JP - Mr Chia Ti Yu

janz79

hi dreamer11,

reading your post on Mr Chia, I think I know where the problem lies.

You mentioned yours is held outdoor under hot weather and that he requested for the solemnisation to be done under shade (I presume he requested for it in advance?)

However, due to the seating arrangements, he was placed to sit under the hot sun while both of you and the rest are under shade?

Maybe thats why he requested for a swop of place.

weixiang_06

hi Jan, to add on...

for my solemnisation.. all the 5 of us were directly under the sun
lol....

except that for Mr Chia, the sun was directly shining on his face.... however, i did not notice any displeasure or etc...

as what Jan had mentioned, its a bit weird that only Mr Chia had to be in the sun where the rest of you are under shade...

just my two cents... doesn't sound right to me... not to offend anyone...

dreamer11

of course no one would purposely want to place the JP in the sun while we under the shade... the table was under the shade just that the JP seating was at the outer side hence heat was more direct for him...

janz79

Hi dreamer11,

To quote: "On our event, i was told from my coordinator that he requested us to swap seats with him as he was not in the shade due to the seating arrangements.. imagine both us under the sun facing the guests, while he's in shade back facing the guests?? "

You did not feel good when you imagine yourself under the sun for the duration while the JP and the rest of the guest are under the shade.

If you imagine yourself in his shoes, using his own private time arriving to help solemnise your marriage and find himself given a seat under the sun while the couple and the rest of the guest are under the shade. What would you do when you are in his place?

Why wasn't the seat be placed under the shade without him having to ask?

Sorry if I sounded offensive. No offence intended. I am just trying to direct your thoughts to let you think in his position.

weixiang_06

dreamer11, then in this case... your venue coordinator could have thought of this in advance.... sounds weird to me, i concur with Jan...

for mine, there was simply no way coz everywhere is under sunlight. just my two cents...

as for me, i apologise to him that the arrangement is as such, coz there was simply no way that the table could be in the shade for anyone of us.. he simply smiled and replied its okay, no need to worry too much
the talk, he did not rush at all, even though throughout the period, he was under blazing hot sun shining brightly on him at 12noon...

for me, i believe in being good to others when others are good to me... if others are good to me, i will return the favour in leaps and bounds back onto them. simple as that.. that's just me..

to sum up all, its was a great experience for us

dreamer11

shouldn't have said so much .. otherwise i'm like deemed to be a enemy here with my comments.. hehe..

to be very honest, both my hubby and myself are NOT mad at Mr Chia..NOT at all. Not even angry abt it. Was all how i felt then.. I understand that if you do find someone good you will highly recommend.. just like wat we find my photographer great, we highly recommend to other BTBs.. just to share my experience so that other BTBs who are engaging him will avoid some mistakes we made..there are good comments and not so good comments for mostly all Jps right? a sharing place right?

maybe i was too harsh with my comments by saying he's not one i would recommend.. sorry if it sounded that way.. there weren't major hiccups anyway just the overall attitude wasn't what we expected as we met him before and found him really nice..hence the comments.we were just as puzzled. like i've said maybe was really due to the hot weather. Table wise, all in the shade.. just a matter of who's nearer to the 'exposed'..anyway was resolved with just a slight move! Let's not read too much into words. afterall, we all hope all things fall well on our big day without us to crack our heads to resolve right? well, i hope i dun have to 'justify' my comments or feelings as i really shouldn't have to.
cheers.

To all btbs searching for a jp... my advice is to have an open mind when reading all these threads not just referring to this.. most importantly, experience it yourself and find joy while doing this. cheers.

weixiang_06

dreamer11, no lah... you are definitely not deemed to be an enemy... there is no need to apologise either...

everyone is free to comment... as long as it is factual... actually, i also have no idea why the change in attitude... mmz...

anyway, is your AD over already? dun worry too much about it...
happy preparations...

ctlk

i'm getting Mr. CHia for my ROM in May. My HTB contacted him yesterday and he agreed.... wat a relief cos earlier on we contacted Mr. Y and he rejected us by the reason of we are too last min, shd hv approach a JP before 25 days bla bla.. but i dun understand, we are actually 28 days in advance... where is the conflict?

weixiang_06

well, my buddy is having Mr Chia as his solemniser in Sept 10... ^^

sent Mr Chia an email and he reverted within an hour! agreeing to it!

callycupcake

Mr Chia's going to be my JP and he's cool.. He wanted to go for the Sundown run on the day of my ROM, but eventually, he replied tt he's gg to officiate for us. Am extremely grateful and he's nice enuff to get us to meet him at the venues he's ROM - ming for someone so we can observe how he does it, in particular, the sharing on marriage.. Quite cool! He's very popular, so if you want to engage him, do like sms him early..

beaglegal

Hi Cally,

Sundown...is ur ROM on 29th May? We have also engaged Mr Chia to be our JP.

Yes, I oso agree Mr Chia is very prompt in his reply, which is very nice of him.

caprisgal

well, i will strongly NOT recommend him. My hubby and myself had a very unpleasent/bad incident with him. The first incident, he forgot about our meet up session/appt and "ORDER" us to meet him at another place. And the place tat he mentioned was not told earlier. it was last min sms. Secondly: do u guys know hw rude he is? no "greetings" over the sms or email. eg: "Hi". no sign off etc. it was all order sms. eg: "Meet me at Crown prince hotel" tats all! he nvr even bother to ask if we are able to make it? Thirdly, during our actual day, guess wad? while waiting for my guest to be arrival. he asked my co ordinator inpatiently: "have all the guest arrive? if yes, pls get them be seated, otheriwse i have to leave now"! OMG!!! forth: b4 the solemisation get started, guess wad he tell my guest? "erh eh, pls be seated" no introduction made and no greeting to my guest! CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? lastly, after the solemisation, he THREW my ring pillow to another table! he cud have pass it to another one right? tis is the worst solemiser i ever seen!!!

weixiang_06

being a solemniser these days isn't easy... especially when we are just hearing one side of the story...

like sometimes when we are really very busy... we will simply skip the formalities in our sms, and going straight into the details... like sometimes, when i am in a rush for time, i will simply not have the time to go into formalities... though most of the time i will...

to me, i feel that the guests should have the urgency and sense of punctuality... especially when a solemniser needs to solemnise a number of marriages during weekends... more so when he is good...

imagine, if a couple delayed their ROM by just 30 mins.. if the solemniser needs to solemnise 5 weddings that day... how would the last couple feel? the snowballing effect?

weixiang_06

Winnie Ang: personally, you registered on 29th April just to create 1 thread and post 2 separate similar posts on Mr Chia...

pardon me, but i find it just peculiar... coz i have friends and even i myself who had been solemnised by Mr Chia and he is one good man.

caprisgal

weixiang: i understand what u meant. but he cud hav put it in a nicer tone. esp when he is carrying a gd name. anyway, i had tis bad experience with him and im just giving my comment. u might hav a gd experience with him but others not.

michecwy

Hi everyone, can i know wad makes u engage Mr Chia? I heard that he normally talks about how to maintain marriage during the solemnise period?

Normally how long does a solemnise session last?

Thanks! =)

weixiang_06

he will give a mini sharing on the roles and responsibilities, as well as some pointers.. it should last about 10 - 15 min.. The whole prcoess should be over in about less than 30 min

brandon2010

just received a sms from him to tell me that he is not able to be my JP for my wedding which is one month away.

very shocked and unhappy about this. he mention that he was not able to license renewal was delayed and recommended Mr Pua Luck Kheng.

How could this happen?
Did anyone of you received the sms as well?

by the way, anyone hear of Mr Pua Luck Kheng not?
can't find any comment about him.

foop

Hey I got the same problem! He recommended the same man to us. But am quite uncomfortable that Mr Pua is a Buddhist religious leader. Or am I too narrow-minded? I voiced my concerns, as we are atheists, and he recommended Mr Ang Chun Giap. Anyone with experience please?

brandon2010

your date is also in Jan 2011?

i din contact the other person as i cant find any info or reviews of him.
Lucky we went to one of the HDB seminar and met Mr Simon Sim which we are very comfortable with and manage to invite him to be our JP.

fishyuwei

same thing happened to me. My rom is 18/3/11,it is only 1month away n Mr Chia havent confirm with us cos of his license issue.Brandon, may I have Mr Simon Sim contact?

ah_ber84

hi, does anyone know if I can still invite Mr Chia to be my JP? I cant seem to find his details in the ROM site..

julia85

i actually invited him quite some time ago.. and jus recently emailed him to double cfm...
i actually din check the list of JP prior to all this...
18 may he reply my email to say he is available for my ROM in nov...
but jus recently my fren told me his name not in the list..
i jus went to check and indeed, it's not in.. =/

julia85

hi ladies..
i emailed mr chia abt it..
jus got his reply..

"My name would be in the list from 1 Jul 11 onwards as my new term begins that date. "