J&C Bridal Collections

sunbelle

i am new here
still looking around for bridal packages that are not too expensive.

yeah where is J & C located huh? yo, can u all share with me the bridal packages and also the fotos huh? you may wish to send to [email protected]
thanks a great deal gals cos i realli dun noe which bridal so select

It's @ Riderside Point.

You may wish to make an appt and pop by to see see, because ultimately you need to be feel comfortable w the BS you chose.

sunbelle

hi skywolf,
thanks for the location. yo, will go to take a look.yo, do u mind sharing ur bridal package which you have signed up and also the fotos quality huh?

Hi Sunbelle,

I had signed up quite some time ago, so the pricings are different already.
So, it's better for you to drop in and see see then compare.

oinkeebabe

hi wxyang,

If you need the individual photos, they shd be able to give to u esp since you nid for photo montage. But they are not edited.

jetudes

Hi skywolf, long time no see

wxyang, last fri when i went J & C, there was a couple selecting the photo layout, was it you? When is your AD actually and when will you get to see your album?

oink, Cyn kept praising you leh.. she says must take 3 stages: wedding - pregnant - whole family portrait, are you considering that? :p

weixiongy

Hi Wan Chuen, I went last Mon ard 7+. U were the one trying out e gowns? not sure when will I be seeing the layout. Will take some time... wait for Cyn to call loh.

weixiongy

Copied from The Straits Times, Life.

May 15, 2006
Here comes the... bridezilla?

Despite my best intentions, I found myself a nitpicking, colour-coding bridezilla in the
run-up to my wedding last month
By Teo Pau Lin
girl talk

I'VE unravelled one of the greatest mysteries of womanhood.

I can now explain why pleasant women, normally mature and level-headed, suddenly turn into
bridezillas when they're getting married. It all starts with the dress.

The minute you decide that you want a really nice wedding gown, you're right on track towards
becoming a nitpicking, foul-tempered monster obsessed with colour combinations and the perfect
ribbon.

How do I know? I was one.

Before I got married last month, I had always dreamt of having a small, intimate wedding.
I didn't want any of the fuss that came with big ceremonies.

I always laughed at how normal, demure girls often turned into tiara-crowned, fake eyelashwearing dominatrixes on their wedding day - snapping at their parents and throwing fits over a smudged French manicure.
Not me.

For the longest time, my ideal wedding would be a casual do for just 20 family members in church,
where I'd be barefoot, without a veil and with daisies in my hair.

So how was it that, last month, I ended up having a 180-strong guest list, a church hall decorated with 15 types of white flowers and a four-tiered wedding cake?

It was all because of my dress.

Like most brides, the first thing I did to prepare for my wedding was to get that perfect gown.

I showed my bridal designer a magazine cut-out of a light, full-length chiffon sun-dress.

'Looks like a night gown, leh,' he sniffed.He proceeded to sketch a more elaborate version of my desired silhouette, with a shantung silk bodice and a fully crocheted skirt.

Beautiful, I raved. It was a little more formal than what I'd wanted. But, hey, like what they all say, it's once in a lifetime, right?
I left his studio that day a happy woman. But little did I know, the floodgates to bridezilla-dom had opened.

Since my dress is so nice, I mused in a self-absorbed Paris Hilton moment, I might as well invite more people so they could see it.
So the guest list grew.

From just close relatives, it went on to include not-so-close relatives, bosses, close friends and
friends who had the potential to be close friends.

To do justice to the nice dress, the church sanctuary had to be nice too.

So I hired a florist to decorate the aisle, the podium and - while we're at it - the reception, the staircase and the main entrance. Then, you couldn't possibly have a nice ceremony and a drab reception.

So I got a top-notch caterer to bring in a dimsum buffet spread, complete with flower arrangements and linen-covered tables and chairs.
Since the food was going to be so good, you had also to get wine, petit fours and daintily wrapped wedding favours.

I got them all.

And that was only the beginning.

Once the major decisions were made, I found myself moving deeper into bridezilla territory.
Bridal magazines, at first glossy and iron-pressed, became dog-earred and tagged with a thousand Post-Its as I flipped through them furiously for ideas on colour schemes, card designs and fonts.

Instead of the usual wedding cake, I wanted strawberry shortcake cupcakes, made by my favourite Japanese restaurant, to be placed on tiers.

But no, ordinary acrylic cake stands would not do. I wanted them displayed on a four-tiered dummy wedding cake, like the one in Martha Stewart Weddings magazine.

The baker couldn't make the dummy. So I begged a hotel to do it for me.

The baker also couldn't find the right cupcake case to hold up the soft, cream-filled cake. That set me off on a frantic hunt from Holland Village to Geylang over a few weeks.
'This one can, right?' my then fiance said, holding up a brown, corrugated one when he joined me on one of the searches.
'No!' I wailed, irritated. 'I want white. The sides must be vertical. No patterns!'

Before I lapsed into a cupcake-induced emotional meltdown, we found it in a baking supplies shop
in Bukit Timah, just two weeks before the wedding.

My poor then fiance. He had offered to help with all the preparations, but I relegated him to the administrative, nonaesthetic tasks.

How could I explain to him that when it comes to colours, men just don't get it?

Like the time when we went to collect the wedding invitations. My eyes widened in horror when I saw that the satin ribbon wrapped around the cards was not the exact shade of aqua I'd wanted.

'Nice what,' said then fiance. Knowing that it was too late to make any changes, I pursed my lips and said nothing. Inside, I was crying.

Three days before the wedding, I had grown into a fully matured bridezilla.

I snapped at people. I was unusually demanding. I pouted for a long time when I accidentally
chipped a perfectly lacquered nail.

Thankfully, everything went without a hitch on the big day.

Walking down the aisle, I suddenly understood why bridezillas love big weddings.

Gathered in the pews were significant people from different stages of my life, all beaming and
clapping at the same time in my honour. It was overwhelming.

I've learnt that, in essence, bridezillas just want as many people as possible to share the happiest day of their lives.

Then I must be the biggest bridezilla of all.

I just wrote a whole newspaper article about mine.

Copyright © 2005 Singapore Press Holdings. All rights reserved. Privacy Statement & Condition of Access.

oinkeebabe

It is indeed so true abt BTBs.

I went thru the same thing before. hahahaha......

Juz 2 weeks before my wedding, my shoulder suddenly got blisters from my handbag while I was wearing a jacket! Worst, 1 week before my wedding, my face broke out into rashes. Imagined how sad I was that time......

oinkeebabe

hi Wan Chuen,

Family portrait huh....definitely considering taking.....I'm a photo fanatic mah!......

Last time during our courting days, we oso went Beauty Box to take makeover pics together!

oinkeebabe

Hi Wxyang,

If you wanna both versions, have to negotiate with them. So far, your non-edited pics ok? If ok, den u can try requesting. Or else your montage will look weird with the artwork pics.

sbb

hi gals!
by the way.. im jst married but still haven overcome the liking for the PS. hha..

therefore, my best GF n im r sourcing out for bridal shop again for our own portfolios leh.

can anyone tel us how is their services and gowns?

tks. tks.

donaldaisy

Help~! I have some problem searching for themes for my wedding (photo taking and AD). Will any kind soul share some ideas or informative websites pls?

Cyn wanted me to go do some research before i approach her again.. But really has no idea what design i like and where to source for information. *head cramp*

weixiongy

Hi Jas, personally I really like their service lah. Nice friendly ppl
u can go down n take a look at their gowns of go to their webby to check them out.

Daisy, ask urself what u pic urself in on ur wedding day? u can try going to MPH or Kino to browse thr their wedding mag. Or fashion mag. E web is oso a gd pl to search for ideas. but of cos, u need to know rougly what u r look for, eg cutting, material, etc. but if u dun have a specific thing in mind, e search will be endless!! Or ask Cyn to let u try out the diff cuttings n see which one suits u better, then from there u search for designs with tat type of cutting.

weixiongy

theme for PS? sigh, hubby n I wanted anime theme but e PG juz ask us to do this n tat. so no more anime... hahaha... but we like e final product lah.

As for AD, wat theme u refering to? colour? or e atmosphere? I heard got ppl did the LOTR theme. but damn ex lah. So i told my hubby i wan Hello Kitty theme then he says we'll need many more yrs then can hold wedding le. hahahahaha....

jetudes

Hi all, how is everyone? Oink, less than one month to your EDD, take care!

wxyang, thanks for the bridezilla story. I think I am close to that stage, so remind myself constantly to keep my cool. Think you stand a good chance of negotiating for both versions, coz yours is a more ex MTM package. Actually when will your AD be?

Now I am at the stage of thinking of photoshoot locations, but right now, cant think of any unique and meaningful locations *brain-dead* Wxyang, think your locations are all well thought out. And I haven tell u your lao gong is sooo sweet!

weixiongy

Hi Wan Chuen, my AD in on 20 Oct. Preps more of less ok le. me n my hubby take our own sweet time to plan n prepare. hahaha.... we dun like to rush things.

hehehe... thanks for e compliment
he's sweet so I choose him mah... hahaha...

Well, tink of places u n ur hubby usu go, like first date, fav pl, etc....

Hi Ariesta, no prob on being tall cos a lot of gowns r for tall ppl! cos they made it according to the models measurements. And their models r at least 1.75m. Quite a selection for guys suit too. My hubby changed 4 or 5 suits during our PS.

oinkeebabe

Hi Wan Chuen,

Excitedly counting down now....

Gynae said it's anytime!

Hi jasmine,

U can call J&C up for their makeover services. their OTR gowns are not bad. I oso went for PS for my preggy...

jetudes

Hi Wxyang, thanks for your suggestion on PS locations
Wah I panic after hearing that you already more or less done with AD prep. My AD around same time as you but everything not ready yet! And my PS is so much later than yours, die, dunno enough time to get the album or not..

Oink, are you all ready for your gal's arrival? Any updates for us?

Got something else to check with you both on trial make up and accessories. I just went for mine, but all that she did is to try on one make up look, for the AD morning only, others all didn't do. Didn't get to discuss hair and choose accessories too. Is that what you experienced too? Maybe I expected too much hee..

weixiongy

Hi wan chuen, dun panic, got time one. We told Cyn tat we want to get everything done b4 e chinese 7th mth mah. So we do everything earlier loh. If u dun mind doing preps during the 7th mth then will have lots of time. My makeup artist is Ivy, dunno if urs is the same. She says wat I see for my PS will be something wat I'll be getting on my AD. So if wanna change anything juz let her know in advance. But for her, she has quite a range of nice nice accessories wif her. So i dun worry much.

During my trial oso nv choose accessories or wat, she also do e make up according to wat I wore tat day, casual style. Then during PS she told me tat when I went for trial makeup, cant really see what I'll look like on AD, cos e makeup is diff. Onli during PS then u'll get the feel.Anyway, she made me look like a doll on my PS. I like it

weixiongy

Now I'm deciding whether to go do rebonding b4 my AD. I permed my hair in Dec 05, then very had to manage so I juz let it be. Then now it's getting out of hand!!! I have to tie my hair everyday to keep it in pl. At first I was thinking to do rebonding after AD cos I need to style my hair on my AD. Now I dunno can tahan my 'messy' hair till then not
So I'm considering going to rebond now n ask Ivy to help me style wif straight hair. Dunno if tat will work....

jetudes

Hi wxyang, thanks for advice! My MUA is Kelly, she never said anything abt AD compared with PS make up, but of course logic tells me that PS is heavier.

Abt rebonding, I once had a makeover done when I had rebonded hair, so the stylist kept complaining v diff to style, e.g. the fringe kept dropping down, so she used hair spray to hold it to the side. In the end the hair can stay lah, but it was like, very straight and sticking out haha. Dunno is it the stylist lousy.. By the time I ROM, I had grew out all the rebonded hair, but my MUA (another one, not the makeover) said can tell the texture is diff from those who never do rebonding, but he said lucky I din rebond again coz styles will be limited, e.g. bunning cannot etc. But I suppose if you already decided to do sleek and straight for AD then consider lor.. My fren said there is another kind called soft bonding that is not so harsh. Passed by some salons intro a new kind called "ice-bonding" ha ha. You can check it out is it true or only gimmick.

donaldaisy

Hi wxyang, when is your AD? seems like you've got all ready! Mine is on 26 jan and still looking out for "themes" which cyn ask me so... haiya, so ma fan...

I intend to have my ROM on AD. Any idea when I should start to register for date and book the JP?

oinkeebabe

I'm now on leave waiting for my gal to pop! So far no news yet.

Hey Wan Chuen,

I tried Ivy makeup services before. She did for my preggy shots. She's nt bad oso. Actually, bf wedding, try not to do rebonding, cos it's quite hard for MUA to do pattern on ur hair.

If you want, can actually ask MUA to tie your hair up. Like low buns, sideways etc. nt bad too since Sin weather is so hot!

weixiongy

Hihi donaldaisy, my AD is on 20 Oct 06. Hmm sort of more or less done liao. Cos I like to give buffer time juz in case anything crop up
u can onli book ur ROM date online 6 mths b4. but u can start searching for JP, if e one u r looking for is a hot fav, then u have to be a bit more KS. hahaha....

Oink! Looking forward to hear ur gd news! I'm actually thinking of simple hairstlye will do. Cos all those u mentioned, i've done them for my PS liao. I also wan something diff on my AD. n my hubby says I look prettier in straight hair ;)

sbb

hi gals..
can anyone tel me how is their range of gowns?
is it very princess like and very nice?
cos i kw some bridal shop theirs is those plain one wor. hehe.. tks a lot.

oinkeebabe

Hi jasmine,

they actually have quite a wide range of gowns. Depending on the kind of look u prefer? U can check them out and try on first.

Different designers have different styles.

pinkycat

Hello everyone out there

I finally signed up wif J&C
Been gng down for 3 times before I sign up the package. Took me a mth to decide...kekekeek....thanks for your advices, ladies! Cyn was very patient n friendly person...

weixiongy

Hi Jas, like wat Oink said, they have a real wide range of gowns n u can oso MTM so no prob. The ppl there r very nice n friendly. So u can pop by n take a look first loh

Oink, i wan thinking of tying it half too
I agree fresh flowers will be sweet but i wanna be like a little princess so I told Ivy I wan tiara. I know she got one real nice tiara. kekekeke..... Maybe fresh flowers for EG....

Cristine, now u have one thing less on ur list
which is a gd thing. so what's ur pkg? OTR or MTM??

pinkycat

Hi wxyang

Mine all OTR coz MTM package too expensive n over my budget :p Yes, at least one item done...now, I'm still searching for my hotel *headache*. I guess I will be very busy starting next year bah...coz my wedding date is Oct'07.

oinkeebabe

Hey Wxyang,

You shd use fresh flowers for the day, and tiara for the nite.

Tiara for the nite will make u more like a glam princess, coupled with the spotlight in the hotel etc, will be beri nice.

oinkeebabe

Hi cristine,

congrats! One down!

U can slowly go the various shows organised by the hotels so u can try their food, as well as see the venue. Usu during such shows, they offer more bargains too!

jetudes

Oink and Wxyang, hehe, so I actually I misunderstand what is trial MU lor. My MUA is Kelly, at 1st I tot "trial" means can try diff colours and look, but in the end only get one look thats all. So on PS, if dun like the colour then ask her to change har?

Me also want to use flowers for hair, but dunno what kind of flowers suitable?

Hi Christine, Congrats for having settled your BS. I am sure you will be happy with J and C. From my experience, search for hotel starts abt 1 yr before. So you shd start abt oct? Esp if you have special or hot dates that you want. My aunt is the PR manager for one of the hotels (4 star only, if thats what you are looking for) but I dare not say the name here), you can email me if you interested to know more.

Oink.. your gal enjoying herself inside you, dun wan come out.. *smile*

pinkycat

Hi Oink & Wan Chuen,

I went to PPR @ Beach Road during their wedding show in May. I hv tried their food (buffet) & food there quite nice but just wondering whether GPPR & PPR will have the same restaurant? GPPR hv only ONE ballrm using Summer or crystal theme. Btw, congrats on your pregancy
Hope to hear good news fm you.

Thank Wan Chuen ;) Ya, finally settled my BS. Worried if I start to search my htls in Oct, is it too rush coz afraid tat they may not hv the date i want. Currently, went dwn 2 htls so far - GPPR & GCW. okay, u can email me: [email protected]

Cheers...

oinkeebabe

Hi Wan Chuen,

Ya lor, maybe my gal wanna eat hao liao.......hahaaha

Hey Wan Chuen, so far Kelly's choice of colours and hairdo r quite flattering on the bride. So no worries.The flowers on ur hair will usu depend on ur bouquet. Nowadays bouquets r quite cool, with beads, lace or butterflies as decor.

oinkeebabe

Hi cristine,

seems like most hotels increase their rates tremendously. So scary. Like Oriental. I heard after taxes, it's ard $1K+ per table.

I had my banquet at GCW as well in 2004. Beri happy with their services.

weixiongy

Hi Ladies!!! I'll discuss with my hubby n see which he prefer
I dress pretty pretty for my hubby so he muz like it mah. If he tinks I'm pretty, I feel pretty ;P

Hotels r damn ex! I decided to go for resturant. Cos with the same price, I can get much better food. Hotels charge real ex for the ballrm n their svcs. Food is more impt to me n my hubby
we both 2 greedy pig. Hahahaha.... I tink it's better to start early. I book my banquet a yr ago.

I like GCW, cos got the 'outdoor view'. but my bro used tat venue for his wedding le (I find e pl for him one), so dunno wanna be the same as him.

alesa

Hi Christine
Glad you settled your BS, one down..So far i am very happy with J&C, very patient and friendly people... my advice now is to settle your hotel soon if you have time now esp if you want specific dates or a particular hotel you like , then you can concentrate on other things.... My good friend had her AD at PPR and the food and ambience was pretty ok , GCW was very nice as well but i thought it was very inaccesible with people who dont drive, that was a factor i considered so in the end i chose MM in orchard....

Hi wan chuen
I like flowers too! Thinking of cymbidium orchids but heard that they are available only during certain seasons? as for MUA, i guess their MUAs should all be quite all right ? Thats why i just let cyn choose 1 for me..

alesa

forgot to ask you gals something.. my EG is shocking pink in colour, we were thinking of getting a shocking pick shirt for my hubby, but we walked the major dept stores and still cannot find leh... any suggestions? thanks!

jetudes

Hi Alesa, my EG is bright pink, tho not really that shocking, so Annise suggested purple for my hubby. Did you ask Annise what colours she recommend? Your hubby dare to wear shocking pink? My hubby refused to wear even red haha.. But I'll let you know if I happen to see one.

Orchids are nice, so are calla lilies, but me on the petite side,so Cynthia says both are out for me. In the end I just tell her I want pastels, forgot to tell them wan some "decor" like pearls or lace. Maybe for AD I'll do that.

Christine, if you have time now its good you start early, then can have time to compare prices and perks. I'll email you when I free.

Wxyang, so what restr you taking? You settled your album already i.e. layout, sequence, album cover etc?

Oink thanks for your assurances, my PS on Thurs, so keep you all updated!

weixiongy

Hihi!! Wan Chuen, my rest is Chef Chan. Opp Raffles Hotel. The food there very NICE!!! My HB cant help but drool everytime he thinks of the food there. hahaha...

Haven choose layout yet!! Dunno why Cyn haven call me
Only got to choose the photos. And it has been a mth... Today they oso off... Can only call them tml le....

My EG is PINK too!!! Shades n tones of pink. Hahahaha... My HB's suit cant have other colours for the shirt. Can only fit white. Other colours will not go well with the suit. but he wore pastel pink for our ROM.