J&C Bridal Collections

uh.. the thread seem to die off liao, mebbe everyone busy..

Anyway me went for 2nd fitting, still cant find the gown I like. At 1st tot can settle and book the PS photographer, and MUA, but in the end didn't.

Still haven seen any EG

Hi Wan Chuen,

Sorry for the late reply, been busy..

How was ur 2nd fitting? Did you reserve the gown u like? I'm still deciding if I shld made to measure.. I attended my fren's wedding recently, think his bride is from Divine.. wow, her gowns are ful of details & bare back, v v nice.. somehow the frills r done v nicely.

How come never choose the PS photographer & MUA?

Think muz wear can can, then got WG feeling.. anyway, they have big & small ones, so can check wif them.

Wrt RTP, I haven't tot of when I wan to choose the theme etc, prob after June.. if possible, wld wan to arrange for a mockup of decor during food tasting.. But whenever i'm free, i'd think of the color theme etc.. When do you intend to choose?

Hi Oink,

How've u been? Enjoying married life? Check wif you, how long u took to decide on the gown? Ie how many sessions? Now still cannot decide on mine..

So glad to hear from u, Shyen. How many times you went down already? Actually for my 2nd fitting I didnt try as many gowns as my first time, but I tot J & C gowns are also v nice, details, frills etc. Problem is that when I like the details, the gowns are off-white (I try to avoid). When the gowns are white, I dun like the details. aiya.. in the end they suggest i MTM lor.

U mean U chose the PG and MUA liao? *panic*... 1st time I went,tot too early. 2nd time tried til quite late, so went home without thinking abt them. Sigh.. I better hurry.. who u taking?

I haven't tot abt theme at all, plan to start in july, coz by then PS should b over? Didnt know abt the mock up, would try requesting.

Hi Oink, I would appreciate your advice also. As I said, the 2nd time I tried fewer gowns (they din volunteer take out some more), if I go 3rd time still cannot settle dunno what will they do..

Hi Wan Chuen,

haha.. think we really got many similarities... til now stil cannot decide on the gown.. me went 2x already.. actually for the second time, basically i retry those that i tried the 1st time.. plus try others, but all not nice.. not suitable, then they say tat's y they didn't take out for me mah.. so it's back to square one... I'm down to 2, it's quite nice, but still dun have the "This is it" feeling..
For me, i didn't try the off-white ones, cos I only insisted on pure white. So maybe less "trouble" for me.
Hubby was telling me either I listen to others' opinions on wat is nice or choose my own ideal gown.. no half half

am afraid of driving them crazy if i still cannot decide.. tat's y still haven't go for 3rd appt.. haah.. do u think they'd stil be so patient? but was thinking if already pay so much for New OTR, then need to MTM, it's a waste of $$ lor..

actually for MUA, u beta book early, if u've a preference.. many brides use Kelly, tat's y i also use her.. but think gowns wise, still can wait lor, even if confirm by May, dun think it's too late.

actually so far they didn't suggest MTM to me, cos they think i look gd in one gown.. but it's not wat i've always dreamt of wearing.. so tat's y hubby say either listen to professional advice or go for wat i like..

Am so glad i've found someone who shares the same feelings... my fren tot i'm being too fussy!

yah, we really v similar. I didn't insist pure white, but I told them I prefer. Then comes the prob, coz their pure white collection is mostly satin,which I dun like. So either way I got to sacrifice one requirement.

For the 2nd time I started with those that I haven seen before, then a few from 1st fitting. I also dunno whose to listen to, 1st fitting I went myself, 2nd time with a fren and hubby.

What are your preferences so far, e.g. lace, bustier etc? U like frills har?
Maybe we should do a comparison list of those we tried haha..

Now I worried abt the MUA also.. wait kelly taken up, then headache again!

Hello ladies
My 1st appt with J&C next week, i took a half day off for the fitting, will be discussing my EG design with cyn , maybe try on some EGs to see which cut is suitable for me... my hubby, two friends and sis will be going with me... haha... hope its not too many opinions flying around.... i kind of have an idea of what i want, but have to ask cyn for her opinion to see if its suitable for me..cos my figure alittle difficult to find suitables dresses...

as to wan chuen's question on a can-can, i think can-can gives the WG a wedding touch to it, thats what separates it from the rest of the gowns out there... you can ask for a smaller can can? I have been to a few BSs, and J&C has smaller can cans as compared to some other BSs..

Sorry me cannot contribute much to your discussion on fittings , prob will have more feedback and suggestions and feedback when i go for mine..

Hi Shyen,

My selection was quite fast. I'm the chop chop kind. Maybe I was lucky, cos the gowns they let me try, fitted me exactly. Amazingly is the cheong sum. Like tailored made for me. So coincidentally, the EG they showed me, was half done dat time. I loved it at first sight.

Hi Wan Chuen,

U shd ask them to call you when they have new gowns. On your part, do you have any special preferance? When I first signed with J&C, I told them I wanna look like a princess. Wanna wear as pong pong as possible..........hahahahaha

Hi Shyen,

Married life has been great so far. Definitely squabbles are inevitable. Just a piece of gd news, I'm expecting my bb gal this June......

Gals, for MUA, if you wanna choose Kelly, better tell Cyn to book her fast. U know dat time, I had my trial oni in Jul after my PS. So daring hor........

For shooting, I chose Eric. U can arrange a time with Eric to discuss on your photoshoot. For instance like where he suggest to take? Wat kind of styles you like.......

No worries abt the artwork for the photos, juz let them show you wat they can do. At least, they r not the pushy sort. Unlike a lot of BS.....It's really a scary experience.

Hey Oink,

Congrats! Muz take care hor? Have u tot of a name for her?

I rem tat ur gowns are v nice, esp the cheongsam.. but cos u're tall & slim, tat's y easier for u to find gowns.. I'm not so chop chop like u.. need to exhaust all the gowns then can decide :P

Wan Chuen,

Oh their pure white mostly satin? Dun rem many satin though i tried quite a no of pure white.. funny har?
Erm.. actually i'm not v sure what I like.. sometimes i think frill is nice but other time i like classic look.. pretty clashing..but i dun relly like lace & embroidery..
As for cut, i think bustier looks gd, but it's pretty common..

Hi Alesa,

Wow, u bringing so many pple haha? Scully cannot decide, cos still got Cyn etc opinions.. nvm, then u go by majority vote lor..

think prob 1st appt they'll let u choose WG, only when u've decided, then they move on to EG, else v confusing.

Do update us on ur trip ya?

Hi Alesa, have fun for your 1st fitting! Think Shyen is rite, WG 1st then EG. So til now I haven seen their EG, coz cant even decide on WG.

Shyen, u said u tried a no of pure white? I dun rem trying many pure white organza, but I was told that's abt it, unless I wan satin then got some more lor sigh. Now on my kiv list is a halter neck (with collar kind, if u know what I mean), but (1) its off-white (2) I cant wear my choker,my favourite accessories. *headache*

Oink, thanks for your advice and congrats on ur baby's arrival in 3 months. Shyen mentioned seeing your gown, can I take a look at ur pics and gowns too?

P.S Any of u confirmed going J & C show at York Hotel? I find not v worth it going down just to see the gown, coz I am not going to book the hotel, and bridal package already confirmed :P But if any of u going, I will consider going too, coz got company!

Wan Chuen,

Can try to ask if can go n attend so that you can see the gowns? If the hotel have lucky draws then cannot participate coz think its considered guest passes for cyn...

Hi Wan Chuen,

When is ur next appt? Have u reserved the gowns u prefer? Halter neck is nice ah.. but i dun look gd in it.. actually u can choose like bustier etc for ur EG, so u can wear ur choker..

So u decide to MTM is it? Sometimes if reserved by other brides, they won't take out & show u.

Hi Skywolf, think Cyn says coz its not J and C show, but York Hotel's show, so I cant go in as guest leh.

Shyen, I was thinking of what you suggested also, wear choker for EG. But I haven seen their EG, so I kiv the halter WG, but din ask them reserve. At the moment, I dun think I'll MTM, still hoping I can find one I like. I haven booked my next appt, wait til I decide whether I can accept off white.. or else waste their time and my time also.

What abt u? When your next appt? last time u said u may need to MTM? What kind of material and cut is the gown you look good in? Maybe they showed it to me also, since both of us petite heh heh.

Oh yah, thank you all for your advice on can can. seems that most gowns I tried need can can, so I guess I have to get used to it.

Wan Chuen,

U KIV the halter neck, just in case the EG u like also halter neck is it? tat way, u'd end up wif 2 same cut gowns.. but think u can just make a reservation rite? No harm.

Now dun think i'll MTM, cos no $$ liao.. prob show them a few pics whose gowns i like & ask them if they have OTR.. have u booked ur AD photographer & videographer? Realise need to set aside a few $K for payment of bridal package, photos, AD pics etc.. argh.. $$$..

Erm.. not v sure wat looks gd on me.. but i look quite skinny on bustier.. i need the soft flowy kinda gowns else too overwhelming for me..

Shyen, mebbe like what you said, I still haven got the "this is it" feel, so I just KIV lor. We can make reservation and later change our mind one meh?

My AD video, photo, all not done yet. Did u sign with J and C for that? And still got bridal car, haven found a source..

Wan Chuen,

Erm. not sure if can make reservation & change later leh..

No, i didn't sign up wif J&C.. does ur package include AD photography? Am currently sourcing for videographer.

yup sure will let you all know about the outcome of my fitting! alittle excited now , its the day after tmr...anyway, my EG is MTM so thats why must decide on that first... then comes WG... sigh i still have no idea what i want for EG... hope cyn can design something i like...

Wan Chuen, if im not wrong, if you have reserved a gown but not yet make any alterations according to your figure, they still allow you to change... but if alterations already made, abit difficult for them to change gown...
I already book my AD photographer and videographer liao from outside... me kiasu lah..

Haha.. that time I was very excited for my 1st fitting, but now die down liao. Next week would b the third time I going down. Shyen, you booked your next appt yet?

Your AD nov rite? So fast book liao ah.. How abt car rental huh? Any lobang to intro?

Skywolf, yup going down tmr afternoon, im looking forward to it...hehe...

Wan Chuen, Yah lor, my AD is nov, but after experience of not getting hotels for my selected dates, i turned kiasu when it comes to booking people for my AD.. haha... anyway you need contacts? I saw a few AD photographers before coming to a decision.. can send you if you wan..
BTW when is your AD again? Sorry if you have mentioned before in this thread..

As for car rental, we have not decided whether to use my father's car (a 1.6CC one) or to rent a bigger nicer one from J&C, that one we KIV first...

I using my hubby nick to login cos I lazy to sign up for an a/c myself

Anyway I sign up with J&C at a bridal show last yr. Both my gowns r MTM loh.

Both r ready but somehow I feel something is not right... my WG is ok. It gave me the 'WOW' feeling the 1st time I try it on when it's done but the EG was not wat me n my hubby expected. My hubby says it look like i'm wearing amour. sigh. then did some alterations now better. But now it's like 'ok loh' kind of feel dun have e 'WOW' factor in it. Now I dunno wat to do leh.

Anyway they allow me to take photos when I went to try out the gowns. (Shh... dun say I tell u all one huh...)

wxyang, wow you took MTM package, must be expensive rite? Mebbe that's why they entertained your request to take photo? So envious, they dun allow me.. How's your EG like? amour coz of the the sleeves or what? How did you come up with the design?

Alesa, so how's ur gown fitting today?
My AD is 29 Oct. How much you paid for your AD photographer? Can pass me the contacts for AD photographers? Thank you!

Shyen, when your next appt? Me kinda worried now, we supposed to decide by may coz PS in june rite? Me everything not fixed yet, WG, EG, PS day, PG,MUA...Die!

ya loh. ex n very little photos only.... e MTM gowns r the ex part.... then now e gown not nice... anyway i going down this evening to discuss with them see can do something abt it not.

I gave idea for the skirt part. somehow when it's done, it's not something I had in mind. As for the upper body, Cyn did the design for me. I wanted halter but my WG already halter then she say like go no diff like that loh. then she design those 2 straps kind for me. Then got gathers got whole upper half. Then I say wun gathers make me look fat but she say no. Now e thing is out n I try, it make me look short n fat. argh... ask her to make the straps thinner n less gathers. better now but still...

it looks like amour cos of the gathers, a lot of clothe needs to be used then end up that part very think n hard like can 'stand' on it's own. I chose chiffon. suppose to be soft n flowy now become amour

did some search online n found these 2 designs which I gonna show her tonight. See my gown can alter to which...

the skirt of my EG is something like the pink one. Thinking of changing the top part...

If not, change the skirt part to the orange one. E orange one was wat I had in mind when I told her the design...

My fitting went well, it took a shorter time than i expected, finished in 3 hrs..haha...it was overall fun,and cyn was very patient and easygoing.. i showed her a design which i preferred and she offered suggestions to improve it cos i have very wide hips (pear shape body)and i tried on a few other different designs as well .. and i chose shocking pink for the colour.. When she first showed me the colour,she said it was suitable for my skin tone (cos im fair) ,i was very apprehensive (too bright!!) but i trusted her cos she being the designer will know better,and when i tried it, to my surprise i looked nice...haha...

wxyang
can i have your email address so i can send you the details? Sorry to hear about your MTM EG.. however my experience with cyn is that she is a good listener and patient person so i think she will try her best to improve it till its to your liking.. Be postive ok?

WanChuen
I mailed you liao.. so your date very near mine.. my AD is 11 NOV.. dun worry lah, still got time dun stress, but personally i think more imptn to book your PG first, cos if you like one and he is taken , it can be very frustrating.... my PS day set already, sometime in july and i will choose my OTR WG later in may..

Thx Alesa
My email add is [email protected]
My EG is shocking pink too! wat a coincidence!

Went down to J & C yest. Did some amendments to the skirt but not to something like the orange one cos she say's it'll be mission impossible. haha... So we modify from the current design. Then I told her I really dun like the gathers n request to have it removed. Well it really look more plain w/o the gathers but at less i dun look fat now
no more changing, otherwise Cyn will strangle me. hahaha.... Cos my PS on 2/5. No much time to change n change anymore.

hi wxyang, glad that you have your EG sorted out. Hope you are happier now. Ur PS on 2/5 so next step is to have your trial make up? When your AD? I like the 2 pics u uploaded, but mine not MTM, so no choice. Can I have the website where you got the pic?

Alesa thanks for your email. Guess I better decide quickly.. When will you get to see your EG? Any idea what you want for your WG?

Hi Wan Chuen,

I've sort of confirmed my WG & EG.. left wif tea dress.. did all the trying of EG & tea dress quite quickly.. think maybe you can check wif Cynthia when's the latest time u need to confirm ur gowns, so tat by tat time, if u still cannot find, then u proceed to MTM.. but of cos u need to give them reasonable time to MTM.

Currently do you have any design in mind?

Yoz shyen,

Sorry for my late reply! Getting bulky these days ya......I plan to take preggy pics, den can show u liao.....hahahaha.......

My bb will be named Shayanne. Thot it's quite sweetie for a gal.

Hey gal, I'm nt dat tall lah. Oni 1.62m. My hubby is the tall one, 1.8m. So I had to wear 5 inch heels For my AD.hahahaa.......Maybe oso cos I'm lucky, so happen their sizes fit me well....my favourite is the Cheongsum oso.....a pity I didn't buy it. Anyway, dunno I can ever fit into it after giving birth.....

Hi to all gals,

Have been to J and C again and selected my EG and WG. EG still ok, my expectations not high. WG not the ideal one, coz in the end chose off-white instead of white due to the nicer design. Now still wondering whether I should change while there is still time. Somehow I feel the helpfulness has reduced as in they din suggest any more gowns for me to try, just waiting for me to choose from those I tried in previous fittings.

Shyen, how is your EG and WG like? Mine is a red EG, bustier WG. Not sure whether they are new as claimed..

Wxyang, PS in a few weeks, is your EG done already? So gowns n accessories for PS also selected?

Alesa when will you get to see your EG? Started trying for WG? By the way, thanks for your email on photographers.

Paiseh was busy last week...

Thx Alesa for the PG info

Trial makeup already done. Ivy is doing my makeup. I find her not bad lah. She still analyse my face say left side of my face is slimmer than my right. So if I wanna look slim, try taking photos from my left. hahaha din realise my face is one side fatter than e other. interesting. Then she says she'll try to use makeup to even out the difference. Then trial makeup looks good. My hubby says I mei mei. hehe... She also says can let her know what type of 'look' I wan to have then she can cater to my needs. Of cos she'll tell me whether it suits me anot lah. But if die die still wan she'll still do it for u but dun blame her if it dun turn out nice....

Cyn haven call me to go down for the final fitting with all the laces done n such. Haven choose accessories. They say Ivy will choose for me according to my gowns. Total I change 5 gowns n plus one 30 yr old antique.... My mum's EG! hahaha....

Wan Chuen, I did a search in yahoo for gowns with ruffles. So the 2 gowns are from diff site. Dun rem from where. Sorry

hi gals!
No problem with the quotes, i got it off another bride from this forum as well, must help one another mah

wan chuen, glad you managed to find your gowns, as for me, my fitting for my MTM EG is on may 10, will choose my WG then... have decided on a bustier cut and will prob get one with embriodery rather lace.. will see how lah... hopefully can find one which suits me..

hi Wan Chuen,

Y dun u MTM ur WG, since it's not ideal? It's only the color that you dun like is it? Is ur EG red halter neck bare back? My WG is pure white sleeveless.. v simple. No frills, bare back watsoever. EG is pink as well. Did u manage to try the tea dress?

Hi Shyen, MTM is ex leh, and I worried this will delay my PS. My EG is red halter (the kind with a collar), but the back is not bare, got the translucent kind of cloth covering. On thiinking back, its quite plain.. no train, embroidery etc. What kind of cut is your pink EG?

Your WG is satin is it? I wanted organza, so took off white. But also not bare back. So in the end both my gowns not bare back =p

Tea dress is kua or cheongsum? I only tried one kua. Have you started thinking abt your PS location? When is your PS day?

Alesa, good luck with your next fitting!

Wxyang, don't worry abt the website, anyway I already settled my EG. J and C said I wont be able to meet the photographer to communicate 1st. I just tell them the locations I want, then they relay to him. Is that what you did too?

hi wxyang, can you send me your package that you sign up during last year's show? I am interested in signing up with J n C as i love the photos taken there and the WG has a lot of different varieties depending on what you're looking for.

My email address is [email protected]
Would appreciate if you can let me know what to take note of when discussing the package. Thanks lotz ya