Intercontinental Singapore

Michelle called me last nite to inform me that the upcoming perks for the wedding show, they are not able to extend it for me. So sad mann!

Think I would need to give up the tot of having my wedding there. Cos it is really too ex for me!

Sigh....

I couldnt make it to the HI show next week. Michelle told me the perks for the show is only valid for wedding held in 2005 but not 2006. Is this true? cos I very interested in booking HI but scared i will miss out any perks..

Hi Irene,

ya is true, just receive confirmation from evelyn lor. Dunno why they dun cover 2006 le......cos most hotel did cover. Sad to hear that.

I checked with Intercon that she for 2006 perks will need to wait till Oct wedding show lor. Will that be too late to book the banquet?

Hi Slimy

It will be definitely too late to book by Oct. All the hot dates might be taken up especially weekends and I heard next year is a good year to get married.

Do u gals know most likely what are the extra perks we can get from HI?

Hi Slimmy

It will definitely be too late to book by Oct cos all the hot dates especially weekends will be taken up and people always book one year in advance.

Any gals can share with me what are the extra perks I can get from HI?

Not sure le......but most hotels have price discount on per table le.....alot le.....eg Sheraton has $38 discount if confirm on wedding show with additional perks lor.

Think i will still go to the wedding show to check out wat they have for 2005 perks. At least check if is it a very big differences or just abit lor.

Wa if really big differences, think my heart will ache .....

heard there will not be any discounts for the tables in this upcoming bridal show but there additional freebies like one complimentary bottle of wine for every guaranteed table... not sure what else is included

My wedding date is on Jan 2006, i think i will miss out the perks..so sad.. Michelle said for the 2006 package will add $30+++ for every table

I havent take a look at the ballroom yet... Any feedback?

But a bottle of wine per table is also good wa cos when we purchase outside also require min 15 bucks and we still need to waste time to negotiate for waive of the cockage if we have more than 24 tables.

The ballroom is very nice, the best which i have seen so far lor.....really love it. Irene, do u know which hotel is 5 stars??

Glad to hear that the ballroom is very nice. I will be meeting Michelle tomorrow.

Marriott & Meritus Mandarin are 5 stars hotels which is cheaper than HI.

Slimmy,

If you like nice ballroom, Shangri-La is not bad except that the prices are quite high. My husband love that place a lot but I wanted a hotel more convenient for my guests to come, hence we give up Shangrila.

Me also looking for a place which is convenient lor cos mine is a weekday, frds will come direct from work lor.

Irene, what is ur budget for the hotel and when is ur wedding??

My actual date is 10 Jan 2006 (Tues). My budget is not more than $800 per table.

But I think HI after adding wine and liquor will definitely more than $800 per table.

Currently, I have shortlisted Marriott and HI cos of the location.

My AD is also a Tues le.....but jun.
Ya lor......think is around 800 per table after adding wine.

Do u know what is the package available for Marriott?

Hi Slimmy

The current weekday package is at $738 nett per table but after Mar 2006..they are increasing the price again.

Give me yr email..i can email u the package..

Will email you soon.

Marriott ballroom is not bad quite nice n cosy can accomodate up to 50 tables. The ballroom is equipped with Intelligents lights which looks quite romantic when is on.

They have a theme called Vineyard setup looks good and flowers is sufficient.

Their ceiling is not very high there so some people might not like.

The HI ballroom is indeed very nice, and this is the topmost priority for me when choosing a venue. Therefore i had to fork out the expensive prices. Yes, alot of people do not know that HI is a 5* hotel or that per table is so ex, so just a warning to you gals, the ang paos given may not cover your costs. For my sunday wedding this year, I had to have at least $90 per person to breakeven, and most of my guests gave $80 or even $60! Therefore, you have to be prepared to make a loss... Just something to share.

hi chercat,
i am aware of that and i need to get at least $100 to cover the cost. I have changed the fish to cod fish as such my per table cost is close to $1k.

Hello Gals

This is my first time in this forum. Like you gals I am considering Hotel Intercontinental for Feb 2006. Can anyone out share with me your experience on your special night. Good if you could share with me your pics.

hello hello, can i join in the conversation? i'm officially a HI bride!!
V happy now... Took a while to decide but the ballroom won me over - really liked the old-fashioned chandeliers. Those of you who haven't seen the ballroom, go have a look before deciding - nothing like seeing it first-hand - pictures don't do it justice.

Hope everything goes well now! Btw, Adeline's last day is today and the new coordinator is Richard.

those of you wondering about the bridal show, i asked her why the perks aren't extended to 2006, she said 2006 will be covered in the Oct '05 bridal show and that it was more effective cos pple tend to be keener on booking once the auspicious Chiese dates are confirmed... But guess everyone is just excited to get it all sorted out as soon as possible yah?

now on to settle the BS...

Hi Jean

e coordinator is Richard???
have u heard of Evelyn??
she is my coordinator... think i should give her a call once in a while to see whether she still working there...

Did HI or Adeline inform u dat she have tendered??

For those who r going to the wedding show, do u receive the invitation card yet? My frd told me she received, but i hav not le!

veron, i think you can always book now, it's just that there are no additional perks on top of the package deal. you can wait till october to get a better deal but if the date you're looking at is a 'hot' date, you might want to book earlier in case it's taken by someone else! i guess it depends on how much you want the hotel... that said, the intercon package is pretty comprehensive. i don't have the package details with me currently but i know for 2005 it's $788+++ for Sat and $768+++ for Fri and Sun. Can't remember the weekday prices. It's apparently $30+++ more all round for 2006.

Veron,

The weekday price is 658+++ for 2006.

Little_gal,

Do u noe who to contact if we dun receive the invitation card? Hav faxed the form 2 weeks ago le.

thanks jean and slimmy.
ur info is helpful.. but seems like the price for HI is rather steep. i'm actually looking at weekend prices so after adding it's almost 900 per table.
anyone can give me the email contact for HI so that i can ask for a quotation to look at the package at least.

Hi Slimmy

I saw the HI ballroom... It is not bad especially like the long aisle march in.

But most probably will not be choosing HI cos husband find the lobby not impressive and coordinator is not flexible with the perks..

Hello Jean

I am new here and am very interested in having my banquet in this hotel. Could you explain what are the perks you referring to.

Michelle told me the extra perks for the wedding show is extra room nite stay, free flow of beer and wine corkage charge waiver for weddings held in 2005

Hi Irene,

Ya, that is wat i think too....me shortlisted Sheraton, Grand Corpthorne Waterfront and Intercon, but dun really like sheraton L Shape ballroom and Grand Cop require min 33 tables on weekday, my husband dun wan le.

Which other hotels u shortlist, any recommendation?

Hi Slimmy

I shortlist Marriott, Shangri-La and HI. Shangri-La ballroom is not bad like HI. I think my hubby preferred Marriott becos of the pricing and the intelligent lights.

Can share with me the Grand Corpthorne Waterfront package?..email [email protected]

Same here little_ger...

Irene, can send me Shangri-La package? what is the table requirement for weekday? Is the price around the same as HI?? U got mail.

Slimmy,

I have email to you Shang packages.

Minimum is 30 tables for Tower Ballroom (pillarless). Shang is at 739+++ per table more ex than HI.

Thanks Irene,

Think Shang is too ex liao....cannot la...

How u negotiate with extra perks with the coordinator?? wat r the things u request?