J&C Bridal Collections

oinkeebabe

Hi Skywolf,

I heard cyn said before, she got couples who used it for overseas shots. They are quite ok with it. U may wanna check with her for details.

shyen

Anyone knows if we are allowed to wear our Actual Day gowns (wedding gown, evening gown + tea dress) for photo shoot?

estee

Hi Shyen,
According to them we can wear our actual day gowns for photoshoot, after that they will send it for dry cleaning so that it looks good again on our AD. I will actually be doing that as well.

shyen

Hi Suzanne,

Thanks for your reply! I need to double confirm cos some BS I went to keep saying no BS will allow their brides to wear AD gowns for photoshoot. I feel tat like tat, no meaning leh..

When's ur big day? Which package u signed up? Btw, how can we tell that the gown is New OTR or just OTR, besides based on wat they tell us? I'm quite confused..

estee

Hi Shyen,
Yah quite a no. of studios don't allow you to bring your AD gown outdoor for your photoshoot, but you could always have it taken indoors :eek:)
My AD is on 25Mar. I went for the New OTR package at first but in the end I took the MTM package bcos I couldn't resist. I seriously dunno how to differentiate just by looking at the dress unless the gown goes out of shape of the colour has faded or something. But before I switched my package, I went to the shop b4 their fashion show and they have some dresses that are not really completed yet which for sure are not worn by another bride, or you can ask them to show you the gowns that's going to be shown during the show.

estee

Hi Shyen,
Yah quite a no. of studios don't allow you to bring your AD gown outdoor for your photoshoot, but you could always have it taken indoors :eek:)
My AD is on 25Mar. I went for the New OTR package at first but in the end I took the MTM package bcos I couldn't resist. I seriously dunno how to differentiate just by looking at the dress unless the gown goes out of shape of the colour has faded or something. But before I switched my package, I went to the shop b4 their fashion show and they have some dresses that are not really completed yet which for sure are not worn by another bride, or you can ask them to show you the gowns that's going to be shown during the show.

shyen

hi Jac,

Think it's $2988 for OTR, if i didn't rem wrongly.. u can make appt to meet up wif them.. they're not pushy, dun worry.. & at the same time can try their gowns to get a feel.

Happy Chinese New Year!

With regards to price and details, it is better to take a look and see how comfy you are with Cyn... she's the designer + lady boss. Personally, i find her not bad as it is easier to talk to one person (instead of another BS which my gal friend took) rather than making appts with diff ppl...

jetudes

I just signed up with J & C bridal collections. But hardly any recent posts regarding the studio (whether good or bad). Any BTB with J and C? Maybe we can start a new discussion, heard they'll be having their bridal show next month.

alesa

hi Wan Chuen
I just signed up with J & C as well, i like their gowns and their personal service. Yeah i agree the thread is pretty quiet, my AD is in nov so i need to go for my first fitting soon. When is yours?

Just continue on w the current tread lor...
And yep, i'm w J&C. But AD is far lor, so i got not much to share lor...

shyen

Hi Wan Chuen,

I'm also a J&C BTB, also having banquet at RTP, same as u
when's ur AD?
Went to choose gowns already, quite an experience, think her gowns quite pretty..

jetudes

Hi Shyen and Alesa my AD in Oct. I am going down to J & C next week, looking forward to it..
Anyone going to J & C bridal show?

alesa

Hi Wan Chuen
Oh thats very close to mine (nov)... so next week is your first appt? I have yet to make one, alittle busy, maybe end of the month.. yah i will be looking forward to mine also!
When is the show? Is there a fee?

Hi Shyen
I think her gowns very pretty also, is yours MTM? My EG is MTM so cyn was asking me to do some research and have an idea of what i want ..eerrr, which i have no idea actually haha... need to go borders or kino to browse some wedding mags, cos i feel local bridal mags feature limted EGs..

shyen

Hi Wan Chuen & Alesa,

My wedding also in Oct
Looks like we can share all our preps here.. maybe gg to the show, cos I wanna see if got new gowns tat i can choose..

My package is new OTR, but eventually i may MTM, cos very limited gowns due to my size.. see how it goes lah..

jetudes

Shyen, mine is also new OTR, U had ur 1st appt n tried the gowns they have at the moment (not those for the coming show)?

I dun dare take MTM, coz I worried if the gown delay then PS delay and I wont get my album in time. Paranoid or wat? =p Cynthia groaned when I asked her can get the album early early ahaha..

Alesa, will keep u updated after I go down next week. Any experienced gals can advice how many fittings have to go down, if take new OTR?

shyen

Hi Wan Chuen,

Yes I tried the gowns tat they've currently.. dun think any from the show.. but anyway, it'd be too late for me to select gowns from the show (unless of cos they can show me prior to tat), cos maybe abit late..

But i'm pretty fussy.. so far still haven't had the "this is the gown" feeling yet.. do update me of ur first appt, & see whether we feel the same

jetudes

Shyen, why do u say too late to wait for new designs from the show? Isn't that what new OTR is about? Then when will be your next appt to J and C?

To all J & C BTB, have you decided to take the classic kind of photos or with artwork? Artwork is v ex hor..

shyen

cos i gan cheong mah hehe.. scared wait till then dun have wat i like, then too late to MTM.. think they have some new OTR now, which you can try.

jetudes

Shyen, oh coz your AD in sept hor? Then have you booked your PS and MUA? which photographer u chose? By the way the 1st appt is the one we have to pay another 20% is it?

Alesa, how is your research on EG? Mine is OTR, so nothing I can do heh. Can I ask how much is your package?

Skywolf, your AD still so far but did u decide on J and C so early?

alesa

So sorry for the late reply... Been busy so didnt drop by...

I havent done much research on EGs cos i dont really have am idea of what i want, prob will ask cyn to suggest. As for my package, i didnt want the big portrait and tabletop photos so i managed to exchange those for a MTM EG,so technically its the new WG and EG package..

yeah i agree artwork very ex as well, so maybe we stick to classic, we will decide again after the PS..

Can i enquire again? When and where is the J and C show?

Shyen, i know what you mean about "this is the gown" feeeling, i went to a few shops and only J and C gowns gave me that feeling though i tried on only 2..However i was still contemplating and visit them 2 more times before signing on the dotted line.. heh..

Hi Wan Chuen,

Then bf had proposed, and we can make use of the OTR gown as my ROM gown, convert my trial make-up to ROM make-up... save $.
J&C was my 1st choice, so we went down to check it out... and hubby said ok (think he's lazy to walk abt other BS to look-see) but anyway, signed and the rest is history. *grins*

shyen

Wan Chuen,

No, my AD is in Oct, PS in June & MUA is Kelly. She did my makeup for my ROM and received good comments.. plus she's nice & patient.
Erm, not very sure abt the 20% thing leh..

Alesa,

The show is 22nd April, i think at York Hotel. But shld check wif Cynthia for further details.. yes, i tried on a gown at J&C when choosing BS, and really liked it..

U gals have any idea how many times we can go down to choose our gowns?

jetudes

Went for 1st appt, tried many gowns but haven confirmed. Was told the next time I go should limit down to about 2 gowns left. So I guess average of 2, 3 time for gown choosing? But anyway to tell if the gowns are OTR or new? Somehow the off-white ones look oldish so I dunno whether its safe to take even if they claim its new.

Shyen, we so many common points! Same hotel, same bridal, and same month for wedding =) Actually there's a gown I like but RTP supposed 2 b v grand, the one I chose quite simple, so dun match. now I dunno how to decide coz that nver occured to me. I tot can take pic of the gown, but they dun allow.. too bad.. U booked PS and MUA already ah? I still haven leh.

Alesa, Shyen is rite, the show is at York hotel, there's a fee but tickets is bought thru York hotel, so must contact the person in charge there. But Cynthia warned even if I like the gowns from the show, maybe cant alter, coz I too petite whereas the gowns for the models tend to be bigger, sigh.. tot I can get the newest gowns but now cant, unless dun have to alter too much.

Skywolf, I see, so U ROM liao but haven AD lah ;p

shyen

HI Wan Chuen,

So glad u can share your experiences.. guess wat, i felt exactly the same as u!!! My first appt, i tried some gowns (not too many in my opinion hahaa), quite nice lah, but not really like wat i've always dreamt i'd wear.. u know tat kinda feeling? Not sure if u understand..

Agree wif u there's no way to tell (at least i dunno lah) whether it's New OTR or just OTR, i trust them to differentiate for me loh.. agree tat the off white ones like abit worn b4, haha.. exactly same sentiments!
Me also like things to be simple.. so naturally the gown i've always in mind is simple lor..er..have never tot tat gown + hotel muz match..
U also petite? Same here.. haha.. she also mentioned that the gowns at the fashion show are big, so alter already not nice.. hence in a way it's pretty limited for me..

How many gowns u tried? Have u exhausted all their gowns? hehee

Wan Chuen,

Yup... plans chged, so got to kiv...

Gowns wise, i believed unless you are in the industry, it's very hard to spot new or old OTR. For all you know, all the stains had been washed off real throughly that it seems brand new...

jetudes

But at least for some gowns I tried, I was told straight that its not new, but they showed me coz it fits wat i described. On the other hand, there's one supposedly new, but there was a hole near the edge, said to be caused by another customer trying it.

Sigh.. quite disappointed leh, after hearing the gowns for the show may not be suitable, thats my initial plan when I chose the new OTR package as compared to normal OTR. See how

Shyen, sure i understand your feeling
Most of the gowns I tried are nice, including some satin ones, but I dun like satin heh.

Any gal watched the wedding program on channel u yest? I was drooling over the gowns..

shyen

Wan Chuen,

Oh, so u mean they showed u juz OTR gowns? So if u take those WG, then u exchange for MTM evening gown is it? For me, they didn't show me the old ones.. maybe they know i v fussy :p
If u dun like satin, i suppose u like organza / chiffon rite? If tat's the case, think they've lotsa of such gowns leh.
Understand ur disappointment lor.. same here..

My aunt watched it & said the gowns v nice.. think they featured amanda lee & flamingo rite?
Wat kinda gowns r those?

jetudes

They din purposely show me normal OTR, just that I have certain wants, like i specify i want white colour etc, so they showed me both new and old ones just to let me have a feel. I not sure what will they let me exchange if i take OTR leh, Do you think they'll give more photos?

yah I like organza, they have lotsa organza gowns? then must ask them again. Anyway in the end, i tried white, off-white, organza, satin and everything lah haha. Next appt is end of this month. U leh, Shyen? heard the coming show main feature is chiffon, if u like that can go watch.

Other than Flamingo and Amanda, they show also got Wedding Present and some others. The segment I caught is on the more unique designs, incorporating colours like pink, yellow, or even black. Anyone dare try?

Oh yah, acually I never consider myself as petite leh, I tot my height ok. just that thin lor.

shyen

Wan Chuen,

Think if eventually u take normal OTR, they'd prob exchange for something for u.. eg photos etc.. think they've quite a no of organza gowns, cos most of those i tried have some organza stuff on it.. dun rem trying many satin gowns though. Haven't arranged for next appt yet, will let u know again.. Regarding ur appt, did u fix it or Cyn arrange for u?

Oo.. Wedding Present.. they've got nice gowns.. been there b4.. U mean the wedding gowns got these colors, or evening gowns? Personally, i prefer WG not to mix wif too many colors, best is juz white/off white.. me v traditional heh..

alesa

Hi Wan Chuen
I think if you change to normal OTR, you can probably negotiate for more photos, Think cyn is quite a reasonable lady, unlike some other BS i have heard of...

I should be calling them for my first appt soon end march, they were advising me to do it on a weekday, how long you all take ah? half a day? should i take leave or go after work?

haha, me opp of you two gals, me on the bigger side,me got big hips, so confirm the show gowns cannot fit me also..

alesa

Hi Wan Chuen
I think if you change to normal OTR, you can probably negotiate for more photos, Think cyn is quite a reasonable lady, unlike some other BS i have heard of...

I should be calling them for my first appt soon end march, they were advising me to do it on a weekday, how long you all take ah? half a day? should i take leave or go after work?

haha, me opp of you two gals, me on the bigger side,me got big hips, so confirm the show gowns cannot fit me also..

jetudes

Dun worry Alesa, they were saying the models quite big size, maybe can fit u? For me, even S size cannot fit, need XS. I took leave for my first appt, but it was shorter than I expected, "only" 4+ hrs, I tot will be there til nite time haha. But I didnt see any EG at all, they say next appt.

Shyen, to ans your qn, me fixed the appt myself, be4 i left jnc i told them the day i am gg down again lor. save the trouble of calling them.

The "coloured" gowns featured in the show were all WG. No EG leh. Speaking of EG, will u gals be wearing only EG? How abt CS or kua?

shyen

Hi Wan Chuen & Alesa,

My first appt also lasted only 3 hrs or less than tat, i think.. think most prob wearing EG, but was thinking of Kua.. but Kua muz rent from House of Etiquette cos they have v v nice Kua, they really custom fit to ur size.. but it's pretty exp lor..
was toying wif renting from them, but was thinking then my tea dress wasted..
I also like CS, but think abit short, so wear already not so nice..

jetudes

I cant decide whether EG, CS or kua, coz I have not seen those at J and C yet. But I hope get to wear kua, at least for photoshoot, though I not cantonese.

Oh yah, ask u gals, is it really necessary to wear can-can? Coz I tot its old-fashioned, but its supposed to give the gown better shape rite?

Shyen, can I ask u abt RTP? When do u intend to start choosing the flowers, themes, invites etc? My co-ordinator say ALL couples do it 2 months from AD but I find it too rush by then.