M Hotel Singapore

Hi Lnny,

Me booked the 2nd floor too! Heehee!
Really love the big reception area, can get a music group to perform during reception.
Will be real romantic man!

So when are you having your wedding?

Hi Wy,

since u got so many table, y don u consider Merchant Court. My good frens just had their weddin thr on Sun & I like it v much. It was actually my 1st choice but I don have enough tab (min 35). I like e service & food servicing was a lot. The ambience was good with no pillar & high ceiling. Most import, cheaper that M hotel. Only abt $620+++ for weekend. Or grand plz? They same price w M. Oops! I seem to be in e wrong forum. Hey I m a M hotel bride rite! Hee hee no lah, just to share some view.

Hi Dec bride!

long time no chat. Me was on leave y.day cos was busy w my frens weddin where they seperate into 2 days. Church & tea cerenomy on Sat & dinner & Sun. I had lots of fun & w 2 more close frens wedding to attend this yr, e wedding mood is really in e air. Lookin forward to my own weddin but seem a long wait & I haven made any progress aft bookin M hotel.

Hi Wy,

Yes. I second Merchant court as well.

I wanted to book Merchant, but when I tried to book it one year before my wedding. They are already booked up for almost the whole of Dec.

Hi blackmonster,

yes. Long time no chat!

Have you booked your wedding package already?
Hey, you still have 9-10 months to go. Should be alright. Still have time. Must hurry.

My house is almost done, left some decorating stuffs to buy. Reno done and furnitures are in already. Now very busy shopping. Went to Ikea 3 times last 3 weeks. So broke!
By end of this month, should be all done already.
My contractor coming to help me drill holes and put up my store room together with all the mirrors, toilet accessories, curtain rods, etc.

I'm going to see my gown tomorrow. So nervous. Sep taking my photos already. Before I know it, time passed so quickly now it's sep! (still have not lost weight though :-P)

I'm blabbering already.

Email me when you have time.
How 's work?

Hi blackmonster and decbride,

if M Hotel staffs are very inflexible and strict i tell you Merchant Court is worst!!! My 1st choice was Merchant Court thou their package might seems cheaper den M Hotel but got alot of hidden costs!!! Seat cover got to pay $2 per chair if you want them.

Only 20L of beer offered! watever you want to exchange for extra beer oso cannot!! want extra wedding cards cannot! tell you all huh, i nvr see so tao sales ppl before! maybe after comparision M Hotel staffs are so much better and the package is so comprehensive! but too bad ballroom too small liao! :P

Hi Berlinelee,

My weddin dinner is in Nov 2002, and my coordinator is Marilyn. That was what I thought too. We can also put up fotos at the reception area... where all the windows are... Went to so many hotels and finally settled with M Hotel really lift up a stone in my heart. I was quite disappointed with the exterior but when I walked into the hotel from the lift, I was amazed.... and I knew that this is the one... I have a budget so can't spend too much. However, my FH and I like this place so much that we are willing to pay another $100 more for one table. I just hope that on the actual day, it will be smooth sailing...

Lnny

Hi Wy,
my frens manage to lower e chair cover to $1/chair. But MC realy got several hidden cost. My frens paid abt $15/bot for corkage charge aft the 12th bot and couple of hundred for xtra barrel of beer (which I think a bit unfair cos how to drink only 1 barrel of beer & 12 bot of wine when their min tab is 35). Also thou e ctt states 1 nite free stay 4 their 1st anniversay & may take up on any date or even use to extend their stay aft e dinner. But when my frens wanted to extend, they say it's only applicable for 2 deluxe room or 1 suite. I.E. since they used a suite for they weddin day, they have no more extra nite anymr! Which we tot who will wan stay a normal rm for their weddin day jus to get an extra nite for their anniversary. But overall, I gotta say that e service & ambience was good. If I had enough tab I wil chose MC than MH.

I same same view w Lnny. Like M on my 1st visit. Thus, M is e 1st, last & only hotel I visit & confirmed w them. Thou they r inflexibe but I tot their package was quite comprehensiv w chair cover, unlimited beer & corkage fee, impresv suite & great changing room on e ballrm level. Furthermore I also don have much choice w less than 30tab, thou I tot they r quite exp.

Hi DecBride,
u sound v busy. Better take care cos u gonna b a bride soon, gotta look good for ur photos also. I hasnt confirm my bridal yet. Stil e same excuse no time & too lazy to hunt cos once u walk in enquire, all bridal sales talk will take min 2hrs & v diff to walk out. M quite certain w WhiteLink cos I recomend my fren to them & she jus finish her photoshoot & was pleased w their service til now.
Regardin my work, I'll drop u an email later.

Hi Black monster,

Better go and book first. It takes them about 2 months for MTM gowns and 3 months after for the photoshoot. So that's a 5 months min lead time.

Since you are quite set of WL, might as well just go for it.

After that, I think there isn't much left.
Guest list, MC, favours, flowers, etc. Need to come up with a task list so tat you don't miss anything out.

Must take care of yourself Ok?

Hi :
we had our wedding at m hotel 10th floor ballroom. Our opinion is as follows:
a. Deco looks good. the ambience is cosy
b. Table arrangement was fine. We had 32 tables. It's still quite spacious and its good that they limit to 32-33 tables to ensure that all guests have comfortable space.
c. The co-ordination was ok.No major foul-ups
d. The suite was beautiful.
e. Service is good.
f. Food (like any other hotel) is normal.
g. Carpark - small issue lar
h. Flower arrangemnent - ours was nice (we requested)
i. Give yourself plenty of time to prepare, get your guests come on time. Make sure you fill up the table as empty tables makes the place looks cold.
Overall we like our wedding at m hotel

oh in addition to it:
j. Free flow of bear
k. No corkage for wine and spirits
l. Free seat cover
m. Free 2 bottles of wine in the room and champagne
n. Free usage of overhead projector
o. The background music they play during the dinner is nice too (one thing to note: pls check your first dish presentation music - it may be by KITARO if u follow the standard-(we were awed)!!

hi happy couple, what kind of flower arrangement did you request for? I think the other time the coordinator mentioned that we can only choose roses/geranium/orchids...can we choose others?

You can now view M Hotel Singapore banquet suite, function room and executive suite in a 360° virtual tour. Information on wedding packages and floor plans are available too. All these information can now be found at,

<CENTER>M Hotel Singapore</CENTER>

Hi all, i am new to this forum. we went to c the hotel last week and are impression with the ambience. we like both the banquet as well as the function room &amp; thot of booking the function room as the price is cheaper. Any good comments on the function room? How is the sound systems in the function room?
Understand that free day room can be provided if needed, might be useful for those intending to book.

I have collected my wedding cards today to send for printing. Just to find out... have anyone of you here decided on the wedding cards?

I have chosen the oriental design but somehow find it quite different from the ones my co-or sent to me through email. If I am not wrong, the one I view on in my mail has a varnish on the emboss, but the ones I collected does not have it so it looks a bit dull....

Just want to find out if anyone chosen the oriental / western cards, cos check out with my co-or, she said that the hotel has never design cards with varnish on the emboss....

lnny

Hi lnny,

I did ask for them to send me sample cards, the embossed part is not very shinny, just that it's a bit smooth. So, not sure whether that is what you meant.

just wondering whether the price quoted by M Hotel of S$660 for weekend packages includes government tax of 10% and GST of 5% (for 2003)? Some hotels quote on a net basis! If it is before all these taxes, actual price would be S$765.6 per table.

Hi Lynny &amp; decbride,

We have sent the cards for printing so din't really remember how the embossed part looked like. If i'm not wrong, its not shinny loh. Just plain simple cards.

oic... what happen is that... the sample cards that I saw at the printing company has an a varnish so its a bit shiny... just want to check that M hotel didn't give us the wrong cards.
One more thing to update, strings are not given. According to the thread under Wedding Cards, someone recommended a printing shop at Ang Mo Kio. They give free strings and will do the tying for customers. All of you may want to check it out too....

Lnny

Some info for those who requires vegetarian menu.

CHINESE VEGETARIAN SET DINNER MENU
(9-COURSE)
Cold Dish Combination
(Spring Roll, Wu Xiang, Roast Duck and Pork Coin)
Szechuan Vegetable Soup
Lemon Duck
Deep-fried Fish with Sweet and Sour Sauce
Wok-fried Prawns with Cashew Nuts
Steamed Beancurd with Chilli Soya Sauce
Braised Vegetables with Fungus
Braised Ee-Fu Noodles with Mushroom
Fresh Fruit Platter

price as per package.

I'm new here...Need some feedback about the food quality &amp; servuce in MHotel. The ambience's good but dunno much about the rest since most of my frens have yet to try any thing there...

Thot of holding my wedding @ the M Hotel @ 79 Anson Rd.....dunno how's the food or ambience there? any comments

Hi Joyce,

I have booked M Hotel for my wedding for Sept 2003. Overall I liked the decor of the
ballrom and hotel style. But I have not gone for
food tasting yet so I cannot comment on the food.

Just want to share that I will be having my wedding at M Hotel on 24 Nov 2002. Hmmm so far another of my colleague did hers there in Sept'02 and they said that the portions are v big and the svc is good.

I don't think I would be going for my food tasting cuz all on weekdays (good months ahead now) and I got to pay 50% of the cost of a table...

My coordinator is Diana (Asst Manager). She's v good!! Very professional and v flexible. Added free corkage for us and in addition, we also have free flow of beer so it's like almost no hidden costs.

hi faye,

did you remember what is the ratio for the staff to per table?

Before I signed the contract, they told me it's 2 staff to 3 tables. Now just couple of months before my big day, they told me that it's 1 staff to 2 tables. I'm so worried and dunno what I should do. I do have the right to hold them to their promises right?

Hi Ah Wee,

Free corkage is part of the package.
In will not second your opinion about their flexibility. So far, they have not been flexible for most items except the no. of invitation cards. The rest, they would not budge on any changes.

Agree that the coordinators are very nice.

Just my opinion

Hi joyce,

I think the hotel ambience is great. Their package is pretty comprehensive and standard, do take some time to go down and meet the coordinators.

Things I like:
1) The hotel ambience and deco
2) Comprehensive package with most items covered
3) Choice of menus
4) height of ballroom
5) projector is mounted on ceiling/not portable
6) free corkage

Things I don't like:
1) They don't offer flexibility in their package. They don't have substitutions/changes.
Guess alot of hotels also like that.
2) L/Ushaped walk in

The rest will have to be updated after my wedding. ;)

Hi Decbride,

Yes, it's part of the package. Standard is dozen or 2 dozen bottles but we have 36 bottles of wine.

Oh yes, just to add, I had an extra night for my anniversary next year (besides the actual day). I exchanged my thank-you meal vouchers ($50 or $100 worth) for another anniversary nite stay at the bridal suite. Just another point to illustrate their flexibility.

We would need to exchange something for another. Cannot be asking for really freebies...

Hi Ah Wee,

Think you package is different from mine.

The corkage fee is waived for all liquor, so there's no restriction on this.

When I mean by not flexibility, same as you, I tried to get them to let me trade in my package items for another free night, they didn't allow me to, not even to subsidised for my 2nd night. E.g. I asked for trade in my 33 tables of chocolates for either extra deco, or subsidised rate for the suite, but they told me they cannot do that. Deco is standard.

I even asked them what I can trade in for my 2nd night but they told me that they can't. 2nd night is strictly at $350+++. So seems to me that I can only pay for the extra night.

Not trying to be mean, but I do agree that M Hotel package is pretty comprehensive, but they rank low in terms of flexibility as compared to some other hotels.

So far still happy with them, but now need to sort out the staff ratio issue first.
They seems to have some changes in the staff ratio.

Another thing,

to be fair.
I think coordinator makes a difference.

My past coordinator just tell me that it's not a good idea or things like they cannot do it.

My present coordinator is very nice. She will make good suggestions to me, e.g. I have few vegetarians which belongs to different group and they allow me to sit 11 person at some of the table so that, I don't have to pay double and I only have to pay for those who turn up.

So, on that count and some others, I do think that their service is pretty good.

My coordinator is marilyn and she's really sweet, ;)

Hi decbride,

thanks for ur comments =) so, how's preparation getting on??

Went to view the ballroom last Sun....guess everyting's fine except....haiz...the u-shaped walk in. Thot of having sword-bearers but duno can accomodate a not leh =(

Ah Wee, y ur package is kinda different from mine? i wasn't told anytingy on the extra night for anniversary next year. did u bargain for it or it was thrown in by the hotel?

Read about the comments posted, if any of the staff fm M Hotel is reading, i hope they will take note all the comments, wedding shld be a happy occasion so the co-ordinators/mgt. shld be more flexible. (I have met a few co-ordinators who are nice and accomodating.) Becoz all (if positive)comments will promote more referrals and business in long term.

I have seen the place and my hubby and myself really like it veri much

Went to M hotel yesterday and find the place quite nice except the U turn march in.

Does anyone taste the food there, any comments?

Hi Baby (Baby2)

Its that true? This sound bad.

The coordinator service is good. But important is the staff and food...

Hi joyce,

Just sent my invitations for printing.

Think there should be enough place for sword bearer. Why not consider having the sword bearer along the last stretch to the stage. Think that will look quite nice.

Hi decbride

dunno leh,Diana said shld be ok coz last wk i went,the wedding couple oso have sword bearers....4 pairs summore.

act i thot of having less tables to make space for the sword bearers, but dunno if i have enuff tables.

Last stretch? quite short rt? Haiz...bery confused liaoz

Hi Joyce,

Hope u can remember me, saw u last sat at suntec.

So u going to confirm soon with Diana?

I also worried abt the food there.

Uh? Food and service is bad? Then how come all the dates that I tried to book is taken up?

Maybe food is very subjective right? I really like the Banquet Suite very much.

Now, trying to see if my MIL can let us have another auspicious date.

Hi joyce,

talk to Diana and check with her again on how the sword bearer should position themselves. I went to see the ballroom some time back and they have 33 tables and there is still alot of space for the walk-in. ;)

Don't worry too much. Ok?

I think food is very subjective also. One of my friend who attended a dinner there last yr say that the food is quite nice.

Hi Micky,

how did u arrange to go down to M hotel? Who did u contact with? Heard so much in this forum, hope to take a look soon.

Actually, U shape march in ok rite? then everyone can see u isn't it?

Hi apple

U just need to call up Diana Lee @ 64216063 to make arrangement wif her. She is a friendly co-ordinator.

Went down last sunday and there is two wedding going on at both ballroom so got the chance to see both of them at the same time. But i find the Banquet Suite at level 10 looks better to me.
The Executive suite is fantastic... especially the jacuzzi bathroom.

Abt the u-turn march-in actually it seems ok, just that people are too use to those straight line march-in type. Actually this can be something special too

So u have wat hotel in mind? Maybe we can share some ideas

Hi Micky,

Thanks for your reply.

Will Diana 'pester' you, will you feel obliged? I juz started looking around for wedding dinner venue. Personally haven't been to M, I only got to know about M-hotel after it's featured in this website. And on Channel news asia.

So you get to see their bridal suite too? I heard about the high-tech bedroom.

Anyway, waiting for my friends to give their comments on this hotel since they had attended wedding dinner there. Should let you know if the food is good.

My hubby and I r considering M hotel because it's min table is about 20-25 which we'r confident we can meet, and the price is close to our budget. Of cos if can be cheaper, will be betta.

Which hotels r you considering?