M Hotel Singapore

gancheong

hi gals, my AD wedding is on Jan 06, kindda of hurry for me coz i have not booked banquet and stuff. Right now, I am only left with a few choices after calling all the hotels. COnsidering York, M hotel and Regent. After reading yr comments i think i shld just settle for M hotel?? What do u gals think? any thing in particular to share since mine is a chop chop decision.... thanks!

cherbie

Was shortlisting M hotel..
But was quite puzzle abt the diff btw level 2 & 10.. can anyone highlight to me on the main diff? Anyone can share their AD photos with me?? Pls send to [email protected]

Thanks Babes!

man_tou_bear

Hi E-lin, erm that M Hotel is near an MRT stop is a pretty gd reason liao. And that its interior was just renovated not more than 5 yrs ago so it looks very very new. Heard from some brides that the bridal suite is gorgeous too... Most impt the place is rather cosy, both the function rm and the banquet suite..

Cherbie, the 2nd floor is a function rm. Shaped like a 'P'. ceiling not very high, there is a restuarant on the same floor as it. so not very exclusive... 10th floor is the banquet suite. The sound system is state of the art, u have the whole level to urself, so very exclusive. It can take more tables too, if i m not wrong.. up to 35. function rm can take 30 max? i m not sure...

gancheong

hi bear, thanks for sharing. Will be meetin Zul from M hotel on Friday. Anyone has any experience with any of the coordinators before? I have around 25-28 tables..
I am actually qute comfortable with the cost of the function room $738 per table, but i think i prefer the banquet suite set up and floor plan instead. wonder if they can make any adjustments to that.

man_tou_bear

Hello Gancheong Spider! I like ur cute nick!! heehee... Itsy bitsy spider crawling down the spout... Oopps... heehee....

What adjustment do u want them to make?? if u want a certain no. of tables in the function rm, u gotta open up the 'P' section of the rm... so structurally i doubt they can make any adjustments. But if u mean the themes, then i m sure they can help u with it.

anyway good luck! hope u get what u want!

cherbie

Bear (man_tou_bear)

hmn.. "P" section.. dun really get what u mean.. anybody has the ballroom layout?

And there seems no have no beer on the menu.. so still hv to fork out abt $600 for a 30ltr barrel?

man_tou_bear

Aiyoh call me ah Bear can.. dun need to type out my whole nick!! heeheee...

erm, the function rm is shaped like a 'P'. Heehee.. u mean u haven't gone there to take a look? u gotta look at all the hotels first before u decide leh... sometimes on paper, the pkg seems gd, but only if u go to the hotel itself to look see and feel the ambience, then would u know if that's the hotel u want.

Not sure abt the beer though..

cherbie

hee hee.. bear..

yap.. haven beem there yet.. currently still in shortlisting process.. like to find out more before bringin my HTB down..he is a lazy person.. everything ask me to rackee.. haiz..

zoeanne27

Hi AH Bear
When is ur wedding? The bridal suite is very nice lor.. the jacuzzi is shiok shiok, the next day after my AD, hubby n I soak in it and have a nice chat about our AD.. Its very romantic.. Somemore, the bathroom is with stereo using Bose sound system too lor... with the music, u bathe together... hahahahahha... (shy)... dun say this liao.....Then then living room got 42 inch plasma TV..using Bose system too... kekek.. ( me like BOse system la, no choice).. Oh.. the shower in the bath room is massaging one....

Those gals who are booking the function room, go n take a look about the "P" section. This is bcos think back, it is abit weird.. But the march in is quite long....Seeing AD pics, can't possibly take the whole room , only section of it...

Hi Gancheong spider
Personally, i also prefer Banquet suite to Function room. IN the end choose FR bcos Banquet Suite over our budget...

At FR, the ceiling is not very high... but one good thing about not so high ceiling is that, the pics would turn out nicer as the reflective of flash is better... For higher ceiling, the light actually disperse and photos will seem darker...

Then to my experience, the reception at FR seem good also.. Although there is restaurant there, not many ppl are at the restaurant too.. the whole reception are yours.. plus the staircase up to the FR.. its seem very attractive...

Personally feel Banquet suite reception are abit small. A good thing is , it is very personalise and good to have a changing room beside

Overall, it is still important to go n take a look.. feel the ambience

cheers!!

man_tou_bear

Zoeanne, R(A) R(A) lah!!! heehee.. all the juicy details all come tumbling out liao... Heehee... Ya i saw the suite from some bridal mags and i was like WOW! the shower area is like soooooo sexy.. can see through one... i think the suite is intended to help the couple to get into the mood for some lovin'! heehee... i can't wait.. My AD is only Oct next yr... still so far away... well abt 10 mths to be exact.

Ya the ceiling is lower for FR but that is the main point the cosyness! i like the colour scheme of the rm too... the carpet isn't garish red.. heehee i think its goldish colour... The FR's recept area is much much bigger than that of banquet suite... but then the whole 10th floor is for ur own use...

zoeanne27

Hi Ah Bear
RA!! hahahahha.... No la..

Wow.. 10 months exact.. congrats... Have you start any preps already? Like taking PS etc etc?

I like Banquet Suite also but over budget.. FR also give the cosyness there... N I agree with you that the banquet suite recept is smaller but personalise ...the whole 10th floor is yours like that.

uberrimae

hee... ah bear, continue ur story in private :p

i think banquet room is nice if u have a big guest list and many many tables, then u will have a majestic feeling! for FR, its more cosy and close-up feeling, more suited for less tables lor... of coz, must take into account budget constraint also lah :p

man_tou_bear

Hey uberrimae, not my story lah.. Its Zoeanne's!! heehee.... I dun wanna hear also.. blushing liao.. I think Zoeanne is squirming as we as we are teasing her. :p

Zoeanne, aiyoh me not thinking so far lah.. just started reno... so busy on it.... i also like the banquet suite, but the $160 price diff per table btw the banquet suite and the FR was just not worth it.. I can't eat the sound system u know...

piggydog

Hi dorcas,

Do you know that for the 'door gift'(can't remember wat we call that), you can mix and match. I chose their photo frame and the dolls. They arrange in a way that alternate guests seated in a table got different gifts. You can ask them about it.

gancheong

thanks for yr help, I managed to speak to Aaron yesterday despite his busy schedule. I was so desperate that I went down to M hotel itself to ask for the Banquet sales person instead of calling. the guy whom is suppose to call me to confirm the date didnt get back to me....

Yes, I do agree that Aaron is kindda of a nice guy, very flexible. We got our package at a cheap rate too! =) Yes, the "P" layout of the function room kindda of turns me off initially, but no choice because the banquet suite is already taken up. I personally find the package quite a good deal liao, the only thing my FH not happy with is actually the menu. It doesnt have abalone and the fish is sea bass, so we are still discussing abt the menu and see if aaron can give us a better deal on the menu itself.

gancheong

Hmmmm regarding the theme, they says now they only use one theme to fit all the weddings, so as for the balloon arrangements, I dont thing they can accomodate to it. =(

dorcas

Hi Bobbydog,

I also heard that we can select 2 favours and put it on alternate seatings. They got alot of choices for their favours. Other than the bears and photo frame that you all mentioned, I also like the flower cardholder and cake jewellery box. Something different lor.

man_tou_bear

Spider gal! :p glad u settled liao.. so how? when are u gg to sign the contract? heehee... happy for u.. when's ur AD???

I think if u wanna change the menu, must top up.. otherwise they won't help much.. cos the price is very much determined by the menu.. how abt adding another abalone dish.. add i think $30-$50 more per table (really not sure).

Now can select 2 wedding favours liao? that's cool man.. i want the bears....

piggydog

Hi dorcas,

Yes. You can select 2 favours which I did for mine. I find it special from others bcos the guest get 2 choose.

gancheong

Hehehe bear, Going to sign the contract on Monday coz Aaron is not working tmr. My AD is on 20 Jan which is pretty rush. =/

Yup if i wanna add abalone have to add $40 and change the fish to soon hock hv to add $30......

I hope they can do up the theme for us.. although i know little possibility lah...

gancheong

bobbydog n bear what are u going to choose?

there's a a pair of bears, 2 types of memo clip, keychains and something else....

i think i am going to choose the bears and the memo clip

yzml21

Hi gancheongspider
Congrats! Finally you settled down on the hotel. As for me another 1 more wk to go to decide which one to choose.I am currently shortlisting 2 hotels and really cannot make up my mind.

Oh ya btw how much deposit did u pay?

uberrimae

spider.. congrats and welcome to the M hotel family
we can share tips and experiences as we go along liao, yeah!

Aaron indicated to you the price for topping up the menu? wah so ex hor, my parents will def wan us to add abalone, else it's a "little plain", aiyo :p and myself thinking of changing the desserts to the famous mango pudding leh, more $$....

zoeanne27

HI bear
I confuse. What eat sound system?
I mean the bridal suite got good sound system la... despite FR or banquet suite, every brides get to stay the the bridal suite...

I also got choose 2 favours . the wedding bear and the photoframe...

I saw some guests took 2 back home too

Hi umberimate..
Not dreaming la... hee hee...

man_tou_bear

Hiya Spider gal! wah ur AD very soon man! another mth plus a way!! why so rush?? Heehee.. mine is only next Oct! :p i haven't really tot of the favours as my AD is still too far away.. but definitely MUST have bears! i love them!

I also haven't tot of the theme.. may be the past brides can help u better... So u are gg to top up the menu?

uberrimae

haha zoeanne, bear means the sound system is just another audio system, cannot be eaten also unlike abalone or sharksfin etc, no point having it so good :p

man_tou_bear

Hahaha Zoeanne that's what i meant. Cos the price diff btw FR and Banquet Suite is abt $160... apparently u are also paying to have a better sound system etc etc.. so i said sound system cannot eat one.. so didn't take the banquet suite instead. Even though i like it very much.

zoeanne27

Hi bear
oic..me old liao la.. cannot understand liao
kekeke.... $160 is too much.. imagine u got 30 tables.. meaning another $4800 extra.... well, $4800, i can also buy a good system outside liao lor...

dorcas

Yah, I also think not worth it. Unless you want face then you choose that banquet suite. Anyway, I've also booked M Hotel for my wedding on 16 Dec 06.

lu_meihua

hi kkwr, sorry for late reply. Had sent you the link to view the banquet suite that was decorated with balloons during my wedding. Happy viewing. = )

lu_meihua

Hi gangcheongspider

same as buttercookies. What do u meant that for function room, M hotel cannot accomodate for balloon arrangements? I dun seem to understand. Can clarify?? Thanks.

yzml21

Hi Gancheongspider
After much consideration, I decided to drop M hotel. Mariott is offering better offer and find their services and follow up terrific.

gancheong

Hi mei, when i speak to aaron regarding the themes, he said that they use a standard themes for all wedding banquets. when i probe further, he said i could add on flowers if i think those existing ones are not sufficient, but i hv to lias withe the floist myself and bear the additional cost.

gancheong

Rainz, marriott has a better deal? How much are the offering you? coz i ever considered marriot too, but it's off my budget.

dorcas

Hi Gancheongspider,
If I'm not wrong, Marriot offered $688 for a period of Jan 06 - May 06. If your wedding is within this period, you can consider for that. But of cos you must check whether your dates are available then.

yzml21

Hi gancheongspider
I did not take the promotion package cos my date is in JUne also the menu is not as good as the normal package one.
I am most pleased that they accomodate to my 25 tables cos their min is 30 and also their service is really prompt and friendly. I guess that's what won me over. Also I liked the ambience and location. Oh yes they have 5 theme to choose! Their package start fm $768 nett.

dorcas

I was also attracted by their theme esp on the vineyard burgundy settings but mine will be holding on weekends. So can't afford unless I want to bite my teeth and pray for the best. Hee hee.. Anyway, you have also made a good choice.

zoeanne27

Hi Rainz
Marriot is a good choice too. My friend held at their ballroom and it was really nice.. Screen are big , service are good. The hotel even did a free montage for her.. N her montage are well done... The march in was very long too...

I could not afford at Marriot too, dorcas....kekeke

Yeah.. Marriot is a good too.. good luck for your preps soon

yzml21

Hi Zoeanne and dorcas
Thanks! I also having a hard time choosing, was torn in between M and Mariott. I would say M have better menu. I was cracking my head to choose over Ambience or menu and so end up wz Mariott

Nevertheless, I like to wish all of you lotz of love and yes ALL OF US heaps of Luck preparing our wedding ^^.

zoeanne27

Rainz

U are welcome... good luck to ur wedding... feel free to chat n share with us... see if we have any lobangs to share with u la

Me married liao lor... not preparing wedding stuff liao lor... kekekek... I do miss the days when hubby n i were busying for wedding...
Its just a flash, its over