M Hotel Singapore

Hi Tare Tare

I was too busy with my work and also down with flu thus sorry for such late reply!

Hmm... that one ahh.... i don have much idea too. But I keep telling myself to invite someone who are closer to me. I will explain to the rest (to those whom i didn't invite and happen to ask me) that my FH & I wish to keep it a small event.

Ha... hopefully this excuse will be useful to u.

Did u all notice the different themes they have for the 10th level ballroom? Their floral themes seems to change all the time. The last time i went,the floral stands were filled with white floral base and red roses brim. They even changed the mock wedding cake to a red one juz to suit the flowers. Wondering whether we can choose our own floral colors :P

Hi black monster,

Just got back from my honeymoon.

Their service is good. Our co-ordinator tendered her resignation before our big day so she could not handle our banquet. However, their operations manager has been helpful.
No hipcups on that day. My guests love the place n from wat I heard, they say the food is great.

Hi Tare Tare,
I have guests who say they will DEFINITELY turn up. But in the end also nevery turn up n did not bother to inform me. Dun care abt those who wanted come. Just tell them not enuf tables.

Hi Cranberry & rolly1,

Thanks for your suggestions. As my banquet will be one day after my wedding day, maybe on the wedding day I can invite the not so close friends and collegue to a buffet lunch or dinner at my house. What do you think?

Cranberry,

Hope you have recovered from your flu. Take care and be a beautiful bride. Okay?

5646.gif

Hi rolly1,

10 u for ur feedback. U've set many M brides & groom mind @ ease now. Can I know what/hows' decor theme? Anything u think we shld pay attention to fr ur experience?

And actually my situatn is opp fr Tare Tare. We actually dun have many relatv & we only want to invite v close frens(cos afraid ths agreed wont turn up) of ours. Thus, we worried that we might not be able to take e min tab requimt.

So u enjoyed ur honeymoon? Whr u go?

Hi black monster,

Honestly speaking, we were not too concern on the decor theme. We have spent quite an amt on my wedding n evenning gown, so we do not want a too elaborate decor theme to override the gowns. Anyway, we did not even bother to ask them abt the decor theme as we have no time to follow up on that.

oh ya, the back drop on the stage is quite plain. so wat we did was to scan our wedding photo n show it on the back drop. ANother thing for those who wanted to have those photo slides on the backdrop. Their computer is not the latest tech so u may want to check with them on the requirements etc. Best to test it out before. We did not use the projector as our file is too big. So we used another overhead projector from the hotel(those moveable type one) n put it in between the first 2 tables infront of the stage. Not too bad though. If u are particular abt this, guess that u have to sort this out first.

We went to London n SCotland for our honeymoon. Enjoy ourselves

Dun worry too much abt the banquet. The staff are experienced enuf to handle this for u. Just enjoy yourself on the big day. No one will bother abt those nitty details. So wat if ur frens complain abt the waiter/decor or etc? Its your wedding after all

Have fun n no worries!

Hi Tare Tare,
If you have the budget to invite them for the buffet lunch on your wedding day, just go ahead. The next thing u have to prepare to ans them is "how come invite me for lunch n not your wedding dinner?". So come back to square one. I know its quite a headache. Ladies are more emotional than man. hehehe. Ultimately, your not so close frens will slowly disappear from your list of frens... so why bother to invite them? Do u think they will b bother to share your joy? If yes, they shd be your close frens mah. Perhaps its just those "ke qi hua" from their mouth. Just my thots. Hope no offence.

i am glad to hear some good comments on M hotel from rolly1.
as i have already booked with them, now only worried abt things like food, service, etc..
oh, btw, rolly1, you mentioned your cooridnator resigned on the day of your dinner? may i know who is your cooridnator?
my is Marilyn... wonder if she is still working there...

Hi Tare Tare,

I had recovered. Thanks for your well wishes. Seems like you have solved the table problem. I agreed with rolly1, some pple promise to turn up but they din.

currently, i have not finalise my list yet.

Hi ah girl,
My co-ordinator also same as yours but haven't get in touch with her yet. perhaps will wait till sept and get in touch with her then.

hi rolly,
how long in advance should i start contacting the co-ordinator to arrange on food tasting, finalise no. of tables, discussing on the "style" & the requirement that we want for the actual day.... etc. I have no ideas at all. Need your experience on this. Thanks!

Hi rolly1, still remember me? arctic_hare?

How was your honeymoon to London & Scotland? I went to the same places too...

Hi Craneberry,

The food tasting can only be done on a weekday n not weekend. One month before your actual wedding day is sufficient.

My contract states that we need to confirm the no. of tables 7 days before actual wedding day. U can refer to your contract on this.

Hi ah girl,
my co-ordinator is not Marilyn.

Hi Cynthia,

How's your honeymoon? We bought the Insight pocket guide n drove in Scotland for 4 days. The view is beautiful especially Isle of SKye. We spent the last 1 week in London. Now really no mood to work.

Hi rolly1, it was great!

We spent most of our days in Scotland - 6 days - and the remaining 4 days in England. Covered Scotland in an anti-clockwise loop.

Yah... love the views there. Wished I could have a mountain or river just right outside my door too... and sheeps everywhere. I am beginning to wonder if there are more sheeps than human population there....haha...

U spent one week in London itself? Wow! Where did you go? U took the subway? We did, and it was real interesting. "Mind the Gap"... and the stillness in the air when the doors are closed. Very quiet if no one is talking.

cynthia

I just obtained feedback from one of my colleague who has just attended a wedding banquet there. Comments made was that the food was quite nice and service is good.

That sure set my mind at rest.
Anyway, will cross my fingers that things will turn out alright.

Juz came back from my honeymoon, but wanted to add some compliment to mhotel
I had my wedding dinner there sometime this month. Overall comments:
Food: Very nice esp the red bean deep-fried pancake :9
Service: Very good. Our coordinator can't make it on that day due to unforeseen circumstances but another manager took over and they really take care of all the nitty gritty stuff. We juz enjoy ourselves while they do all the timing for the montage playing and march-in etc

Ambience: This is the thing that draws me to mhotel in the first place and needless to say.....very pleased with my decor that nite. I chose the red roses combination for my aisle stands
Feel that it looks nicer than the lily combination :P

One more thing to add,the mini-bar and tidbits in the suite are complimentary
I thought need to pay for it and when i realised its free,i cleared all after the dinner :9

hi decbrides n those who have booked the banquet with M hotel,

I heard from a fren who is in this hotel industry that M hotel is pushing their way to be a 5 star hotel. Dun know how true it is.

No need to worry too much. So relax n enjoy your day. They will know better than u to do wat is rite

Hi rolly1/choco,

thanks for the feedback. I'm quite sure that my day will turn out well now with all the latest update. ;-) At least one thing less to worry about.

Hi Lnny,

I'm also having my wedding in Dec'02.
;-) How's preparation so far?

Hi decbride,

Still looking around for a printer. who is your co-or? i have finshed with my ps with GHA. how about you?? i have a conversation with co-or, she is friendly. but so much "not so nice" comment about them really make me worry.

Hi Lnny,

I have not taken my photos yet. Going to take it in Sep. Still have house to take care of. You printing your wedding cards so soon? I have not even collected mine yet. Am I too late?

Don't have to worry so much. I think so far, the latest comments are so far good. Since my colleague has been there, so I trusted her comments.

;-)

hi decbride,

I have not collected the cards yet. Just sourcing around for a cheap printer for the wedding cards. Not too worry.... ('_')V

Sure glad that I have been hearing good comments lately compared to the last few months. At least they are doing something to improve their food and service. Well, that is what we pay for, isn't it???

Lnny

Hi Lnny,

have you asked for a sample of the latest card design?

May help to ascertain the actual price with the actual design in place.

hi decbride,

my coordinator did mention that she will mail us the latest design. My FH told her to mail us in Sep cos there may be better designs coming in.

I am interested in having my wedding banquet at M Hotel. Can anyone advise me wat's the difference in the 2nd floor function room and the 10th floor banquet suite??

I read some of you mentioned the VIP room for changing? Is it located at 2nd floor or 10th floor? And how does the march in look like?

Sorry for posing so many questions, please help.

I just went to M Hotel to view their ballroom and suite. Wat I like most is the suite. Very high tech with remote control curtain, bose audio system and jacuzzi too. The most romantic part is that they have a glass panel that can be seen through to the bathroom....but you can change it to a frosted glass panel by just pressing the remote control. Very interesting, right?

Overall, I like it very much. Just that the price is a bit too steep for us, esp with the 5% GST next year. So have to consider about it.

BTW, the VIP changing room is on the 10th floor. It is just next to the reception area. Oh yah, the reception area is very 'private'.

Hi Jojo,

so you managed to see both the 2nd and 10th floor ballroom? which one is nicer? Heard the 10th floor reception area is kinda of small compare to the 2nd floor! Is it true?? Please advise. Thnx.

both are quite nice. but still prefer 10th ballroom. the reception area is indeed s bit smaller than 2nd.

why dun you meet up with them to take a look at the ballroom and suite? think u'll like it too.

but for food.....hope its nice.

Thnx Jojo, we will go down to see personally but want to check out you gals' comment first so i know wat to bargain and negotiate...dun want to blur blur meet the coordinator den sign the contract...:p

hi Wy,

there isn't much to bargain with M Hotel. They are quite strict in their packages.

Go there and see for yourself whether you like the place. If you do, can make a tentative booking first, then re-think about it for a couple of days before making the decisions.

Hi Decbride,

you mean i could book the date yet dun pay any deposit yet?? Then dats very nice...

Hi Wy,

Yes. That's call a tentative booking. You can ask them to book it for you if no one else has booked that date you want. They will usually hold it for you for about 2-3 days or until when someone else is interested in that date. Then they will ask you to make a decision. Piority will be given to you, but you must make the decision immediately and pay the deposit or else they would have to give up your booking.

hi gers

can anyone enlighten mi which sty is the banquet suite located @???
wat abt the function room???
its stated in the 2003 package these r the 2 venues 2 hold the weddin dinner...
there's also a diff in the pricin 4 these 2 diff venues...
any idea y is tat so???

Hi flowee,

The banquet suite is on the 10th floor while the function room is on the 2nd floor.

The banquet suite is new and has got high ceiling.
The reason that was given to me was the different atmosphere.

I prefer the 10th floor, but it has got a smaller reception area than the one on 2nd floor. But it's high ceiling. So, I like it better.

There is also this VIP room for changing with toilet inside and the elderly can go in there to take a rest if they are too early.

oic...thnx for telling me! so which bridal boutique did yu engage?? By the way, is the ceiling for 2nd floor high too? so 2nd floor dun have any changing room isit?

Hi flowee,

Sorry, that I can't answer you. I don't intend to go for food tasting. My rational is that food might not turn out the same on the actual day.

On top of that, I can't get 10 people to sit at the table for the food tasting.

Hi wy,

My boutique is French.
I remember that the ceiling for 2nd floor is not so high. It's more like normal height to me.

I'm not sure about whether there is a changing room on 2nd floor, but they didn't mention to me that time.

Do check it out.

Sorry, didn't managed to attached the pictures, only managed to attached the floor plan, the other files are all too big.

You might like to ask from the hotel instead

Decbride, thank you so much for spending the effort to attach the floor plan. Its okie, I will check with them soon.

Hi blackmonster,

can i have your email address coz i need to check with you some details regarding M Hote.

I went M Hotel last nite to see both ballrooms was kinda of disappointed with the shape of both ballrooms.
Anybody have any problem with the march-in? The 10th floor need to do a U shaped march in whereas the 2nd floor march in seems to be too long! *sigh*

And you girls are rite! They are quite very inflexible REALLY cannot bargain anything at all! AT least out of the things i bargain give me one oso cannot! so infuriating!!

Think better seriously reconsider this choice!

Hi Wy,

What are the things that you were trying to bargain for and who is the coordinator attending to you? I am also considering M Hotel and is currently waiting for them to come back to me on the package details. Just worried that we will have the same problem bargaining with them as well.

Hi WY,

my email is [email protected]. U r welcome to shoot any quiry to me & I'll be glad to be of help.

WY & Cupid,

u r rite but I guess rite fr e beginning of this forum they r "famous" for bring inflexible & non-bargainable. I prefer e long march on 2nnd flr cos then can have attention on me for longer period & guest will pay more attention to my gown but settle for 10th flr cos I like e decor v v much.

Hi blackmonster & Cupud,

I actually need 35 tables for my wedding dinner but the coordinator told me can only accomodate max 32 tables (10th floor) and max 34 tables (2nd floor). So I am quite concerned about this issue coz i might need to add extra tables as time draw nearer.

I request for extra nite in the bridal suite but was rejected directly. Asked for more freebies but dun have.

So really quite disappointed lor.

Hi Wy,

Hmm, actually there isn't much to bargain for.
Basically:
1) Extra nights. Unless you willing to settle for normal room
2) More Invitation cards: They are willing to give more if you really need them
3) Car Park: They don't managed it, so they cannot give extra. I think this is alright, since this is going to be based on per entry. I think $2/entry is it?
4) What else?

Cheer Up. I think you have to ask yourself what is important to you?

Initially, I'm also looking at 35 tables. Subsequently, I cut down the no. No choice. Also good lah. Less table, easier to manage. :-P

Did you also consider Pan Pac? One of my other choice, but my friend just had one there and I didn't think that I would want to hold another one there, with so many of our friends being common friends. I think that is quite nice as well, and it seems that they are pretty flexible, even to the extent of the package price.

Have you gone to other hotels already. It's good to go to diff ones to see what they can offer to you and then you decide from there

Hi decbride, good news source another ballroom which i like coz my table capacity increase to 40 tables so M Hotel definitely cannot accomodate one so nvrmind lah...dun need to bargain so hard wif them afterall! :p

hi all, I am holding my wedding in the 2nd floor. Reason bcos of the long aisle. However, heard from my friends that with the long shape, Guests at the back may not be able to hear properly. The celing in the 2nd floor is normal but I like the big reception area. As I am having 32 tables therefore I will have the whole 2nd level to myself and my family. I didn't get the chance to go to the 10th level as there is a booking therefore my FH and I settled for 2nd level.

Lnny