Maldives

patndrew

Christie, My and I tot that car is just a tool to bring u from pt A to pt B, I drives for work he don't, just a car he don't bother much, Aa long as I maintain it clean, can Liao. He rather Paul Smith, Dior shoe or lots of tailor made shirt pants and suit! But also nice lah, can shop together.

U plan Bali lah, not as bad, within 1k? Uma sapna, the villa size is reasonable for that price lah. Ours was largest room, maybe pool too big so dirty, but before departure, they put us in another room, the pool was much better

mintz0309

wu > literally finding nemo. hahah..

christie > i'm planning to extend the trip at the rockies too. the cruise is booked but i have so many options and questions on the rockies portion it's making me confused. if you don't mind could you share with me your rockies experience - which place is worth an extra day etc? tried PMing you but you don't accept PM, perhaps you could PM me your email if it's ok? don't want to OT too much about alaska on this tread. thanks so much!! =)

ryo

Pat> no problem... anytime...

Yeah, don't like the Sydney city centre.. alot of ppl. DArling harbor still not too bad though... and the famous chinese restaurant, Golden Century, if still got chance to go... go n have their plain porridge and duck. Superb. MY wife's collegue(rich folks) would fly there for a the meal, shop around and then fly back. faint.
Yeah Sydney outskirt is much nicer....
Errr.... did ur hubby serve NS? how he survive pulau tekong and out field exercise? all sorts of sound there loh.... haaa.

Christie> Bulgari is a killer... Banyan more affordable, and Uma sapna more value.
Aiya, now the radiation spread to every places liao...heard it's in Malaysia n Indonesia also.
Seoul is good for shopping but makan, I find Japan much better...
It's not the nulear plant fault la... it's the design flaw.. the design only can withstand a Mag7 quake, but now is a 9.1. Then no backup power somemore... thus the disaster.
Kids are expensive but will bring alot of joy to the house and everyone around us.... it's a must....kekeke ...

Wha liao what car ur hubby driving? sports car ha? normal car ask him dun waste money(I've already pass that stage), really waste money one. might as well go for tour or spend on the house or baby. :p just do proper maintenance and like PAT, make sure car clean can liao...unless alot of money to spent.. by all means..kekeke..:p

Mintz> no issue la, just discuss your rockies here, I'm interest to know also. kekeke.... else link us up at FB? we're all in FB now.... can join our Maldives Goer group as well!

persianahcat

month end i was busy.. by reading u guys post is fun. And there are breakdown for having baby. Interesting!

i went to Gmarket to buy this waterproof bag that can bring my camera under the water. Its indicated up to 10m. not usre if ts really true anot.. but i guess of all my trip i had been. This one since to be the most look forward to. Thinking of getting this n that for the trip. haha before i go , i am spending money already.

mintz0309

wu > great! i'll join the facebook group later tonight. it's blocked on my office computer so cant access now. and since u don’t mind me interrupting with my rockies talk here, i bu ke qi already. hehe..

talking about radiation, it's indeed getting higher but nothing to be alarmed about at this moment. i'm in hk and today the local paper is reporting a 8x increase in radiation yesterday from the day before. still, breathing that in for 500 years is only equivalent to the radiation amount you are exposed to in 1 x-ray session - so don't worry as long as you don’t go anywhere near the plant.

christie > wanna ask if you did take the rocky mountaineer or via rail? if so do you think it’s worth the money? and is there any significant difference in the scenery vancouver - jasper and vancouver - banff? would love to do a round trip vancouver – jasper – banff – vancouver but doubt i have sufficient time. might have to give up one leg and fly back from calgary instead.

mooncloud

Pat> my mentality abt the car is similar. It just gets me from pt A to B. We each have one car, mine is super low maintenance. As long it looks clean both interior and exterior I will ignore. Anyway, hb paid for grooming for our cars. 6 mths once so the cars wun be too jialat. Tell him finish up the package no more. Waste money. :S Though I admit good service. But he can wear one t shirt for like I dunno how long. Ha... Same like me. :p We hardly shop so this part different from u liao.

Wu> Driving normal car lah! He wanted to change to a sports one. At first tell him after wedding, then COE shoot up like crazy. Plans shelved. So now he trying to entertain himself with his car loh. Bo bian. My interest in holidays, his in cars. Ha... In fact, when we choosing anniversary present, I told him nothing for his car and he say no holidays. Wahaha...

I also think uma sapna more value. But like no availability during may. Clicking on my iPhone dun show leh. From mid may to end may dun show anything. Sian... But air flights are exp. So still thinking. I shortlisted Bali, hongkong and Seoul. No idea if it will materialise.

Mintz> in order to tempt pple to go Rockies, I shall reply u here! Ha.. Trying to be evil. Which cruiseline u booked on? Planning to self drive Rockies or gg on guided land tour? Places I went and found it nice: Columbia icefield, banff, lake Louise, bow lake. Actually a lot depends on the weather. I had rainy weather more than half the time. Spoilt some scenery. I strongly advise banff for a stay. It's quite far in so u might have to stay somewhere in between if u doing self drive. If not distance too long. We didn't catch lake morraine. Do go for the snoach ride in British Columbia but before u do that check if conditions allow u to get down and walk. If they say too slippery then forget it. Banff is very quaint and nice. Switzerland style. I liked kelowna which is sort of a desert area coz of the bright sunshine at the beautiful winery. But I was deprived of the sun to begin with. So not a must if no time. But they have nice icewine there if u are interested. Places I stayed on the way into the national parks which are quite deep in: valemount, banff, salmon arm. U may like to add in one more night somewhere so it's not too tiring. I found it too rushing. Valemount is just a on the way motel so totally uneventful. Salmon arm has a gorgeous park behind their hotel.

Are u on wu's fb acct? I can add u then u can view the photos? Let me know your profile name? Where are ur ports of call in Alaska??

To the rest> sorry for changing topic to Bali and Alaska. We are still ard for Maldives! Feel free to still chat back on Maldives!!! Ha...

mooncloud

Mintz> just saw ur reply. I love banff leh. Both has the national park. Hmm... Tough choice. Go for mountaineer if budget allows. I think less torturous compared to bus. But $$$ more lah. I have more memories on banff. So gg on that note. If there is only one choice, I choose banff. But if can then all! Ha. Rather than pay for flight from Calgary, I rather pay to sightsee. :p But will the mountaineer pass by lake louise? Shld go to at least one lake. They are beautiful during good weather. Emerald blue (yes, blue not green coz it's a mixture of colours!) waters with snowy mountains in the backdrop and super blue sky. Wah... I miss the scenery. Ha...

Sigh... I miss everywhere. Maldives too... Powdery beach, crystal clear waters... Got to entertain myself with singapore's wonderful skyscapers instead I guess.

patndrew

Maldives is good!!

PersianCat, agree with you spend lots of money even before going, like buying clothes earings etc whahaha

Christie, so you took a cruise to Alaska, stop there for tour? On your own? how many days? then take a cruise back or fly back?
how many days in the cruise?

i think we should meet up for tea and coffee chit chat about travel

mooncloud

Persian> I bought beach dresses before I went loh. Ha. Must be Mei Mei mah... :p

Pat> I flew into Seattle, went into Canada. Toured Vancouver and Rockies, back to Seattle. Tour a bit of Seattle. Took the cruise from Seattle port to Alaska. Stopped at 3 ports at Alaska for one day each. Get to go ard or do activities like whale watching or dog sledding. Docked for couple of hrs at Victoria, Canada as well. Then back to Seattle for one full day outlet shopping. Fly in and out via Seattle. Total 16D13N coz tour package so a bit rushing. Think a few days more would be more relaxing.

patndrew

so its a tour package..... if self plan got lots of work to do huh...
long flight to Seattle huh....

i just booked a room with Agoda, 1st time using that, usually i use www.wotif.com
whats the dollar for? use to rebate for next booking? but last you 30days only.... a bit bo liao right?
then i realise abit regret booking with them, cos wotif offer better, was in a rush.....

ryo

Hello Chrisie, Wah liao two cars somemore... eh 1 car can bring u to Maldives twice yearly...Haaa... Please don't jam up our Senja link hor, every morning very jam. After your house ready, plus another 2 more BTOs near there, I think I'll take bus liao.Hahaha... kidding. :p

Mintz> aiya... this forum dun belongs to me.. we can talk from baby ~ Maldives ~ Rockies...kekeke... good to know more things from all the folks here.
Hopefully moderator dun close our thread. Ha.

PercianCaT> not only ladies would buy a dress before going Maldives hor, I also buy some white pants, nice shirt, and slippers, just like those AngMo....Hahaha.. act hiao. but it does feels good that way especially during the candlelight dinner or private dinning.

Pat> Can the only guy here join u ladies for the chit chat coffee sessions? kekekek.... actually this is the second group of forum folks I hang around with. My older gang of ladies all got kids/baby liao and seldom comes here talk anymore... only in FB. kekekke....

persianahcat

oh.. so i am not the only one who spend on all these .. haha

Anyone have idea where to get nice beach dress?
i wish to get too for my Maldives.. i also bought tripod for both camera those can put and hang at anywhere. Bringing DSLR and normal camera.

i wonder how much is the private dinning.. i was thinking of trying too..

mintz0309

hehe.. didn’t wait till I knock off. logged onto facebook on iphone over lunch to join the fb group =)

christie > would love to see your photos! on wu’s maldives goer group now, profile name lim li yin, if you could add me pls? thanks! i’m booked on hal – know it generally attracts an older crowd but I prefer a roundtrip vancouver cruise and only hal offers one with 2 glacier cruising (going to glacier bay and tracy arm). port stops will be at juneau, ketchikan and skagway. think should be taking a guided tour through rockies, maybe a few brewster day trips pieced into one? which month did u visit alaska/rockies? price for the mountaineer is really crazy lor, cost as much as the cruise itself for a 2 day trip. might have to consider via as an alternative but then again, only mountaineer runs the vancouver – banff route, hmm.. and yes, it will go pass lake louise. another thing, would you recommend the rockies tour before or after the cruise, or is it not much of a difference? also, is the outlet shopping at seattle good? toying the idea of doing a day trip over for the shopping. siao already, only got limited time and i still keep wanting to add more things into the itinerary. haha..

mintz0309

persiancat > maybe you can check out www.asos.com. sometimes they have nice maxi dresses. and you just reminded me.. i need a new camera to do justice to maldives. the old one a bit of a goner.

ryo

PercianCat> Everyone wants to look nice in Maldives.

I only know my wife bought beach dresses from Victoria Secret. Perhaps the ladies here know more places.

Just email Hilton for all the price list i.e Spa, food menu, excursion, dining.... Private dining should be in the range of about USD200++ per pax... I did a private yatch BBQ dining in Mirihi resort for only About USD400++ for 4 person...
Must try out at least once, since u're already in Maldives.. why not.

Mintz> I saw you're in Multiply also.... using the same nick. ARe you the one?

U are based on HK or just go there for work?

mintz0309

wu > yeah that's me as well. havent logged on to multiply for a long long time though. i'm living in hk now - hubby got relocated here so no choice but to follow.

patndrew

PersianCat> try Tangs Island shop
i think set aside 500USD for the dinner

Wu> of cos u r welcome for tea and coffee!

so when shall we meet? lots to talk about leh, now got Alaska somemore.... i dont mind learning new things for travel, prepare myself next time mah

joycelyn2011

Wa...Here super happening... haha

I also wanna meet can? I think I will be th youngest and the most inexperience who needs lotsa advise...!

mooncloud

No problemo at all! I am free for coffee as well. Of coz wu must come as well... ;)

Persian> I go tangs island shop too! Ha.., same taste as pat. I did private dining. If prices remain the same as dec, never remember wrongly shld be USD 180 if u opt for the meat menu, and USD 200 for seafood. Plus 10% tax. No wine included. We opted for one meat, one seafood then they recommended a rose white to complement our mixture. Nice wine. Worth it but may be windy by the beach. Bring a shawl. Book in advance k? Only 2 couples per nite.

Wu> both of us occasionally need to run abt for our work. So that's our excuse for holding on to 2 cars. Although recently I do consider giving up one and taking back cash while 2nd car prices are high. But always feel xin tong to give up my car. Ha... And yes... Our house there sure jam. Jialat hor... So many flats. Wonder if they will open an entrance/exit from my flat directly to the main road. Less congestion. Ha... I'm dreaming.

Pat> which area u living at? Then we can see where convenient to kopi. Think my hb will ban me from going. Later I come back tell him I want to go holiday again. Ha...

Mintz> later I add u k? Now at work a bit difficult. And yes, the mountaineer is very exp but heard it's very good. For cheaper alternative I think brewster is very established there. Can see if they do guided bus trips for like 4/5 days?

The outlet is good esp if u love US brands. Super cheap. There's coach, Kate spade, guess, Oakley, Nike, polo, levis, Tommy hilfiger, dkny and the list goes on and on. Literally shop till u drop. But not sure if u got the time to go out to Seattle. Can consider? I did all my shopping there. Ha.

U all adventurous? Go for helicopter ride and dog sledding in Alaska! I did mine in Skagway. Most wonderful experience but real expensive. But if u like dogs... I think u would love it.

patndrew

Christie, i live in Toa Payoh, new house in Bishan, ready sometime later this quarter.

Anyone can give advice on Melbourne & Victoria? i planning a trip this DEC, if so, i will bring along my books, you guys can point advice.

Actually i have plans to travel with my friends, 4 of us, all girls, 2 weeks in DEC, one of them teacher, so only peak period. looking at Melbourne, but are there better alternative? Dec the northern part can be quite cold, some dont want cold places.....

any suggestion?

mintz0309

christie > no hurry, when u have time. =) oh i love dogs! watched eight below like 3 times and it's from then that alaska became my must-go place. i read that helicopter and dog sledding is also available at juneau, wonder any difference from the one at skagway?

will kiv the seattle outlet shopping for now. doesnt seem like i will have enough time off from my current job and will definitely choose to cover more places in rockies over shopping. but again, the trip is only next year so who knows i might have left this job (or even returned back to singapore) by then. hahah.

mooncloud

Sorry been real busy. Just had time to reply.

Pat> these few weeks suddenly overflowing with work. Not sure if I can meet up but in general Sunday morning sounds fine with me. Maybe can see if wu wants to join. He can bring his boy along. Ha... Cute little boy. Think wu is now in Sentosa. Never reply. Never been to Melbourne or Victoria but can always hear abt the place and give suggestions if u need them.

Mintz> I have prob finding u on fb. Think my fb got prob. U add me instead? Crystel sim. Paiseh ah. Took so long.

The only difference is the glacier I think. Juneau one has it on mendenhall glacier which I think is more famous and maybe larger. The one I went in Skagway is on Denver glacier high up on the mountains like 2000ft up so got to go by helicopter. Both fly u onto the glacier by heli I think. Juneau's one is just slightly more exp I guess. I did dog sledding at Skagway so that I can do whale watching at Juneau. Coz apparently Juneau is the place for whales. End up didn't go coz I was sick of being on the sea. Went for city town of Juneau instead. U can play ard with the available excursions and see which one fits the best. We have similar ports of call. Ha...

If no time then skip seattle outlet then. Ur aim shld be to see more of Rockies and not do more shopping I guess. If u can shop, then it will be a bonus! ;) Hope I helped.

patndrew

Hi all!!
so quite lately?

I have intention to travel to Maldives during CNY 2012.....
checked Conrad, Hilton all no rooms available!
any cheap and good other suggestions?
i intend to go 7 nights

mooncloud

I believe not out for booking yet. Last yr I had that prob too. Got to try out later. Not sure when though. Alternatively email them to check on availability?

ryo

PAT, joycelyn and all..

I'm back from.... Sentosa... sianx(how I wish I can say back from Maldives....:p) Then again... if back from Maldives also Sianx. HA

I reckon Christie's answer also. There are times where there's no rates, probably not "open" yet.

Just got another lobang for you all... check out the new resort name The Regent, Maldives(opening in June 2011). Based on the low season rates(July 2011)... it's comparably cheaper than Conrad, but got bigger villas than Conrad. The villa style is somewhat like four season's Maldives. All rooms comes with plunge pool. The beach pavilion starts at a whopping 265sqm.

Only 50 rooms... standalone villa across a 1km by 200m island. rather hugh island with so little rooms.

Worth considering?
Have fun folks!

joycelyn2011

Hmm...... SOSOSOSO many to consider...

Erm Wu, if book for next year, which month is consedered the start of low season? April?

If i wanna book for next year, when is the best time to book?

Btw, which resort had the free unlimited Magnum ice cream dat u ate over 20?? haha!

Also which resort do u reccomend? I think i will do as you saod. Beach villa first dan water villa...

ryo

Yo Joycelyn,

Yaaa.. so many resorts to consider....

Start of low season is from mid May to Mid July for most resort. So far I find july the best time to go(own experience lah)..limit to south Ari atoll only.
You can do extensive research on tripadvisor on those ppls comment regards to resort/location/weather.
Weather really depends on location and different mth as well.

I normally last min booked one, about May... cos July less crowd(booking is slower).

W-retreat & Spa provide free soft drinks(various), ice cream(various) etc in a small fridge located all around the island. Quite shiok when walk by just grab. Seriously... 1 day I can eat as much as 4-5 magnum, a couple of coke etc.... (330ml coke cost as much as USD8-10 in some resort).

Hmmm... really have to depends on your budget, preference, what u wanna to do there etc... then I can based on my limited knowledge to "recommend" a resort.

for example, if you want a big water villa with pool, nice and comfy bed, free ice cream, superb house reef, and got at least USD1K per nite(getting more ex) to spare, W retreat will be a good choice.

Also do water out for new resort such as The Regent, and Zitahli dholhiyadhoo. They have obscenely huge villas.

http://www.zitahlidholhiyadhoo.com/

http://www.regenthotels.com/thaa-atoll-hotel-mv/mdvmald

Another point to take note, where alot of ppl actually miss out is the villas location. Try to find out more from tripadvisor and request a villa/room that is far away from the seaplane docking area. The noise and the fuel smell can be really irritating.

patndrew

From my experience Conrad off peak is from 16apr, significant price diff compare to 15apr.
Just click and click the website try out.

lovelydove

Hey Wu,

You managed to get a quote from Regent maldives? Is your pricing full board or just with breakfast? Full board is good.... keke.. Cos Maldives restaurants usually so super ex.. full board will limit the damage.

ryo

Hi Shan,

I'm not able to get a quote from Regent website, claiming it's a oncoming resort. I got quote from another maldivian agent, that I'd use for my past 2 trips.

It's only BB, but inclusive of all taxes and seaplane flight for 2.
Children stays for free as well... The rates also inclusive of 2 nites free.
And if i read their T/C correctly, it includes a USD150 meals voucher and a free lunch for 2 children as well, plus early check in and late check out(subject to availability)
That's not all... if you are a HMooner....more freebies.

Reason for all this freebies... I think it's becos of the soft launch for a new resort.

I've stayed in Hilton(now Conrad Maldives) during their soft launch, some reno are still going on, and room smells new, but it's doesn't affect much.

Ya... food is ex. I'm a small eater, thus always chooses BB instead. Skip my lunch and only have dinner.

Are you planning to go also?

lovelydove

Wu, if within my budget I would love to go.. Cos I have been to Maldives Sheraton and I have been dreaming to go back ever since.

Do you mind sharing which agent you using? Can PM me.. Thanks!!

ryo

Hi Shan,

Ah I see... Sheraton, the former fullmoon resort.
How was your experience there? Is it very crowded, mass market resort as describe?

no issue.. I can share with you here. It's call Impex, website is www.mal-dives.com.
Do check out agoda.com as well. Both agent have pretty good rates... Impex have better rates in some resorts while Agoda in others.
Do bear in mind that Impex is nett rates while Agodo rates do not includes taxes yet.

mooncloud

Folks... SQ promo to Male... 2 to go. $658 per pax I think...

Wu> the regent Maldives sound super tempting. But sigh... Wrong timing. I cannot go. Argh...

lovelydove

Hey Wu, Sheraton is nice for a first timer to Maldives I tink. I took their fullboard package so it's quite good. The drawback is that is quite mass market and crowded. And so happens that during my stay there are quite a lot of china tourists as well so it's pretty noisy at a lot of area. (sorry if it sounds a bit rude but some of them can really get noisy esp in big gps)

But being my first trip to Maldives I was mesmerize by the ocean and all so I still love it. Hahaha...

ryo

Yo Christie,

Ya loh.. saw that yesterday liao... actually is till 30th May... today becomes latest outbound is 20th May. Wrong timing for me also...
I will "lun" till May see how.

Yo Shan,

yeah... absolutely right. 1st timer is ok. I use to go to alot of Malaysia resorts, been to almost half of the resorts at the eastern part of West malaysia, Tioman, Redang, Pulau Aur, Pulau permangiln, Rawa etc.. I can even stay in a "resort" that uses super freezing mountain water for bathing, and got shrimps stuck in my hair after bath. "fought" over lunch with many others, queue 100m just for the buffet lunch, rowdy crowds etc...

After my 1st trip to Maldives, Conrad(though very cheap rates right after Tsunami 2004), my bar has raise to point of no return. Sad but truth, I cannot stand crowd, rowdiness and fullboard buffet meals etc... All I want now is quiet and ala carte meals, take it easy and relax... The cons, need to spent awful amount of money. I'm not rich, but wouldn't mind spending on such resort.
Actually not only luxury resort in Maldives can match that kind of feeling. I do go to Sentosa Siloso beach resort to have a moment to peace at a affordable price, and to a quiet no frills Mirihi Maldives(4 stars but affordable)....

Errrr..... maybe I'm getting old ba. Haaaaa..

It's not rude la, but its the chinese culture loh, and I believe they are super excited going to Maldives as well. Even expensive luxury resort in Maldives, there're "mass" market chinese tourist as well... as alot of them are getting really rich and with spending power that we cannot match. I remember getting on a SQ flight from Shanghai, and almost the entire plane is full of Chinese tourist heading for transfer, to Maldives. Irony is I'm back from Shanghai for work and they are going enjoy themselves in Maldives. Siax!!

You are getting there, becoming a Maldives lovers liao. It's difficult not to be hook by the beauty of Maldives.

You have a facebook? I did setup a group in FB regards to Maldives news and offer, and will occasionally updates info there, just for the fun of it, to remind me to save up for a trip to Maldives.

Haaa.

joycelyn2011

Wu Wu Wu,

I may not be able to go Maldive cuz of budget.Argh.... boo hoo....

I'll be goin on my HM the very next day after my wedding which will be in Jan 2012.
Jan = Peak Season = Ex...

Unless can get a very good deal..... S-A-D!!!

patndrew

Joycelyn,

what is your budget?

try google six senses resort, maybe you can find something you like?

you mean you will leave for holiday the very next day after your wedding?
won't you feel tired after the dinner?
and you have not decide on where to go?

joycelyn2011

Hmm,

Have yet to discuss with HTB the budget.

Yeah... leaving the very next day.. Go HM to relax lor... Actually Maldive!!! but the budget during jan is like.... SUPER EX...

Some places with nothing muxh to do but relax.. like..... Maldive..

patndrew

Joycelyn,

Dont think theres any membership fee.... actually i have no chance to try any six senses resort... but i like what i see from the internet