Intercontinental Singapore

hi sos,
the shophouse suite is quite cosy. mine faces the internal of bugis junction. quite unique. rather hard to describe to you.... why dun u request to view it when u visit them again?
15536.gif

for the helpers, the offer one complimentary day room. but you must remember to ask for it. it is a normal hotel room. i think the room is only available til 7pm.... if i remember correctly. so you must tell your helpers to shift their things to your room before they went to help out at the banquet.
15537.gif

Thanks blossom,

i did ask to view but was not available.

anyway, i went through the rounds of those top range hotels and now i must agree after viewing the ballroom properly it indeed is very nice and charming.

i don't recall any ballroom with REAL chandeliers cept raffles but raffles is really too colonial n small for my no of tables.( their max in only 25)...

so me more or less settle for intercon!!!!

Hi Blossom, *grin* me now having headache on the tea ceremony portion. Thot of having it at the hotel so that I can get all my relatives down, and after tea ceremony, can rest awhile and go for lunch (having dinner menu). Hehehe... in that way, can reduce the number of ppl turning up late... ;p

I've never got a chance to visit the suite... see whether can get Anja to show me if it's available. Wanted to take my photoshoot in the suite if possible. :p

Jerlyn, thanks! Will give Anja a call.

Teri, thanks for the info. Will go check out further on that. Wonder which function room will they be leasing out on.

Ino, hihi! Welcome!
Good to hear that they're having a new theme. I was told that they'll be coming up with a new theme, but I never got to see what was it like. There was some description like got wrought iron deco or something like that, not sure if true or not. Let us know how the deco is like.

The suite is quite nice, but might be a bit small compared to some other bridal suites I have seen. Understand that most of them have the toilet near the entrance, quite far from the bedroom, but there is one suite where the toilet is just next to the bedroom, so if possible, try to request for that particular suite, that's what I did!

As for taking photos in the suite during your photoshoot, I did that too, but I think it was a waste of time. There isn't really anything nice to take in the suite, even the photographer said that nothing much to take, in the end did not even choose any of the photos taken in the suite! Also wasted quite a lot of time, as we had to collect the keys, walk to the suite (which was quite far) and return the keys after that.

The ballroom is really nice. When I saw it the nite of my wedding, I was so happy that it looked so beautiful, totally different than if you saw it in the daytime. For my wedding, I had feedback that the food was really good and the service was excellent. No regrets choosing HI at all!!

hi spud,
so long never hear from you.... how's your honeymoon? any pics to share?
15622.gif

my suite is also the one with the toilet beside it. so im quite lucky...
15623.gif

i also took photos in the suite... not too bad but it's quite true that there's nothing much to shoot....
15624.gif

haven't been chatting to u guys for a while...
how's life for ex-HI brides & how's preparation for HI brides-to-be?

ino, Welcome & thx for the info...it's great that they've finally come up with the new theme

sos, the dayuse room is not stated in the package...so remember to ask for it ok...i've ask anja to change change the time for the room since i dun check-in at 12...

i agree with spud that the suite is smaller then other hotel's...try to arrange with anja to view the suite on a weekday...

was wondering how life would be like after your wedding.. i mean girls normally envision that big day to be so fairy tale like... but what happens next ?? would there be an event of this proportion to prepare for????I mean really don't want this period of my life to be over so soon....

hi sos,
i understand what u mean.... we look forward to the big day for a romantic and memorable wedding and everything just happened so quickly. felt rather lost after it... nothing to prepare liao.
15674.gif

Blossom, you're very cute! I really loved your icons very much!!! I can't stop smiling when I saw all the icons...

Spud, very happy and good to hear that everything went well for you!
What theme did you choose for the ballroom?

Actually I felt rather sad when the wedding was over, had such a nice time that I would not mind going thru it again! (But I thik my hubby will kill me!!!) But I left for my honeymoon 3 days after my wedding, so did not have much time to dwell on the wedding, when I came back 3 weeks later, the wedding seems so long ago, like a distant memory……. But when I collected my photos, had the chance to relive it again!!

Hi Jazz,

I chose the roman pillars theme, and for the flowers I had all ivory roses. For my wedding favours, I alternate between chocs and potpourri. If u choosing potpurri, u can request for u and your hubby’s name to be printed on the tag.

I am a newbie here..
I had initially shortlisted Marriott only but was advised by a friend to take a look at HI before we make our final decision. Meeting with Anja next Tues evening to view the ballroom, suite and negotiate all details.

A quick look at the weekday package, I tot there seemed to be quite a bit of things not included.. and after working out my list, I have about 20 items to negotiate with Anja. Hope she does not freak out.

welcome october!

jazz, i think anja will be able to arrange the function room for u FOC leh...coz i told her that i'll like to hold my solemnisation @ the hotel...initially ernie told me that there's a charge for the room but anja told me that they can arrange FOC...check it out...

Hello, gals. I am new here, me gg to see anja on this coming wednesday. Just curious is their service and place nice, and any extra freebies that i can ask for. Would really appreciate cause my wedding is in the month of Novemember and the hotel that i source previously, oredi thinking of cancelling. Thanks a million, gals.

HI brides and brides to be. When my father heard that i am booking a wedding with 800 plus plus per table he advised me against it.

He is very traditional one, he thinks that neighberhood restaurants are good enough already.

He warned me that i may not get an average of $80 which actually i am banking on. I do not mind losing a 2-3k other i believed it is the most important day of my life and i am not going to have in some jurong east restaurant.

what do you gals think???

rem i mentioned about the new deco? it seems that HI now has 3 themes : canopy, wrought iron and garden theme. they are coming up with new ones but sad to say, they did not have the mock-up for the new theme today as it has been postponed.

met up with anja today. have not really tried to negotiate wif her but there are a few things i tried my luck(based on the advice given on this thread)on a few things though e.g. request for day-rm. so far she has been quite accomodating.

Is there any other things i should negotiate on? Their wedding favours and cards are not really nice.

Anyway, quite shocked that inserts for the cards are not included as part of the package...did anyone manage to nego for free?

hi sos,
hey, same here. my dad also not agreeable of me booking hotels. he told me all his frens' children hold weddings in restaurants. same thing loh... ppl's ang pow will not be high... will lugi.
he even give me a list of the restaurants to choose becos he attended wedding dinners there before. sigh!

anyway, i discussed it with hubby and we decided to have it in a hotel becos his dad is inviting some biz frens and not very appropriate and convenient to hold it in neighbourhood restaurants.

Hi sos,

looks like my dad and yr dad can shake hands already. my dad said exactly the same thing! he's expecting me to go to restaurants like Dragon Phoneix, Fatty Weng, etc! Nearly fainted when i heard that!

Like u, i'm prepared to lose about $2-$3K...but i reckon that i'm going to lose out even more...(even if i'm taking the weekday package). For my case, my FH has to "sponsor" tables for my parents as part of my dowry and all associated ang paos that comes wif it will be given to my parents. *sigh*

$800+++ per table works out to be more than $900...i believe there may be other unexpected costs involved e.g. extra barrel of beer, etc. Doubt that friends would give $100 as ang pao...

hi ino,

my husband is giving my parents dowry.i am faced with a tricky request. dont know how to open my mouth. was thinking of using all the angbows to cover the dinner cost that means when my relatives gives angbows it should go into the central box.
hmmmm, tricky... don know how to phrase to my parents......
any recommendations????

ino , u are 24??? u are very young!!!!

Hi sos,

*sheepish grin*

me getting married in 2004...by then 26 (is that the national average??)
;-P

i am totally aware of your predicament. I hv been lamenting to my parents about the high cost involved. I'm expecting to lose about $6-$8K from the dinner. (is that realistic?)

Anway, now i'm starting to "007" on my parents...find out exactly how much they are asking for my dowry and try to lower their expectations if necessary. You see, can't ask for too little, otherwise pple will think that i'm "inexpensive". Can't be too much either coz my FH can't afford it.

Hi all esp celwong,

Here's a whole list of the stuff that I am gng to ask for:-
- Extension of night stay to 2 nites w/bkf
- Food tasting fm 6 pax to 10 pax & all dishes
- Upgrade 20-litre beer to 30-litre
- Corkage waiver for wines & champagnes (if not, first 2 crates at least)
- Additional bottle of champagne for private celebration
- More parking passes
- Waiters to table, ratio 1:1
- No of fresh floral decorations
- Light dinner or supper for couple
- Dinner for us on our first anniversay
- Exclusive ang bao box?
- Strawberries or chocolate for private celebration?
- Canapies for guests who arrive early for the dinner.

hi celwong,

have u placed a deposit with the your previous hotel?

which hotel was it. don u have to forfeit your deposit???

gosh that is an expensive decision.

hi, october thanks so much for the list. Will be in good use when i go and negotiate the freebies with anja. Thanks a million.

SOS, actually, I was almost going to put an deposit with another hotel, name mayb not so good to reveal but back out the last minute when the wedding co-ordinator suddenly changed her mind abt some freebies the lat minute. So wedding co-ordinator is really very important especially for the hotel reputation.

Ino, you're indeed young! When are you deciding to have your wedding? A weekday or weekend?

Jbride, tried asking Anja. She said I have to book the function rooms at the basement, but it's like $500+++ per room, excluding snacks. 'Cos the function room above has been booked for a wedding hi-tea. I think it's pretty exp. I did tell Anja that the only problem with the basement function is that I may have two grandparents on wheel chair and it'll be tough to transport them down the basement. She had also suggested for me to use the foyer of the ballroom, but I think it's kind of funny if doing the tea ceremony in an open area. Everybody'll be staring at you when they walk past. Abit funny rite?

Spud, I'm not sure if I'll be able to get the suite with the toilet attached to bedroom 'cos there's also another bride using having the her banquet (dinner) on the same day as I do. Maybe, prority will be given to the couple since they're having dinner?

October, what are canapies? Regarding carpark passes, I tried asking for more parking lots but the previous coordinator told me it'll be hard 'cos Inter-Con has been allocated a limited number of parking spots by Parco Seiyu or something like that.

Blossom, were you able to get more parking lots?

hi jazz,
i din ask for more complimentary parking coupons. not many of my guests drove that day and im left with a lot of coupons.

harro everyone,

wat is the average age here???:D hehe!!!

i dont comprehend the adjacent toilet thing?? I have not seen the suite but i thought all toilets are inside the room???

hi jazz,

me planning for a weekday wedding. Will this limit the no. of freebies that i can ask for? Afterall, i'm paying much lesser than those that hold a weekend wedding. ;-(

Hoping to discuss with Anja on the package by the end of this week.

Canapies are finger snacks.. good to have 2-3 types for guests who arrive early, since chinese dinner don't usually start till about 8 or 9pm... hungry hungry..

I will be meeting Anja tonight... wish me all the good luck...

Hi everybody !

October,

Does canapies include chips n nuts ? I think Intercont provides for such items during the pre-dinner cocktaik recept ? Think i need to re-look at my contract !

U gg tonite ? hmm... gd luck to u ! Mayb u can update us a bit on their latest theme ?

Hi October, me oso meeting Anja tonite leh.. wat time is your appt? mine's at 745.. haha.. maybe you are before me ;)

Ino.. yeah.. 24 v young leh.. me 29 this yr *sulk*

Hi Jerlyn,

Canapies are biscuits or toast with food on top. They look really dainty and yummy. ;-)
e.g. smoked salmon on toast, herb cheese on toast, etc. Chips and nuts are common snacks that is usually provided together with the cocktail recep.

Hi October,
U booking the weekend or weekday package? Understand that Marriot offers canapes and an extra nite stay for weekend bookings. ;-)

Anyway, tell us about yr meeting with Anja 2nite! excited to know the outcome coz i'm intending to book the weekday package too! ;-)

*sigh* HI would be the perfect wedding place if it could have better varieties in their wedding favours and cards.

Hi ino,

I'm also not really having a dinner on weekend. I'm having a dinner menu at lunch time on a weekend, having only 25 tables, so I guess it's not that easy for me to negotiate a number of stuff, and I didn't request for extra night 'cos I don't see the need. I did try if I can increase the beer to 30 litres, but the previous coordinator said if I increase my tables to 30, maybe possible. As I'm still not sure how many tables I have yet, I better stick to 25 first.

I know Marriot is offering a better package with, but I heard they can be quite "dao" at times, depending on customer.

Besse n October, how did the meeting go yest?

Jerlyn, I think Inter-Con prepares nuts for pre-dinner function, but depending on the package you take.

Hi Besse,
Yes, you are indeed the couple after my meeting with Anja.. Sorry for making you wait, the negotiation took slightly longer than we expected..

I have actually given Anja a couple of dates but apparently most of them are taken already.. so I have reserved 2 Jan 2004 and intending to firm up the details before CNY..

Agree.. their wedding cards are horrible! Think I will have to spend on cards buying them from other sources.. I just can't stand the design.. yucks!

They will be testing the new decor today (24 Jan) and only when all the people involved agree to the new concept, they will take the pics and show us. So, let's give them another one more week or so.

Canapies - they charge about S$45 to S$55+++/ tray, about 40 pcs, 10 varieties to choose fm.. This is actually quite cheap coz' Marriott charge S$60+++/tray.

Marriott is not really 'dao' but they have a higher wedding package take-up rate as compared to HI, so prob those that can take more tables have priority.

HI gave me 30% parking passes and I am trying to get corkage waiver coz' I will have quite a no. of wine drinkers at my dinner..

Hi October..

Ah ha.. that was indeed you! ;) should've said hi there!

Jazz, HI is nice, but we find the reception area a trifle small and nt that grand as what peeps perceive large hotels to be.. hmm.. other than dat, HI is really quite flexi in the benefits etc. Anja said ok to full 10 pax for full course food tasting, 30% car park passes, free use of day room etc... the ball room wasn't set up for banquet, so oni managed to see the bare ballroom, not v impressive, but somehow, i kinda like the idea that don have to spend extra on the projection of slides if need be.. cos oni 1 projector is suff. they have free screen etc.. But October is right, the choice of invite cards sux..

Am going to meet up with conrad tomorrow evening.. will try to do a fine comparison

Ysday nite did up a cost analysis spreadsheet with boiboi.. the genious came up with a v comprehensive spreadsheet taking in assumptions that were very conservative.. at least can make a more tangible comparison.. you gals can try doing that.

hi every body, do agree that the reception area and the cards look a bit weird but actually one cards with the hearts look very similiar to the hyatt one. So mayb these type of hotels don't really emphasis on the cards hor.

Meet up with anja liao, need to confirm some details with her.

Are you all taking HI?

My experience with both Marriott & HI is that HI is definitely more accomodating than Marriott, irregardless of the no of tables we book. Some of the stuff that I have checked out:

- Carpark M-20%, HI-30%
- Wine corkage HI, first 24 bot waived or 30 litres beer. M - 30 litres
- Waiters vs tables - HI 1:1, M 2:3
- Real cake M (don't hv), HI (your choice)
- Invitation cards, both can give 70%
- Bridal suite HI (2 nites, Business/Special suite), M (1 nite, 2nd nite subject to availability)

I oso did a cost analysis chart and quite sure that HI will give us better price & stuff..

I am quite okay with both Marriott & HI's reception area, as long as the toilets are not shared with the general public (which both are not.

i have finally booked HI!!! i guess i count myself lucky cos i only start looking around for a venue this Jan but yet i got a saturday in dec which is what i want.!!!cheers!!!

Hi October,

What do you mean by Business/Special Suite? Is it any different from the shophouse suite that is stated in the package?

Me going to meet Anja next Wed to discuss...

hi sos,

so happy for you! at least u've got the day that u wanted!
i'm planning my wedding in jan 2004. pity i couldn't get the date that i wanted. auspicious date lah...the hotels that i want are all booked.

;-(

Hi Ino,

I am also having my wedding in Jan 2004, 2 Jan infact..
A business/ special suite is an upgraded suite of the Shophouse. I didn't manage to see the business suite coz' tat day I went down all suites were full. According to her, this suite is twice the size of the shophouse with separate sitting room. You can try your luck when you meet Anja and c if the suite is available.
If you hv quite a no. of tables, try asking for a Presidential Suite.. coz' that's the nicest room in HI.
They are coming out with 3 new themes, pictures shd be ready only after CNY. So, those who intends to sign with HI, suggest that you do so after seeing the new decor themes..

Hi october,

Wow, it's a great deal u've got! Good news that they are coming out with more themes. However, i'm quite satisfied with their current themes already. They shld review their cards and favours instead. ;-P

Hope my negotiation skills are as good as yours! ;-)

ya lor... i think they should at least change the cards.... quite dissapointing leh the designs. hey why don we design one and pass it to anya.hahaa!!!!!!

wow, october, thanks!! for the info, how many tables will be able to qualify for the presidential suite?? is it also for 2 days???
how u get these info har...u are good in negotiating man... should learn from u ....

hi girls. i have gotten a draft contract from anja, but i found that only those things that I have tried to negotiate like extra parking, day rooms and extra nites is stated in the contact. All the others details like what is in the package list are not included inside the contract. So kinda worried when i signed up without these stated in the contract, it will be not so secure for me, i did actually told anja about my concerns too.

so any of you girls that had already signed the contract could advise on this? Like a need to put all the stuff in the package list and specially requested items inside the contract.

thanks ya.

hi celwong,

i've signed the contract with anja.
i felt the same way as u...so i ask her to attached a separate copy of the standard package in the contract.

hey, u guys have got a good deal
i didn't ask for the wine corkage waiver & the projector...not sure if i can try to ask for that now?

Hi jbride, anja did oso tell me that she will put the separate std package enclosed in the contract. But I was thinking of asking her to transfer all the clauses inside the contract.

For the projector cost understand that it could not be waived going to cost 150+++. So thinking of borrowing from company or who liao.

The waiver of wine corkage would be very nice though but now like still not yes yet. I was hoping at least for half the amount that I am going to bring it. The wines in the special wine list not in my hubby list leh.

So gals, wish me luck okie with e wine corkage side