M Hotel Singapore

Hi Zoeanne

No worries...really glad that U share with us. Pls dun let some unpleasant comment get to U...cos this is a discussion site meant for sharing. Hee...hee if things are not transparent, then consumers loogi. I guess most of us wanted to be savy shoppers not blind ones..

Heee....heee...;P

Hi Manuka

Think the U shaped march very short. But U can try using the instrumental version of some wedding songs cos makes it not so noticeable if the song got cut off halfway....alternatively, time your montage with the song and at the chorus, march in to complete the whole song.

Hi Jazzygal,

I happened to ask Diana upon signing the contract what category does M hotel belongs to and she told me that it is 4 star business dun know how true but overall from what we can see the hotel is definitely better than 3 stars like furama / concorde or mirama right

another one on the M-brides list..
me juz signed up too..
took d function room, luv d recpt area which this is a concern to us (been to a veri reputable hotel which we nearly signed up, d recpt area is veri veri tiny..)
mine will b Dec 05..

hi jazzygal,
thanks for ur suggestion dat's a good one..
d stairway might hv deco.. juz like wat u saw at d wedding fair (without the arch).. they r still brainstorming for the zen deco, n hopefully after 7th month will finalise.. no worries k.. ^.^

My wedding will be on Sept 05, a day after mooncake festival. Wonder if we could hang lanterns? I think it look so cuckoo...Hee Hee..
Hmm.. Zen Deco.. I wonder how it will look like. Better give me a nice one .. hahaha...

Seriously, i dun think M hotel look like a 3* hotel la. It look more like 4 star.. After the renovation, it indeed look much nicer...than the old one. A more corporate hotel, I usually put my corporate guest into this hotel and they provide me positive feedback in terms of services.

Yes I seriously vote M hotel as 4 **** instead of 3 as the price we paid is not cheap and frankly speaking i'm tat kind who will not take a 3 star hotel for my dinner banquet.

Hi Zoeanne,

So yrs will be a day after mooncake festival, mine is this year mooncake festival hee...hee... actually tot of giving mooncake for desert instead of the normal ones.

My actual Day is on mooncake fest. next yr and dinner is on the day after... Hee heee

Congrats to you.

I also tot of giving mooncakes too. Lets see how..
Hee hee

just wondering if anyone is also giving additional wedding favours to your guests?
M hotel only has either chocolates or keychains.

We chose chocolates cos at least ppl can eat them. A keychain might not be very useful. Recently I attended a wedding at the Oriental that have cute little teddy bears - find it quite interesting so thinking whether to do something special too.

Hi Mission

M hotel is coming up with 2 cute little bears sitting on a heart shape cushion..as wedding favours. ( I have not seen yet but was told by my coordinators)

You can check with them again .
( they mentioned its not out yet)

Try asking them.. You might be the 1st one who got it. They got their favours from "wedding Wishes", Tel: 63884102

I was told to go n collect my bears.

personally I don't like the bears leh......so I'm opting for the keychains

I had received favours like candles, shot glass, chocs, chopsticks, mini perfumes (don't smell good!) etc etc..

Hi Fate and Drew

Actually, whatever star category the hotels say they are in are not accredited. Meaning there are no associations to say which hotel is put under which star. However, surveyors do of course categorised them for some other purpose. I know cos I happen to be in the industry looking at 206 hotels at one shot.

Furama Hotel has undergone an extensive refurbishment in 2002...for its ballrooms and rooms, they have LED lightings in the ballroom which is very impressive at night. Not sure whether U have been there but it's very impressive now.

Of course there are clear distinction among the top end from the rest eg.Ritz Carlton and Carlton.

At the end of the day, it's how comfortable U r with the hotel, ambience and food. Prioritise which r those U die die muz hav.

That's true there's no accredition for hotels so why bother so much right? Did you sign up with them? Do you like M hotel? Are you comfortable?

Hi Jazzygal,

Yes, agreed with what u said actually heard from a friend who hv attended a wedding there recently that the ballroom had been refurnished and it looks good but I think the lobby and the rest of the hotel still looks old to me not forgetting that it is situated at Chinatown whereas M hotel is at business district but nevertheless it's really up to the individuals to decide what is good and worth for their own wedding and if one is not comfortable with it then suggest better to wait and source around until u find the one which you like most before sign on the dotted line then regret too late liao

sorry huh no offence to the furama brides and brides to be :p
this is just my personal views

Hi Fates

Is your AD on 2005? I heard from my coordinator they are changing their wedding favours. I personally like the Key chain too but they said they are changing all to another set of new ones

In case, you did not get the keychains, you can check with them again

Yup I agreed with Drew. Look at HIPV......this is a 4-star hotel right? But if you compare this to M.....it's STARS apart!

We choose a hotel based on the comfort level, and most important - $$$. So what it's within budget, 5-stars and we don't like this and that..........torturing isn't it?

Hi Zoeanne, Ya my AD on March'05 and oh they are changing all to the teddy bears huh?? Thanks for your reminder. When is your AD?

Hi Fates

I am not sure if all are changing to bears but they mentioned they will change and will not be the keychains.

My AD on 18 Sept, Dinner on 19 Sept 05

My Curiousity..hahaha is HIPV better than M or vice versa? To me, HIPV seem not bad too. My girlfriend holding her dinner there on 18 Sept 2005. Oneday earlier than me

M Hotel also seem nice to me after they renovated their lobby, rooms etc. I like the bridal suite especially. Very huge jacuzzi etc.
$$ is also another factor , Within our budget...

me went to the wedding fair too... i personnel like M-Hotel very much... AD will be ard end of DEC lor, but FH parents havent choose date yet...

quite like the food there, also the wine is alright, location fine too... Most imp is the bridal suite... it's like WOW!!!!

I won the Wedding Planner vourchers... hehe

Hi Shirlin!
i went to d wedding fair too.. o, i think i remember u as u mentioned u won d wedding planner voucher.. so lucky! congratulations! i won a bouquet of flowers, haha.. n they r dying.. ;P

so ur AD is end of next yr? me too! juz signed d contract on tues.. i took d function rm.. u?

Hi Mission,
I've asked M to change the wedding favours to chopsticks. But hor... I've not seen the chopsticks yet... Not sure how it look like

Hi Manuka

U r welcome!

By the way, sign up with M hotel already. Manage to get a friend to help me with the floral decor along the stairway.

Still waitin for the zen promo to be out. Wonder how long they will take to finalise...did not even see the weddin favours as yet.

Let me know if you gals need floral decor...can pass U gals the contact.

Hi Manuka,

Sounds like M Hotel has quite a few choices for wedding favours now. Shall ask the wedding coordinator soon. We haven't met Anna yet after we signed the contract.

My coordinator just call me in half an hour ago and I ask her about the wedding favours
She said WEDDING WISHES will go down today to see them. They will decide and email me the pics once available..

If i have them, I share with all of you..( After i receive her emails la)

Hi Angel78
Are u holding ur dinner at the Function room. If no, then I think no need flowers or Deco at stairway. The banquet suite is very personalised and nice alreadt.

I also did ask my coordinator regarding the deco on stairway. She said cannot confirm yet. MIne is at the function room.

Hi Zoeanne,
Yup, mine is at the function room. So thinking of beautifying the stairway. U know if M Hotel has plans to deco it?

Hi angel

No I am not sure if they would do it. I will ask my coordinator again. They said its is not confirm By the way, who is your coordinator?

I went to the wedding faor on 7th August, I saw them beautify the stairway and presume they will do it. Hopefully, they will

Sigh...

hi jazzygal,
glad dat u've made up ur mind n signed with M.. did u manage to get ur perks then?

Hi angel78,
they r still working out on the zen deco.. hope the staircase will be decorated too (like during the wedding show probably).. haha.. think if we make some noise probably they will..
u've booked the function room during the wedding show? when's ur AD? ^.^

Hi Angel78

Pls make some noise cos so far as long as no one say anything...they thought U r oki with an undecorated staircase...

When is your Actual date? Mine in Oct next yr too.

Hello Highness and Zoeanne

The wedding on 4 Aug did not have decorated staircase at all. Ask the coordinator that day... but they said that the decor during the wedding fair is put up by their sponsor...so if we want that kind of decor...have to get our own florist.

hello!
think we MUZ make some noise to them.. heehee.. shd give us wat we saw at the wedding fair mah.. rite.. if not, like not deliver to us of wat we saw.. think at least they'll deco along the staircase but mayb not the arch at the recpt area as dat's sponsor by their florist..
Hmm.. actually i find the bridal suite a bit small leh.. other hotels' seem bigger, cos it's like seperate into 2 rooms mah.. 1 living room, 1 bedroom.. but M's is an open concept.. no seperation.. but think it's ok lah.. as long my ah yees n brothers dun come n "nao dong fang" after dinner can liao.. heehee, tell them no space for them..
so after settle the banquet, wat shd we do? Zoeanne's @ Sept 05, jazzygal n angel78 @ Oct 05.. mine's Dec 05.. anymore '05 M-brides?
^.^

Hi..
there r 3 families having their food tasting at the function rooms on tues when we went to sign the contract..
R u all at SBO? howz the food tasting? serving big? hows d sea bass? we r thinking of upgrade the pacific clam to baby abalone.. ^.^

Sorry. WHat is SBO? Oki...as far as I gather from my coordinator....decor of the staircase can be done. But the color of the organza for the staircase is gold sash...U know those that use for our wedding VIP tables? Since they have not finalise the details of wedding next year...can try to give our wish list to see the decor along the staircase be done. Wld prefer ivory as looks grander and match the reception table which are cherry wood.

Other than that, the flowers we can get from florist to add on. Have upgraded mine to Abalone since most of my relatives dun take Pacific Clams...

Oh yes...let's try to ask them to do a skirting for the recept table...very plain without the skirting...

I did not think about the food yet until my food tasting. As for the stairway, my coordinator said not decide yet. I certainly will make noise if they dun. They should have at least put some deco on the stairway and also @ the reception. Cannot be that plain..

Ya. they should at least deliver what we saw on the 7th Aug wedding fair. Kind of cheated if just plain ..

Hi Jazzyfal
How much do you upgrade the clam to abalone? I was told it is a $50 more.

hi gals..
SBO is Singapore Brides Online..
o yah.. skirting for the recpt table oso.. muz note it down.. wat else,wat else? haha.. a bit over gan cheong hor.. still so far to our day..

upgrade to baby abalone is $20 more /table.. it's the one we ate at the wedding show loh..sea bass to garoupa is $30/table..

think the muslim food is not certified, juz no-pork-no-lard type.. if i din remember wrong.. can check with ur coordinator again..

tot d function room max is 34 tables(32+2)? 2 reserve tables will be at corner, view might b block.. put ppl u dun like there loh.. heehee..

Hi highness,

I'm new there & I hv sign up w M Hotel(Function Room). My coordinator hv told me tat if I upgrade the sea bass to garoupa is $40-50 & soon hock will b $30-40. Btw I'm 2005 M-brides too.

hi Highness

Thanks. I will talk to my coordinator again. She is quoting me too high for the baby abalone at $50/table.
Thanks for your information

Hi Lynn
Its glad to have another M bride here

Hi Zoeanne,

So there will b some deco on the stairway & also the reception? My coordintor didnt told me tat. Btw who's yr coordintor? My is Diana, very nice person.

Hi Angela

Dun think it's halal certified cos so long as hotel provide liquor...not certified but they have Indian chef to cook no pork no lard. : )

haha.. so i'm not wrong abt the $20/table for upgrade to baby abalone? though i short term memory liao.. the contract juz mailed to my FH, haven't take a look ar.. so dunno it's correct anot..

Zoeanne, mayb she quoted u the normal big abalone rather then baby abalone.. big one more ex.. n think they usually dun hv.. i think i ask abt the big one, it's abt 50 bucks too, but bo hua lah.. it's slice while baby abalone is 1 pax 1 pc rite(like at wedding show)?

o, the fish so ex ar?! den pending first.. wait till nearer to date if we strike toto den upgrade.. haha..
anyway, fish is fish lor.. i can't tell d different oso..

Hi Lynn, welcome here!
so when's ur big day?
haha.. am i the last one in year 2005?
mine in 23rd Dec 05.
the function room zen deco not finalise yet.. wait patiencely hor.. we HOPE to have deco along stairway n recpt table oso.. heehee.. pray hard..
^.^