Intercontinental Singapore

yuki31

Clar,wow great to heard that it is very nice ...small to hold 35 tables? me shld be having ard 35 tables leh ...i havent seen hw is it like yet to place 35. if u take any pic, do share with us okie

sharona

Hihi dougan, no worries!
thks anyway for e efforts.

Hi yuki, i was told that the new cards will only be out next yr for 2007 weddings onwards.

I'll be going down this sat to view the newly revamped ballroom as there will be a luncheon wedding going on. Then selecting my wedding theme next week. Getting more exciting as the day goes by! Will try to take some pics for you ladies to see! ;)

tigerlily125

sweets u must be so excited..
sure hope the new ballroom is nicer!
share some of the pics with us yeah?

just wanna ask u girls for opinion, is there any difference having our food tasting trial dinner on a weekday or a weekend?
my AD is in dec but thinking of doing the food tasting soon cos work will be very busy in oct.
should i schedule the dinner on a weekday or a sat or is there no diff?

gs1979

tigerlily, i did my food tasting on a weekday. like u, we went after work. Met my parents n inlaws at intercon. We had the food tasting in Man Fu Yuan Restaurant, normal dining like any customers.

ublur

sweets, is there a luncheon this weekend? can supply with more details? i eager to see the new ballroom too

babyjo

Yuki,yeah living in Aust is not too bad but I considered the lifestyle here a little too boring, thats why we decided to move back. My parents have a hs in Singapore, so tentatively I still have somewhere to stay when I return, but we will start searching for our own place when we returned later this yr.

Gintonic and dougan, thanks for the pics and cards! Gin, your photos are really great! Who is your photographer? BTW, CONGRATULATIONS!!! So how many mths has it been already?

yuki31

sweets, icic ...do take some pic n share with u if posible ...thanks

my wedding in jan 07 then will i be using the current cards or new cards? but i think if it is not out this year then shd be using the same as u all

tigerlily125, michelle told me food tasting can only be done on Mon-Thur ....u can do during weekend?

yuki31

babyjo, oic so u be moving back for good
tat good so u ca stay with parent first whole looking for ur own plc ...u be back next mth rite?

yuki31

babyjo, which part of Aust are u at? my FH planning a trip to Sydney in Oct ....so now doing some read up on sydney ...any good hotel to recommend?

babyjo

Yuki, yeah moving back to Spore late next mth or early Nov, can't wait! BTW, my parents dun stay in Spore, we are not locals
So that means I will be staying on my own.
I am in Perth, boring place...Sydney is a busy city, quite a good place but I prefer Melbourne as I reckon it's not too busy nor too quiet. Hmm, I dun think I can help with the recommendation of hotels in Sydney, I have been there only once. Sorry can't help.

momocharz

Can anyone tell me the contact no. for the coordniators? Been leaving voice mails but nobody get back to me... =(

yuki31

babyjo, haha oic ....so u be staying on ur own ...ur FH is local or? i like Melbourne too but my FH wanted to go Sydney so maybe will do a short trip there in early Oct ...keke :p it okie i look up on Sydney hote; ")

Momocharz, my coordinator is michelle. you can contact her at this number 68251248

sharona

Hi tigerlily, yeah im finally getting excited as the day draws nearer.. before it didnt seem tat soon now the day just seems to fly! Juz 1 more mth to go!

Dougan, i was told that there are going to be a toal of 3 new themes for next yr. The 1st 2 themes are out & available for choice for this yr. However, e third theme will only be avail frm 2007 onwrds.

Yuki, yup the new cards are only available frm 2007 onwrds but dunno when exactly out yet.

Hi blur blur, u can chk out the plc too if u wanna take a peek tis wkend. There's gonna be a wedding luncheon going on.

whitetwinkle

hi sweets,

rem to share with us some nice nice pixs of the new ballroom when u go down this weekend! saw the drawups in STYLE wedding magazine looks nice!! i'll be having my AD next june. still long way to go! but i got all over excited over the new ballroom already! hehehee!!

im_ashley

Hi Yuki,
How's your wedding preparation? Done my food tasting in mid Aug. Portion huge. I find the presentation of the dishes slightly plain. Gonna change the soup and fish. Dishes slightly salty. Food-tasting like normal dinner at the restaurant. Provided a feedback form on the taste and presentation to be filled up. The chef even came out at the end of the dinner to interact.

Cards already printed so now trying to finalise the guest list. Am targetting to send out the cards 1 mth prior to the wedding.

Hi Sweets,
When is your big day? How are you getting along with the preparation?

tigerlily125

thanks gintonic! and congrats too! =) boy or girl?

ok i'll give michelle a call to confirm my food tasting.. din noe cld only do it mon-thurs.. wanted to add cod fish to my menu but the price is quite steep.. think may need to top up... =(

im_ashley

Hi tigerlily,
did you sign up during the wedding show earlier in feb this year? Mine is so considering to top up another $40 per table for the cod fish. The steamed black garoupa I had for the food-tasting not good at all.

ublur

sweets, thanks.. is it on sat or sunday?? Maybe I shall pop down ..

great to see comments abt the dishes.. I am in the process of selecting my dishes for my banquet. Would like to get some feedback from "ex" intercon brides. Any good dishes to recommend so that i can add to my menu and which are the not-so-good dishes which i will try to avoid. at least i know that steam black garoupa should be out from my list.

gs1979

babyjo, tks for your compliments. my PG is Tucky. Me now in 2nd trimester..3mths.

tigerlily, tks tks...now still cant detect the sex of bb. gotto wait till another 2-3mths.

tigerlily125

Hi ashley

thanks for your feedback..
i signed up last year so for weekend dinner mine is $818++. What does yours cost per table?
Michelle told me the cod costs $128 per table of 10. is that the price she quoted you?

Was your steamed black garoupa wiht black bean sauce? wondering if i can request to change to light soy sauce.
How was it not good? not fresh?
darn.. was gonna choose that actually.

when's your wedding ashley?

yuki31

sweet, okie thanks ......u saw the 2 themes yet? i wonder hw it looks ..so excited to c it ..

Ashley, me so far only completed PS so now waiting for my design to be out so can proceed with the album
wow u done so much...me havent food tasting, cards oso havent seen yet ...wat are the dishes that u had choose? u be changing any dishes after the food tasting? me now doing guestlist...seem like keep increasing...keke :p wat is the max tables that the ballroom can hold?
Which card had u chosen? can we choose 2 different kind?

im_ashley

Hi tigerlily,
As I signed up during the show, there are only 3 dishes to choose from each category. The fish I tasted was the steamed black garoupa with light soya sauce. We were initially impressed by the huge size of the fish but the meat is not soft nor sweet. The chef says that the meat of this kind of fish is like this. Not that it is not fresh. Michelle quoted $40+++ per table if topped up with cod fish.

My wedding is on 30 Oct (mon) so per table is cheaper at $658+++.

Hi Yuki,
Me also have not done much. Just completed my PS too & waiting to choose pictures. Agree about increasing guestlist, especially my FH' side. From 30, now we have 33 tables. My menu is more limited compared to the normal selection. I will be choosing :
1. suckling pig, drunken chicken, roasted duck, jelly fish, baby octopus
2. shark's fin with crabmeat (had wanted thick soup of shredded abalone, fish skin, conpoy, chinese mushrooms, sea cucmber & yellow chives but it tasted slightly & looked like normal hot and sour soup)
3. deep-fried scallops coated with mashed taco
4. braised clam pacific and lapa shellfish with garden greens (spinach)
5. still deciding between star garoupa or cod fish
6. pork ribs with sweet and sour sauce
7. braised e-fu noodles with fresh crabmeat and yellow chive
8. mango pudding

Can't remember the max no. of tables. Think 40 or more. 35 is the minimum no. of tables for weekend dinner.

I chose the white rectangle card. Not sure if can pick 2.

Does anyone know about the music part? Will the hotel be providing us any songlist to choose from? I m cracking my head over the songs now.

gs1979

Hi gals, i went to bugis yday...so kaypo n went to c the newly revamped ballroom. only peeked when the doors were opened as there was a wedding lunch gg on yday. Wow!! It has become more grand as all the doors have been changed to white base with mirrors. Even the interior has more chandeliers on the ceiling n at the side of the wall. Also they oso made some changes to the reception area.

Ashley & yuki, max tables was 40 for the old ballroom. But 37 is the most comfortable no. I had 36 tables and although there were some tables with 12pax seating but the ballroom still looked v spacious, easy for our guests to move ard.

gs1979

As for the song list, intercon will provide songs for the fanfare and also during the dinner. Its best to choose jazz songs cos it suits the ambience and the interior of the ballroom. But for both march-in and champage pouring, i used my own songs.

sharona

Hi everyone! Im back from my viewing yesterday.
All the chandeliers & wallpapers have been changed and check out the chandeliers. They are realli grand & pretty! Love it!

Currently they have 2 new themes, 'Oriental Splendour' and 'Charming Elegance'.

Hi Ashley, my wedding is on 9th Oct.

404597.jpg
404598.jpg

whitetwinkle

wow!!!! very nice very nice!! so happy and congrats to those that are having their wedding at intercon soon! mine is june next year still some time to go.. rem to share with us more of the beautiful photos after your weddings so share with us the nice nice ballroom! :D

Thanks sweets for sharing the photos!~~

yuki31

Ashley Tang, me too sign up during that wedding show ..the dishes are limited ...n any changes of dishes required topup
have u decided on the songs to use yet?

Gin, icic so now max is abt 37 coz i might be having ard 35tables ..still counting now ..initially was planning 30 only.. do u have to bring in original CD for the songs to be played? do they provide a list of songs for us to choose from? do intercon provided dvd player or laptop for montage?

sweets, thanks for sharing the photo ..it look nice

gs1979

Hey yuki, we used our own laptop to play the photo montage. But for express highlights, my VG settled it by himself. Intercon provided the projector and screen as we chosen it as one of the perks. For 1st march-in, we used original cd but for 2nd march-in and champage pouring, we got hubby's buddy to burn both songs into 1 CD.

wad list of songs r u referring to?? the fanfare?
Dun worry, U b asked to go down few wks before AD to test out the songs.

clar

Hi Sweets

R you holding dinner and how many tables.. Could we pop by to see to??

Hi anyone know the 2007 calendar out .. I've got my chinese lunar dates but dun know where to get the calendars to refer to ?? Anyone can share share

tigerlily125

Hi sweets thanks for sharing the pics! the new ballroom does look very nice!! so exciting =)

Gintonic, do u mind if i ask u wat fish did u include in your dinner menu? am trying to decide between taking the black garoupa or splurging and taking the cod. And if I had 11 pp at the table will it be very squeezy?
Has anyone tried the Wok-baked spare pork ribs with tangerine? or the scallops, squid, cuttlefish with XO sauce? any idea if the spare ribs are nice?

dramama

Hi Gintonic

If you place an additional one or two pax per table, are there any extra charges and is it very squeezy?

Audrey

yuki31

dramama, michelle told me tat 12 to a table will not be squeeze as the table can fit 12 i think but the price will be adjusted accordingly ...

Gin, fanfare mean wat ah ..sorry i not too sure... i was wondering if they have the songs i wanted for march in n other then can jus use their CD
u bring the burn CD? is it ok to burn MP3 songs to a CD?

yuki31

clar clar , do u mean the tong shu or the normal calender? mine is in Jan but i got the date early this year .....i only know the mar onward date is not out coz tong shu havent ready tat time but now shld be out

gs1979

yuki, fanfare refers to the intercon staff serving the 1st dish. I used the fanfare song provided by intercon. Its "BE MY GUEST" from the beauty and beast soundtrack. I alys liked cartoons alot so i dun mind using a cute song for my fanfare. Something diff from other weddings i have attended.

gs1979

tigerlily, i chosen black garoupa with light soya sauce. But the only dish i liked most is the shark's fin roe although it was salty during our food tasting and on actual day. But its v unique as its orangy in color. v rare to c at other hotels.

dramama,for 12pax seating..u need to pay by per head for d additional 2pax. Eg; each table is $738+++ so the 2pax will be charged at $73.80+++ each. As for my vegetarian guests, i paid $65.80+++ each...i got 8 of them. 3tables with 12pax and 1table with 11pax. Fyi, 12pax seating will be using a bigger table. Normal table size is meant for 10 or 11pax.

tigerlily125

oic thanks gintonic.
din noe have to pay extra for vegetarian... cos they will be taking up a place at the table for 10 right? unless they become the 11th =)
does that apply for muslim diet too?
btw, was the black garoupa nice?

sharona

Most welcome ladies! Glad to share the beautiful pics!

Clar clar, my wedding dinner is on 9th Oct. Should have around 30+ tables.

im_ashley

Hi Yuki,
The top-up is $40+++ per table for the cod fish & $50+++ per table for the star garoupa. Deciding between the 2 now.

Hi Sweets,
Thanks for the photos. The ballroom looks great.

Hi Gintonic,
Thanks for the clarification. Good that the hotel is using that song for the 1st dish. Was also thinking about it. I m using mostly jazz and oldies. Seems to be more suitable for the ambience.

gs1979

tigerlily, if the vegetarian is the 9th or 10th pax, still have to pay full price for that table + additional $65.80+++

My cousin's gd who is a vegetarian couldnt attend the wedding last min and end up i paid an extra $65.80+++ for nothing.
So better confirm with ur guests asap...dun spend unnecessary $$$. As for muslim, i'm not so sure cos i din have any muslim guests. Black garoupa is nice..fish was alittle overcooked during food tasting but was fine on actual day.

Ashley, gd to hear that u r using jazz songs. it was my PG who suggested cos he felt that the songs suited the ambience more.

yuki31

Clar clar, i think there are website to check but i lost the link ...for me i check with the fengshui shifu

Gin, icic thanks
Be My Guest is nice ....seem like becoming popular nowaday :p me too having abt 5-8 vergetarian guests ...michellle suggest if we can have a table for all the vergetarian guest then dun have to pay extra but if we mixing them with other table then no choice.

Ashley, will u be going to taste the new dish after making the changes? have to pay seperatly right?

im_ashley

Hi Yuki,
Nope. Won't be tasting the new dish. Think have to pay separately, though haven't confirmed with Michelle.

Hi Sweets,
Your wedding is so near. Chosen your theme? Do share with us the wedding favours available for selection now. Thanks.

gs1979

Yuki, unless ur vegetarian guests dun mind sitting together then that will save u $$. But for me, they don't noe each other so cant arrange them to sit together. 2 of the vegetarians were my CEOs. The rest were frens and relatives.

yuki31

Ashley , yap got to pay seperatly ...so it ok dun taste it

Gin, i dunno if wan to put them together or not ...coz some is relative, 1 boss n some colleague ...a bit funny to mix so still considering ...michelle suggest unless we make the table to 12pax then additional 2pax for vegterain ...so table cost for 10 still remain ..juz add for vergeterain

anyone manage to get 2 nights stays ?