Maldives

Pat... hmm... I wish to use such tricks but now if I wanna to bring kids, sure cannot. Unless I tell them it's from my 1st marriage... Haaa.

Lucky u persianCat, it's a pretty good HM deal. Half day excursion is probably already worth USD100.

Hi mummyauni,

You shld have join in our discussion....
How long have you been silently reading our conversation?

Good for you, you'll never go wrong with visiting Maldives. The only cons is the last day, when going back home. :P

Indeed Hilton Irufushi is a good deal. Me myself is also looking at it, becos of it's very reasonable rates, especially the beach villa. Now it's having a promo on Agoda during low season(July 2011) It's only S$253 per nite, with half board for 2 couples! A very very good deal.!
The only downside is it needs seaplane transfer and the ex SQ flight there.

Nah... I'm not as lucky as the ladies here. I only frequent Maldives(Cos I like to relax... maybe plain lazy). Some ladies already travel the world.

3 times is not alot. I meet those Ang Mo in Maldives, some went for 10 over times and each lasting like 2-3weeks. I'm wondering where can they get all those money...

Do join us if you have any queries... most willing to help u out in your planning...but I believe you had already catch most of the tricks on planning a trip there... have you?

Wu

Persian : i'm planning to go on the 10 June for a 5 days 4 nights trip as well. Hoping to celebrate my hubby's birthday there.

Which room did u book? I was looking through Agoda and was comparing Irufushi with othere resorts and realised that their price very reasonable. Initially, thought of booking with Holiday tours but now seems like cheaper to book on my own.

Wu : I've been reading for few months. Then only recently decided to go..that's why i registered as member with the forum so can communicate with u ladies here. ;)

I will be going with hubby and daughter. So is water villa a no-no? I was thinking..is it possible if i book 4 nights beach villa and when i'm there upgrade to water villa for 2 nights if there is availability? Thanks in advance for ur reply!

yeah lucky got u all!

book by Agoda.com and hotel is Hilton Irufush right?!
gdgd.. how's the food there like?
any places to recommend for food and the transport there..?
thks!

Mummyauni: I book the Water Villa room. Yes i find that booked by myself is cheaper. Not sure if they will do any upgrade but if u going with daughter, not sure will it be safe for her unless she is not a toddle maybe still ok.

Pinky doll: i can only recommend things when i am back from my honeymoon in June.

Hi mummyauni,

Welcome welcome...
this will be the start of your adventure to Maldives!
Good time to go.... rates will be low season rates and Irufushi is really "affordable"... as in room rates. The killing part is still the transfer(SQ and seaplane) with will cost 3/4 of the total. I really find it ridiculous.... So my advise to ppl is to go for more days if possible.

Take for example if you go for 4 nites, after rebates and if you have a DBS/POSB credit card, it'll be another 5-7% discount(Agoda/DBS tie up, depends on which card). So effectively if you take a beach villa, after all the discount the room rates is only a total of about S$900. Your SQ flight will be from S$1.6K ~ 2K or more. Seaplane now Agoda charges about S$1250 for 2 adults(kids will be extra). So the room rates is only 20% of the total cost.

My reasoning might be weird though, please pardon me....

Going for longer days/nites does have another benefit... to spread the risk of being caught in rain. Some ppl there were caught in rain for days... really depressing when u want to have Sun and tan.

Most Resort do have restriction for water villa. Most of them do not allowed kids below 12years old in a water villa. Its best if you can write them directly for confirmation. How old is your daughter? eh... lucky her... so young and got a chance to visit Maldives!
She will love it too!

If you book 4 nites beach villa and upgrade there, they will normally charge you for both beach villas and water villa for the last 2 nites. However, free upgrade is not unheard off, but you'll need to take a chance.

Hi Pinky_doll,

Generally food in Maldives is very similar to Hotel food, i.e. Buffet, or ala carte. Nothing really special. Unless if you're looking at lobsters and seafood.

Maldives consist of thousand of small island, which are all very small and nearly at sea level. So technically there's no where to go if have already chosen to stay in an island resort. The only mode of transport is boat and seaplane.

Hope that you're not confusing Maldives with Mauritius, where alot of ppl do have such confusion... including me last time.

Wu

Ladies..

I have booked the flights and accomodation. It is so surreal...i can't believe this is actually happening!

Wu : I totally agree with u regarding the cost. The rooms are affordable but the sea plane is so darn expensive. But i told myself...since i am going there might as well go all out right. Seriously, how often do we get to travel on a sea plane? ;)

Persian : I just realised that i am going exactly one week after u...so u must update pics and share ur experience b4 i go ok

Mummyanui: Glad to hear that! so which resort are u staying? How much of the total u spend?

I am afraid by the time i am back before i am in time to upload pictures u are already flying off. I am sure i will take alot of pictures there. haha !

Persian : I will be staying at Hilton Irufushi. Total amount spent is $5300 includes flights for 2 adults and 1 infant.

2 nights @ beach villa (half board) + 2 nights @ horizon water villa (b&b)

The sea plane transfer for the 3 of us.

I booked flight on my own. As for the accomodation, i used Atoll Paradise (Maldives travel agent) because i wanted to book 2 different types of accomodation.

Oh.. u make me feel like going to change to having beach villa also.. but i saw some review saying got many rats or animals that i afraid i will be scared.

is the infant free for air ticket and resort?

Hi mummyauni!

Congrats on your upcoming trip!! You are very fast!

Yes indeed, just all out and enjoy the seaplane, the sun and the beautiful beach and sand!

Do share with us your photos when you are back.

Do you have a facebook? Can share those pics on FB as well. we do have a page on Maldives and some mummy here also share their pics on the Facebook.

envy..... you people!!!!

I Have some Hilton hhonors points.... that is enough for 2 nights stay in Maldives resort...
or should i exchange for 3 nights in Bangkok, or 2 nights in SINGAPORE!! sounds silly huh!

but i wish i have the time to go Maldives!!!!!

currently planning reno for new house, no budget liao!!!

oh ya, those who booked Hilton, remember to join the Hilton HHonors membership program, your spending in Maldives Hilton should earn you some points.
That is how i got mine!

I hope you guys have a safe and wonderful trip!

Pat,

How do i join the Hilton HHonors? Any membership fee? How to collect points?

Wu,

Yesyes, wats the fb add??

Hmm, Hilton Irufushi or conrad better for having HM? ;)

Persian : yup..i read the reviews on trip advisor. I was quite apprehensive to book the beach villa but hubby wanted to have a feel of both types of villa so had to give in.
I'm crossing my fingers and hoping to not encounter any unwanted 'guests'. hehehe

My girl still has to pay for flight but not much only 100+. As for the hotel stay, there's a promo 'child play, eat and stay for free' only for beach villa though. Unfortunately, sea plane still must pay but not the full amount.

Wu : I have been wanting to go since 2002 but kept on postponing. Everytime i decide to go...after a while i'll change my mind coz kept on thinking of how expensive it is and whether it is worth spending so much money to go there when i can actually use the same amount to go somewhere else for a longer period of time. But this year, i told myself, no matter what I must go. That's why i quickly book so won't have time to change my mind..hehe

Btw, what is the facebook address?

Pat : Use the points for Maldives! ;) How do we join the Hilton membership?

Mummyauni: haha yeah.. u make me feel like trying beach villa too now.. but my booking cant make changes .. so i got to stick to it.

Your girl flight had included in $5300? how about the seaplane? have it include into the price of $5300 too?

Persian : Nvmlah dear..u r going for ur hm so stick to water villa..more romantic..just u..hubby and the ocean.

Yup..price is inclusive of my girl's sea plane.

Go to the Hilton Hhonor website check it out.
Ur stay and expenditure in the hotel determines the reward points, the longer, the more u stay, the money u spend in Hilton earns u points.
For me I book direstly with hotel thru Internet, and I manage to book 2 room types too.
3 night in water villa 2 nights in delux beach villa in Conrad
last April, intotal I spend about $7k exclude airfare (airfare
from my Airmiles pts)
I earn about 80000 pts, staying in Bangkok Hilton cost 25000, in Singapore Conrad cost 40000
Those Ang mo I met in conrad Maldives, most of them use points for exchange, as much as 14 nights which is the maximum! Really enjoying life! Most of them are British, Hilton is commonly availble there!

My point expiring soon, they allow me to extend by buying 1000 pts which cost only 12.5USD, that's for another year to keep those pts!

And for my husband and I, we use Amex Kris***** and citibank primers miles card, every 1 dollar we spend, earns 1.2 pts, in average we earn 5k pts a month, 20500 fly u to Bangkok (return).
As we are in the process of renovating our new house, easier to earn points! This was recommended to me by my friend, I enjoying more rewards than the other cards which usually exchange for vouchers.

PATnDrew: thanks for the info.. i hardly stay in Hilton and this may also be the 1st n last time. LOL Nevertheless i will still apply.

I am using citi premiermiles card too for my wedding to earn the point and able to redeem for some stuff. its pretty useful. Another card i am using was the cash rebate by Mahattan but now they change from per quarter of $300 max to $200 so i will swipe the rest to this citi premiermiles.

Hi Ladies (PercianCat,Mummyauni,Joycelyn)...

Please add me in FB. my full name is wu shi xin. I'll add u all.
Anyway the group I created is called Maldives Goer Group.

PAT is already there...

If you ladies booked through agent and not direct with hotel, I believe there will not be any HHonors point given. But still ask just check with them though.
I booked rooms with an agent to W resort Maldives, and during final day billing, only expenditure spend during my stay there comes with points.

Hi Joycelyn,

I thot u MIA liao... Haa..
Anyway, I can only say Maldives is a perfect place for HM. Conrad or Irufushi are both great resort under the same management. I would choose Conrad if I have more budget but hey, Irufushi is getting there after Hilton took over. I would choose Irufushi if I wanna stay for more days with the same amount of budget.
If you wanna stay in beach villa, go for conrad(cost about S$200 more per nite during low season, but it's much more spacious than Irufushi ones). If you wanna stay in Water villa, choose Irufushi....(cheaper by half, as I find Conrad lowest end water villa probably not much bigger than Irufushi one...). However, dun be mistaken. Conrad is probably got a niche like uses better bedding, amenities etc...Theres a reason why they change name from Hilton to Conrad.
My friend went to both Conrad and Irufushi, he like conrad more as he complain lousy bed in Irufushi. Haaa.... However they might change the bed to a better one now...to suit Hilton's branding.

Hi Mummyauni,

Aiya.... better than nothing. Since you've already booked, don't look back... look forward to your trip!!

yeah... u missed the lowest and cheapest period, during the year of 2005. That's when rates of resort and SQ tix at all time low.
yup with the same amount of money, there's tons of places to go, more days, maybe can buy more things etc....
BTW, how much you pay for your kid on the seaplane tix? Is she a still a toddler?

Hi Pat,

I wasted my 40000 honors pt, expired but I never go n extend. That's 1 nite worth of Maldives.... Haaaizzz.
Do both u n hubby fly alot for work? Think The Kr**flyer card is very useful n worth it.

How can those Angmo have so much HHonors point? company expenditure? No wonder these ppl always got there for weeks, instead of days....Wa liao!!

Wu,

i am very good and hardworking at keep track on those membership points etc.... whahahaha.... full utilized them!
My Hubby used to travel a lot for work, but recently stop, as he changed job.
But my spending depends on company expenditure and now bcos of new house, 1 year with premierMiles, i earn 70000 including bonus pts, that enough for a return ticket to Europe.
My Hubby's Amex equally as much.
both of us enjoy traveling, maybe once or twice a year, so this works very well for us!
In fact all in all, we have enough for a return ticket for Business class to New York.....

I tell you those ang mo really know how to enjoy lor... i inspired from them, thus now whatever i spend i will check if i can earn a reward else even small amount i will pay by credit card!!! whahahaha

Anyone been to Seychelles?

Wu : I'm not sure of the breakdown in price. But i booked with Atoll paradise and the price they quoted me was USD2580 for the 4 nights accomodation, sea plane for all 3 of us and the 2 days half board. My girl will be 18 mths when she is travelling in June.

I have added u in FB.

PatnDrew : Thanks for the info dear!

Hi PAT,

Wah... business class to new york... best ah... dun have to squeeze in economy and sit until backside open. :P
Been to NY for work twice, all in economy class due to stupid company policy change(used to be more than 6hrs flight a business ticket).
Hate it, especially on those American airline with small seats....
U sure knows how to enjoy life....
good for you both! yeah.. we singaporean needs to learn how to enjoy life... sometimes we work too hard for too little money.
Yeah indeed.... those Angmo who went maldives hor, most of them would chop a chair by the pool and read books for weeks..... I really envy them.

I really dun know how to manage my points, not only credit card but starhub la, singtel la... etc. Never change anything b4.
I'm using Dividend Card(citibank)... it save my trouble, every quarterly I received 100 over dollars worth of cash..... it works for me.

Yo.... I just open to see this thread hor... u know what? my another PC monitor, I'm looking at Seychelles, Mahe island.... Hahahahaa... what a coincident.

Hi mummyauni, Perciancat,

addded you both..

Hi Mummyauni,

hmm... difficult to calculate then
nvm it's ok.. becos I'm checking on the price how much if I wanna to bring my son... who will be 19mths in June.
Your baby is a Dec baby eh?

My son loves swimming and the beach. I already started to bring him for swim from 3mths old.... really hope I can bring him to Maldives before he turns 2.... Infant fare is cheaper and no room charges... Hahaha..

Wu,
please group us in FB

oh ya was reading on Seychelles whahahaha.... but it is different from Maldives, the island are much much bigger. Sometimes i prefer going back to the same place.

airfare to Mahe cost more too, by Emirates about 1500 per pax
Kris points valid for 3 years, so slowly accumulate your points for a better trip!

Wu : hehe..paisan leh..my girl will be 19 months also..she's a Nov baby. Ur boy also Nov baby? Yes..that's exactly the reason why I'm bringing her now coz cheaper hehe..very cheapo..

Initially I wanted to book thru Agoda but her seaplane fare is not included and I didn't know whether should I just put her under child rates.. That's why i decided to go through Atoll paradise. Anyway..I think it is safe to calculate their seaplane fare as 50% off our fare

Hi Pat, How to group? kekeke.... already within the group liao.

Yes... while I reading on Seychelles... you are asking about it... faint.
Ya loh... I also always wanna to go back to Maldives. Other such places are too ex on transfer, i.e Seychelles, tahiti, Bora bora...
S$1500??? siaoz... I rather go Maldives... HAAA.

I will not be able to accumulate enough mileage to Maldives for sure. Unless now my job role changes.... so it'll be cash, or I use to buy from my friends.

Hi Mummyauni,

Same as my boy...
My boy also a nov baby. 6th Nov.

Oh yaaa.... cheaper off cos... I also wanna to bring my son somewhere by Air before he turns 2.... HAAAA.

Ah I see....yes Agoda never put child below 2yrs old. Think need to write them a mail to quote... or pay later.
Well you are all done!! now is just wait, dream, pack and just go!!

Hi Joycelyn,

I'm referring to Hilton's Irufushi bed. My friend who went(just after they change name to Hilton), say the bed is lousy..... unlike Conrad's bed, it's really comfy.

However things might change, just go take a look at Hilton Irufushi review to see if any improvement on the bed... can look are Agoda or tripadvisor review.

Small issue lah.... the most impt of all is the beauty of Maldives... you'll just simple forget about other nitty gritty things.

Wah... this thread so happening!!! Ha.. I decided to have the ostrich mentality and refrain from visiting any travel related forum or websites. Now come back here for a visit then got so overwhelmed with the flood of msgs. Well done wu! Ha...

For those considering irufushi.. I went there in dec. Didn't have any probs with their beds. Never been to conrad. So nothing to compare abt. I did give a lengthy review somewhere back in dec. Do visit the archive (i just came back then so the info in that post shld be more accurate).

I think in general i did well in my budget. Back then it was still SQ nite flight only. 1 night male, 4 nights irufushi, $8k all in. We did many spas, private destination dining, gourmet grill and i cannot remember wat else. Went for the horizon water villa which came with an outdoor jacuzzi. Chose irufushi coz it works better within my budget. Overall no complaints..

Wu> saw ur recent recommendation on FB. Super huge beach villa.. Was dreaming already.. then quickly login to my online banking then reality check.. Ha.. Back to earth...

Yo Christie, Welcome back. You are needed here becos at least a few couple of the foiks are going to Irufushi.
yeah... maybe my friend was probably just plan picky. I'm the one who recommended him both resort. He shoot there straight in consecutive 2 years. Ha.
Imagine a beach villa in Irufushi during upcoming low season cost only S$252 nett with half board... there's nothing to complained about. I'm actually wanted to plan a trip there during the last SQ promo.... but deep inside me I had to stop my temptation. It's really unbearable though...haizzz...

I find Agoda never lay down the rates properly, there are still additional tax. I wish they just put down nett amount. Anyway, they are still the cheapest currently.

Hey, u just came back hor... my last trip was 2009.... I've been dreaming ever since.
yeah.... good and nice Zitahli resort.

Maybe who are still deciding where to go, can try island HOPP between these 2 islands, Irufushi and Zitahli? It'll be like enjoying the best of both world. Actually it's not very near(about 20km apart) after I check on google map. It might take about 30mins speedboat ride.

Hi Christie,

I actually plan my maldives trip stay to be at hilton cos of your intro! haha

i was looking around for the resort and i came across your previous post which that is why i check it out on this resort. The only consideration was about the seaplane... but after reading, realise that its seem to be a must to have and its kind of like once in a life time.

I am counting down ;)

Oopz... Paiseh I'm missing in action. Will try to help out more.

Persian > glad that I helped in your choice. the seaplane is exp. But it's an experience. At least Hilton is super far. So u stay longer on the plane. Cheaper if u divide out the cost per min. :P

Wu> Hilton beach villa got mozzies leh. U sure ur boy wun kena? Though price is very good lah. If ever u really go Hilton beach villa then from day one put the repellant hor. I stupidly never use the free repellant. Always kena bitten even while eating breakfast... But water villa inside heng no mozzie.

I always frequent this thread as often as I can, to remind myself of my yet-to-plan trip to Maldives... And guess what? I did a research on the entire trip cost this morning, AGAIN!

I assumed the dates to travel are from 1st - 5th July (5d4n from Fri-Tue). SQ flight for 2 pax is S$1,831.40 which the flight timing is good, departs at 9.45am and arrived back in SG at 8.15pm.

Cost of King Water Villa (through Hilton's website) for 4 nights (dinner on 1st night) = US$2,038.90 (or S$2,576.65)! - Any idea if this room rate includes breakfast? Coz I wanna have a breakfast-included room for the stay...

So total cost of flight &amp; accommodation is about S$4,408.05 for a 5d4n King Water Villa at Hilton!! That's much cheaper than I last calculated for the March period! But then July is a low season so any idea whether the weather there will be sunny or rainy? >.<

I checked the price of King Water Villa at Agoda. It seems that the Agoda is offering a cheaper room rate. But any idea if this is inclusive of breakfast? Or if there's any other platform that can get cheaper room rate/flight?

Gosh, I intended to go after my BTO is here (estimated 3-4quarter 2011) but then seems like the temptation is very very huge! T_T
TOld my hubby of my research this morning and he said shall discuss further tonight... *bless me*

Christie, ah... ya... most beach villa I heard would have bugs and mozzies... but no choice leh. Most resort would not allow infant or under 12 yrs old.
But then again... the other resorts I went do not have Mozzies issue leh, never been bitten. It's only bugs thats all. Think they need to to do a better job in fogging.
It's not cheap flying to Hilton Irufushi... it's about S$1200. A bit ridiculous for a 40mins flight.

Ah_faith,
you are back. According to Agoda website, it does include breakfast.
Agoda quotes 4 nites at King Water villa at S$1854.36 nett(include all taxes).

Don't forget Agoda will credit you with rewards point of S$268, plus if u use DBS AMEX card, there'll be another 7% discount, that will be another S$104.72 off the room rates(Discount based on room rates except tax - S$374 per nite).

So effectively you'll be paying only S$1749.64 for room, with S$268 credit to your agoda account for the next trip.
Don't forget Seaplane is about S$1220.

So add on to your SQ, total expenditure will be S$4800. You'll still have to budget for your meals and other expenditure while u are there...
If u wanna to save some money and enjoy the beach villa as well, just do 2N beach n 2N water villa. THe beach villa cost only S$252++ per nite which comes with halfboard... quote from Agoda.

I think can wait awhile more, MAY 2011 there might be another round of SQ promo... hopefully.

I went there 3 times during July, 80% of the time is sunshine..
just that the sea is abit choppy.. this limit only to South Ari atoll. Hilton is in Noonu Atoll which is far north... hopefully no issue.

Good luck in your discussion with hubby......

Ah Faith,

you can also consider another resort in Noonu Atoll... It's call the Zitahli Resort and Spa. Their Aqua villa(Water villa) is twice as big as Hilton's one... and this resort has only 50 rooms compare to Hilton's 200+ rooms.

I've did a rough calculation, it'll cost only about S$250 more if you take Zitahli Resort over Hilton... both staying in water villa. The saving comes from cheaper seaplane rates, but slightly more ex on the room.

Maybe can consider...

Wu> if I do go again, think I'll go for a beach villa for different feel. But well... Not so soon. House coming up. Shld be next yr bah. By then will be close neughbours with u. Ha. Now trying to see if budget allows me to squeeze in a trip nearby. Seems hopeless...

Christie..... Hahah... sure u can... but trust me.. once you are on the land, you will miss the sea. However, if it's something like Conrad beach villa, then I'm most willing to stay in, due to the huge space.
Yes... neighbour.

Eh by the rate your block is building hor.... seems like this year can finish right?

Anyway, I forget about budgeting for a trip liao..... I've already booked 3 nites stay in....... SENTOSA next week. Haaa.. super cheap. only cost me S$540 bucks for 3 nites.

Just wanna to relax my mind nearby, and maybe plan a further trip to some resort when time comes.
I'm monitoring Maldives rates and SQ rates too...

Wu> Thanks for the advice! Not sure if my hubby is interested in the Beach Villa coz previously, he only eyed the Water Villa. Hm... I shall check out Zitahli Resort tonight. I also found out that the seaplane cost $1,200+ for 2 pax and I find that REALLY exp!!! T_T Perhaps if my Hubby is agreeable to consider Zitahli, then will recalculate the cost again.. = XD

Faith> zitahli if only just 250 more than Hilton for water villa think can consider wor... No harm researching.

Wu> I think I may end up holidaying in Singapore also loh. Ha... But 3 nights Sentosa for $540 is worth it leh. Good deal! hmm... Can get my house by this yr meh? Still got a couple of floors to go wor. Painting, wiring all not done also. Hmm.. Thinking prob mar-jun next yr. Looks like I got to be more active in tightening my belt...

I think I would like a huge beach villa with private pool. Ha... Then can just nua in my room, go spa. Think will just eat maggi mee.

Oh oh!!! Forget to inform those gg to irufushi. I manage to get FOC extra drinking water in my room leh. Last 2 days I fell sick. Not enough water (I brought 5 1.5L there still not enough coz I forever drink non stop). Room service gave me free 4 huge bottles. Confused as to whether they have unlimited drinking water in room free. Hb say maybe my room attendant happy with our tips. Ha. Gave us more water. :P

Hi Ah_Faith,

Beach villa got it's strong point also.... access to the beach easily. But must remember, stay in beach than follow by water villa....

Hilton beach villa at that price with half board is unheard of.... can also consider stay for another 2 nites perhaps.

Yes indeed. I believe it's also due to the fact that seaplane flight to Hilton is operated by TransMaldivian air, whereas to Zitahli is by Maldivian airtaxi. 2 separate company. But Zitahli seems to be further away but cheaper... weird.

Hi Christie,

hahaha... it does save me alot of money doing Holiday in Singapore. HAve to try hard to imagine I'm in Maldives loh. :P
Hmm... don't know. If I remember correctly hor, I got my house earlier....yours look like end of the yr can get. Finger cross for u lah...later than u can save more and keep money in bank for longer time. :P

Actually not all rates from Agoda is the cheapest. Have to get more quotes. Example, I manage to get quotes cheaper for Angsana Ihuru per nite basis, and for Zitahli if u plan to stay more more nites(9nites). Banyan Tree Vabbinafaru seems cheaper in www.mal-dives.com as well.
But Hilton for sure, Agoda wins hands down.

Hi ah faith, i had booked mine water villa from Agoda.. when i see the price and the ending payment is differ. i think there are some taxes included.

End up, i paid for $4800 for total with the air ticket.My air ticket was $1790 for 2 person and recently they had adjusted the pricing due to petrol surcharge is up. And i guess for the seaplane too as i saw it in their website that they will make an adjustment.

I suppose to go in July to celebrate my hubby birthday but when we see the differ in pricing which the price for July is more than June. That is why i change it to June

Anyway the waiting time is lesser.. hehe

hi all, have been silently following this thread for some time. finally succumbed to temptation and confirmed the trip for my wedding anniversary. almost half a year to go but i can hear the sun and the sea calling. can't wait!

Hi Joyccelyn,

Hahah... actually no reason lah. My weird reasoning is Water villa is usually more expensive room as compare to its beach ones, and more unique. Thus, should leave it to the last few days... as a finale.

Wah..it's so fun to see so many veterans here. I m a newbie who loves reading all the posts here.

Joycelyn : I think it is because water villa is supposedly more grand rite so must start with not so grand for 1st 2 nights (beach villa) then upgrade to the 'grander'room for the next 2 nights. Heheh..at least that was what went thru my mind when i made the reservations at Hilton Irufushi.

Monitoring SQ pricing can be tiring.... like SGX index!!
I'm going BKK over Good Friday weekend, hubby dont wanna confirm early, monitoring for few days, and it increase each day, different flight time different price..... finally bought it NOW!!!
so you guys monitor but better buy early.... SQ very ex!

i tell you.... i went Bali during last CNY... so different lah, didnt swim in the beach, my villa cost USD220 got a dirty pool, small boutique villa nothing special, cannot compare to Maldives!
wanna go Maldives, but SQ redemption tickets fully redeemed! Don't think will go Bali again....
after you been to Maldives, no other beach destination can replace!

Back to Maldives, Last April i Paid 2 pax USD840 for the seaplane to Conrad. for an experience very worth lah!
Actually anyone try those resort accessible by speed boat? can save cost for another 3 nights stay!
i heard some resort flooded with lots of Chinese tourist, very pack.

Wu, which sentosa resort did u book? i been to The sentosa (Beaufort) nice! very quite and peaceful. i wonder who would pay to stay in Capella.... very ex huh

WOW so many people waiting for new home!! me too!! coming in 2 months time!!!!

Hi Mintz, Congrats on your booking..
Care to share which resort you are visiting?

Hi Mummyauni..... all newbies ultimately becomes vererans. You r already one, becos u just go straight and book! Haaaa.

Yeah.. more grand is the word to describe a water villa. Feels more "peaceful" in a water villa, maybe more negative ions generated by the sea, seabreeze?

Yo Pat!... ya lah... stupid SQ. Worse than budget airline. So difficult to get a right price.
which Bali resort u went? must be careful... cos picture might look nice but once u are there....errrkkks..
I think there are good resort in Bali lah, but really not sure whether to take the plunge or not. some nice one cost even more than Maldives... like Banyan tree and Bulgari resort. As you also say, nothing beats Maldives on it's beauty.. drool...

U see.... I think we connect somewhere dunno how or dream too much about Maldives liao.
I'm also considering Banyan tree Vabbinafaru or Angsana Ihuru. Just need speedboat ride... really ridiculous the price of seaplane. it cost USD540 during my 2005 trip.
Four season got special package... stay in it's 2 resorts in Maldives, 3 nites each and get free airplane transfer.
Tempting but ex... USD5800. faint....

Yes indeed. Those mass market one shld have alot of chinese tourist. I was in a fully seated plane from Shanghai back Singapore, and almost half of these ppl are going to Maldives(transit lounge just beside). I think there are going to places like Sheraton, Paradise island, Regent and Bandos etc..

I booked the siloso beach resort..good location for food(opposite wave house).. the cheapest resort in Sentosa. Rooms are very small but hor, it got very nice swimming pool and surrounding. I love swimming there, my son love swimming there too.

So when is your next trip beside Bangkok? Still monitoring?

Wu,

Planning Melbourne in December with 3 of my girl friends, intend to drive tour Victoria

BKK for visiting friends and buy some stuffs for new home.

Maldives for..... day dreaming!!! whahaha....

hi wu, i'm booked for lily beach in south ari atoll. almost went the conrad way after reading so many good reviews here.. until the resort came back informing about a planned renovation involving half the rangali island from may to oct. although they promised minimal disruption but guess i am not willing to risk the slightest possibility of having machineries interrupting my long awaited pictorial scenery. bummer.

btw, anyone has any suggestion on how to kill time while waiting for the night SQ flight departure? is it worth booking a day use room or should i take up a male city tour - anything interesting there? tks!