Japan trip - where to go

• Thread starter Thread starter jo jocelyn
  • Start date Start date
PPGroom:
Hajimemashite = How do you do?
Daijyobu desu ka = Are you fine?

I compare vs my pkg taken, mine was $1745 per pax, bt theirs was abt $2k+ leh...........

Adeline:
I dunno wor, bt I compare liao, I fidn Ananda's price more attractive.

Bt then must c the ingredients inside lah, if pkg cheap bt din bring u to many plcs also useless mah.

Yes I m a Dec bride. U?

Ah Ger,

So hv u bk package with Ananda? Can you share with me your package? Me plan to go on wk 52 (after Xmas)......

Me a sep bride

So next mth your AD . excited bo??

just let you know that going free and easy is fun! i went there with my bf (now ROM) and it was really fun! the 14 days spent in Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka was fantastic

However, you really must read up and do homework eg. read Lonely Planet prior to the trip.

You get to discover lot of wonderful eating places, if you go on F&E.

Enjoy Japan!

happy lady,
did u go to hakone? i m planning for my trip also... do u have suggesgtion which places to go in kyoto and tokyo??

blur blur, hakone is nice for hot spring. u can take the train to hakone from tokyo, journey is a few hours. suggest u buy the hakone trip package. more worth it.

Just came back from Japan. was there for two weeks (and during the earthquake and typhoon.. great experience)

Adeline,
can get from any bookstores(major ones. like kinokuniya, times, etc)

Blur,

hakone is beautiful. from there can see Mt Fuji too.
Are you planning one free and easy. If not, you can take up their one day or two tour around the states.

Kyoto : Qin shui shi, golden pallivion,
more temples seeing and more relax (I find)

Tokyo : city area.
so more or less the same.
Disneyland, asakusa, shinjuku, shibuya.

how long are you going???

Lonely Planet can get frm the web. www.lonelyplanet.com, i used tat for reference every time I wanna go hols.

There were some more links, on 1 of the archived threads, u all may wana look back & refer.

My gf just came back frm Jpn, she said Central Tokyo nt affected @ all wor, so she said no worries.

Adeline:
My pkg was the 7D Honshu Experience. maybe u can call Ananda 6835 8300 for their itinerary to b faxed over. I bk it during travel fair so the price may b abit cheaper. I paid abt $1850 nett per pax incl of taxes. It covers Kyoto, Osaka & Tokyo w/ USJ incl & only 2 lunches nt provided.

Odae:
Sorry to miss tis reply. Dun b sad......... who knows miracle may happen? Then u go in Dec w/ me & hb lor.

Hw abt u try ask abt the Hokkaido? They hv 1N in Tokyo, then u can do ur own extn then u go & explore Tokyo, Kyoto & Osaka. W/ the passes, u can travel to many parts of Jpn. They hv diff kind of passes to suit ur need.

Actually b it F&E or tour pkg, is very subjective, it depends greatly on some ppl. For me, I do tour pkg then extn again on my own.

Hi Ah ger,
Miracle wun happen liao cos confirmed cancelled liao! Quickly found another agency but now still waiting & waiting leh...

Haha...u so funny! HM leh...u wan us to tag along meh??? Plus to diff places wor..

odae:
Mine is a pkg tour mah, u r nt tagging along wat. Nt as if slping in the same room.

I m fine one, initially also wanted to ask our frens to go bt they went to bk another pkg liao, so no chance.

Hi Ah ger,
U really very cute! Hmmm...nvm, the other agency confirmed with us last nite liao! So happy!
Now oni pending for my extn!

Ah ger,
Still will b Hokkaido & Tokyo lor. With UOB Trvl, dep date is a couple of days earlier, which is wat we wanted initially

harlow!! just wondering ah... do you know that our handphones from S'pore when bring over to Japan can still call home? Heard from some frens that it cannot work leh... how ah?

If u go Jpn - u hv to go to Singtel & apply for an overseas line. So whoever wanna contact u hv to call tat # given by Singtel.

Nt sure if they connect ur hp # t tat # during tat period though.

yeah, i might call them... cos heard from frens that japan very unique one... our normal hp cannot use over there one...

Just to check with you gals who have been to Japan, any special stuff to buy when in japan? Heard that there's stores selling $2 stuff, is it worth to shop?

Hi Ah ger,
Sorry for the late reply. Ya...the price is slightly more expensive but m glad it's being confirmed. Their svc is oso quite good!

Hi PPgroom,
Dun think our hp is compatible with their network. They r using their own network. Got to rent special handset.

Hi Rachel,
Ya...there's numerous 100 yen & 200 yen shops. Worth buying the stuff & if u work out, 100 yen = abt S$1.60.

PPgroom:

Jpn is using PCN line tats y we cannot use ours tare.

Bad news!!!!!!!!!!!
Ananda called me le, trip cancelled *sob sob sob*. Then nw I gotta find either another place to go or I seek another travel agt. Then my refund takes 3wks - 1mth wor......... which means to say nw I need to fork out another sum of $$ for my deposit.

hi odae,

yeah, that's what i heard... can we rent the hp from S'pore before going over? SIM card can still use our own one?

hi ah ger,

huh??? really cancelled liao ah??? sigh... i think it's due to the recent quakes, perhaps many ppl cancel their trip liao... how come the refund take so long one? you got buy travel insurance? wonder if such cancellation can claim?

PPgroom:
Yeah they called me le, then really cancel. *sob sob*

So nw I m looking @ more options. They hv a South Africa, bt then arh, guess the price? Dbl up fr each person leh - hw to go?

hi adeline
i did not go to hakone. Went to Kansai (kyoto and osaka)
i bought the lonely planet. You can save $ by accessing the website as mentioned by ah ger

blur blur: i recommend Osaka castle and Universal studio in Osaka. As for Kyoto, you can visit the shrines and temples. The 2 famous ones are Kiyomizdera and Kinkakuji.

our hp cannot be used in japan.

i am going to osaka in dec.anyone have any ideas how to charge video and digital camera batteries over there?do we have to buy special cable?

by the way,any nice place to go and eat in osaka?

hi hi everybody

just wanna ask for feedback, has anybody heard of anything abt the svc of Hong Thai? Cos Hong Thai's Jpn pkg rather reasonable, itin also abt the same as Ananda, only thing diff is the carrier is by SQ for the dep I want.

Pls advice as I need to bk a pkg desparately.

hi apuppy,

you do not need special cable, but you will need to buy an adapter for S'pore's plug...

anyone knows whether we can rent from SingTel hp which can be used in Japan?

Hi PPgroom,
Not sure leh cos I'm not with Singtel & had nv rented a hp during trvl. Usually will try to use ICC wen overseas as I find the rate being quite reasonable.

Hi PPgroom,
U can call Singtel to apply & they'll give u card with all the codes plus ur pin #. So wen u r overseas, juz refer to the card for countrycode to dial + ur pin..den they'll prompt u to key in the S'pore # u wan to dial & u'll be connected via the respected country's fixed line.

All charges & bills will be billed to u thru Singtel. Hope this helps.

I chked out Hong Thai & Nam Ho - they both hv. Hong Thai doesn't allow extn cos they said airline said cannot.

Then Nam Ho said can wor, bt then dunno hw true is it.

Odae:
I dun hv tat UOB thing w/ me le, think I threw it away le, wats the info like? Can tell me?

hi odae,

so meaning i need to use those line phones to call back S'pore right? If i use hotel phones, will the hotel charge us extra??

PPGroom:

Further observation of their itins, many plcs Nam Ho nv go. Then arh - all these travel agencies in Chinatown - they charge 2% if u pay by credit card hor. Hong Thai ties in w/ Citi & DBS nia on the 0% interest.

Hi Ah ger,
Sorry I dun haf the brochure with me..cos I'm staying @ my mum's pl now. But think my itineries will be diff fr urs cos I'll b going to Hokkaido.

Btw, UOB trvl is located at Novena Sq.

Hi PPgroom,
Yup! Not sure abt the phone in htl rm. Wat we did was used the phones located at htl lobbies, which allow one to make intl calls.

PPGroom:

Hv cfm Nam Ho's itin is nt as gd as Hong Thai, cos as I highlighted, I realised there were many missing places, so I called & asked.

Also ans to ur qn y I m nt gng to Europe. Cos we felt nw we dun hv much $$ to go Europe, + each pax's tic is @ least $3k, then already $6k. Then expenses leh? It's nt cheap.

We told ourselves we wil go nx yr cos by then no more commitments then we can enjoy freely.

Odae:
I know, I wanted w/ Hokkaido bt all full. I madea wrong step, shld hv bk the one w/ Hokkaido initially & nt just Honshu Jpn.

thanks odae.

ah ger,

actually i saw those travel ads for europe, cost about $2.3k for a 5D trip... as compared to $1.9k for japan's 7D.

so now you how? your AD getting nearer leh...

PPgroom:
Sorry to reply late.

5D Europe trip veyr bo hua. I actually got a fax 12D Europe (Swtiz, Paris & London)for abt $3k. Bt hb said dun wanna go, he said nx yr then go. Cos $3k x 2 = $6k le, which means we dun even hv $$ to spend for other things.

I bk Hong Thai already. We hv decided nt to extend. Initially wanted to go to Taipei the moment we touch dwn. Bt then the tickets alone are so exp, eve by EVA Air is ard $600+, China Air is $500+. Then we r thinking of HK.

Btw whoever wanna go HK nw, CX has a promo, dunno till when bt I know tis period is still applicable. $288 exc taxes of abt $82. Any flight also can take one. We r still deciding if we wanna switch to HK, as in when we arrv Sin on 29 Dec.

i jus return from my japan trip last nite... it ws a great trip!! u all wun get bored... the place is always so clean, disneyland is so fun (though i only take pic wif a few characters... mickey mouse is so cute), the temples in kyoto are very grand n beautiful, deer park in nara is cosy and nice... we took many pictures n i dun think i will forget this trip as i spend my first anniversary wif my FH there in japan...

for those who are still waiting to go, guess u must be very anxious and eager right? do enjoy the whole trip...

oops forget to tell u tt the food there are delicious.. even food in little stores are yummy!!!

hi ah ger,

so you book trip to japan or hong kong?? me blur liao... hehe

hi blur blur,

food shd not be a prob for those who dun take sushi etc right?

PPGroom:
cos I rch ard 1.30am leh, then I wanna get an early morning + tat plc must also b cooling one.

If I dun go, then 29 - 2 Jan - do nothing jin wasted leh.

I can get free stays in these places so need to buy for tickets only lor. Bt then tics also I know nt cheap.