JP - Chan Kai Yau

Queen > From what i remembered, witnesses can waited till JP is here before they proceed to the stage together with the JP.
Afterwhich, u can get ready to do a march-in liao.

weixiang_06

seems like there are quite a number of brides and grooms who have encountered bad experiences with him..

wonder why so many BTBs and GTBs are still considering to engage him.. for me, i never considered him at all...

Queen > Not to worry, you should assign a coordinator to welcome the JP when he had arrived and subsequently, invite the witness and JP to the stage. That's the time for the couple to get ready and prepare for the first march-in.

weixiang > Another person meat might be another poison. For me, he is still the best and most recommended JP if any of my close friends and relatives wanted to solemnize.
You can't pass such rude remarks as u have never personally engage him.

weixiang_06

garfield, in my earlier post.. which statement or particular word did it constitute / warrant rude remarks?

in every page, i noticed there would be some brides who had expressed their displeasure over his late coming and other issues.. Hence i am wondering why so many BTBs and GTbs are still considering to engage him... for me, i never considered him at all...

is this supposed to be rude? i dun think so, just merely statement what i had gathered from the feedback from people who had engaged him...

sheryce

My chan solemnised my wedding last week and I must say he quite good with the whole thing but one thing is that he's in a rush to go thru the whole thing.

But what disguise me even more is that he asked for more ang bao while on his way out. I got a friend to walk him out and he started opening the ang bao and told my friend he required a min of $100 so my friend has to come back to me to ask for more money which is damn embarrassing.

Given a second chance I wont get him to solemnise. Just my point of view, he makes the whole thing so stressful for me. He expect the ceremony to start on the dot when he reach so his face was black while i try to seat my guest. He only wait for less than 10min and everyone can see that he's v unhappy. And seriosuly, if he's doing a community service he shouldn't be asking for more money. $100 is more than enough to even go Batam.

Btb, please be careful with the angbao issue..

sheryce

Ger&mian: I thought i was the only one that experiencce the "ang bao not enough" saga. Somehow i feel this is not quite right, so my Hus decided to check with ROM with regards to Ang Bao guidelines. We first gave him a $68 ang bao which I thought is quite decent, because I thought ROM quideline is only $20-$30.

weixiang_06

seriously, looking at previous posts.. there are other issues too... so BTBs and GTBs do consider your options =)

after all,its a once in a lifetime event.. not nice for me to cut and paste all the not so pleasant experiences encountered by other couples... the number of couples affected is significant.. just browse through all the entire thread from the beginning, you will know what i am saying..

i will end here, otherwise Garfield will start accusing me of passing rude remarks, though i beg to differ.

thanks for sharing, Sheryce. =)

weixiang_06

Sheryce > ROM guideline is $28 - $48.. it is meant as a token of appreciation to cover their transport and time....

JP and solemnisers are working on this on a voluntary and goodwill basis.

sheryce

Hi weixiang: This was what I thought too so I was caught by surpirsed that he actually opened the ang bao on the spot and request for more. we initially gave him $68 so in order to make up to min $100 we gave me $50 more which make up to $118!! Isn't that abit too much for transport fee? The solemnisation is only 15mins.

Because it's a happy occasion so we decide to give in to his requst and not want to make things ugly but i feel is just not right to request for more money esp you're doing such a 'holy' job. And JP are supposed to be people of special status. I mean what if I can't afford to pay $100 for his transport?

Prob you guys who get him as JP should communicate the Ang Bao money first to prevent any miscommunication. Although it sounds weird because ang bao is not supposed to be pre arranged.
And 1 more thing is you guys gotta be very exact with your timing because he's so busy, he can't wait for you. My photographer told me that he once attended a solemnisation that he walk out from the place cos the couple make him wait 25mins.

weixiang_06

sheryce, i read more comments on him.. some are even more hair raising than what you had mentioned....

it baffles me that BTBs do not read the history... that's why after reading the entire thread as a whole, i have decided not to engage him....

Garfield, once again i am not being rude.. just voicing out my opinions...

dimsummeimei

wei xiang and sheryce, i would like to check where did u guys hold ur ROM?? is it becoz the plc is very far thus he request for a higer amount?

weixiang_06

sorry, i did not engage him... but what i read in the earlier part of this thread... there were more things apart from what shercye and the other bride had mentioned...

to let you know how much my taxi fare would be... from amk to changi airport, my taxi fare is $16...

sheryce

I held mine at Changi Airport T3. I think no where in Singapore is too far to command such a high transport fee. I hope things are not getting out of hand that he's cahrging a premium due to his popularity. Because i feel that a solemniser is holding on to a very holy job so it shouldn't be a moeny making thing.

Currently, one of the ROM officer is investigating this issue and he agrees that asking for $100 transport fee is abit too much.

I hope I don't throw wet blanket at any of the brides who has engaged him. Just wanna let you guys know about it so it doesn't shock you on your big day. To be honest, it kinda spoil our day when all these happens. If only I have choose someone else...

weixiang_06

BTBs and GTBs who have been following this thread, you would notice that there is an eventual dying of this thread.. the updates are slower as compared in the past... after some unpleasant experiences encountered by other BTBs in the past...

if you eventually do wish to engage him, please be mentally prepared for this and other things.. i dun wish to harp and repeat.. just read through the entire thread as a whole..

Garfield, once again i do not think my comments are rude.. coz its just reporting the facts....

Ger&mian, Shercye encountered such things.. i am sure there are other brides and grooms who might have encountered it along with other things.. but they decided not to post here... haiz...

in a forum, we can't just restrict it to compliments, there must also be feedback...

Weixiang > Sorry if i had offenced you ... just that Mr. Chan did gave me a good impression and we had a wonderful ceremony because of him. Hence, i hope to maintain a good impression of him in this thread so as to repay him.
In fact, no doubt i have to agree with u that ang pow are meant to be a token of appreciation. This "ang pow saga" is making me ... this action is so disgusting!

Sheryce > I am so stunned to hear the 2nd "ang pow saga" episope happening again! This prove that the last incident was not an isolated case and i am very upset to know that. I am so puzzled, why is Mr. Chan doing that? Why???
Pls update us again on the investigation, thank you.

Ger&mian > Somehow my heart tell me to be on your side ... i really pity u that such things happen to u and Sheryce.

weixiang_06

Garfield, no lah... no hard feelings okie.. but when i was actively searching for my JP.. I ensured that i read through the thread in its totality... and i was shocked to read some experiences encountered by some brides...

no doubt, he might be good.. but what i was trying to drive across. we can't simply go for the probability that it won't happen again... zzz...

that's why i advised BTBs who are intending to look for Mr Chan to seriously look through the entire thread dating back to a few years ago...

i am not taking sides... but rather just presenting facts. =)

weixiang > I totally agree with what u said ... my sincere apologies to u.
Yes, we must always give the right advice to the future brides. Pardon me for asking, who is your JP? When is your ROM date?

weixiang_06

Garfield, no need apologies lah.. i dun hold against you... i understand that Mr Chan had been very nice for your solemnisation.. but i cannot but feel sad for other brides whose solemnisation might not have gone so well..

as for who is my JP, maybe not so nice to type it out here.. after all, this thread is for Mr Chan, need to respect this thread...

my ROM date will be in March =)

weixiang_06

Garfield, no need apologies lah.. i dun hold against you... i understand that Mr Chan had been very nice for your solemnisation.. but i cannot but feel sad for other brides whose solemnisation might not have gone so well..

as for who is my JP, maybe not so nice to type it out here.. after all, this thread is for Mr Chan, need to respect this thread...

my ROM date will be in March =)

dimsummeimei

geezz like is realie making me worried.. I have contact Mr Chan before in Dec but my ROM is in APril... So its it possibel for me to change my mind now?

kunniqinwa

Hi Queen, so who are u getting? My ROM will be in Apr as well.. but have yet to find a JP, venue etc..!!! so worried and lost.....

weixiang_06

Queen, since you ROM is in Dec.. you can't file for solemnisation as of yet... hence, there are no records in ROM yet...

hope it helps...

dimsummeimei

@ weixiang what i mean is that can i attempt to change the JP? Mr Chan say he will call us by 26 this mth as my ROM is on 26 April... so i m thinking of changing JP...

@ kunniqinwa I am also looking thru the thread to see what other JPs are good...

But actually Mr Chan was reco to me by my col as her wedding is Solmnize by him

weixiang_06

hi kunniqinwa, yup it's best to
1st, decide on the venue (best is to confirm)
2nd, shortlist and contact the JP, cuz they'll want to know the venue.
3rd, confirm the JP, get their JP license number either when they sign the consent form for u or via email/phone call
4th, e-file on ROM website
and lastly, go to ROM on the date/time given my ROM when filing to get the documents and also submit the JP consent form.

HTH! :)

Queen, you haven't done step three.. so technically, its possible..

just read through the entire thread as a whole... from 2002 onwards.

weixiang_06

Happy Penguin (happy_penguin)
Username: happy_penguin

Post Number: 13

Posted on Thursday, July 02, 2009 - 9:39 am: Edit Post Print Post

I had called Mr Chan in Feb09 to invite him to solemnize my wedding in Oct09 and to start at 645PM. He agreed. However when I called him last night to request for his license number and also to re-confirm the timing; He told me that day was a hot date and he needs to go to other place to solemnize and can only make it after 730PM, which I was shocked coz the timing we agreed was not 730PM.

I am upset, do not know whether I should proceed to e-file and invite him to be my JP as I feel 730PM seems to be a bit late, as I worried what if he’s late on that day and I might not have time to mingle with my guests who arrived early. I am having solemnization together on my actual day. Any brides had experience with that?

Haiz

weixiang_06

serene (serenedarryl)
Username: serenedarryl

Post Number: 3

Posted on Wednesday, March 04, 2009 - 9:09 pm: Edit Post Print Post
Mr Chan arrived quite late for my rom.. so disappointed and he rush thru the event as he had to attend another rom I think.. haiz... tot he don't like others to be late then y he himself late for such an important event..

weixiang_06

jfaith (jfaith)
Username: jfaith

Post Number: 42

Posted on Thursday, September 06, 2007 - 9:41 am: Edit Post Print Post
I am so disappointed with Mr Chan. I called him in July and booked for my ROM in September. He told me he can make it as he also had another couple before me at the same venue. He gave me his JP no. and told me to efile and he will contact me nearer the date to sign the consent form. Since I didn't receive any call from him, I called him this week to finalise details. To my horror, he said he didn't have my booking! I even told him what he told me...can you imagine my shock and anger!!! The worst thing, he can't make it for my time slot. The couple before me cancelled their slot so I have a feeling that he cancelled mine too. So so disappointed, I still have to look for another JP and pay for the changes to the efile.

jiening

warao weixiang u plagiarized my post on the steps ah! lol~~~ i tot i was having a deja vu when reading ur post. hahahahahaha!!

ctrus

I recd a call from him to say that he CANNOT do the solemnization for me (after all the nec paperwork done, getting his signature on consent form, e-filing of marriage notice). *breaking news* He asked me to contact another JP. After I called the replacement JP, I need to make changes to the filing instruction for change of solemnizer (payable fee of $15) When the fault is not on me!!! I would still need to let the replacement JP sign on the consent form again. It is like going through paperwork all over again *haiz* I recd the fax copy of a letter attention to ROM office from him to inform that he is unable to solemnize us. Hopefully upon my ROM appt, I can get a refund of the $15. Though is not a huge amount lah, I think it is not rite give empty promises...

weixiang_06

thanks ctrus... in fact you are not the first one to encounter this... so seriously i wonder why he is so popular among the brides... mmz... i mean once in a life time event, you can't boil down to probablity that it will not happen to you...

sheryce

Hi all, there is a ROM officer who is helping to investigate this issue and he's asking if we're willing to testify against this issue which we agreed. I think its not right for a JP to solemnise for a couple and after that insist they pay a certain amount. If this is his practise, he should have put it upfront initially and those who still decide the engage him is their free will. Willing buyer willing seller but not asking for it after the whole event.

I agree that there are probably alot of people who has encounter such incident but didn't want to share in the forum or take any actions because since their ROM is over they won't need his service in future. That was my mentality at first but my husband was the one that wanna take this further.

Given a second chance I would have chosen another JP. Prob someone not so popular so he doesn't have to rush thru my ceremony. Mr Chan was quite reluctant when we ask him for photo-taking. Only manage to take 2 shoots with him and I don't even have time to gather my parents in the photo taking with him.

sheryce

Got the latest update from ROM. The officer just called us and said that apparently we're not the only one who complained, another couple jus wrote in to complain about similar incident as well.

The ROM officer mentioned that when they call up Mr Chan to ask about this case, he said that he will take note in future and that the money he collected are for charity.

Has anybody heard from Mr Chan that he will be donating the money he collect to charity? I seriously is not aware of this. I mean if the money is for charity purposes you have to tell us/the couple and the more you shouldn't set a min limit to it. Charity is volunteery, he should accept whatever amount that is comfortable to the couple.

No offence to anybody but i feel this is his excuse to cover up whatever he has done. My cousin just got married 2months before me and she was solemnised by another JP. She mentioned that the JP told them that this money is for charity and she took down their address so that a receipt will be mailed to them. And truely after 1 week, they received a receipt from Red Cross society with the whole angbao sum as donation.
This is what I mean by donation!!

But I doubt its the same case for Mr Chan. He didn't tell us anything about donations. His reason was the distance is too far thus the min $100 angbao. If its really for charity why can't he tell us at the begining? We will be more than happy to give.

Initally I was quite cool about this whole saga but now after hearing his reason or excuse, I'm really quite pissed off.

hellbabe

I attended one of my frd's ROM last week.
They engaged JP Chan too.
I find him did a good job but not all things perfect.

The ROM suppose to start on 615pm but to our suprise he reached 545pm ask to start the solemnization early at 6pm. Alot of guest arrive in middle of the solemnization as they already inform early dat the ceremony start 615pm. I dun find it nice to start the solemnization early as guests is not in the rooms looks empty and middle of the salemnization guests one by one walked in. so unglam.....

FYI he drive a blue Getz. So $68 should be enough for him to pump petrol.=P

weixiang_06

its said that he doesn't carry a hp? is that really the case? i am thinking maybe his hp is only for his personal usage.... =x

but as all btbs and gtbs can see... do read through all the points and strongly consider them prior getting Mr CHan as your solemniser... Be prepared for the unexpected.

$68 can let me pump a whole tank of Toyota Vios, where i can get 550km worth of travelling distance...

Getz is also very similar. =x

weixiang_06

Money collected is for charity purpose... is it really the case? i doubt it.... apologies to be skeptical... but after the NKF saga, it has proven otherwise...

$100 / session.

On 1 weekend,

15 - 20 sessions x $100 = $1500 - $2000

wow!

ctrus > What last min can't come? Then need a replacement fees of $15? That's ridiculous.

Sheryce > I seriously sympathy with u that Mr. Chan rush thru it without taking any photos with your parents.
I am considered very lucky as he take his time to even take photos with us, my parent and both parents.
Charity to Red Cross with receipt, thumbs up for that JP!!!

babe > I never know he drives coz i sense that he is very humble and saving. I remember when he want to let us sign the consent form, he is still using a Hotel pen which is quite old and abit spoilt.

weixiang > I can't stop laughing at your assumption ....
$100 / session.
On 1 weekend,
15 - 20 sessions x $100 = $1500 - $2000
YOU ARE SO BAD, lol.

weixiang_06

Garfield, coz i read it from SG brides that Mr Chan is so busy that he even attends up to 10 ceremonies on Sat... =x

i am not so bad. i am just providing the figures... =x

ctrus

Garfield >> I recd his call to inform that he cannot do the solemnization for me on 23 Jan 2010. But I have already e-filed my marriage notice. So I need to pay $15 to made the necessary changes on the e-filing (i.e. change of JP).