M Hotel Singapore

Hi Shooby06...

Our co-ordinator is very good... very pleased with her... Well, her name is Diana... Look for her, I think she will give u the best of the best...

i just had my wedding at M Hotel as well.
The feed back is pretty good.
Service is good and the staffs are pretty professional.
Food is OK and quite standard.
My coordinator is Marilyn. She is very nice.
Most important is to convey your expectation to them.
;)
It's a good choice!

Hi all former M hotel brides,

Did you gals burn your own music compilations for the hotel to play during your dinner? I heard from some brides that M Hotel may have problems playing such cds.

I will be having my wedding reception at M hotel in March. Would appreciate if you gals could share with me your experience.

Hi HB,

I did. But I did the compilation of CDs in wave files, all from original CDs. It was great!
I think what they meant was that they have problems playing MP3 files. So, you must be careful with that.
you can do some testing before your actual day and before the banquet starts. Please do bring along the backup CDs, just in case. ;)

I've booked M Hotel but heard some bad comments on their service n food. Does anyone has any comments??

Hi decbride,

I'll b M hotel bride in May this year.
Could u provide me a list of yr music compilation? Wat kind of music u recommend?

Thanx!

Shirley & Renee: You may get the quotation from this website under Home/ Directory/Wedding banquet. I am also thinking of having my banquet at M Hotel but heard feedback that the food not very nice. But I like the bridal suite leh. Any other hotels that u all have in mind?

I was also considering Furama, very impressed with the look of their ballroom, crown prince, my hubby loved the ballroom and my bro-in-law just had their wedding at occ, ballroom quite impressive too, but not really accessible...other than that, nothing else in mind liao, that's why looking around in this webpage for comments everyday

Hi Yan,

I've also booked M Hotel at at first have the same worry as u but who knows those bad comments on M Hotel are posted by their competitors. There r also quite a few good comments on their food so I think even the food from the most expensive hotel will not satisfy all our guests - one man meat is anothe man poison.

Hi Rene

So when's your wedding dinner? How did you find out the comments are posted by their competitors?

Hi 36 Franc,

I've had a mix of songs.
Some from carpenters, she, this is my moment, from this moment, love is all around, etc etc. I can't remember some of the song titles off hand, but it will be good if you can start off with some songs that both of you like and mean something to you. ;)

Hi Yan,

What i meant is maybe the bad comments r posted by their competitors...so it's maybe only...dun take the comments too seriously
My wedding is in Aug'03. u?? have u selected on ur bridal boutique??

Hi Rene

I plan to have my wedding in Sept this year but I have not done anything yet. Checking out auspicious dates now. so you book with M Hotel?

Hi Yan,

ya i've already booked M Hotel since mid of last year (super kiasu right??). But ur wedding is Sept which is consider very late since u've not even booked ur banquet cos some of my who r going to get married even in Jan 2004, some of the hotels r already fully booked. So better act fast on the banquet and bridal boutique soon....

Hi Rene

I know that I am quite late already. You booked during their bridal show last year? Don't know when's their next bridal show leh? Any other hotels that you have seen? Why did u choose M hotel?

sori, so many qns for you

Anyone of you ave seen the function room of M-Hotel being done up for wedding banquet?? How is the turn out?? I have only seen the ballroom... it is nice but me and my FH is considering whether is it worth to pay 1000++ for it and moreover... the date which we want is being booked.. if we want the ballroom, we need to select alternative dates. Thanks

Hi Yan,

No i did not book during the bridal show, just walk-in. I thought they just had their recent bridal show in Jan'03?? aiya, u missed it..

I've also seen Le Meridien (ballroom o.k but the passenger way to the hotel is yuck...), Concorde (very short ceiling and the ambience not very nice), i think that's all i can remember.

the reason why i chose M Hotel is it's quite affordable and i like the privacy of it's banquet suite (10 floor) and their bridal suite is very nice too....most importantly they throw in free flow of beer even on a weekend, so dun bother to hunt further. what abt u?? which other hotels have u seen??

Shirlynn, ya i've seen the function room but dun quite like it cos of the layout which is longish so the guests on the ends would not be able to have a good view of the stage. Furthermore, it's very near to their cafeteria which any tom dick or harry might sneak in...hehe...

if u really like M hotel, for $1k+ i think it's o.k. since it's a once in a life time thing, unless u r fix on the date u want then prehaps u've to find another hotel.

Hi Rene

How you know they have their bridal show in Jan? I called them and asked in Jan and they said dun know when's the bridal show this year leh. I like M Hotel, same reasons as you, free flow beer and nice bridal suite.

I have been to Grand Copthorne but their min tables is 35. The ambience is very nice. Also been to Goodwood Park and Sheraton. Not bad also.

Aiya, I must faster decide the date first.

Hi Yan,

I saw their Bridal Show posted by Chin Leng in the Bridal Show & Workshop tread under the topic "Bridal Fashion Show". How many tables do u have cos Goodwood Park can only have max 28 or around there. Oh ya, I've been to Sheraton also. nice ambience but cos my wedding is on sat so quite expensive n i dun really like the ballroom cos it's L-shaped so some of the guests will not be able to see u clearly.

ya better act fast, what abt ur bridal boutique, have u selected??

Hi Rene

Happy CNY!

The bridal show posted by Chin Leng is for last year. This year, I think M hotel still got no bridal show yet.

Made a rough estimation of the no. of guest, min will have 25 tables.

As for bridal boutique, I am considering Wedding Present. U leh?

Hi Yan,

Ooops, saw Chin Leng's posting wrongly, thought it's this year

Yeh, my min is also 25 tables, so when will u decide where to book??

u haven't even book the bridal package yet, sorry if i sound too anxious but i think it's quite late since u might be getting married in Sept'03 which is one mth after mine. Since u r interested in Wedding Present, i think there is a bridal show coming up (i think or maybe it's just over) at Amara right??

As for me, i've booked Bridal Veil, really love the gowns there.

Hi Rene

I have already made a tentative booking with M Hotel and will also be discussing with Wedding Present this week. Actually, I am very anxious too but still checking out dates. So your wedding date u pick yourself or ask someone to do it?

Where's Bridal Veil?

Hi Yan,
Glad to know that u've made a tentative booking w M Hotel

Why does it take so long to pick a auspicious date?? luckily i dun have to go thru this as both of us are catholics.

Bridal Veil is at Delfi Orchard, the designer is Michelle Hui Min, she quite famous lah ever been on CNA programme - Hi Life, do u know abt her??

i am planning to hold my wedding at M hotel too..
have made a tentative booking on the 22 june..
heard very good comments abt the ballroom and bridal suite so far, but having some doubts abt the food.. anyone have any feedback on the food??
i will be expecting to have abt 30-34 tables..
wondering if it will be too cramp??

btw, i am with Sophia wedding collection

Glad to know another bride that might book M Hotel too

I guess we have the same worry abt their food but i really think that no matter which hotel u book, there'll bound to be some of ur guests that will complain abt the food right, i think we can't satisfy everyone unless it's restaurant where the food is generally better but we prefer ambience right??

I thought their banquet suite can only hold up to 32 or 33 tables?? so if u have ard 34 tables might be a bit cramp. so when r u finalising the hotel?? who is ur co-ordinator??

so u have booked Sophia Wedding Collection, is it the one that is previously called Bride n Bridegroom?? Have u start the designing of ur gown?? what is ur package like??

Hi Rene

Tks for your concern. I am meeting the co-ordinator, Marilyn this week to discuss about the package. Who's your co-ordinator?

I dun noe the designer, maybe I mountatin tortise
how much is your wedding package and what does it consist of?

Hi Anna,

My co-ordinator is Anna but i've never seen her b4 cos she took over my case from another co-ordinator who had left.

My package is $4,980 and it incl MTM WG (rent) & EG (keep), 2 suits (1 rent, 1 keep), MTM shoes (keep), tea dress or kua (rent), 20 pcs of photos (I've chosen Chris Ling), fresh flowers for car deco and bouquets, makeup (trial, day & nite), etc...

what abt urs?? and what is ur budget??

hi rene,
my coordinator is Diana..
will be meeting her this sat to see the ballroom and the hotel..
will finalise after looking at the place lor...
i m not very sure abt the shop before Sophia Wedding Collection.. but i do know tt Sophia is quite a new shop.. which opened somewhere in Sept 2002..
so where did u book ur bridal package ?? and when will ur dinner at m hotel be held ??

Yan, sorry address wrongly should be u instead of Anna....haha

Yvonne, oh so u have yet to view the ballroom, i think u'll like it
so what does ur package consists and how much is it?? mine is from Bridal Veil and my wedding date is Aug 03. What abt urs??

Hi Rene

So coincidental cos I am considering Chris Ling or Picture Box. Will meet these photographers to c their works before deciding. Seems that Chris Ling is quite ex rite? Why did u choose Chris Ling? SO the package includes photography (both outdoor and indoor?) What about actual day? Haven't look around at other packages yet. Do you know what are the price like for other boutiques? Heard that some is $3000 plus.

Your wedding dinner is on 10th floor of M Hotel? Weekday or weekend? Mine will most probably be on weekday.

Hi Yan,

ya so coincidental eh??
for me i did not view his work but i saw the pics in his website and felt that he's work is very natural. ya my package incl both outdoor and studio. As for actual day, Chris is too ex ro engage him so i engage another photographer (Yew Kwang) who is quite good in his digital journalistic shots too.
I've also been to Ted Wu, Divine Couture, Emmanuel, Sliver Cloak & Silhoutte. For Ted, Divine, Silhoutte n BV, their packages ranges from $4000+ to $5000+, for Emmanuel & Sliver Cloak, i think it's around $3k+ but not very nice so didn't even bother to remember
. What is ur budget and what is Wedding Present package like??

ya, my banquet will be at the 10th floor ballroom and it's a Sat.

hi rene,
my package from Sophia coast $4888
includes:
1 MTM WG, 1 MTM EG, 1 OTR for outdoor PS
1 ROM dress + ROM makeup/hairdo + hand bouquet
1 Tea Dress
1 MTM Gent Suit, 1 OTR Gent suit for ROM
30 photos (outdoor and indoor) - 12" x 15" (cannot remember the actual size, but it is the bigger ones)
Actual day photography - 8 rolls
Car rental - E210 Merc (round light)
bridal car deco,
actual day + ROM + PS make-up + harido

my dinner + chinese customary is on june 22 (sunday)
my church wedding is on 21 june (sat)and my ROM is on 26 March

hi Rene
i have designed my gowns.. also have done my first gown fitting..
very happy with both my MTM gowns
my next gown fitting will be on 22 FEb..
will be choosing my ROM and Outdoor PS gown on tt day too

hoping to find a digital camera to tkae pics of my gowns
then can post it here

wow ur wedding is on 22 June but u haven't book the hotel yet, so does M Hotel ballroom still available for that date?? wow ur package does incl a lot of things eh?? why do u want to ROM in Mar'03 and wedding in June'03, so near rite??

So u also have church wedding, where will it be?? mine is at Church of the Risen Christ (Toa Payoh) i'll be having both the church wedding n dinner on the same day cos i dun really like the idea of splitting into 2 days but more hectic for me lor

so how does ur gowns look like??

yup.. wedding is so near, yet dinenr not booked yet..
FIL is supposed to settle the dinner stuff, but till now have not booked yet

me booking tentativley with hotels as backup.. by end Feb, if still no feedback from FIL, then we will decide ourselves liao

i spoke to Diana, she says the ballroom is still available on June 22 .. lucky me

so have booked tentativley with her

so u are a Catholic too

how abt ur hubby ??
btw are u a ex-convent girl ? i am a Ex-KC girl

my church wedding will be at OLPS (siglap).. Fr Paul Goh will be my wedding priest..
will u be attending the EE or MPC ??
my church wedding will on on a 21 June (sat).. a day before my dinner..
i would prefer it all in 1 day too.. but hubby says the chinese customary might take the whole morning and afternoon, cos will have many guest at his house.. so to have the church wedding on the same day will be too rush..

:D i love my gowns veri much
cannot wait to show them to u..
my WG is an off-white bustier gown with some beads and pretty laces, the back is quite unique too.. sort of like a criss-cross back.. u know like those victorian dresses where they tie criss cross at the back (like shoes-laces)
and my EG is a pinkish-peach halter neck dress..
at the back, a piece of organza that spreads out onto the floor, from a bunch of roses (all made from pinkish organza)

veri pretty gowns
cannot wait to show them to u

hi rene
my hubby not a catholic, and his family quite traditional.. thinks that church marriage is not official.. so must have the ROM first before church wedding to make them happy lor

btw, how old are u and ur hubby??
i will be 26 this yr and my hubby is 32 this yr

Rene: My package is similar to yours but with only 1 MTM men suit(keep). There is no MTM shoes. What did M Hotel offer you? Any special perks?

Yvonne: Your package looks very attractive, got so many items! Value for money. Your wedding is earlier than mine. Must faster book leh. Mine might be in in Sept and I quite anxious already.

Yvonne, wow what a long mail
eh so u've actually let ur FILs decide on the banquet location?? u mentioned hotels as backup so r ur FILs planning to have it at restaurant??
ya, i'm a convert cos my hubby is a catholic too so good for me cos i'm very scare of all the traditional stuff (e.g. Guo Da Li). we have been solemnised in church last year (ie have our ROM in church) so that our cert will be recognise both under the eyes of law and GOD, so we have already attended MPC in last year.

i'm sure u know my priest - Father John Lee (i like him a lot), he's previously from OLPS.

ur gowns sound lovely, so when it's ur photoshoots?? mine is in last week of June'03. wait to see ur picx too
so can u keep any of the gowns??

hehe..age..hmmmm..o.k. lah, me will will 28 this year n hubby is 26.

Yan, so how much does ur package costs?? when r u going to meet Chris?? I've actually got quite a good deal from M Hotel, manage to bargain the price slightly but the rest of the items r already in their standard package. I tried to bargain for free food tasting and add'l nite free but failed
so remember to bargain and try ur luck to ask for more perks but they r quite firm on their stand. GOOD LUCK!!!!

hi Yan,

though my wedding package includes almst everything, still think it is on the high side

me getting ey anxious to
but FH is like not anxious lei.. he oso like not kan cheong tt banquet not booked yet

hi rene, we wanted to arrange everthing ourselves, but FH parents think that they should pay for the wedding dinner.. very traditional chinese family.. actually it is FIL friend who will be choosingthe venue ?? dunno whether it will be hotel or restaurant.. but kinda late oredi.. so i just tentativly book with the hotels i am keen on incase FIL's friend cannot get any place. me so ks hor

which church did u do ur solemnisation in ??
yup.. i know Fr John Lee.. he used to be a priest in Holy Family before going to OLPS
a long time ago.. maybe when i was still in primary school

dunno abt keeping the gowns.. but i dun think of keeping them anyway.. too bulky lor..

Hi Yvonne, sorri i just find it quite weird to have ur FILs' friend to choose the place of banquet for u. i think if it's for me, i'll really be very unhappy and protest to the end. But i guess it's easier said that done rite??

we got soleminsed in the same church - Risen Christ.

so when will ur FILs' friend reply which hotel or restaurant, i think u might want to talk to ur FIL that time is running out...looks like im more anxious then u

Rene, You r lucky that u manage to get some bargains. I have also asked for additional nite and free food tasting but failed. (same as you). They only give me free usage of LCD projector. They are quite firm. Now I am also considering other hotels like Crown Price and Hilton. Heard any feedback abt these two hotels?

I won a wedding gown from Wedding Present at a bridal show. I need to top up abt $2k plus for evening gown, men suit etc. Do u think it is ex? This does not include photography with Chris yet.

Yvonne: You r so lucky that that your FIL are paying for the dinner. Nowadays, usually the couple have to fork out $ for the dinner.Though they are paying for the dinner, you can also give some suggestions.

hi rene,

i have spoken to hubby tt time is running out.. i dun really speak to FIL cos they are the very chinese type.. and my chinese is not very good...
sigh.. but ... sigh...
anyway i have gone down to M hotel on Sat.. Diana said the banquet suite is booked on 22 June.. but the function rooms ( the 2nd floor) is available.. me went to see the function room and the banquet suite.. of course like the banquet suite 100x more than the function room.. so we will not choose M hotel liao..

so sad after tt.. i have called up many hotels, and most of them are ealready booked on the 22 june.. except Shangrila.. but Shangrila $$ is on the steep side..
sigh**
FIL friend will choose the banquet venue by end of this month.. so we just wait and see lor..

hi Yan, becos of the delay in choosing the banquet venue, sometimes i wish i was the one paying and settling for the banquet myself.. me not close to FIL cos of the different family background and also language barrier..so do not really tok to them

You have seen the function room?? In the decor of wedding banquet?? Compare with the picture that they have attached in their offer?? Is it the same?? Thanks

Shirlynn, u r welcome..
so have u made up ur mind which hotel to choose??

Yan, eh only LCD projector, i thought this is quite std what, they shd lent it to us rite?? I've attended a wedding at Crown Prince b4, the dishes are not nice and the ambience is not as good as M Hotel. As for Hilton, i heard froma friend that the stage is pretty low so look quite cheapskate...just personal views. just go n take a look for urself and find out more..

wow u r so lucky eh?? i think it's pretty ex if u really want to engage Chris for the photography cos i think he charges ard $2k rite?? so it might be more worth it if u sign up with another bridal boutique which might be more reputable than Wedding Present and yet incl photography by Chris...hehe...just like my package with Bridal Veil cos i really feel that their gowns are better than Wedding Present..just my personal views...
unless u choose Wedding Present's photographer which might be cheaper than Chris so it really boils down to what u want.

Yvonne, ur relationship w ur FILs doesn't sound too good eh?? i guess most of the daughter-in-law cannot get along with their ILs rite??? hehe..

sad to hear that u r not considering M Hotel anymore but i do agree with u that their function room is really not very impressive. that's why i said already, cos it's already so late so it's really gonna be very difficult to find a hotel at this juncture n Shangrila is really to ex....
never mind lor just wait n see o.k.?? hope that the friend can get back to u soon.....

Can i just check w u did u go to Centrepoint Times Bookshop today cos i heard from one couple who is going to get married on 22 june which is the same day as u so just wondering if it's u...hehe

Yvonne: Dun be too stressed lah. I am sure your FIL will find a suitable venue soon.

Rene: Tks for the advice. I know that Chris is very ex. I will meet him to c his works before deciding.