Intercontinental Singapore

hi jazz,
we din go too far north. we din take the cruise too. it was raining the whole day while we were at auckland, so decided not to see the hole in the rock...

Hi Blossom,

How many days did you spend in NZ? Is it expensive to go free n easy, easy to find accommodation? I joined a tour for my NZ trip with a few friends. Think it was expensive, but the tour was very good,covering the major attractions in NZ. Did enjoyed myself alot but I told myself I want to go back for free n easy the next time if I ever have the chance.

hi jazz,
i was there for 11 days. all in all me and hubby spent abt S$5,000 (incl. airfare, food, accommodation and things we bought) on the trip. i think it's still ok lah. i think f&e is more carefree in the sense that we chose where we want to go and how long we want to stay there. it's very easy to get around as long as u have a good map. the roads there are rather easy to drive other than the hilly zones.
11740.gif

my fren getting a weekday package at sep03.. any advise from pple here who has had their dinner what perks or freebies to request from anja?

thnx

Hi Blossom, the icons are very sweet!!! You sure got a lot of lobangs for these cute icons!
Same sentiments about free&easy. I was debating if I should go free&easy to Canada or follow tour to Europe. I'd love to go Europe but I prefer free&easy, got more time ourselves.

Hi Rally, maybe, you can try to ask for food tasting for all the dishes?

hi jazz,
i got all the icons from the website recommended by jbride.
got a lot but noadays a bit lazy to upload.

i wanted to go europe leh. never been there before. my hubby went there before with his frens. but hor, more worth it to go for long vacation.... i dun have so much leave.

hi rally,
i thought of a few things to negotiate...

one is what jazz mentioned, asked for the full course of the food tasting for 10 ppl (if u have many ppl going). i think since going for food tasting, might as well go for the full course mah.

if the package is only one nite day in hotel, can ask for two nites stay loh... usually the wedding nite is very tiring calculating the ang pow... if u have a 2nd day, at least dun need to stress stress wake up, can still enjoy the facilities of the hotel.

request for day rooms to be arranged for helpers so that they dun need to squeeze with the couple in the suite... thus allow the couple to rest more comfortably.

beer... can negotiate for a bigger barrel if you want.

anniversary dinner.... i think they do cater for this in some packages... a nice thing to have, see if ur fren wants it.

more wedding cards.... they give u a certain % of the tables u confirmed. prob have to negotiate for more if inviting a lot of friends instead of families. must be careful becos if u dun negotiate more outfront, they may not set aside enough for ur fren....

that's all i can think of at the moment....
11916.gif

hi jazz n blossom,

thnx for the advice. really appreciate these info
i would not have thought of these hehe
btw blossom, did u nego for all these stuff last time?

hi rally,
i negotiated for some of them.... might not be successful to negotiate too much.... heehee... must plan strategy lah, if the item not impt then dun bother loh.

actually there are a lot of things to negotiate lah... maybe can use other hotel's package as reference.... so that dun lose out mah....
HI is not exactly very cheap.

Dear gals, what Blossom said was right. me too, compared HI package with other hotel. Try negotiate with them in a nice way, im sure they will accomodate to your needs. Veri glad that HI is very compromising to our requests. They just changed their package for the food tasting - 10ppl for full menu. Also, try asking for free usage of audio visual equipments, HI currently does not have their own projector. But they promised to include in our package. Try asking for free waiver of corkage, both liquor and wine, ask for the extra barrel price, preferably ask them to work out a NETT price in all areas. HI is coming up with 2 more wedding themes, new wedding card designs, favors next year. Looking forward to those...

How is everybody doing?

Blossom, how's marriage life going? I've just had the "official" move-in last Thurs, but the house seems to have endless cleanings...
Anyway, I stayed there only for two nights and I'm back at my house 'cos it's more convenient to travel to work.

hi jazz,
life is still the same. yes, i totally agree... there are soooo much things to clean. yup, it's also more convenient for me to go to work from mum's place but sigh.... cannot be helped loh....

where is ur new place?

hi blossom
they took away the hearts but the standard red 'xi' and 2 rings remained. there were 3 other cards but gosh they dun look good at all! look a bit cheapo...
In the end, I'll stil choose the 2 rings ... think it's the nicest among all...

hi mei,
i got the two hearts. that time they told me the stocks are running fast... i think the two rings look nice. a lot of ppl use that too.

where are the precious moments cards that they are planning?

Hi mei..

Is it still Enya 1 man-show ? Or hv they found another Director ?

What abt the theme ? That time, enya said that they r looking into adding more themes for next yr..other than the current gold/ garden.

hi blossom
i think there's no precious moments at all

hi jerlyn
I'm not so sure if Anja is still the director. The person who called me was Serene. So I can't help u on this Sori!

hi mei,
i thought they have been planning the precious moments cards for a long time. dun tell me they abandoned the idea. i always thing precious moments cards are really sweet, was hoping can get one from u gals if u have spare....

mei,

thks for the info. no need to say "sori" lah ! So there's a new serene in the dept now ?

blossom,

yup. been MIA for quite a while. As my BIG DAY is still a long way n since settled most of the impt thgs..so can sit back n relax liao
Just checking for updates n new comments !

If I really got the precious moments cards, will give one to u okie ?

hi jerlyn,
thanks for offering to give me a card. really hope that they will come up with those cards. it's kinda weird to have ordinary cards for a grand hotel.

serene juz called me to confirm my card designs. So i think there's no precious moment at all...
Anyway, resigned to fate liao...

How cum u gals din rcd any calls from her?

hi HIC brides,

Next year gotta be a busy but memoriable year for most of us
14396.gif

& ex-HIC brides will be busy making babies too
14397.gif

Wishing u a Happy New Year!

hi jbride,
haha.... me not busy making babies leh.

anyway, really hope that you will have an enjoyable time preparing for your wedding and a wonderful/dreamy and memorable wedding.

happy new year too!
14406.gif

Happy New Year to all!

Sad to say I din hear anything from Inter-Con. I wanted to check with them on some things, but dunno who to contact. *sigh* And sure surprised to hear a new "Serene" to the department. Gosh, I missed Hellen, wished she was still around.

Mei, when is your wedding held?

Blossom, still crossing my fingers on the catering manager and the cards, wondering if there'll be a "miracle" happening... ;p

hi terina,
i held my wedding in hotel intercontinental. hmm.... i think the food should be prepared by man fu yuan. not bad but just be wary of the fish. there is a thread on hotel intercontinental.... why dun u pop in to have a look?

Hi terina,

when did u have your wedding celebrattion?I am thinking of booking intercon this year. hows the food???

what do u think of the ball room??? actually it is a bit english for me with the wood panellings.

Did u manage to break even???? i am bit hesitant cos the price is not that cheap and don't know whether my relatives will know the rate a not.
i have abt 9 tables of relatives. just invite the household heads.

help help!!!

harro,

thinking of booking interconti.anyadvice???
thought the ballroom looks a old and english....

i check out their package they still kept to the gold and garden theme leh like no changes....

those who had their dinner at interconti.. how's the food, actually i never heard of manfu lou b4.

did you manage to break even????

howcome there is only 1 wedding coordinator???huh?? is there any hidden meaning???

hi sos,
the style of the hotel is like those old british colonial time... it will therefore look a bit old but the ballroom is rather grand-looking. it really depends on whether you like the style. not a lot of hotels have this kind of theme in singapore and that makes intercon rather unique.

man fu yuan is the in-house chinese restaurant of the hotel. its food is quite nice and the serving quite generous. during my food tasting, i changed the fish... dun really like it.

i din breakeven if you consider the sole proceeds from the dinner but if count in the angpow from tea ceremony, i did.
but mine was weekday wedding, so the package was slightly cheaper.

1 wedding coordinator?
what do you mean?

Yallo sos,

I agreed with Blossom. I like the ballroom - the way it is. With high ceiling n pillarless...veri veri grand. But..depends on wat u r lookg for lor..different perferences !

Man Fu Yuen is the Chn Restuarnt -cantonese cuisine in Intercon. Heard that food there is gd. But wedding dinner oso depends..some say nice..some say not nice (mass cooking mah). I would say svc there shd be consistent as its 1-1 waiter to table ratio.

Hv read earlier on that there's a Serene too in the Dept. So shdnt there b 2 staff in the banquet sales ? Not veri sure though... :p

hope this helps. which r the others tat u r considering ?

hi jerlyn,

if i book interconti, it will be a saturday,so the package after all the plus plus will be 848.7.

i will have 9 tables or relatives and actually 10 cos i am thinking of inviting my cousins who grew up together with me. all of them are working now. dou think they will give frens market rate each??
sigh!!

serene doesn't handle banquet sales. only anya.

read through the some of the archives. what happed to blossom's case????

i am also looking at hyatt which is 888nett.

but the date is 1 sat early which my MIL says is an auspicous date( my husband from KL so actually we plan to hold the tea ceremony in kl and have the banquet 1 week later. in singapore.

anywya, meeting anya this weekend. any advice.

i want a pillar less place. pop in to see a wedding setup there... thought the stage looks really small.....

Hi SOS.

Personally i like Hotel intercon the best after seeing a few hotels.
If you notice the ballroom is the most beautiful one which high ceiling, mirrors...pretty grand.
Had eaten at Man Fu Lou, liked the food.
Heard the weddings held there had good comments.
But the px is the problem....out of range, even more ex than Hyatt/ Hilton.
Not intending to break even, think will "lose" in the $ sense..but can't help it.

Blossom:
When u had your wedding there? 2002?
How amny tables? Was it Anja? Any tips on the packages bargaining part?

BTW how come i have this feeling that i might know you?

Teri

Hi.
I meeting Anja from HI this weekend to negiotiate a final time.
Heard some of you said abt free audio intru usage? Waiver of free corkages? Sure???
She seems very uptight abt this kind of stuff.

If i have 30 tables only.....what do you gals think i can drive for?
Blossom, help!

Teri

sos,

How many tables r u lookg at ? Their max is abt 43 tables. If u really hv tat many tables, then I think e stage wld be cramped.

But, I hv oso taken a look at a weddg set-up b4 i signed..think there r abt 30+ tables for tat dinner..i think the set up is lovely - garden theme. I dun feel the stage too small leh.

Mayb u shd talk to enay n c what she can offer.

My advise is to ask her for thgs that u wish to hv Eg: waiver of corkage charges etc etc. Ask n try ! No harm..

hi blossom,

waht happened to your wedding???

jerlyn: i am looking at 30 plus tables and thinking of taking the garden theme.

r u sure interconti is more expensive than hyatt?? Hyatt is more expenisve but a bit dark though....

hi teri,
my wedding was in sept last year. i had 33 tables. anja took over my case towards my wedding.

on the bargaining part.... it really depends on what you want. for me, my package was the weekday one, so there are a number of things that are in the weekend package that i dun have, i tried to negotiate for those. other things like additional beer etc.... i think i posted something in the hotel intercon thread sometime ago.... cant really remember now....
15201.gif

Sos, I'm pretty surprised that Hyatt is 888! I thought Hyatt was slightly cheaper. I was comparing the deals with Hyatt but I chose Inter-Con in the end b'cos of the package, more comprehensive. My friend had her wedding at Hyatt last year. It was a very hot day that she booked, so the hotel actually served abt 6 weddings in that day. So the food was either too sourish or too salty. My other friends commented that the food standard has dropped too. And also considering the fact that Hyatt don't provide food tasting as they're pretty confident of their food standard, with that, I decided not to choose Hyatt.

Jerlyn, do you liase with Anja now? I wanted to check out about tea ceremony at Inter-Con, I do not know who I should contact.

Teri, I'm not sure about the free audio equipments though, I've not heard of that, but no harm, you can give it a try asking... ;p

Hihi Blossom, how are you?

Jazz (t jazz)

Think we hv to liaise with Anja for the time being.

Actually, I hv not been liaising with her closely. Just sign on the ctt with her as all my "negotiation" are with Hellen then. Mayb need to contact n liaise with Anja more closely when closer to my weddg date !

Anyway, go ahead n check with her ! think shdnt be a prob !

hallo

hav any one seen the suite??? can describe to me?? very small ar?? how small????

thinking of having abt 6 to 10 helpers on that day. willit be able to accomodate them???

i'm new to this thread.
Am thinking of booking either marriot or HI for my wedding nt yr. However, after looking through this thread, i kinda of favour HI more. Went down to see the wedding set-up recently but hv not tok to Anja yet. Absolutely lurrrvee the ballrm!

BTW, HI is going to have a new Deco theme for the ballrm besides the GOLD and GARDEN theme. Perhaps can start to enquire abt the new Deco from this Friday onwards. ;-) Heard that they will be doing the mock-up of the new Deco theme this Thurs so i think the photos of the mock-up might be ready by Fri/Sat.