Intercontinental Singapore

ino

Just need some feedback from those HI brides (i.e. Blossom and co.)...is HI's service good? E.g. do they change their plates afer each dish?

october

Hi cel,
For Presidential Suite, I don't know how many tables (never ask) but reckon no less than 35tables for weekend pkg.. Otherwise to upgrade fm Business/special suite, gotta top up S$2000+++/nite. Waooo

projector rental must pay coz' it's not their own one.. they rent it fm other source to rent it to us.

For corkage, you hv to force really hard on her.. she was quite reluctant too for my case but u juz hv to do it.. she is able to do it..
I will need abt 50 bottles of wine. if corkage not waived, I will go broke...

celwong

hi october thanks for the info on the corkage part. Cause it is really straining on the budget.

Now asking anja to draft out a more comprehensive contract, hoping to sign this coming sat.

thanks gals for the help

celwong

Hi blossom, when the gals says about the inserts not included, what does it actually means?

cause i was thinking like other hotels does not provieded inserts too. Did you have to pay quite a lot for the inserts and the printing too?

blossom

hi celwong,
the hotels only provide the cards which can be printed on directly. but some may prefer to print on inserts (nice paper... usually thinner) and attach to the card using ribbons.

such inserts should be saleable at the printer. but it will push up the printing costs.

celwong

thanks blossom
Actually I really think the printing shld be done on the inserts, look prettier mah.

Izzit that other hotels gave inserts and HIC do not. Meaning that if taking hotel inserts, we only need to print the names and the paper is free already?

How much did you pay for your inserts and printing? Did you get the printer which is recommended by the hotel?

Thanks ya. wink wink

blossom

celwong,
i din print on the inserts. i dun really mind whether the card is nice lah. besides, i have a budget to stick to. but i think it's quite classy to print on inserts.

hmm.... i dunno whether other hotels give leh.... maybe loh.

err....
<BLOCKQUOTE><HR SIZE=0><!-Quote-!><FONT SIZE=1>Quote:</FONT>

Meaning that if taking hotel inserts, we only need to print the names and the paper is free already?<!-/Quote-!><HR SIZE=0></BLOCKQUOTE>

i dun really understand.... let me guess.... ok, if the paper is free, then you only need to pay for the printing of the details of the invitation (got standard wordings one). if i remember correctly, it may be slightly more expensive to print on inserts becos the paper is thinner and they have to use a better machine....

yup, i went to the printer recommended by the hotel.

lovelydolphin

any brides from Hotel Inter-Con?? can share wif me your packages?? How's their food &amp; services??

Coz me,considering them as one of my selected one. any othe good ones to recommend too?

october

Hi cel,

Hv Anja got back to u wif the new themes aldy? I am worried abt signing off w/o noeing the theme.. but wait some more, scare Anja release my reservation.
I hv never even saw their previous themes' decor before.. can offer me ur advice?
BTW, u using their invite cards or making ur own?

hol

Hi October, sorry for coming in so abruptly. I'm also looking at the contract that Anya has drawn up for me (my wedding's on 6 March 04), and asked her about the decor themes.

Apparently, she said that Inter-Con change their decor themes every year, so the pictures you will be looking at in a week's time may not be reflective of your decor theme, if your wedding is, say, after end Feb or March.

Btw, are you the one who managed to get Anya to upgrade to a Presidential suite? I asked her if she could do it for me and she gave a flat no. Is she always that "aloof"? I've met managers from other hotels and they are quite friendly. Hope this won't present a problem in the future when we are discussing stuff.

october

Hi hol,

I didn't manage to get a presidential suite but she upgraded me to a business/ special suite though.

For the decor theme, my wedding will be early Jan so follow the ones she is doing up now. She said the pictures shd be ready next wk.

I only met Anja on my first visit to the hotel and didn't find her 'aloof'. In fact, I find her quite accomodating with all my requests.. I hv asked her for quite a bit of things, which given other hotels (those tat I have checked), I doubt they will entertain me that nicely. haaa!

jazz

Serene called me about a few days ago, saying that she'll be sending me the cards. Will let you know what are the cards like.

ino

hi oct,

heard that the new photos will most prob be ready by next mon or tues.
will be going down to have a look. let u know.

good news for future HI brides, they are looking into more varieties of wedding favours as well.
;-)
yippeee!!!

as for the current themes, i actually saw it in the photos provided by anja.
they have a garden theme, wrought iron theme and candle theme. all are quite nice (just my opinion). went to quite a few hotels. still find that HI is the nicest. ;-)

celwong

hi oct, the themes actually I oso pretty concerned cause i didn't have a chance to see any one of the set up. But I like the high high ceiling and the feeling a bit colonial type. The next wedding will be on 3/3 so must wait till then to see any live setup.

The new themes I heard from Anja will be available via photos late this week or next week. I be signing the contract this friday, so if i can get to see the latest pics, let u know more, okie.

The cards actually haven't thought of it yet but hope can do my own one. Actually the cards standard seems pretty the same as Grand Hyatt one, looks not so impressive. The one with two hearts one can print bride and groom name on it. So like quite special. Really confused about the cards

Gals, which bridal studio did you all pick? Like to take as a reference.

october

Hi cel,
For the wedding cards, understand tat if we dun take, they can discount the cost fm our final bill. S$1/card, 60% of the total no of guests we have.
I hv signed up for Milan (Tanjong Pagar) and contemplating to take another photography pkg fm Malaysia.

moondancer

Hello gals, I'm also with HI. Booked my banquet sometime in Oct last year and have yet to follow up anything with Anya re: the new decor themes and wedding cards design. You mean they'll email the new design of the cards to us for view? Have u guys receive any news so far?

October: Wow, u actually manage to upgrade your suite! I overlooked the suite thingy when I signed the contract..so guess I'm only stuck with their shophouse suite
Is there any chance I can amend my contract?

Do you guys get to waive the corkage charges for wine?

Think I'm really too out of touch with HI liao...need your help on updates! Thanks guys!

october

Hi Moon,
Yup I got my suite upgraded. You can ask Anja if she can do you a favor, no harm trying.
I got first 24 bottles of wine waived for corkages and will get the rest of the bottles from her. prob need about another 24 bots more.

ino

Hi oct,

me finally met up with anja and negotiated with her. did not negotiate for the business suite though coz i tot staying in the shophouse suite seems like a unique experience. ;-)

meanwhile, i'm waiting for the new themes before signing any contract coz i learnt that the old themes would not be available to us if we do not like the new themes.

heard that their florist changed from Steffi to Floral connection. Anyone heard of "Floral connection??"

ino

Juz received the contract.
Was looking thru the clauses.Wondered if anyone noticed that the $5K deposit is non-refundable.
In the event that the hotel is unable to provide the banquet/venue as planned, our $5K is not refundable.

Did anyone tried to change the clause such that couples will be protected? Is there any cause for concern here? Am i worrying too much here?

october

Hi Ino,
The $5K deposit thingy looks fine to me. Your worry that the hotel is unable to provide the banquet covers us under the 'Act of God &amp; War Clause'.
If you are still worrying about it, just clarify with Anja. Trust that she will help you with it.

jazz

Sorry, was out of the country for a week. I received my cards from Serene. There's a slight change in the cards compared to what I've seen last year, except for the card with two rings. The red card and the card with two hearts. The design with the two hearts is much much better than the previous one. I'll most probably select a mixed of the red card and the two rings.

Celwong, thanks for info on 3/3. Will see got chance to drop by to take a look at the decor. I did not get a chance to see any wedding decors yet at Inter-Con.

Gals, will you be thinking of getting another barrel of beer? Is there any way we can control the intake of beer?

ino

Hi Oct,

Spoken to Anja about it but guess she tried her best. Changing the clauses meant that she needs to go through a lot of "red-tape".
*sigh* Bo pian...guess not many brides are as "Kiasee" as me...

So far, Anja has been quite helpful...quite appreciative of her efforts. ;-)

Anyway, now quite relaxed since my wedding in Jan next yr. Mine is one wk later than yours. ;-)
Have booked my actual day photographer and bridal package...so now nothing to do liao
;-P

jbride

anyone have any idea how long is the aisle? i'm trying to estimate the length of the march-in song...

jazz

Jbride, I think it's pretty long. You might want to go down and time the walkway. I think it's should be more than 1 min to about 1.5 min, depending on the speed.

jbride

hi jazz,

thx for your reply...i think i'll check with anja when we meet up

have any seen their latest theme? wonder if it's nice
18100.gif

hol

The pictures are ready. My FH went down on Wed to look at them. There are three themes, making use of different colours - red, white and yellow. According to him, the red one (which makes use of roses) is quite nice. I will go down to view the pics another day.

I heard from Anja that there are no changes to the cards but they are considering expanding the range of wedding favours available.

Mine wedding's in March next year. Have booked my bridal package also, and I've gotten my colleagues to do day photography (B&amp;W as well as colour) for me. Is there anything else that I can do during this period? Or do I just relax till later half of the year?

jbride

its so quiet here
18748.gif

there's a wedding this sun with the new setup...

is it one of our HI brides from SBO?
i'll be dropping by to take a look ard 5...

FYI, i've checked with anja abt the length of the aisle...its 17m..

seeya guys if anyone is gg this sun
18749.gif

october

I have finally signed my contract with HI.. done! So happy!
Anja showed us some pictures of the proposed new themes but mentioned that those were not the confirmed themes yet. This is bcoz' the mgmt felt that the decor looked a bit too general to match the proposed themes, hence will be looking into some changes or finetuning.
When we saw the proposed themes, we thot they looked pretty good or rather good enuf, so rested our minds and decided to sign on the dotted line.
What we really liked was the tables' centrepiece coz' they looked really elegant. My hubby was also impressed with the aisle floral decor.
Mmm... I am really looking forward to our big day to come. I saw some pictures of our wedding suite (a business/special suite) at the hotel reception and thought the room looked good in pictures. Hope the actual room really turns out well. Personally, I think the main diff btw a shophouse suite and a business suite is firstly the level that they are on, ie, shophouse is on level 2 to 3/4 (I tink) while a business suite is on higher levels (10th floor and above). Also, a business suite is twice the size of a shophouse suite with a separate sitting area so your relatives and friends who come into your room will not need to sit on your bed but in the living room. A shophouse suite is about the size of a deluxe room.

jazz

Hol, you can just relax all the way to abt Jan, and you'll start to get busy with the banquet.

October, good to hear that the tables' centrepiece looked elegant! I have not got a chance to see the themes, hope that the themes will be confirmed in time for my wedding this coming May.

Jbride, did you manage to go and take a look at the wedding? How's the setup like?

jiawen

Planning to have ROM tea reception @ IH, anyone can share their experience? Do they give me a room for the tea reception? how's the parking? heard always carpark full... true? They quoted me free flow of bottled soft drinks, how about beer and red wine? What kind of function room will I get?

coolcitrusbasil

juz pop in to say hi to all the gals here...ive been mia for a while but i still see jazz n jbride ard...
seldom see blossom in tis thread oso. guess everyone is busy preparing 4 wedding rite? take care..

jazz

Jaiwen, vaguely, I just know that there's a function room on the 3rd level where you can hold your tea reception. For parking, the carpark belongs to Parco, Intercon does not have many carparks allocated for them, that's the reason why it's quite full. You might want to arrange a time and drop by Intercon to take a look at the function room? When are you holding your ROM?

Coolcitrusbasil, long time no hear from you, how are you doing? Yup, you're rite, been busy preparing for my wedding, and time really flies. I'm just abt 2 mths away from actual day and lots of things have not been settled yet.
How's life with you?

coolcitrusbasil

hihi jazz, im doing fine. like you busy preparing for my wedding but work has been busy as well. so din really login. waaah that's really fast.. in 2 mths time.. u must be excited. what are the things u have not settle yet? what about your bridal, with who? Everything doing ok? i have not talk to Anja for quite so time liao, she is very accomdating rite?

coolcitrusbasil

ya indeed very quiet. how r u? when's ur wed date? settle ur bridal and other misc stuffs? i saw ur earlier posting, you went to view the new setup rite? how was it? maybe can update us?

justatot

Hi HI brides

I went to attend a wedding dinner at HI last sunday. Just like to add some comment maybe you can discuss with your co-ordinator to improve on it.

1) There are a few of the bowl, plate and spoon are chip, thk you should reflect to the co-ordinator cos it not presentable.

2) The lighting of the ballroom is too bright so dun have the feeling of attending wedding dinner.

3) The most important is the waiter clear our plate too fast and was like chasing us so we cant have 2nd round. And sometime haven't finish he come and ask whether can clear the plate anot. We all are quite angry with that loh cos we need to finish the food very fast or he will wait behind us for clearing the plate. Can you imagine someone standing behind you when you eat.

Hope the above help.

jiawen

Hi Jazz

My date not comfirm cos we are worry that we can't get a JP on that date, but will be 3 to 4 mths time, hope I still got time to do all the planning. Any nice date to suggest? prefer weedends

interested

Anyone knows what's the cost per table at Hotel Intercon on a weekday? Thanks in advance!

crapster

Call them for a quote.We got it at $585.00+++ on a friday and its considered a weekday. But note it's 8 course and not 10 course.

lukia

Any Intercontinental brides-to-be out there?
I'm interested in this hotel as a venue for my banquet but having gone through some of the discussion threads, wonder if it is a wise choice, especially since my wedding going to be in late 2004 *kiasu*
...had met up with Anja, wondered if she's the only sales manager. The place seems short-handed...Could someone offer some advice?

jbride

hi Lukia,

I'm a HI-bride-to-be. My wedding will be in dec 03 but I've booked my banquet in Jul 02 to avoid disappointment. Not sure if i can help much. Personally, I luv the ballroom becoz the high ceiling looks grand.

Have u shortlisted any other venue? i think you shld keep your choice open and decide ard 1 &amp; half years in advance. Dun worry, it's never too early to start planning
19540.gif

Yes, Anja is the only sales manager. I think there's another sales exec.

crapster

we are marrying in Inter con on the 5 Dec, so jbride, please leave the place nice and tidy for us...dun leave any angpaos behind cause very hard for us to return to you. hahaha. we like the high ceilings too and the place is not bounded by walls. the whole place is yours for the night. no need to share with other couples in other ball rooms cus there's only one. 1 1/2 years may seem far away but not really. you have to check what is it you want ?? and how many tables ? and location and food and budget ....
btw, My chef friend says Inter con's food is good.

lukia

Mmmhh...haven't short-listed any other venues...Amongst 5-star hotels (HI 5-star right?), HI offers quite a good price for a Friday...I'm seriously considering it as a venue...my husband likes the high ceilings, pillarless look of the place though he feels the stage decor and table presentation are kind of bare. I like the proportionate look of the ballroom and the cosy reception area and of cos the march-in!

jbride and crapster, may I know which pkg you signed up for? What additonal items did both of you requested for?

ino

Hi Lukia,

Perhaps u would want to look at the flower decor carefully. I'm not sure whether they changed their flower specialist from Steffi's to Floral Connection. The last time i saw the photo decor from Floral Connection, it was horrible. ;-(
But i signed the contract anyway as Anja said that they might not get Floral connection and wld instead get back Steffi's. I advise u to check it out first.
;-)

happy bride

I juz had my wedding on the 23rd March and I had a fabulous time! The people at Intercon are very professional and helpful. Wld like to comment dat the catering manager, Abdul, was extremely helpful. Everyone commented that the food was fantastic (except the fish was a bit hard
) I think Intercon's food is the best that I've tasted so far. Even the vegetarian and muslim food received good comments!
My friends and relatives also commented that the service provided was excellent. It was 1 waiter : 1 table as promised.

The only downside : reception area veri small. By 7.30pm, it was so crowded that everyone had to be seated in the ballroom. But everything else ran smoothly.
I had no regrets signing up wif intercon. Everything was memorable and I reali dun mind going thru everything again! heh

lin

hi happy bride,
I don't mind considering this hotel (anyway, it has been on my mind since). Now that i've received good feedbacks.. will discuss it with FH.

jbride

hi happy bride, congrats! so glad to hear that everything goes well for your wedding
19769.gif
it gives us more confident in HI...

hi Crapster, mine is held on 7 dec...just 2 days before yours
19770.gif
so it's my turn to pick up angbao...haha...

hi Lukia,
I signed up the weekend package..can't really remember the name of the package...i've asked for more complimentary parking as i have quite a lot of friends driving &amp; day-use room for my friends..

lin

I saw the website of hotel intercon. They mentioned they represent more towards the peranakan culture. is this true? I will be having a peranakan theme for my wedding. I will also be holding my religious ceremony, tea ceremony there too. Is there a double charge for another function room for that?

May i know how's the menu like? And what's the rough price per table? And what's the freebies you girls get?

jbride

hi Lin,

i think there's a charge for the function room. U'll have to check with Anja, the sales manager for the charge.

mine is a weekend package. $716+++ (1%+10%+4%GST)
can't really remember all but some of the items included in the package are 2 nites stay, free 30l barrel of beer, complementary parking, seat covers, flower centrepiece, err...etc...
maybe u'll like to meet up with anja or email her for a copy of the package
19831.gif