M Hotel Singapore

hey gals, i just went down to M hotel today.. for those having dinner in the function room, did anyone manage to change the dessert to mango pudding?? i was told it wld cost 40 to topup for mango pudding.. and not 10.. is tt true?

hi meihua, nope we didn't feedback. Instead we wanna write complain letter :p

hi jiaying, M hotel has 10 suites on Level 29

I don't have any vegetarian tables, but it's good to check with your friends/relatives if they are 'staunched' vegetarians because the kitchen uses the same utensils/cutleries to prepare the foods. Some vegetarians don't like it. I had a friend like that, and she asked to be served fruits only

Hi mei,

my wedding is in Feb06.

Hi fates,

so our bridal suite will be at 29th floor...wow...sure got good view lor???

never get the chance to view the room as is always full when I am at the hotel for discussion.

mushloom - not hearsay.. i asked zul yesterday.. =)he said sld be 40 but he has to check.. so wondering if anyone actually topped up b4 lorz..

ic ic now i refer back to the archives the $10 top up is for orr ni. btw caitlyn when ur wed day ah? have u gotten ur wed cards?

mushloom - my weddind day one week after urs.. 3rd dec.. =) i'll be getting my wedding cards on 20th sept during my food tasting.. when will u be gg for ur food tasting?

my papa in law not in country at the moment. think earliest is in oct. so have u decide where to do ur printing? are u oso under the zen package?

mushloom - yup, i also under zen package.. i upgraded my menu to abalone.. tt's the only change i made.. hee.. e food tasting dates are out.. maybe u can ask ur coord.. apparently only 3 couples per time.. as for printing, most likely i gg JB to print.. how abt ya? have u started printing yet? must print soon rite?

wow still got food tasting dates wan ah? i tot which ever day i free i juz book tat day will do. upgrade wat to abalone? must top up $$? so are u gonna change ur dessert to mango pudding?

printing i tink hubby got customers in this line so will check them out first before going for other recommendations. tink gotta print before oct ba... u got jb lobang?

so when do we go abt choosing the favours? are there new ones coming in or still the same old stuff?

HI all,
came into this thread to kpo. Had my wedding at M hotel in Jan this year.

Jiaying,
the suites facing the sea has very good view but if u got the one facing the city then it's not that nice. and i think it depends on the venue that u r holding your dinner. if u take the function room then the suite will face the city. if ballroom then it's the sea-view suite

eileen,
i had a few vegetarians for my dinner. had good feedback abt the food. delicious and rather big portions.

for those who are choosing the function room, just want to warn u that it's rather squeezy during the march-in. so instead of walking together, my husband has to walk infront with me behind to the stage. I was rather unlucky coz one of the waitress spilled red wine onto one of my guests. they are also very slow in serving out the dishes. so if u have frens helping out on that day, do ask them to look out for anything unpleasant coz you'll be too busy to notice such things. luckily for me, i have very helpful frens who feedback to me and we manage to get more perks from the hotel coz of the unpleasant incidents. i had an extra stay at the bridal suite with complimentary breakfast and buffet for 2 at the hotel within half a year from my wedding date. so at least i feel that my money is well-spent

anyway, congrats to all of u and have an enjoyable wedding night at the hotel!

hi rachael, thanx for sharing. so did u ask to stay in the seaview suite?

did you scan ur wedding pics at m hotel? can i kpo kpo, ask u to email me so i can see see look look? my email is [email protected]

care to share wat are some of the perks? hee hopefully don need to get them but nebertheless still useful to know it. hee

Hi Rachael,
Thanks for sharing. Will take note on that.

Can I check with you how many minutes do you take to march-in?.. Coz im selecting my March-In Song.. How many tables do you have?

hi rachel, issit??!!! wah.. if its rather cramped, then i tink i will hv some backup plans.. cos we intend to have a sword party! if the walkway can't even 'squeeze' the couple, let alone the swordparty? hmm.. need to discuss with FH liao..

btw, can i view your pics too, if u don mind?

tks tks~! yea!

mushloom - yup, got fixed food tasting dates one.. so better get from ur coord.. btw, how many pax is ur food tastig? i upgraded clam to abalone.. top up 50 bucks per table.. not upgrading to mango pudding if it's 40 bucks.. too exp liaoz..i might as well have held it at the banquet suite if i top up so much.. unless any of u can get it cheaper then let me noe k?? hee.. or all of us go and ask tog.. =)

hi brides of M hotel.. any of u have EXTRA invites and willing to give away?? i dun have enuff as i inviting mainly individuals.. sighz.. and each addtional card cost 4 bucks.. *faintz*

caitlyn my food tasting for 6 pax. will try to arrange for 1 soon. thanx for informing me abt the dates. btw the cards u get for how many ppl? i asked for abt 80% coz mostly single fren. can u ask more from ur coordinator?

Hi gal

Its been long i came into this thread.
This coming Monday , i m holding my dinner at the function room already..

If not wrong , Xiaobai also right? This coming sunday... Congrats to you...

How's everyone preps? Kind of hectic for me recently

Last Sat went down to M hotel again and saw Jane and Reina wedding... Congrats if you are one of them here in SB.. hee hee..

zoeanne - wow.. time passes so fast.. all the best on ur wedding!! congrats!! dun be too stressed.. stay brigt and pretty for ur wedding!! hee.. do come in to update us aftr ur big day!

congrats zoe and stay cool. don panic and start to feel stress. rem to come back n share share ok.

caitlyn i got this from fiona. it was reflected in my contract when i signed.

mushloom - oic.. tt time june was rather hard to neg with so i din manage to get anything much.. i also din anticipate not having enuff cards.. so mine is only 70%..

Hi mushloom, xiaobai and charsiew,
i had 30 tables then at the function room. dats y i only got the bridal suite facing the city. anyway, it makes no difference to me as was too tired to enjoy the view after the whole event. my march-in song was very long, i chose 'at the beginning and from this moment', both had very long intro. anyway, we can take our time to walk as the walk-way is so long and narrow.
i didnt scan my photos taken at the hotel, anyway i also didnt take alot of photos outside the reception area. only took photos when i go around for toasting. anyway, i chose M-hotel coz of the deco on the staircase leading up to the function room and the bridal suite. however, most of my guests didnt notice that coz lazy people all took lift up. the decor in the function room was nice too, i chose pink, white and lilac flowers for my aisle. but i think they didnt give me the lilac flowers as they say it's not in season.
remember gals, must fight for your own rights coz already pay so much for the banquets.

rachael how many outfits did u have tat nite? was it very rush to go up to the room to change or did u have more than enuff time to do the changing

hmmm caitlyn tink u can try to ask ur coordinator again or unless u purchase and use other cards as ur wedding cards. not sure if i will be having enuff. will update u when i confirm.

hee managed to dig this out from previous thread. just copy, paste, and insert ur wed date n info if ur data is not in.

18/19 Sept 05 -Zoeanne27 - Function Room/ New York Classic Bridal at JB/ Jon Keng Photography/ Pasir Ris
01st Oct 05 - Jazzygal - Sam photography/Kevin Videography
7th Nov 05 - Nicole -?/Old Airport Road
12th Nov 05 - Lynn - Function Rm/ Bridal Zone
19th Nov 05- lp2- Function Rm / Santiago
27th Nov 05 - Mushloom - Function Room/ JB Elegance/ Forest Production/ Bukit Panjang
03rd Dec 05 - caitlyn - function room/ted collections/derrick ong (freelance photog)
08th Dec 05 - berry berry - Ballroom / Milan / Punggol
23rd Dec 05 - highness - santiago
june 06 - sleepysleep

preciousbabe - thanks for all the advice.. i went down to view the function room last sat and was also v concerned abt the narrow aisle for march in.. hmm.. must make sure my frens are vigilant too.. as i guess i wld probably just be over excited.. hee.. abt fighting for our rites.. tt's true too.. but m hotel like quite "niao" b4 the wedding lehz.. hee.. maybe must things go wrong then they become more "generous".. hehe..

mushloom - will go bug my coord abt the cards again.. hee.. if u sourcing for printers and find a good one, keep me informed ya? i now gg down to focal-ad to check.. t-dragon a bit on the exp side..

Hi preciousbabe,
Thanks very much for the info.. Wish you & hubby Bai Tou Dao Lau!!

Yo Zoeann,
Thanks.. Wish you have a Blissful Marriage!
How's your prep?..

morn, overall as a ex-m hotel bride, i had pleasant memory of my banquet there. = )

i had more than enuff invites, in fact, i return the remaining cards to hotel since i no use.

mushloom - hahhaa.. really mah.. but i think all hotels like tt one lorz.. hee

mei - aiyah.. wasted.. if not i can ka-po from u!! hehe..

mei ah did u rsvp before sending? like tat like very sian shi hor... i wanted to juz send then at later date rsvp with them. but now see caitlyn situation i tink i must reconsider.

caitlyn wat was ur confirmed no of tb at the pt of signing? mine was 20 but now is abt 27 so i will definitely increase my tb no.

hi mushloom, hmm...for mine, i more or less ask my frens to rsvp. onli working colleagues and relatives we no rsvp before sending invites. did save quite a few cards but inserts used all.

during my wedding, my inlaws simply gave an empty card+insert to the relatives, which i feel it's kinda waste. if i knew it earlier, i would have just photocopy the inserts, rather than use the printed ones. can save a bit too.

mushloom, caityln, rem to invite enuff to cover the min tables cos' some people would just dun turn up last min. MIA one. u have to agar agar urself. of course reserve tables are necessary, and rem to tell ur helpers try to put guests in 1 table. avoid opening them unless necessary.

Ok gals. Just came back from my food tasting. So give my feedback:
1) Cold dish. I picked Hotate, Suckling Pig, teriyaki Chicken and Pumpkin samosa. I was not very impressed with hotate. It was just ordinary. Teriyaki chicken was not good. Salty and just tasted like soya sauce chicken. Decided to change these 2 choices. the other 2 were nice tho.

2)Sharksfin with Fish Maw. Nice with a lot of liao (more fish maw then sharksfin but thats fine with me).

3) Baby Abalone with Mushroom and Seasonal Vege (Dou Miao). I liked this dish and generally everyone was impressed there was abalone.

4) Scallop in XO Sauce. I was disappointed in this cos it came with sweet peas and capsicum so it looked like another vege dish. I did not know what XO sauce they were saying cos there was no sauce. So it is actually fresh scallops fried with sweet peas and capsicum to me. The portion was big tho. Each person had about 3-4 scallops each. But as a seafood dish, I think I'll swap to the prawns.

5) Fried Soon Hock in superior soya sauce. Everyone liked this. The crispiness was nice. Could do with more sauce tho otherwise it ended up tasting just like fried fish.

6) Pipa Duck. Also quite nice. Some pple commented it is quite dry but that's expected cos it's like roast meat. With sufficient plum sauce, they were happy.

7) Chilli Crab with fried mantou. YUmmy! But could do with more crab chunks in the gravy. I could also do with some MORE mantou. Wondering if I could arrange for more mantous for VIP table. My brother-in-law suggested we start selling our own mantous to other guests that night to make money.

8) Mango Pudding. Also yummy.

So the worst dish in my opinion was the cold dish. And because my dishes from fish to mantou were fried, I am swapping the fish to be served after the sharksfin so it won't be consecutive fried stuff all the way for 3 courses. ANyone else with same problem can consider this.

I'd love some feedback on the other cold dish alternatives so I can choose. I am now considering the octopus and pork ribs as alternative. but they're realy not my favourite dishes either. So some help pls?

droolssss..

droolss..

actually it's not true the banquet suite couples will get the seaview! as a matter of fact the city-view suites are bigger compared to the seaview...

bluez perhaps u could suggest to M to get the waiters to go around tables with mantou and refill the mantou there n then. juz like waiters carrying drinks going around refilling.

me looking forward to my food tasting liao :0~

Morn, during my wedding, my appetizer had Suckling Pig Cutlet, Prawn Salad, Spring Roll, Baby Octopus and Pacific Clam.

If i rem correctly, all these were yummy, except for baby octopus which I did not try during food-tasting cos' I don't eat. But i rem my family and inlaws and HB quite happy and satisfied for this cold dish.

Not all items can be changed cos' I guess it depends on the cost of each changed item.

Babyblues, u decided to change the 2 items to what?

Mushloom, wah good idea leh. Asking the waiters to go around tables to refill mantou. But hor, what if not enuff mantou to go around refilling!? Then won't it be more paiseh????

hi xiaobai, hmm...for us, we plan according to categories, like relatives one side, colleagues this section, friends that section. If he/she happen to be at the corner, bo bian one. U can't satisfy all mah. = ) Dun stress. Sitting arrangement and guest list won't be finalised until last minute one.

hee mine i intend to ask them to serve the crabby with the rice item. so some can spread gravy on rice others can skip rice n juz munch on mantou. hee perhaps i shld change the rice item to juz plain rice (enhance the taste of the crab) :p

xiaobai most likely my colleagues will be sitting in that corners wor. no choice leh coz i tink usually the relatives will be seated at the front.u got the room layout? can email me? come to tink of it i have tot abt the room layout till u mention it. having prob with the table arrangement liao *sigh*

mushloom - so u adding a dish? or u changing something to the crab?? i may serve crab as my appetiser.. hee.. since it comes w mantou..

i adding a dish to make it 9 course. tat time i went to 1 dinner n went back hungry. so i rather add 1 more n let ppl eat full full back.

hotate can change to octopus, mixed maki or jellyfish

teriyaki can change to unagi (i like but family say a lot of pple avoiding it cos of scare), pork ribs or gyoza

wow, talking abt food here, i hungry liao. heehee...

mushloom, that time i had both chilli crab with mantou AND glutinous rice and i told them to served together, so that if guests want to use the gravy for the rice, they can do so also.

i also have a full full dinner for the guests. better to let them eat their full, rather than complain not enuff eat.

hi ppl are the envelopes for the cards still cream/white?

i am getting100% red cards and personally i feel the combination is quite weird for the red cards to be enclosed in cream envelopes. did anyone voiced out this to their coordinator?