M Hotel Singapore

btw.. the standard open house package has food tasting for 10 person. but must book min of 20 tables for weekdays, 25 tables for weekends.

I'm a new joiner! I actually started a new treat on M Hotel and then realised there is one here already! haha..

seems like there is alot of commotion, changes on the wedding coordinators...

anyway, i went for the open house today..it was good! the banquet hall is really nice..i like the set-up. though there are 2 pillars..but luckily they at at the end of the halls...if not packed to the max(32 tables), i think shld be fine..

the food is not bad too...esp the ee-fu noodles, phoenix prawn rolls(my bf and I ate 5 in all! yum yum) and almond sea cucumber desert..

i find the roasted chicken abit tough though..maybe is cold tats why..

we wanted dinner but all the dates that we want are booked! so now considering lunch instead..

anyone has negotiated for free usuage of the projector? cos most hotels act provide tat for free...hmm..

HI all, ya i went down to the open house, thanks for the tips that there was one. they had special promotional price if signed up on the spot, so i did, cos price seemed too attractive for a weekend, but had to be in Jul 08. I prefered the level 2 function room lightings and long march-in, lower ceiling but more cosy. Bridal suite was very nice too with jacuzzi and super large LCD. But not much freebies to bargain lor, since special price. Those who need more info/photos can email me at [email protected]

Hi JJ

i also signed up during the open house!

Why did you say that must be in Jul 08?? I signed up for the Dec 08 weekend.. min 25 tables we booked.. what did you get for free?

oh, Jul and Aug 08 had more discount than Sep - Dec 08.Initially had wanted Sep or Jul, but for the better price discount, i chose Jul in the end. i didn't get anything free other than projector lor, what abt u? which ballroom did u get? i chose the 2nd floor function room, low ceiling but cosy, and of cos cheaper!

shoppingbreez>> You better call M Hotel on your finalization meeting cuz my AD is 8 Dec & I have already done mine (that's cuz I kept pestering Zul that time due to my HB's travel schedule).

Psy>> I also didn't know Zul has resigned cuz I was still corresponding with him till the last few days.

Anyhow, I'm glad Simon is taking over cuz he seems more reliable. And in any case, the Dir. of Sales replied my email & assure me that my wedding will be attended to well. *keep my fingers cross*

hi JJ

mind to email me the photos?

thanks alot

i had my wedding dinner at M hotel last sat... was affected by zul's departure from the hotel since 4 days b4 my wedding, then i receive email from hotel that my coordinator has left...

but glad to say that everything went smoothly.. agnes, david n andy all helped.. the director of F&B also came down personally a few times to ensure eveyrthing went smoothly!

was quite impressed actually with the smooth transition...

everything was near perfect except for the yam paste... HAIZ!!!!

Hi whitehooves....wat went wrong with the yam paste? Care to share as I'm thinking of opting yam paste as dessert instead of brownies and cheesecakes...

my family members, including myself who went for food tasting, absolutely LOVED the yam paste.. smooth n not too sweet.. it was PERFECT!!!

but on actual day, the same people who went for food tasting told me that the yam paste for the dinner actually got curry taste... n after we got to know of it, we went round looking at the tables n noticed that A LOT of the tables NEVER touched the yam paste at all... sad...
then we asked our frens n they told us the yam paste not nice.... quite a drastic difference rite????

n apparently the hotel is aware that something is wrong.. so initially they reserved 2 bowls of yam paste for my husband n me to be brought up to our room as supper, they quickly removed the yam paste from our room....

n wat upset me n my husband most was that we got a lame explanation from the hotel that they changed a brand of the yam paste on our wedding dinner. but how can they do this rite??? food tasting 1 method, AD another method n nv inform us at all... n don't u find it very strange that they actually dared to put up something for a wedding dinner which they din experiment b4 n the wedding couple had told them umpteen times maintain the standard for actual day????

Oh.. i was thinking about changing to yam paste too.. think i better caution Simon about it when i meet him tmr. wonder whether can ask him to get some for us to taste..

Hi JJ

Sorry i really don't remember! What discounts did they give for Jul - Aug 08? For Dec 08, we got 1,500 nett off, i thought that's a lot of money?? We also got the projector free..

We got the ballroom for 25 tables, love the place la! we went to Swissotel and Pan Pac, woah tell u ar, M hotel ballroom is SOO MUCH nicer.

actually we need about 28 tables, but didn't want to make the booking for so many first, in case we miscalculate! it's always easier to add tables than to minus tables after confirmation, so we just went for 25 tables first.

For others who are curious, they gave 10 pax food tasting to those who signed up, vs the 6 pax in their package.

Whitehooves..

sorry to hear about what happened! did you ask them for "compensation"?

i heard once from an ex colleague who held her wedding at sheraton.. she had cod fish for food tasting and confirmed it, but on the actual night they served some other fish (not sure what, garupa i think?) .. in the end, Sheraton compensate by giving them 1 extra night in a suite for free, and 2 tables (20 pax) for after wedding dinner.. like a thank you dinner to family...

ya.. we did... n the compensation came in the form of a new bowl of orh ni... wah biang... super sianz by their service... no sincerity at all! u tell me why me n my hubby so suay? sighz...

Hi Gabrielle, which ballroom did you get? the function room or the banquet suite? agree i went to see some pan pac room, lightings were so weird, but maybe that was for one of the ballrooms only. i tasted the red bean paste during open house, i liked it nice n sweet.ha. thought cannot change dishes leh?
Whitehooves, sorry to hear abt ur incident, just got to let it go and not let it affect ur memories of your special day. other than the yam, did other things go well like march in and stay in suite and coordination with them? who was the wedding coordinator?

some guests did.. some didn't.. felt the hotel could hv done better... some more mine was the banquet suite.. so shld hv been better... oh well... but no hiccups lar, march-in was smooth, videos can play, songs can play.. got waiter spill wine on my husband's fren!!!

huh? wat surprise supper? no surprise supper leh.. we already chose the food we want to eat as supper.. maybe if u take banquet suite, they let u choose. but if function room, they 'give' the 'surprise' supper as a nice way to make couples feel better? not sure if it is true...

whitehooves.. i think u r supper pissed off... I just signed up the banquet suite.. hope nothing crops up... btw.. they r v strick with their "perks" i told my frend i got the 70% cards & parking 25%.. my frend say they are not perks lor...

hahahah.... ya.. not perks!!! they are very strict with giving the car park coupons and the invitation cards... also very sticky with 1 more additional free night stay...

of course damn pissed la... after the more i think abt it n wat M hotel did (or did not do) after the hiccup for my dessert, i feel they are really not sincere at apologising at all loh..

i think they forgot to wash the yam paste bowl.. else it was being burnt thus got the curry taste..

ya.. they die also don wan give me additional nite stay.. Im wondering who will pay so much to stay in a suite.. my AD is on a sunday.. who will check in on a Monday... How many tables did you have? I'm having 25 tables, I'm thinkin if i should get 1 bottle of wine per table or free flow of beer.. any suggestion??

hi bluwinte,

actually me n my hubby took 1 more night stay at the bridal suite leh.. hahah... oops.. so there answers ur qn: we did.. hahah...

Got to know that zul has left M hotel by reading at this forum. and...how come i was not informed about it at all. Sent an email to M hotel to enquiry who will be the new coordinator taking over my a/c but till now still not reply ....quite upset about it

hi bluwinte,

no... we din get free night.. we paid for the additional 1 more night...

hi dreamy79, u better push them.. else u LL down there...

hahaa... ya he ask me to pay 680 for the extra nite.. i tell him go fly kite... i rather go ritz carlton... btw.. if that day the food turns out bad or service no good.. can we don pay the service charge? or demand them to give us better compensation??

hi whitehooves,

yeh lor think if they dun reply to me by tml i'm going to call and complain liao haha....Thot i have made a good choice in choosing M hotel. but looking at the way they handle this issue i'm a bit skeptical about the hotel liao....worried that something will go wrong on actual day though it's still so long away but still....sighzz

Hi Babes,

I am new in this tread.... I had signed up MH in Mar 07 but my Ad is in Sep 07. Hehe, very kiasu hor...

I actually signed up with Zul but after signing the contract, no news from him at all. Only got to know from the post that he had actually left MH and no one even bother to inform me at all! I was wondering they didnt inform me issit because there is still about 10+ more mths before my actual day.... Quite disappointed! Haiz....

And quite worry cos there is some perks Zul had agreed to give but he forgot to write it down in our contract. I realised aft I got hm and called to clarify wth him and he assure me not to worry. But now he had already left MH so wondering whether my perks still valid anot..... Sob~~~~~

Hey Keona, u mean Sep 08? Me also Sep08.. =)

Colette finally called my hubby today to inform us to go and sign the contract... she said something abt WE din call her to confirm the date that we wanna go sign the contract... My hubby scold her sia~ cos she's the one who said they will go and draft the final contract and let us know when it's ready so we can go see and sign... wah piang.

oh no... Keona you may have a problem there... cos u already paid deposit and all that... they may not give u if it's not in the contract... i guess it all boils down to whether the person taking over will give u out of goodwill... but then again... coordinators change all the time... if u manage to get it with the new coordinator as well,,, try to make it black and white... safer for you...

WOAH this thread so active, so many posts!!

JJ
I signed up the banquet suite.. the function room was already taken on our date, but we prefer the banquet suite so would have gone with it anyway. the swissotel and PP "ballroom" are definitely function rooms but at ballroom prices.. my FH and i were so impressed with PP's interior (of the hotel) and foyer for our reception, but once we saw the room, we almost wanted to faint on the spot. it was really bad..

aiya i didn't try the food during open house cos i had lunch. if you really like the red bean, y not ask them if u can change? it's not like red bean very expensive lor, they shd be more flexible mah..

so what is the discount for jul and aug 08? u have not told me yet!

the bridal suite at M hotel is not very nice la.. i think the swissotel one is much much nicer in terms of view and the room size. swissotel also has couple jacuzzi..

hmm ladies, if carpark and invitation is not consider PERKS then what is perks? can someone pls define it?

hi bluewinte, i thouht free flow of beer is already std in the pacakge? we tried to bargain for a couple of bottles of red wine but were unsuccessful... sob sob

COOkie, basically i didnt get anything much.. it was a choice of free flow beer or 1 bottle of wine per table. LCD free & then increase the parking to 25%.. my guest dont even drive.. so.. do u think this is call perks? i would say this is the norm.. they r jus so so so strict.. we should be as persistant not to pay on the spot (*touch wood) if the food crops up.. anyone got more "perks" than me??

oh ya it was the same for my case too... din manage to gt a 2nd night free or even free upgarde to the sea view suit..sigh..but they claim it was cos our package was already on promo

Hi Gabrielle, the Jul/Aug 08 prices were less $100 per table. min 25. so savings of $2500 lor. very good price for a weekend at $648 for function rm. my budget abt that price haha...Ballroom more ex though, but same discount of $100 for Jul/Aug. You mean they didn't explain to you, mine did tell me the different discount scheme for diff months, cos i was flexi on timing.
oh ya, i agree can't bargain for any perks at all unlike other hotels, so sad, but for this price at a hotel, i can't really complain la, almost restaurant prices liao. Now just scared food not up to standard, cos i know their food is so so only.

Soyabean, did u signed up at open house on 18 Nov? they also told me will contact me to sign contract in 2 wk.

Hi JJ, had signed up during the bridal show as well & they ask me to sign the contract in 2 weeks. The price diff for Jul/Aug 2008 is becos they are the lunar Sixth & Seventh month & mostly couples dont get married in these 2 mths as these dates will be objected by the parents. If your parents are not superstitious, it should be fine... :D

Hi Soyabean,

My AD is on 07 Sep 08... Hehe Typo error... WHich day of sept is urs?

By the way, Bluwinte, my per table is $748 for the FM... I signed up during the Show house in Mar 07 and got $688 off on top of all the tabe i had confirmed. The perks that i manage to bargain is free flow of wine and 20L complimentary of beers.

JJ
no they didn't explain the different packages to me leh.. but their first question was whether we got date or not so we told them the date we wanted.. this 28 Dec 08 quite hard to get la, so we were happy to get it..

personally i tot that M hotel give a lot of "perks" in their standard package already, which is why i was asking how come you all say no perks...? you all compare M hotel to which hotel? can tell me so i can go find out?

Hi c00kiemonster (c00kiemonster)

actually i tot that free beer is better than free wine.. this is just my personal opinion la. cos normally hotels charge $600 - 800 (not sure how much M hotel charge) per barrel of beer. 1 barrel is 30L which is about 90 glasses. if u have 25 tables, and half of them take 1 glass, u need at least 2 barrels. however, most people who take beer will take at least 2-3 glasses, so if u take 125 guests x 2 to 3 glasses = 250 to 375 glasses which is about 4 barrels! 4 x $600 = $2,400!

outside wine, if u buy in bulk, u can get about $10-12 per bottle. not as many people drink wine than beer. those who drink wine won't drink more than 2 glasses. therefore if 1/4 of 25 tables take 2 glasses each, it is 125 glasses. 1 bottle maybe can fill 8 glasses (i estimate) so u need 16 bottles x $12 is $192. somemore M hotel give you FREE CORKAGE! i have not heard of free corkage in any other hotel yet.

this is just my personal feeling la based on my relatives' drinking habits la... i know they are beer drinkers..

that said, i am still going to buy about 40 bottles of wine la, in case many people drink also. it's going to cost about $480..*faint*

I dono where can get $12 per bottle.. for the wine.. anyway nowadays no one seem to drink beer... anyway... i pay 3k deposit liao & i got the date i want.. so... happie la...

Gabrielle

Yah you ae right. But this all depends on your guests too. But me, most of my guest drink wine so i actually decided to get free flow of red wine instead of beer but is good that I had 20L of beer free too.

<font color="0077aa">Hi Keona, mine is 11 Sep 07.. I signed up during the Her World wedding show at Marina Sq, and went to M Hotel to check out the rooms before signing... like, even though we appeared pretty hesitant, they still dun add on too much perks.. but i feel the package is quite comprehensive already... I got the free LCD and beer too...</font>

hi keona..

oh good for you!!

yes, the beer part was more for my relatives, which alone is about 12 tables, not including some of FH's relatives who also take beer.. so we went for beer..

hihi i took the banquet.25 tables...zul was my coordinator..but heard he left..haven gt time to call up the hotel to chk who wld be my new coordinator yet..maybe i will jus wait n see how lon it will take them to inform me.. haha

ya agree with the free flow of beer n free corkage..thats y we still decieded to go w m hotel even thou no add night stay..cos i tink its sound pretty alright liao..=P

Soyabeans,
Yah... I got LCD free too. So when will u be going down for the theme &amp; invitation card selection? Have they contact u already? And who is ur co-ordinator?

Gabrielle,
Yah... When i saw ur post, it really enlighten me and i actually went counting too... hehe!

Cookiemonster,
I signed up with zul too and i just received email from Mark on 24 Nov 2007 informing that Zul had left and Agnes will be liasing with me. So maybe u can check ur email.

I was wondering any of you had liaised with Anges before and how is she?