still awake ah.... I'm watching the Pretty women on CH5, really nice show to watch again and again.

Yo Haru,

I think just need to cover one's shoulder, and probably a jeans would be good as well. Sandals shld be okie lah.

Yo Jac,

It's okie, really up to ur preference. Anyway booking the resort and SQ flight on ur own just need a few click away, on the internet. The reason why we don't book thru local travel agent is that they charges up to 10~20% more..... and with that saving...oh I can go for a private BBQ and some excursion, or perhaps even enough to stay a few nites more etc...

Anyway, local agents likely book thru the Maldivian agent...and some Maldivian agent wld book thru a bigger Maldivian agent and thus kind of stupid.

Anyhow good luck on ur booking, and choosing Maldives wouldn't go wrong! Enjoy! Cheers!

i'm in office early tis morn, had to wake up early coz hubby had to be at work early too.woke up at 630am,yawn!!made myself a nice cuppa coffee already.=P

hey Wu,
great,thanks for ur advice ya?

surfer girl at citylink is having sale!! they didn't put any notice outside, and discount are random (old stock more discount, up to 70% off!)
i bought 2 pairs of bikini (voodoo dolls brand), 1 pair only S$20+ less than 25
go buyyyy :p
(i bought yesterday)

hmm i haven't planned about dinner/sports ler
for now, i see the menu sooooo ex
but later on might go lar coz my big bonus will be paid end of june
just in time

Hi Zhuzhu,

Can you send me all the price lists that you have for hilton activities and excursions? My email addr is [email protected].

I have already booked to go in June! Very excited about it also..

hi m1rror,
omigosh!realy?? i am a sucker for bikinis.i have loads of them, in fact a few brand new unworn ones that i am hoping to let go too. i think i won't be able to resist if i were to go!hahaha...

hi nelc,
congrats!!! i am sure you will have a good time, looking forward to hear your experience as i wil be gg in july.=>

Hey Mira
Any idea when is the sales ending? Duno whether wan to buy o not leh..not everytime I wear bikini leh..

I will send out all the info I had on hilton tonite...

Hey Nelc
U wan to tell us the date so that I can update the tables?
Date of leaving & return & which resorts....

zhuzhu - my bikini worn only once in Maldives le...now kept in cupboard and hubby doesnt want to take me out for suntanning - no time too sat burn working in ofc, sun too shack liao and must clean house - aiyohhh...
but looking at them brings such wonderful memories

go and buy one pair man

hi babes, i didn't ask sale until when... better go fast coz those 70% off ones usually not much size left, specially if you're "common size" haha i'm big size so still easy to find.. actually my tummy n waist fat lar but dun care, must wear bikini in maldives!!!
or else later old liao even worse, wanna wear also cannot

Hi zhuzhu,

I am leaving on 19th June and back on 26th June. At hilton beach villa.

haru, no problem, I will update you all when I get back.

Yo Mira,

Hahaha...... you very funny! Kekkekeke..... The way u discribe now wear and when old wear bikini.....
Anyway some Angmo there old wear bikini, okie leh, got fats and saggy lah that's all..... However when asian wear hor, esp in S'pore, some ppl might think otherwise. :P

Yo Zhuzhu,

Hv Relax inn got back to you yet? Mine haven.... kind of slow isn't it?

Yo Nelc,

Congrats! So you gonna stay in the Hilton BV for 7 nights isn't it? Kekek...... Enjoy! And yes, take more photos!

Got a silly dream on Maldives last night..now so tired...heeheee..

i dreamt that i didnt book any accomodation when i went Maldives...and when I reach there, just walk-in to the various resorts to see whether they're to my liking. If yes, then I go stay...hahahaha

hi Wu,
you are rite, the angmohs more daring lah. i had a few nude ladies (prob french!) swimming and tanning even around the hilton mauritius. relax inn also havent confirm with my reservation.

haha fanfan,
u beri cute leh....think u really cannot take ur mind of maldives now. actually coz my hectic work schedule, i havent realy had that much time to dream about our holiday. am just glad i've settled most of the bookings. so towards the end of June which is also my busy work schedule, can suddenly look forward for a nice break!

Wu,

I think Hilton ppl really think i ks... book so early. but u know hor.. the online reservations cannot choose beach villa options already. apparently like its sold out.

Zhuzhu... Candlelight dinner?!?!??! OMG!!! ITS NICE!!! But ex la... but..i thinking also.....but i dunno leh.... ex leh....... ex...ex..

Yo Mish,

Oh yes..... Just a few weeks back when I try to choose between Hilton or Mirihi, Hilton was selling fast and Mirihi almost gone too. Then after I book Mirihi, and check on HIlton, all beach villas are gone.....so up till July period(or now even up to August) would be full-house on at least one of Hilton's island, the beach villa ilsnad. :P

Every table shld hv a candle/or battery operated lamp.... so it's free! Kekekke....... Actually oredi very romantic when u eat at the Vilu restaurant or the Atoll market... both restaurant near to the sea, some tables at the Vilu rest are just right beside the beach/sea.... really nice.

haru,
Think i must be surfing too much on Maldives that daytime think, night time dream...hahahaa..

anw, hope i can go there real soon....been quite pissed with work these few days
kao_frustrated.gif

hi Wu,
so which are the restaurants that you'd normally patronise for lunch/dinner at hilton? i suppose some restaurants are more exotic thus expensive compared to the rest eh?

hey fanfan,
ya, when you are getting a lil too caught up in work, just vision yourself sipping ur pina colada at maldives chilling out and basking under the sun with clear blue waters...sure to put a smile on ur face.=> kekkeke...

i just had a devils chocolate cake for dessert for lunch,yum! i've got a complimentary pass to Planet Fitness for 3 months coz the gym i joined just a couple week ago (Go!Fitness) closed down suddenly. really sad...think i'll go for a quick workout on thurs or fri.=D

Yo Haru,

Err...... the breakfast seems be the same for both Vilu(On the water villa island) and Atoll(on the beach villa/spa villa island). However, Atoll seems to have more choice and more seats. Food wise pretty much the same.

Since all of u r bed&B, lunch n dinner eating ala-carte, can also eat at both vilu and Atoll. Normally lunch I eat at Atoll, those finger food. Then Dinner both Vilu and Atoll are good. I remember Vilu got 1 seafood Spagetti... very nice must try!
For Other restaurant, i.e. Koko Grill etc.. too ex so never tried. Can forget about the undersea one also. Menu never change, thus, they still don't know it's not worth the USD200 I paid....someone need to tell them. :P

hi Wu,
but we won't have a choice for bkfast if we are stayin at e beach villa rite? okie, closer to my holiday wil also get reviews from zhuzhu and nelc.hahaha, dun wory, i will write on their feedback form about their undersea restaurant when i'm there..kekekkek

wah...u guys toking abt your upcoming trip...must be excited right?

Wu
got your email...haven go read...will do so later...

Haru,
Just pissed cos was embroiled in some politics in my US HQ as my email was treated as an angry and emotional email. Gana shoot down even though someone else did something wrong and I correct for that person. That's life i think.

Forget about work! Concentrate on my trip planning to Maldives ..heheee

Yo Haru,

For BB, don't care where u stay, beach or water villa(except Mirihi lah.....Kekek), You can eat in Atoll or Vilu. However, for Vilu, you need to either walk there(around 1km away) or take a Dhoni.

Anyway, I oredi feedback to them on the undersea rest food.....still I see same menu(the one Zhuzhu sent out). I still see the curry flavour yogurt.... Phui....really funny tasting :P

Yo starstar,

Really excited! .....

Time really very slow b4 the trip, and flies when we're there..... really not fair hor... :P
LPH is coming back tomorrow... really fast isn't it?

Wu,

The underwater restaurant so ex....plus.. the way you describe the food.. eeeks..so we decided to go for the cocktail instead! 20usd per pax.... cut cost.

Yo Mish,

Yes.... go for a cheap cheap one, just enjoy the surrounding(in fact, not as good as S'pore under water world lah). singapore's one is artificail, and hilton's one is build on natural reef. Anyway the pressure down there is quite bad.. we can feel it and probably another reason why we really never enjoy the food.

Yes.. the food is....eeeks or rather not to our liking lah. Really cannot compare with local food.

Go for the USD20++ cocktail and tell us how was it, okie!