M Hotel Singapore

my house done up liao. so juz spend weekends over there oni lor. i don wanna move in and stay wif hubby before customary coz scare that later the newly wed feeling disappears. i read from another thread u oso booking ur bs in jb huh? me too. i booked wif elegance

Hi mushloom

Yes. I took up New York Classic.. Which thread are u at? I think i saw ur nick at other thread..
Elegance got very nice gowns...

Yup, me too not shifting in so fast. I am now planning for hse renovation..

i hopping ard the threads which interest me. no dominant thread. i wanted to sign up for venus. but during the bridal show i was kindda turn off by their album. then i saw elegance and like the albums very much then sign on spot. plus me and my fren signing together we got a very good deal. where is your love nest? mine at bukit panjang area

hi mushloom

I bought at Pasir Ris..

I got mine at New York Classic (NYC).. We practiacally went to alot of JB BS that day until almost drop dead tired.. Ha Ha.. I went to Santiago, Milan, Elegance , FA GUO TAi PEI and lastly NYC.. In every BS, i tried their gown.. Elegance got the most wonderful and pretty gown.. I like almost 80%.. Service is very good too. But they come to very firm when we negotiate the package.. Not quite a good deal..In the end, we give up.. Then hope over the the opposite shop houses and went into NYC..

NYC gowns are ok though cannot compared to elegance. Photos are fine and nice.. Quite the style I like.. The package was also good.. Therefore we sign up there..

Can share with me your elegance package? I just wanna see if the package you sign at the bridal show ..No offence one..Cos maybe i sign too early.

You can pm or email me at [email protected]
thanks girl

hi ladies, any one has any idea if the function room has any special theme for the wedding? or is there oni 1 standard kindda deco for the room?

Hi ZOeanne

Saw your thread earlier on. It's oki if the hotel is looking at this thread. But it is not oki if they issue you a verbal warning. I hope they understand what is the purpose of forum here. Let me know if you need help.

No worries...oki... small matter. Can be easily resolved. ; )

By the way, has the hotel revert to anyone of you on the wedding favours next year? Have you gals seen any pictures on the Zen set up? Thought they are suppose to send us e-mails but seem like a donkey months back already and no news yet....

Hi Jazzygal!
good to see you back in action.

I think they have finalise on the Zen deco, can ask them for pics. But I find that the pics they took are not so nice.
Those taken by Zoeanne are nicer. Can ask her for it.

But I don't know abt the wedding favours.. think shd be finalise oso..

Hi Highness

Thanks for the warm welcome!
really glad to be back...was out for business trips... very lonely out there...

So how? What do you gals prefer? The Zen or the Garden White? So r they giving us organza at the stairway?

Hi Mushloom

Thanks for the update. Hmm...a name card holder? This is really businesslike.... wonder if can ask for 2 wedding favours instead cos guys dun want bears or mini jewellery.

jazzy its not those which you put in ur pocket kind. its shape in a flower with a round head in a flower pot. at the head of the flower theres a slit for u to slot in the card. hee not sure if u get wat i m trying to describe. any pic of zen or garden white theme? hard to visualise based on juz the name

I'm back again. Was really caught up with work recently. at last the worst is over this afternoon. got time to check out the forum again. Now I have to go and source for bridal shop. sian. cos i try clothes i feel like dumpling. so i will feel lousy. sigh..
I like the bear wedding gift. it's the cutest. the name card holder and jewellery box thing also very girly lor. and it looks like things we get for christmas that we don't really want and will chuck somewhere to collect dust or recycle. at least the bears are sweet, maybe I'll customise it by adding my name and hubby's name on the tag or something.

Hi gals, I'm also considering M Hotel for my wedding. So far have heard good comments on their service. Any feedback on the food? Thanks = )

Anybody booked the ballroom at 10th flr? I've been there during last wedding show, and the reception area looks very small, can't hold many guests. Any advises?

hi groom2b, i'm gonna book the banquet suite...if everything runs smooth with the 'negotiations'.
i feel the reception area is alright, there's another informal one juz outside the ballroom though. so guests have 2 areas to mingle actually.

Hi jazzy

Good to have you back. Miss you.
Thanks for offering your help. They shd not have call me.. but its over..Dun care about them so much.

I did not think there is Garden White theme to see. Cos i only saw Zen theme

U shd go and see the wedding favours. Like what Nicole said , the wedding bears are the nicest already. I also tot of customised it , with me and my hubby name..
But i ask already, we can only choose one favour and no mixture of 2.

Hi Angie

Food is great... no worry on the food.... Really value for money.

Hi groom2be

Think if your bridetobe is oki in the march-in... then everything shld be oki.... the reception is kind of small but cosier....

Hi Zoeanne

Miss U too.

Think our wedding favours look nicer... saw the wedding favours of Grand Hyatt & Mandarin Hotel...attend weddings recently... too common.

Oh dear... this is tough leh... my hubby prefer the card holder while I want bears....

hi del & jazz,

i've been to a few wedding banquets which hold guests at the reception area for cocktail reception prior to getting seated. was thinking with the small area then have to seat the guests as and when they arrive and not good to have cokctail reception right?

but i like the small and cozy changing room at the same floor, very convenient for brides/grooms to change outfit

Hi Jazzy

Yup. I saw Hilton one and really not nice. Just a bear in a purple box and bear look ugly :P
Hee Hee... I think ours are nicer.. at least its a pair of wedding bears which represent a wedding more..

Hi groom2b, i find the 10th floor one rather cosy and private. You got a changing room for Bride n groom. the washroom is on the same floor and just outside the main entrance which is rather convenient..
The reception area have a round sofa if I remember.. seem quite nice..
Overall i think it is cosy..
If not bcos of my budget, I would have choose the Banquet..on the 10th floor.

I'm looking for a place to have my dinner sometime end of next year. I'm thinking of M Hotel and so far, comments have been quite complimentary.

Any suggestions as to who I should contact should I intend to have a dinner there?

Any tips on bargaining? hehe

hi yen ee u can call 64216061 to look for fiona. as i mentioned earlier, bargaining is kindda hard coz the package is quite cheap and comprehensive liao. but u still can try la. maybe u find another fren who is also keen in booking m to go together. afterall 2 brides will definitely have higher bargaining power than 1 rite. all the best

Hi groom2be

Think the banquet suite is cosier... no worry abt the reception. Make sure that once the guests arrive in lots... just direct them to the banquet suite to be seated...

Logistic very important....U will need an overall coordinator to see and decide on the spot cos anything can happen.... make sure your recept is not too overcrowded...

I think the most important is that both of you loves the environment... for me, my hubby and I love the bridal suite which is one of the main reason that we chose M. Further to that, at the end of the day, I wanted a good nite stay in the room.

Hi Yen Ee

Either Anna or Fiona will do. They are quite nice... maybe U want to spend more time thinking on your negotiation instead... U must know your priority first on die die must have and those that can do without.... cos you may end up exchanging 1 item for the other.

I had been coming in frequently to check out this thread, though I'd not posted anything in here before. My husband and I are seriously considering holding our banquet there. Our initial decision was to take up the banquet suite... but are concerned that people will not know that M Hotel is a four-star. (Don't wanna lose out on 'ang pow'.. hahaha.. very ks). Hence our decision to go with the Zen package. I was informed by Fiona, tht the next wedding to be held in the function room, is on 24th Oct.. which is quite sometime from now. Has anyone of you seen the setup from the function room? I was told that there will be no problems fitting 30 tables in there?

now that regina has brought it up, i wonder any banquet suite brides has any gd methods to 'counter' the ang-pow prob? most pple might juz 'bao' very little, not knowing abt M hotel. but this is exactly what i like abt M hotel, niche and boutique feel.

i always tot that so long its a hotel, the min ppl will bao is 80 leh.

i was intending to top up for the ninth dish and also change of fish if necessary. now see first la

hi zoe/jazz,

thks for the advises.. yup agree that the 10th flr is cosier. my only worry is the small recept area. probably the best way is to allow guest entry earlier to avoid jamming the area.

we like the bridal suite too but don't think we have enough time to enjoy it if its just one night, esp after the tiring day, sure sleep like pig after end of banquet..

Hi Delmonte

Hmmm...not sure if this will work. Can try to send e-mail buzz (forwarding mails about M Hotel its publicity mails, or any promotion about its F&B restaurant) to all your friends but dun go telling everyone your wedding is at M hotel yet. Do it slowly... tell friends how nice the hotel is... esp the food. Been eating at the Buffet at level 2 of the M hotel a number of times. Food is superb.

Not everybody know what to bao cos my recent experience with a couple of friends send shocks to me that they pao $80 for a weekend wedding dinner in a 5 star hotel at Orchard Road. I was from this industry and luckily for my this newly wed friend, I told the rest at the table(close friends at the table) to bao more cos I know the rate my newly wedded friend pays more than $80 for per pax on weekend. Can you imagine... how shock I was when all these years... the ang pao amount never increased but prices per table keep increasing over the years....

Nowadays.... be glad if you incur a loss of less than $5K.

Hi Regina

Dun think you have to worry abt ang pao issue if you take the zen package at the function room. At most pple gives you $60 lah. But dun inviting too many relatives with little kids... you will lose out cos if family of 4 (2 adults & 2 kids)...at most they give you $200 for 4 pax... so you will still lose. But if you are prepared to lose that table... it's oki.
For me, I guess I expect to lose 3 tables. So better think once, twice and save for losses.

groom2be

As I stated earlier in my comments.... nego for more and prepare for wat terms to give up in exchange.... see some of the rest's comment on the strategy...

I dun wan to mention much what strategy etc..got a warning call from M hotel already last time when i state one of my perks... Ha ha.. therefore, now i more of reading the posting .. and post mine if necessary.

Like what jazzy said, think of what you really need and ask for it.. They are quite firm on the perks..I signed on the wedding show.. perhaps signing it on wedding show have better perks.

I also worry for this ang bao thing as some ppl do not know where is M hotel and those who know thought it is a 3 stars. Plus mine is one weekday.. even jialat..

Yup, i dun intend to invite more kids.. but cousins are inevitable la..

Hey Zoeanne,

You attended M hotel's wedding show? When was that held?
The part about inviting kids... I've always been under the impression that invitation will only be extended out to whoever names are printed on the cards? At least that was what my mum had told me... that if we should intend for them to take their kids along.. we can print something like "Mr So-and-So & Family" and if it's just printed as "Mr & Mrs xxx", then understood that no kids are allowed?? Haha... I'll prefer not to have too many children around. They'll get bored easily, run around too much, and create too much noise.

I dun remember when i at attend but i remembered was the last wedding show. August? something like this? Cannot remember sorry.

Ya, I also dun like too many kids around. unless own cousins and relatives are inevitable lor.. Ha hA..

I think you are right. If we put "family", thats mean include childen..

Hey Gals,
about ang pow issue, $80 will cover already what. Sorry, but I one of those who give that amount. But based even on our package at M, if pple give that, I already enough. not true meh? maybe I missed out something. Anyway, sometimes I feel that if couple want to go and book at expensive hotels, then it means they got the moolah and no need for me to cover their cost. Also not nice if they expect their guest to pay for the expensive dinner that they themselves chose right? My own thots lah, don't know if pple thinking i stingy pig. haha.
Anyway, I expecting that i will not make it lah. I throw wedding not to make profit anyway. Just hope don't cough out too much. some more i have sinking feeling that my mom taking a few tables' angpow so those will be dead loss already. sigh...

for me, though the pricing at m is cheap, i am prepared to have a loss of abt 10 tables coz give my mom 5 tables, and the rest are relatives from malaysia and 2 for the Zhu Jia Xi.

Hi Highness

There is no guarantee to breakeven... therefore U must be prepared the worst case scenario of incurring losses... That's y I save damn hard nowadays to make sure that in the event of losses ... I still have $$$ for honeymoon.... Real siong leh....

Hi Regina

Yup...it's true that U may write invitation card with Mr & Mrs..... but if it's your relatives. Then it maybe a different story... cos your close relatives may have kids and will choose to bring them but they will definitely ask your parents if they can... Just double check with parents if there are close relatives with kids or teenages(who may well be your cousins) and cos they are not working.... who paying the ang pao? Their parents of course....

not really lah highness, i juz prepare myself for the worse. i still gotta provide their accommodation leh. tat is another headache but will only find out more when date draws cloer. by right if u have more fren/colleague tables as compared to the relative tables, u shld be on safer side unless ur relative super duper rich then diff story.

Most likely you will lose abt few thousands so be prepare,
making a profit will depend on yr luck or actually yr relatives & friends......

One case is my brother's wedding, he got profit fr his wedding.
The reason was the sound system was spoilt fr the start of his wedding till
almost the end, he got a "Great Discount" fr the hotel.
Not @ M Hotel but other hotel @ orchard area.

Hi Girls

Yup, Jazzy is right... Mostly will lost one la. Must be prepared for such situation lor. Like relatives sure got cousins which are young, So i also dun expect them to give lor..

I also give around $80 regardless where is the place. If good friends, not even $80. I guess thats the average price. However, if i am going to some really expensive hotels,like fullterton etc.. I also will not give over $80 or maybe slightly more. Bcos like what Nicole said, they choose such expensive hotels, Its is also over my budget for my ang bao.. Hee Hee...

For M hotel, if every angbao is $80 , i think I am glad enough liao .. Ha ha...Cos many ppl think M hotel is 3 star, some even no heard b4 and worst mine is on Monday and everyone thought Monday is cheaper..

Saving is hard.. Me too..I can only wait till wedding dinner is over to discuss my honeymoon.. My flat renovation also costing another bomb..

By the way, my friend just went M hotel Banquet for dinner. She said the sound system is bad that day, the volume awhile loud, awhile soft.. So we have to be careful regardless is it in the banquet or function room...Food are nice except the shark fin.. the portion are very huge.. Seem can cater more than 10 person on each desk.. ( if happen all ladies, even more share)