M Hotel Singapore

drew_drew

Hi Manuka,

No, i'm not the one who signed up with Ninetro9en.

Not to worry abt the cards cos I almost forgotten abt it but Diana reminded me thru e-mail to collect the cards 2 months b4 AD. If you're going to engage TDragon (recommended printer by M hotel) for your insert printing then you wld not hv to collect the cards yrself just leave it to them to collect from Diana and you'll save the trip down too

manuka

Hi Drew,

Hehe... Tot u signed up with Ninetrogen

Hmm... by the way, how much is TDragon charging to print the invitation cards? Hehe... need to prepare the $$$. :p

fates

MTDT ~ I can't login to 'that' website again! sigh

I just received the M hotel contract. She didn't give me when I paid the deposit few months ago. Is there anything we should look out for in the contract?

Vio going for the wedding fair this Sat?

violyn

Hi Fates,

Yes I'm gg this sun.

MTDT,

What extra perks/freedies did u manage to get from Diana? Extra day stay, beer, etc...

Drew,

I'm also a 'Tiong Bahru' gal... New hse will be at Jalan Membina. Where's urs?

drew_drew

Hi Manuka,

I've paid TDragon total $169 for printing the inserts (160 cards) but as for the gold string i brought it from them and tie myself. If u want them to tie for u it will be s$0.17 per card. The printing is quite fast too abt 10 days so no worries and the staffs there are very friendly.

Hi Vio,

I've purchase my new flat thru balloting in late 2002 and my FH has shifted in since last year May at Jalan Membina BLK 118C (5 mins to my mum's place) how abt you, where is your new love nest ?

mtdt

Perks - maybe u can read the past posting...
we mention quite a few items.

printing - have not do any homework on them yet... but heard that Tdragon quite expensive...

Fates - I cannot go in too...
Sianz...

violyn

Hey Drew!!!

We'll be neighbours!!! Ur hse is next to my new hse in 2006/07!!! They are digging there now, next to the primary sch which is completing by this yr end. Just selected by replacement flat on tues. Got the top most floor facing the sch.

I'm currently staying at Bt Merah, ur mom stay where? I'll be mins away from my mom also haha...

Ask u huh, what extra perks u get from M hotel? I'm gg to the show this sun. Who is ur coordinator? Gd or not huh?

drew_drew

Hi Vio,

Yr new hse is under the relocation scheme is it and u got it thru balloting ? I was thinking although it is good to stay in our area but hor next time how to sell at good price cos our buying price is already at around S$350,000 how much is yours ? My mum is staying in front of the primary school lor the red and white color one oppsite tiong bahru plaza.

My co-ordinator is Diana. She is ok lar but i think she sometimes pull a long face one like the other time when i went to the hotel to take photos for my PS she like not very happy lei or i'm too sensitive. I managed to ask for extra car passes / invitation cards / free food tasting for 6 persons instead of 5 and 1 day room for helpers i guess there's all

violyn

Hi Drew,

Mine cost $340,000. I bought a SERS unit at taman ho swee liao (1rm) now waiting for the new flat to complete building lor. Its just behind ur mom hse, next to the sch. Dun think bout selling so far away lor... I like our area cos near to town easy access, use to it liao.

Can neg, for 2 days bridal suite or not huh? Extra barrel of beer, etc? Are they flexible?

highness

hello!
anyone knows what will be the extra perks they will throw in in the wedding fair? it's a sitdown or buffet dinner?
Hi MTDT,
how u find d service at santiago? how many months in advance before the AD go for the first appt? wat's the package u took?

mtdt

Hi highness,

U going for the wedding show huh?
No idea what is the perks this year....

Think for the dinner show, it will be a sitdown dinner.

Santiago - so far so good... Love my WG, and MTM EG. SIA is my designer and MUA... v patient guy.
Mine first appt was in June. u considering them too?

drew_drew

Hi Vio,

I've tried to negotiate for 2 days stay for the suite but Diana refused cos i think they hv limited suites so they are quite particular abt it unless you hv more tables or you pay for the most expensive menu (i think got few different price range) as for me, when i sign last year there was only 1 fixed price menu at S$588+++ (for weekday) at the banquet suite (10 level) and mine is having free flow of beer.

Yes, you are right. My FH ask me how much we can sell in 5 years time since the price is that high and ppl can buy EC with it but i told him i rather dun sell and will prefer to stay there forever cos near my mum and it's in the central and can shop shop at the plaza everday

highness

Hi MTDT,
me signed up with santiago liao.. is designer n MUA d same person? tot there's another Candy? but my AD @ Dec 05, so i no hurry.. heard artwork for album is not inclusive in package.. reali?

haven't sign with M-hotel.. goin to d wedding show tomolo.. ^.^

mtdt

yup...
heard there is a Candy too..

not sure if MUA & Designer will be the same person or not... did they tell u when u sign up?

Artwork? - am not too sure abt this leh...
have not take my PS yet, so din discuss this..
Why dun u go to the Santiago thread and ask...
there would be more answer there..

mtdt

hey, Chin Leng just called and confirm my 2 free tickets to M Hotel Fair.

So I am going liao..

Who else huh? highness rite...

highness

Yes, yes! me goin too..
haha.. hopefully they are throwing a lot of perks..;P
me actually have not go to M-hotel before.. first time leh..
nvr went to any wedding fair oso.. gee, so excited n looking forward to.. ^.^

highness

Hi Zoeanne!
wow.. u signed up on d spot ar.. me haven't, gotta discuss with parents first..

did u get any extra perks beside d bears? how u find d menu? think we might need to upgrade the menu..my MIL prefer abalone to pacific clam..

but d deco will change n they hv not finalise on dat.. u not worry?

jazzygal

Hi Zoeanne

Did U manage to push for more perks today other than those stated in the package?

I attended the dinner earlier on....food is good and won a membership package.... : )

Hi Highness

I did an upgrade at $20nett more per table... U may wanna try asking... also try to get them to customise your menu at the same price...otherwise U will have a lot of standardised food. Happy negotiating! : )

mtdt

Hi, was quite disappointed with the wedding fair yesterday... not tat impressive. None of the gowns display give me a impressive, the decor and package at M this year is not great too...

but for me, I am just trying to refresh my memory of the ballroom and start to think abt my AD's decor.. :p

Jazzygal - r u the fal who won the Haach's membership? Wow, good huh!!!
So u also sign up for the function room package? Wat did u change in the menu with the $20 per table?

jazzygal

Hi MTDT

Yup...went there with the expectation that new stuffs for the wedding package 2005 such as wedding flavours, zen decor, etc. In the end, nothing was ready as yet. My friends and I were disappointed as it definitely defeats the purpose for having a wedding fair. Understand that you need to showcase the sponsors' pdts but at the end of the day, people come cos of the hotel. So more effort should have gone into showcasing what the hotel has to offer esp. what they will be offering next year. Or even better showcase what they had over the years to make it more impressive and worthwhile to attend.

Yup...I got the Haach's membership... am in the midst of finalising the details... I upgraded the Pacific Clam to Abalone.

What about you? U sign up for the Function room or Banquite Suite Package?

highness

Hi Jazzygal!
Congrats on winning the membership! very luck ar..^.^
we r upgrading to abalone oso.. can customise menu? reali? gee.. i gotta try den.. ;P

When's ur AD?
we r oso a bit disappointed with no actual zen deco to view..
so u changed ur coordinator?
hee.. Anna preparing for her wedding lah.. a bit unfocus.. think when she's back will be better..

mtdt

Mine AD is at the ballroom in Dec 04.
Signed up during last year wedding show..

that time, they are more prepared.. at least the function is fully setup, and have more to offer... like 2nd nite stay, etc etc...

Even the supplier dun seems to be well prepared... was asking the florist on extra decor... but he have no pics, no rates particular for M Hotel (pics only for other venues). ask me to contact him another day!? then wat for be there?

Anyway, when is your AD? Wanna update the M hotel brides list? :p

zoeanne27

Hi.
I did sign up on the spot but with some research b4 I went down. I check upon several hotels. Consider a weekday for me ( monday), M Hotel has the best price afterall.

I manage to push for some perks , such as 2 night stay for Bridal Suite, 10 ppl food tasting , 1 night deluxe room stay instead of just Day room for coordinators , 25% car complimentary etc and the bears..Of course the package came with free flow of beers..

We booked the Function Rooms as Banquet suite was taken up and also we have only about 20 tables.
Therefore, it seem a good pacakge for us.

For Food, i did not ask for upgrade. Infact, i do not even know i can do it .. haha.. Will discuss with Fiona when food tasting.. I had some recommendations from my friends, the food are delicious. Therefore, i did not worry about this.

About the deco, I was told to have several type of flowers for selection. Therefore, not so worry...

Any tips or advice? I am quite blur too..Hee hee..
Always asking around for ...

jazzygal

Hi Zoeanne

Hmmm.... I think I'm short changed then... cos Anna did not give me overnight stay for deluxe room stay, not even 10 ppl food tasting... cos she keep on saying that my table no. is low.... I got a minimum of 20 tables.

My hubby-to-be was not very impressed considering the fact that we do an upgrade...haven sign the dotted line yet cos still considering another hotel.

Went to the 4 Aug Wedding to see see and look look.... found the set up too plain.... stairway no decor, reception no decor... sorry but am very particular when it comes to event cos I personally run conferences set up and did the event planning for my company dinner and dance so not up to my standard.

I was telling my hubby that there must be some form of decor even if I were to personally do that up myself.... he was so horrified that he kept on saying need to consider the venue carefully... am kind of impatient when comes to set up.

jazzygal

Hi Highness

My AD is still pending either sep 30 or Oct. Nope...did not change my coordinator. Dun think can.

Extremely disappointed with the wedding fair...There are more than 200 hotels in the industry....gazetted and non gazetted, of which about 103 are Singapore Hotel Association Member Hotels.... How to compete with competitors...huh?
No doubt that the price is extremely attractive but more thoughts should be given...

One of the reasons I came to this hotel the 1st place was becos of the then GM of this hotel. My colleagues and I met up with Mr Ng then and he left quite an impression. The service was good and based on our D&D event, there was not a single complaint from staff then.

Another plus point of the hotel is the Bridal Suite which gives you an ambience that is of a 5-star feel. No doubt I have high expectation of this hotel...basically becos it happen to be one of my past projects...

highness

o jazzygal,

u reali sound extremely disappointed.. cheer up! u r planning ur big day, n suppose to b fun n excited..

actually i feel as a bride to be, we r giving pressure to ourselves subconsiously.. i mean, it's our big day, of course we wanted it to be memorable n perfect! we want our guests enjoy throughout the dinner, the food, service, ambience are well complimented, including our gowns, wedding album etc. but there's surely something for someone to comment on.. haha, at least i know my relatives will. they can even complaint about the sitting arrangement, on the spot!

dun get so upset.. things might turn up better! there's still time to plan/nego n for changes.. relax ok..(gee.. u can go to Haach for a relaxing session ;P)
I'm those gan cheong type.. my worry is dat ppl will thought this is oni a 3* hotel den my ang pow will be shortchange! ;P

zoeanne27

Hi Highness and jazzygal

I personally run events in my company for company dinner and conference events too.
Look like we hold the same type of job.

Yes, I admit that the deco may not be so nice. In fact, I am more concern about the price factor. Cos we really cannot afford more.Such cheap price, I can only get it in restaurants... Not Hotel...

Such a cheap price for each table, I really dun expect much. Beside Fiona throw in all perks i ask for. I can say i am quite satisfied. My good friend went with me, said that I had almost got all perks for a 5* hotel. Hers at Marriot only get about the same as me and only promised her these perks with at least 40tables.

A simple setup for me is enough. N I trust my coordinator, Fiona for new upcomig nice deco.I like the Bridal suite very much. Ha Ha esepcialy the Jacuzzi, the bose system and the 42inch TV. We have 2 nights there. Thinking if we can really enjoy the room.

For the ang bao.. I am also worry. Therefore got to be very selective in guests invitation...

jazzygal

Hi Zoeanne

May I check with you if you have already sign the contract already with all the perks stated? Cos the thing is when I tried to push for the overnight use of the deluxe room, I was told to give up other perks like the 2nd night stay in the Bridal Suite.

In the end, seem nowhere near the initial perks given.

Hi Highness

Very sian now...I have to worry about the set up cos my colleagues are industry members so definitely a certain expectation is there. Hubby side a problem too...cos his relatives are quite rich...at least the minimum I can do is to make them feel the ambience there.

drew_drew

Hi Jazzygal,

Since you're worried abt the decor/set-up, i believed u are referring to the function room right then why dun u take the banquet suite instead cos the decor is grand and u dun hv to worry abt the stairway and reception decor anymore or unless the date u want has been taken up ? pandon my kapohness it's just my suggestion cos i understand the fustrations brides to be are facing

Hi Zoenne,

I can say that the perks u get are very good unlike mine.I tried to get 2nd night stay for bridal suite but can't and only managed to get free food tasting for 6 persons only instead of 10. Who is yr co-ordinator ? I tot Diana is the most senior there (my co-ordinator) but i still can't get as good as yrs so i think it doesnt help to hv a manager as a co-ordinator afterall
Have u signed up already and when is yr wedding ?

jazzygal

Hi Drew

The Banquet Suite has 4 thick pillars of which 2 are thickest. The aisle is to be U-shaped march-in... So either the banquet suite or function room...there's the pros and cons.

Yup...I think the perks that Zoeanne got is the best compared to mine...Am in the same situation as yours Drew... got a manager as coordinator and end up the perks are not that great. Thought the higher position they are, there are more leeways to make...

Sometimes come to think of it, it's better off to hold honeymoon wedding instead. Dun have to go through so much trouble.

There are somethings which I hate when the ccordinators say "For the price you are getting, the perks you are getting are good". No doubt that is the case, if we look at the menu, it's quite common and further to that I am willing to top up but at the end of the day, the perks are still the same. Die die they refused to budge.

It's like other neighbouring countries offering a lower price for LASIK than our country. So does that mean that at a lower price, we have to compromise on the quality?

If price is a factor, then Furama is offering at a price lower than M hotel...so I dun think M hotel offers the lowest price loh. At the end of day, I hate it when its staff use price as the main reason.

Sorry...so much for my grumble..think I can be a difficult when it comes to details...

highness

o jazzygal..
dat's a veri tough decision to make..
d deco will be one of ur main concern due to ur colleagues n relatives.. (me too, got frd comment dat high ceiling den grand. but i think low ceiling more cosy, den she said: u wan cosy might as well hold it at ur home, y hold a dinner at hotel?!)
i believe the room can be improve by deco a bit here n there without spending too much.. beside, d new zen deco not finalise yet, which i think after the 7th month shd b ready liao.. mayb they will b using d 7th month to do a brainstorming on the deco..
but think not to worry, they r expanding the banquet sale department, got 2 veri experience head to bring out the image of M-hotel..
M-hotel consider new as it's oni 2-3yrs old. i think they r trying to shake off d old image of the harbour daichi hotel.. thus they having the function room promotion.. more ppl holding their wedding there, more ppl know abt M-hotel. dat's their way to bring awareness to public.. (like the old promotion of ocean room of Pan Pac) they want more ppl to know M-hotel, of cos muz let ppl see d nice nice side of it mah.. ^.^

i myself will b changing d deco oso.. but mine still a long way to go (Dec 05).. haven't think of anything yet.. dun reali like flowers, cos a bit sensitive to flowers oso.. wonder wat else can b use to replace flowers..

magloo

Jazzygal
U seem very upset..why dont u go for other hotels then?cant believe u can compare Furama with M hotel..Dont u know they are a 3 star?

manuka

Wow... so much has happen after the bridal fair

Hi Zoeanne,

I signed up my package with M last year. I tried to ask for 2nd nite stay but was reject. Very firmly rejected. Wonder how u managed to get a 2nd nite stay with so much perks? There is no free food tasting too. Maybe should 'negotiate' with M again.

Hi Jazzygal,
Mine will be at the banquet suite. think u need not worry abt the pillars. Cos I don't think the pillars are blocking anything. It does not block the stage nor the walk way... I guess the banquet suite is so so much better compared to other hotels with 'real' pillars. For the U shaped march in, I find it rather special.. Lastly, i think all of us are soooo impressed by the bridal suite with the jacuzzi right? I think at the end of the day, whats most important is you both enjoy yourself (and in the jacuzzi :p)

zoeanne27

Hi Girls

I dun mean to post my perks to cause unhappiness. If i know, I shd not have said that. Sorry. I do not know why i got those perks too andI am quite satisfied and happy with it.If i know others do not have such the perks, I would not have post it to caused unhappiness. I thought it is an average deal for all. Sorry for all that.

I am just sharing with others, hoping those who have not booked to have negotiate for the best deal they can. I did not know any manager there. I just called up several times to ask about the pacakge. Infact, they are the one who call me up to see the wedding fair. Maybe they got a poor sale that day?

Hi Drew,
Yes, I signed up with them for the perks all stated in.

Hi Jazzygal
Yes price is a factor, I checked with Furama. Their prices are lower but the perks are no good and they seem not interested in talking to me. Therefore in the end, i sign up with M-hotel.

drew_drew

Hi Jazzygal,

yr co-ordinator is Diana too ? Hv you sign for the packages already, if not, then i think u can bring up to her that look here why did other co-ordinator can offer "better" perks but not u as a manager? If she really dun compromise then it will be a loss to her lor. Cannot believed it that she actually said "for the price you'll getting, the perks you'll getting are good" as if if the package they offer is damn cheap ???!!

I agreed with highness too, the pillar doesnt really block the view as it is right behind of the room and I was really impressed with the decor when i first saw it. In fact, my family and in-law all commented that it looks grand. The u shape march-in is unique too.

Hi Magloo,

I think Zoeanne did the right thing by telling others what she get likewise for us too. For those who hv not sign up for the package, they can take note of it and request from their co-ordinators. I don't see anything wrong with it. Althought for me, i will feel a bit uncomfortable why i didnt get as good deal as Zoeanne but lastly, this is a thread where we can go to for advise and info and not keep things only to ourselves.

drew_drew

Hi Zoeanne,

Don't worry abt it, i think u did the right thing by telling us what u get. This is a thread for brides to be to share every info we had

zoeanne27

Hello girls

I forget..

For M-hotel Function room package, it is quite good with all the perks stated in there. Free flow of beer, food tasting etc.. it all in there already. All I did is ask and bargain for better perks.

What they mentioned is that, provided "I have to sign up today" at the wedding fair to get the 2nd night for the bridal suite.

Kind of a threat, but since i already prepared to sign up with them sooner or later, Its a great chance for me to bargain.
Look like they are out to sell their function rooms away. No such good perks are Banquet suites which i ask them when i was there.. Somemore, mine is on a weekday night. Thats why...

Truthfully, I am rather guilty of stating my perks.

zoeanne27

Hi Drew

Thanks.You make me feel better
haha

True, for those who did not sign up yet. U can negotiate with them again for the best you can

Cheers for all ...

mission

wah, there's so much posting after national day hols. actually, I feel it's ok for Zoeanne to "publish" the perks she got. I agree that it looks as if the perks for function room are better than banquet. Perhaps the takeup rate for function room is low, so M Hotel is throwing in more perks to attract folks.

manuka

Harlow M Brides,

Anyone know how long will we take for us to 'complete' the U-shaped march in and to the stage? Hehe.. trying to find a suitable march in song..

manuka

Yup Zoeanne,
Hmm.. so so envy u've got the 2 nite stay
Maybe I should 'act blur' ask Diana for another night stay. Kekeke... think she said something like top up $$ (can't remember the price, think its $350 or something) for additional nite stay in the suite...

fates

Hi girls! This thread is coming 'alive'! Yay!

Zoeanne ~ thanks for sharing! Actually my perks is not as good as yours but no point comparing cos' mine is the Banquet suite. It's human nature to compare right so don't feel bad ok.

That's why I say.......signing up at wedding fair is a good thing. They'll throw in more things for you.

jazzygal

Hi Ms

The thing is M hotel happen to be a 3-star trying to go to 4-star category.

Furama happen to do an extensive refurbishment...so the ballroom a lot of improvement than in the past with high ceiling. Not sure of the food though cos M hotel so far seem better.