M Hotel Singapore

hi white rabbit, i had the eight treasure soup and it was fantastic. We felt it was better than sharks fin.

and yes, instead of flowers, I choose a balloon theme, which HB DIY-ed.

hey, m hotel having promotion again from now till Dec-18 (i think). see the sgbrides ad. = )

Looks like good reviews for the 8 treasures soup. WIll definitely consider it . THanks Mei and Caitlyn

Mei : Is your balloon theme done in the banquet room or the function room? think balloons may clash with the hanging lamps in the banquet room

hi white rabbit, my balloons were done in banquet suite 10th floor. HB and his xiong-dis DIY-ed themselves, with help from M Hotel of course (otherwise HB and his poor xiong-dis sure work like mad!! heehee....).

hmm....u mean the hanging lamps INSIDE the ballroom?? hmm....no clash for me cos' i no put so high.

which theme u considering??

Hi Mei, I love butterflies and thinking of how to incorporate that. Maybe fabric butterflies resting on floral table centrepieces? still think it may clash with the hanging lamps

Hi buttercookies, as promised. I've sent you photos of my balloon-themed wedding. Sorry for the longgggg wait. For your eyes only, and please do not forward my email. Thanks very much.

Cheryn
Chilli crab was my request in alternative to the rice/noodle dish. I was supposed to top up for it but i swapped it with the wedding favours cos I bought my own.

wat promo M hotel having this time hah? i didn't see anything different leh.. izit muz open the pdf file? my lok kor PC cannot open, haha.. someone tell me tell me.. i kpo kpo.. :P

Hi mei

Thanks for the pics.
I promise i will not forward yr email.

I like the idea of having balloons floating at the reception and the arc, yr hubby and xiong-di very talented.

Where did u buy all those balloons?

Hi jhoo

my AD is 29 Oct 06.
most probably will be showing montage. the other time i saw a wedding setup where they put another projector screen at the other end of the function room. not sure if the projector is provided by M hotel or they brought themselves.
but i think i will just use 1 projector.

comparing to the M hotel promotion at the wedding show, the M hotel new promotion
For function room: a choice of free flow beer or 1 bottle of red wine per confirmed table, projector rental at $188

For banquet suite: a choice of 1x30litre barrel of beer (no more free flow beer) or 1 bottle of red wine per confirm table, projector rental at $188 and $50 nett off per every table.

Hi Buttercookies123,

My AD is abt 3 months away from yours...Yah, i will also stick to 1 projector. Acutally im intending to place balloons. But the ceiling is already low, so wonder will it make the guests behind even more difficult to see the projector...

hi buttercookies, u welcome. hmm...i purchased those balloons from various places cos' i looking for certain designs. but majority places should have what u wanted. try those wholesales places. cheaper and larger quantity. u never know when u need MORE balloons! of course, to float those balloons, u need helium gas. = )

hi jhoo, function room may not be a good idea for balloons cos' the place is smaller than banquet suite and lower ceiling. however u can improvise by placing balloons outside the function room or entrance of function room or use SMALLER-sized balloons, rather than the normal sizes. and use brighter colours, then the whole place will look bigger. otherwise, fill up the whole function room floor with balloons, also nice but have the risk of people stepping on them and burst them, esp if got kids, then sure very noisy.

Hi mei

where did u get the helium gas? from M hotel???

I am thinking of floating the balloons the the recep and the long corridor outside the function room and have something like a arc or a balloon short divider just to divide up the place between the diner at the same level.

At the wedding show, they did something like that, putting small balloons on the floor. looks every nice but dangerous. scare later will trip over them :P

hi buttercookies, both. For floating balloons at the cocktail area on 10th floor, we requested for M Hotel help and we paid for their helium gas. We also bought our own helium gas for our own balloons inside the ballroom when we DIY-ed.

I no see their wedding show with balloons before. dangerous? who trip? u mean u trip? or guests trip? then dun put. try think of something else. = ) anyway u have long way to go, abt a year more, can slowly think. = )

if u have the budget, perhaps u want to engage professional balloonist to help u design and blow.

I am changing one of my cold dish item. I have a list here...can anyone tell me which is good?

- Prawn Salad
- Roast Duck
- Terriyaki Chicken
- Seafood Dumpling

Help.

Maybe they're tied up cos' they had became more popular? My coordinator was Zul and his follow-up is superb

Hihi mushloom ~ how's your food tasting?

hi hi brides sorry for late reply.

here goes my feedback for my food tasting

cold dish - oni 4 items n the plate seems quite bare lor but the food is good. suckling pig juz nice 1 pc per ppl.

sharksfin - quite alrite, can see pieces of sharksfin.

veg - mine topping wif pacific clams. after eating so many clams, my mouth tired liao. but the taste is nice la. was tinking of changing the veg to other veg wif scallop.

chicken - very good. no complains

fish - big n not much of the muddy taste tat ppl complain abt. but the gravy n the crispy thingy on top of fish too little liao.

prawns - very good n fresh. my family likes this the best.

chilli crab - if drink the sauce alone, too spicy. if dip mantou then juz nice. was tinking of asking them to provide free flow mantou :p

rice - very nice and fragrant, not too oily.

pudding - me quite disappointed wif this. the pudding was quite hard n dry, its like mango flavoured tau gua. not beary good. was tinking of changing back to my red bean paste.

overall, all was good n yummy except the infamous pudding

during the tasting, didnt really speak to aaron, will fix another date to settle all nitty gritty.

Hi Mushloom,

Thanks for you feedback. Seem like most of the foods are nice. Yours is the function room? U mean u top-up the chilli carb and how much u have to pay?

After reading your comment I'm worry cos I also request for mango pudding. I'm thinking that shall I change to other dessert.

hi eileen mine in function room. for the chilli crab i top up $40 per tb. abt the pudding i tink it depends on individual preference ba. most of my family members tink its quite bad lor. n they were quite stunned to know tat this dish is so well received by others. tink u go for food tasting first before determining la.

Anyone shortlist Pan Pacific before chosing M Hote? I am in a dilemma now. Anyone can share wz me why you choose M hotel instead?

Hi Rainz,
I shortlisted Pan Pac but choose M hotel becos it cheaper. I sign up during the promotion. $628 net per table for weekend. Pan Pac too expensive. S$788 per table. If you have a high budget then maybe can choose pan pac. It a 5 stars five hotel. M hotel 4 stars hotel. Hope this help you.

Look for Zul if you are interested. He a very nice guy. and he reply very fast. His email add [email protected]

Hi Rainz, personally feel M Hotel Suite Room is nicer than Pan Pac. Had wedding dinner at Pan Pac a few times. Not that fantastic as I thot it's supposed to be. Thus choose M Hotel.

Hi Rainz,

As for me, I went to a few hotels before deciding on M Hotel because of the following few reasons:

1) I like the idea of having the whole floor to myself, thus settled on the Banquet Suite on 10th flr;

2) I like the modern, contemporary theme of Banquet Suite and of the hotel. Some of the other hotels eg PanPac, Merchant Court is toooo flowery for me. I don't like the decor of some of the other hotels.

3) I like the wedding suite! Ok call me shallow but the jacuzzi, plasma TV and bose sound systems attracted me.

4) Food is good. This is not my top priority but the food reviews last time was good. Don't know about now tho'.

5) Comfortable with my coordinator and perks she'd given us.

PanPac gone thru some reno early this year, and the place is quite messy so didn't shortlist them.

Hope it helps.

hi gals, anyone had their wedding dinner at M hotel? How's the food portion there?

also, will the guests be allowed to scoop the food themselves or the waiters will be scooping for them onto the bowls? I think some pple might not like the idea of waiters scooping the food for them.

Hi oct06_bride,

The food portion there is big, and yes the guests need to scoop the food themselves except for the two VIP tables.

Hi fates, how did u noe abt this? wondering if the waiter will wait for the guest to finish up the food before clearing the plate.

I remember attending a dinner, the waiter clear off the plate before the guest could finish.. and there were still a lot of food left!

Hi Anne,
I book it in aug05.. That time M hotel was having a prmotion. weekend for weekday price. So i sign up and get the $100 off per table.

Hi Jun Chiam, Fates & Mei
Thanks for Sharing, when are yr AD?

Hey Jun Chiam
Wow you are so lucky. I think now for wkday is 788net and wkend 888net. There is a promotion now till 18 Dec and think u get 50net discount off per table and can choose either 30L barrel of beer or 1 wine per confirmed Table. I am quite keen and did spoke to Aaron, the coordinator. I quite like the place myself too
but tot I should go "reckee" more venue b4 I placed my deposit with them.

Hi Fates
Wow I guess I have the same sentiments as you! I also like cos its exclusive and also simple and zen looking ballroom + high ceiling! I will be going down to Pan Pac tmrw to view the place. Hope to share wz you gals after talking to them.

Mei
What is not fantastic? Can give more details..ha so I can go scrutinize tmrw

Rainz..
My is function room.. weekend should be $728. I got $100 off become $628.

The one you talking about is banquet room. ('',)

Hi Jun Chiam

Ha..now then I realise I did not quote Banquet room.

So have you picked yr BS? Which one did u shortlist. I signed up with Sophia last Tue but somehow feeling a little regret now

Hi oct06
Dun get me wrong, its not that I think they are bad just that I felt I made a harsh decision. Actually I felt I should reckee more BS first b4 signing the package. In fact I like another BS but Sophia offered me better package tat y hubby think go for it. I was attracted by their OTR gowns. Anyway guess no point regretting since I sign. Hopefully they will give me v v good service!

Have you sign up with any BS?

BTW I went to see PanPac today. Was happy with the coordinator and also quite like the place though Ball Room, I feel M hotel still better. I guess nothing is perfect. TO book these nice place, guess my pocket will burn a big hole at the end of the day