M Hotel Singapore

V

valeriepng

Anyone can advise whether I should choose M Hotel or Grand Plaza Park Royal. It seems that they are offering about the same price. I have met up with one of the co-ordinator in M Hotel and she is not as friendly and approachable compared to lady in Grand Plaza Park Royal. On top of that, there isn't much room for negotiation with the coordinator in M Hotel. What would u do if u were me?

paq

Hi Valerie

who has you met up with? just curious cause from the forum, almost all is positive feedbacks.

V

valeriepng

Hi Paq,

i actually met up with Marilyn...so when i see there is comments that she is friendly and approachable, I really wonder if I got the same person. Anyway, i don't really think that all are positive feedback here. At least I don't see any good feedback on their food. Is it really true?

paq

Hi Valerie

if you are uncomfortable with the sales person, perhaps just do a change of sales person, if you really like M Hotel. well, i think food quite subjective, one may be meat to one person but may be junk to other?

i have not tried their food yet too so cant really comment much too. :p But i really like the Level 10 ballroom though.

ii

anyone can share how is the actual ambience like having wedding dinner there, went there to see but cannot imagine their marching in..

choco

Juz went to have a peek at the wedding deco last week.I'm quite worried abt the march-in part cos we are supposed to walk through a few tables in a zipzac style. And i noticed that the spacing between the tables is rather narrow.Was thinking when we march-in amidst the dry ice,dunno whether will trip or not? Anyone out there with the same concern?

may02

I have also booked M Hotel. One thing I noticed is that they are not flexible in giving freebies.

On the other hand, I am glad that they are not that "flexible". Otherwise, how would I know whether have I been short changed, especially when one doesn't really know how to bargain.

Jus my thots.

choco

Hi ii,
Really wish that our march-in can be straight and long but thats impossible now cos already booked the hotel. :p Other than the march-in part,i think the rest is okie,really like the idea of a vip room for changing. It can also be used for the ah yees to rest during cocktail.

ii

choco:
did u notice also that the marching in is guided by these few round plastic thingy....with holes at the bottom; kind of quite funny ,,,,,don know how they decorate it.

choco

Hi ii,
I saw those cylindrical plastic as well with some dry flowers inside rite? I also dun know what are the holes for but i intend to ask the coordinator to change the aisle stand to something with flowers and candles cos the feeling of candles along the aisle will be more romantic leh
But also dun know whether can or not cos that plastic thingy seems to be their standard floral aisle leh :p One more thing is,their reception area for 10th floor is so small,how to fit 300 people during cocktail,think must open the door early hoh?

beanpole

Hi Choco.

I spoke to the Hotel. Apparently, they are not doing anything to decorate nor cover the holes at the cylinder thingy. Also, the hotel will not allow me to change the cylinder thingy to the normal floral stand so if you have thot of a way to do something abt it, pls let me know. Did u also notice the red centre piece on the table? I find it quite of weird looking though it is unusual. Actually prefer the normal floral centrepiece but that would mean extra cost.I am also disappointed with the plain stage. Now, trying to squeeze out extra budget to do some backdrop for the stage.

choco

Hi beanpole,
I didn't ask my coordinator about the cylindrical holes. Huh?u mean the holes are there for no purpose? I still thought that the holes are used to release the dry ice effect :p Thats so obiang,why they go and make a cylinder with holes for nothing? Going to ask my coordinator when i go down the next time,will keep u inform

2002bride

just some comments from me.
ya, I have also asked for some additional deco, but was told that they don't have anything more than the standard.
In fact, I find that they are not willing to make any changes, even though it is a once in a lifetime affair for us. :-( Find them very inflexible and not sensitive to our needs. Getting very tired of asking them to compromise.
So far, all I have been getting is that they don't have this or that, or they don't think it's a good idea.... etc. What about what we think or what we like for a change?
Was thinking of bringing in some stands on my own.

decbride

I need to check if anyone succeeded in getting some exchanges from them?
I'm thinking of bringing in my own wedding favours and do away with the Chocolates. Anyone has any experience in that. What do you think is the worth of the chocolates and what can i exchange it for?

Y

yoyo!

Hi 2002bride,

Why do u want to add more stands? aren't they sufficient?

I was told from a friend not to have too much flowers along the aisle when u walk in coz they will block the view of your guest.

Just to share my thots.

2002bride

Hi yoho,
I was thinking of not using their stands, cos they didn't look nice to me. Therefore, wanted to think of alternatives. But have to spend money.
:-(
It's just that I feel kind of upset when their reply me was like that's all they have. I was expecting them to be more professional in handling requests. Maybe suggest alternatives, rather then an attitude which seems to me like "Sorry, that's all we have. Nothing more, nothing less". I'm so worried that if something happen on the actual day, they will also take it lightly.

decbride

Hello beanpole,

The centrepiece will only be there for a short while. It will be taken away when it's time for food to be served. Should be Ok lah. Actually, I find that quite nice. Would be better if there are more candles. More romantic! :p

I don't really like the cylindrical stand as well, but what to do? Just leave with it, be'cos that's the only one they have.

Come to think of it, the design of the ballroom will not look nice with too much flowers. It's more like a zen deco, so will be better if things are kept to the minimum. :p

If you think of better ideas for the aisle stand, let me know OK?

Ciao!

choco

Was thinking whether its possible to add candles to the existing floral stands cos like that more romantic leh. Anyone here manage to get the candles from the hotel?

geogeo

Hi all Hotel M brides,
Wat is the price like for a wkend(sun)package?
Anyone has the banquet setups photos?

black monster

Hi Geogeo,

weekend package is $640+++.

I have jus confirm my dinner w M hotel for May 2003. Gotta agree that whetever u ask, their answer will be a flat "NO". The only reason why i confirm w them is I like their "zen" deco. Veru unique compared to most hotels. Thus, I personally like all those centre piece & cylinder u gals dislike. I agree that flower doesnt bland in & will be like all other hotels

I also wanted to change e choc to somethg else and their ans was also "that's what we have".

The only "extra" which I dun think they really r were:

1. To give me a neet price of $723.20 cos the increase of GST to 5% will have a impact of abt $15 per table.

2. Free additional nite stay @ the suite will be given if I have a confirmation of min 30 table. Currently my confirmatn is for 24 table.

Hope u find e above useful!

geogeo

Thanks for ur info Black Monster.
Who did u liaise with?
Are all their sales staff so difficult to talk to?

decbride

Hiya,
Was thinking of having some side tealights on the tables so that when the centre piece is taken away, there will still be candlelights. What you do think?

Hi Geogeo,
don't have to worry too much. I think that they are still professional, just that they are not as eager to please us as other hotels. I think the appeal for the hotel is so far the deco and the atmosphere and most imptly the suite :p

Why don't you go down and have a look and talk to one of the sales staff?

black monster

Hi Geogeo,

I agree w DecBride. Thou they gave a flat "NO", they r still consider professional & I guess e reason is their package is already quite comprehensive w free flow of beer, seat cover & "DIY menu". Which some cant offer then u start to "negotiate" for throw-in.

I confirm liaise w Diana Lee. She's a nice lady. U really shld go down & take a look. Think u'll like it cos it diff fr other hotel. I can email u e package detials that M gave me if u wan. Do give me ur email add

Hi DecBride,

r u a M Hotel DecBride? How's ur preparatn so far? Who's ur bridal boutique? Care to share w me @ [email protected]?

I m also thinkin of placin somethg after e centre piece is taken away. Was think of some "leafy" or "wooden" item so that it can bland in w e zen style. Did tot of tealight 2 but was thinkin it's dangerous 4 e guest when they reach 4 e food?

decbride

Hi Geogeo,

Yes. :)
I'm starting to get really busy nowadays with all the nitty gritty things. signed up my package with French Studio. What about you?

Actually did thought of that. Thinking of putting the teacandles in some glasses. probably 2 each on the lazy susan. Then again, need to think if M hotel can let me do that or not. I cannot think of anything else, that is small enough and yet nice. Then again, if I get lazy, then I just can't be bothered. :p

decbride

Oops! Sorry Geogeo,
My message is for Black Monster. So "Pai Seh" Shame:p

Hi Black Monster, I guess I'm very blur nowadays with all the things on my mind.

Yes, I'm a Mhotel bride to be:)
I'm starting to get really busy nowadays with all the nitty gritty things. signed up my package with French Studio. What about you?

Actually did thought of that. Thinking of putting the teacandles in some glasses. probably 2 each on the lazy susan. Then again, need to think if M hotel can let me do that or not. I cannot think of anything else, that is small enough and yet nice. Then again, if I get lazy, then I just can't be bothered. :p

black monster

Hi DecBride,

sorry. typo error shld $732.20 not $723.20. It's a verbal agreement that if we have 30< we'll get an extra nite. I trust their professionisim &amp; guess no written agreemt is required cos my cordinator service was good thou didnt get any freebies from her.

Currently we confirm @ 24 table cos our guest list not ready.

2003groom

Black Monster
The price for weedend is 640+++????
Howcome when I call to ask they say weekend is 660+++

And they don't want to give me extra night even with 30 table.

Why so different ah??

sivel

Interesting....interesting postings here, perhaps that why most hotels will not put in everything in the wedding package because we'll ask for more..... :p

A bit headache ah? Give us also complain, don't give also complain....

But of course all brides-to-be like us will like to have MORE...and MORE the merrier! hehehe

black monster

Hi 2003groom,

u might wan to confirm w them again or call my cordinator Diana. She's a nice lady. I called them 2 weeks ago &amp; confirm last Sat. If they really increase, u might wan to confirm asap &amp; tel them to honour e old price.

I mus give my 3 cents worth(1 cent more) &amp; repeat again that thou they give a flat "NO" to almost everythg, they r v professional &amp; mos import I mus say their package v comprehensv tat include almost everythg fr chair cover to free flow beer. Thus, nothig 4 them to "throw in" liao. I also din try hard enough cos I really cant think of anythg except they dun give free food tasting.

Die lah, my cordinator jus called me &amp; tel me not to mention any "freebies" she gave me to "anyone". Think they mus be spying here also. Frankly, no freebies was given except GST &amp; extra nite if 30< table. GST they mus have a way of accounting to do away w it &amp; she mus have know that I cant hit 30table one lah. My hubby &amp; myself already told her rite fr begining.

2003groom

Black monster,
When is you confirmed date. Is it 2002 or 2003?
Hear that 2002 is 640+++ but 2003 is 660+++

So you got additional 1 night free if you got <30 table. Did you manage to get any food tasting?

black monster

2003groom,

Izzit? They increase their prices already? so I m v heng lah. I start enquiry abt 3 weekd ago &amp; sign my confirmatn last Sat &amp; my dinner date is on May 2003. U confirm w them it's $660+++ next yr?

No lah. I didnt manage to get any food tastin thrown in. only 50% disc 4 10pax. Which is abt $370. I m goin 4 food tastin cos every1 taste bud diff. What I prefer might not be my guest liking.

mimi

My coordinator told me the same thing too. If I can confirmed 30< tables and I definately can get an additional nite stay at the suite. That's the reason I confirmed with M Hotel. But I just can't understand that why some of you couldn't get????

choco

Juz called my coordinator abt the extra nite stay if confirm >30 tables but she said no one gives an extra nite at mhotel even if there is a confirmed booking of more than 30 tables. Really very puzzled by the lack of uniformity between coordinators. But if other coordinators are giving their clients that kind of perks and i can't get it due to a different coordinator,i will feel very lugi wan lor :p Mimi,who is yr coordinator?

2003groom

Hi black monster,
Can you give me your email address as I got something to clarify with you and is not convenient to do it here.
You can mail me at [email protected]

august

Due to my in law are very particular about food quality, that's why I have to be more careful about food rather than the package.
I just visited M Hotel few weeks ago, very impress for their banquet suite at 10th floor and almost about to pay deposit with them.
Accidentally,I found out fr my friend's fr wedding dinner over there early this year Feb/Mar the food there is really suck !
One month before the wedding they had food tasting, shark fin soup very starchy, abalone was very salty, honeydew sago was very watery.
On the actual day, shark fin soup very watery , abalone was tastless,etc. I think they really need to improve their food quality , no doubt that they have a nice newly renovated ballroom.
At last, I have decided to go for Carlton coz the package price much more than M Hotel, location is good ( near city hall mrt ) and the food is prepared by their famous Wah Lok Chinese Rest. !

F

fred

Hi,August
I do agreed with you the one at 10th floor no doubt that is very exclusive and private ,but the reception area is very small to hold 300 ppl there, and my parents dunt like the lantern inside ( they said like the one in funeral, sorry to say that ! )and no option for the deco theme, very simply deco nothing special with other hotel but the package is very exp can compare with hotel in town like Hyatt, Mandarin. $750.0nett per table for weekends I rather go for more well known hotel at least, the ang pao I get will be enough to cover my cost ! Ppl who going for wedding dinner in Tanjung Pagar they wouldnt expect to give away at least $80.00 per person. wait can't cover , vr vr rugi leh !!

mimi

Hi berlinelee,

My wedding will be in next year early March. I was actually recommended by my good friend. She is holding her wedding too in M hotel - early July this year. Of course I didn't mentioned to my coordinator about it. However, it was stated clearly in my contract that I entitle for two night stay in the bridal suite.

In fact I told my husband I'm thinking of cancel my booking with M Hotel. The main reason is because of the food quality and service complaint from my relatives whom attended a wedding dinner early this year. I'm very worry and if thing really happend during my wedding, I don't know how to face my relatives and friends, especially my parents who insisted to hold it in Sheraton hotel.

anita

I just want to share my unhappy experience liasing with M hotel. They are Sooo inflexible and unaccomadating to any of our request. To think that they are brand new hotel, and we are even prepare to spent the sum of money on them even though there are much uncertainies about their food, services, etc. In the end, we decided to opt for a well-known 5 star hotels which provide us with better services and more perks rather than getting "pek chek" bargaining with "M" hotel.

decbride

Anyone else who have attended a wedding dinner at M Hotel?

I'm getting worried, cos all the comments that I have heard is not good.

berlinelee

I have noticed that the bad comments on the food occurs mostly for wedding dinners on the 10th floor as most of the comments on the 2nd floor are favorable. Is this true?

But anyway, I guess different people has different opinions as well as taste buds so some food may taste nice to certain people while some food might taste terrible to certain people.It really depends.

decbride

I cannot afford to have unhappy guest on the dinner itself, cos I have quite a number of guests who are very particular about food.
Would appreciate comments.

rolly1

Hi Decbride,

I have also booked M Hotel n have tried the food tasting. Overall, the food is good to our family taste.

Of coz, we won't expect the same for the actual dinner as it is always the case.

Since you have already booked the dinner with them, then dun think so much about the quality of the food. Unless you are prepared to cancel the banquet n look for another place, otherwise, I dun see any point for you to be kancheong over the quality of the food. We can't please everyone in our guest list. Do u think your guest will remember your wedding a few years down the road?

Just be a happy bride!