Intercontinental Singapore

kite~

hi ivy,

i tink there are quite a few decor themes. u may check w out w anja.

apple77

hi kite,
oh i see, must top up $80 for ther stairs huh... keke... so u've signed the contract? Did u managed to get wind corkage waived?

canivy

Dear Kite , i asked her but seems like she doesn't know many things! So disappointed with the way she served! Any help!!

apple77

Hi Ivy,

I actually received this attachment from Anja on the decors available.... u want it? I can email to u if u're interested.

kite~

hi apple,

yes i hv signed e contract. it's $60 top up for e staircase.
Btw dont mind can u send e decors to me as well, someone earlier sent it to me before, but just want to compare.

hi ivy,
hmm maybe u shld go n meet her up.
or go down 1 of the weekends to view e ballroom setup.

ingenue78

anja is leaving inter-con in early Dec. There's a new co-ordinator called Angeline. Has there been anyone who has dealt with her b4?

apple77

Hi kite~,
The date chose liao... i might have to give up the choice of HI and settle for Beaufort cos it's a sat and i only have 20 tables... so sad... unless i change to wkday... otherwise chances are slim....

peace

Hi ino,

Mine is on 12 dec n anja is my main coordinator. May i know who u receivced e infor fr?

I am now doin my table seating arrangement...big headache as most of my fren is either on holiday trip or getting married ard the same period.I really dun know wht to do on the night b4 my AD as i m not supposed to meet my FH. any suggestions pls?

btw intercon has revised their wedding package.I was shocked that wedding on fri will cost 1000 per table.

ingenue78

i heard she's leaving on the 6 dec. Dun noe whether reliable (heard it from the intercon chef during my food tasting) anot. I think you might have to check with her.

eggie

i called intercon and it's confirmed anja is leaving. i'm not sure if it's correct but the girl told me she's leaving by end of this month.

i asked about the revision of the package and it seems still remain the same. They only told me that the package for 2005 is not out yet. hope this helps.

muffins

hi gers..

i had my wedding in june this year. sad to know that anja is leaving.. she was our co-ordinator.. she might appear to be quite cold initially. but as the wedding day draws nearer where more communications are required, she will gradually warm up to you.

wow.. S$1,000 per table is quite ex. we just managed to break even with the old weekend package.

actually, me quite ok wif the decor.. esp i have 46 tables for the dinner. so if have too many flowers around, it will look very cramp.

hmm. regarding the flower deco for the stairs. actually the guests dun really notice whether there r any flowers on the stairs... so if u r on a budget, can actually forgo the stairs deco.

i had real flowers for the stands along the red carpet. the flowers on the stage were real too. some more dat time anja actually said i can choose any type of flowers available locally.

hope tis info helps.

kite~

Oh really. so shock that Anja is leaving. We are supposed to meet her up in middle of Dec to view the suites. sigh. i wondered y alot of intercon staff leaving one by one.

apple77

hi nicole,
which theme did u use for the deco??? Actually, ya, quite true that the guests probably dun really notice the stairs.. i went to my friend's wkday wedding elsewhere.. went str into the ballroom to be seated rather than hang around drinking and chatting or mingling... how abt urs? How did u have ur march-in done? I'm cracking my brain how to do mine and wonder how the wedding cards for next yr looks like... hope they're niceeeeeee!

cheryl

hi apple,

i'm new here... been reading all the messages, but haven't posted anything yet... anyway, i'm currently waiting for HI to send me the contract.. its kinda shocking to hear that Anja is leaving.. she does seem a little aloof when we met up with her the last time... anyway, i went to kaypoh kaypoh at the hotel when they happened to have a wedding there.. thought the deco of the ballroom was a little weak, nothing impressive.. Will you be able to send me the attachment of the deco? my email is [email protected]

thks thks...

muffins

hi apple

aiyoh.. can't remember which theme isit liao.. somehow all the themes look the same when we saw the catologe which anja showed us.

my march in was the standard kind wan lah.. except dat we requested for the guests to be seated while we marched in.. coz we had so many tables and it will be too much of a hassle for everyone to stand up.. (but oso good lah, coz everyone can see us coz me v short mah..)

my card was the rings design one.. dun noe whether HI is still giving this design or not?

when's yr wedding? did u bargain for tings like a day room for yr helpers? etc

apple77

Hi nicole,
My wedding still long way to go... Dec 2004 lah... haven't managed to go thru the details yet... cos my FH keep changing dates... so very difficult to decide if i'm taking HI or Beaufort. Either one i'm fine with it... so now must quickly decide on the date. now i'm worried that if i do ard end of Dec many pple won't be around to attend... wat a headache...

So did u managed to bargain for the dayroom? wonder if the new co-ordinator who takes over will be nice enough to give more perks.

jbride

hi HI brides,

I just had my wedding at HI last sun...
Everything went smoothly & we has an enjoyable evening

i'll like to praise the banquet manager for the good service...All the guest commented that the food is delicious & the portion is just nice. Ambience is good & very classy
37477.gif

As the banquet deco provided by the hotel did not suit our style, we've engaged another florist to come in to decorate the ballroom. From my personal opinion, I think it is not worth topping up for the deco at the stairway. It was provided to us FOC but we decided not to have it as the flowers doesn't match our theme & with it crashes with the Xmas deco...

hope these info help
37478.gif

eggie

hi jbride,
congratulations to you! glad to know that everything went well for you. You must have great time.

I wonder how much they reduce or you exchange for something else without the flowers? btw, how much you pay for the florist to do up the whole place? Thanks a lot.

jbride

Hi eggie,

Thanks. Yea! We had a great time

There's no refund by the hotel for not using their florist. So we took whatever deco that the hotel florist provides that suits out theme...
Then we engaged another florist to add on...It depends on the kind of flowers that u choose..
Usually, it'll cost between 1K ~ 2K...

eggie

hi jbride,
i wonder got any photos you can share? I have never seen photos of a real wedding at the ballroom. does the strong yellow lightings make the pictures all very yellowish? thanks a lot

peace

hi all HI brides,

I also jus had my wedding at HI last fri.
Everything went smoothly n i have an enjoyable evening

All my guest also commented that the food is delicious and the banquet manager (Angeline n Irene), captain (Mr Sham) and all staff have provided 1st class service. The whole ambience is very classy n grand.

Their wedding suite is beautiful n I really enjoyed my stay over there. I give them ten out of ten as there isn't any hiccup.

Eggie...i will show u e photos once ready.

All the best for rest of u......Peace

muffins

hi apple

yep i managed to get the day room..

muz push hard on the tings u wan coz HI can b quite sticky over certain tings

eggie

hi peace,
congratulations! i believe you really enjoyed yourself very much as it's a real special day for you. you got the shophouse suite or the special suite?

can't wait to see your photos!

kite~

hiyee,

i m bk. went for a short holiday hehe

hi peace,

dont mind can u share ur pics w me too as i have booked with intercon too for my next yr wedding.

hi apple,
me too i managed to get a day room for my helpers.

btw Enya left intercon liao?

eggie

hi kite,
i think Enya had left Intercon and now it's taken over by Angeline.

to all InterCon brides,
btw, can any of the Intercon brides share their banquet photos? i'm a bit anxious of how the bright yellow lights will turn up well on photos. thanks a lot.

kite~

hi eggie,

thanks for the update cos since i signed up with intercon, i hv not called them up. btw so how's ur hotel venue? did u manage to sign up w intercon? if yes, hv u met angeline before?

hi ex-intercon brides,
hope someone can share a few pics of the intercon ballroom. thanks in advance.

onee

I'm another HI bride-to-be. Didn't know Anya left until I read this page. Wonder how's it gonna be with Angeline? Any other ladies had experience with her, appreciate your sharing...

Yup yup, it would be very nice if ex-HI brides could share pics of the ballroom.

I'm not so lucky... Each time I visit HI hoping to see their set-up or take a peep into the Ballroom, the place is always dark. So until now, I've never see the ballroom in set-up nor bright...

eggie

hi kite,
i had decided on another date liau. going to make appointment to see her. so far only called her before. i also hope she's nicer than anya.

hi onne,
u can call them up and they will let u know which day there is a wedding and u can view the place personally. best time to go is around 5-6 pm before the wedding.

kite~

hi Eggie,

oic. so when is ur big day? Jan or Feb 05?
btw remember to update us after u hv met e new co-ordinator. ok.

if i remember, during e sign up of our contract w intercon, i hv actually requested to Enya that we wanted to view the suite and she promised us that she will call us again once the suite is available for viewing. but until now since dec, no 1 calls us.

yes hope e new co-ordinator is much more better than Enya. Hope u can get more perks tis round.

fluff

Hi I'm back!! Jus pop by out of curiosity.. had my wedding in dec...

Only positive comments... gd food (I had praises non-stop fr my guests... even my very critical auntie also said it was nice.... Advice: there are two sets of menus... choose the best 8 fr both rather than stick to set A or set B

nice march in effect, deco not too bad... flowers done up to my expectations! Use the passon theme.. and Ivory roses.. they are actually very nice..(they are the light cream with a tinge of light pink)

Mega huge suite!!! now I know what one of the HI brides meant by saying it's abt 4 times a normal hotel rm... (ADVICE: make sure u ask for an upgrade of suite to special suit!!!)...

service gd.. they close one eye for so many things..(all wine corkage waived in the end, extra seats not charged... hmm i wonder if I shld be saying these??)

Also waiters are one to one and they serve the food for every table, every guest, not jus the VIPs

As for the coordinators, I got to work with both Anja and Angeline... Anja is quieter but she's very accomodating and friendly.. Angeline.. very bubbly (typical singaporean) enjoyed coordinating with her too... so u all really don't need to worry...

so happy abt the wedding dinner... had so much fun..the whole night passed so quickly how we wish to relive it.. can't wait to attend a wedding at HI then can really enjoy the dinner and teh atmosphere...

but then again.. diff people have diff taste.... but one thing is for sure... the food is great.. the best so far for wedding dinners...so said my guests (plural!!)

so much of a gd thing here comes the bad... it's kinda ex.. so if your relatives n guests are those that only give $80.. u'll surelly make a lost esp for the weekend packages... so must prepare for lost unless u r sure everyone gives at least $100..

Ok I think I tok too much.. me signing off

Kel
(the so-called older batch HI-brides hehe)

kite~

hi kel,

congrats in ur new marriage life. hehe thanks so much and really appreciate so much info input from you. In the 1st place, i hv never regret choosing intercon at all cos i love e classy ballroom and hotel.

Since i hv signed up w intercon, i hv a qs. What kind of suite u got for ur wedding nite? mine is just the shophse suite, try very hard to upgrade to higher suite, but cant.

btw, is the music too loud or too soft? how was e reception, cramp? when guests arriving?

Lastly, do u mind sharing some of the intercon pics w me? esp e ballroom w e decor? how was e centrepiece like?

ok thats all n hope to hear from u soon.

fluff

Mine was the special suite on the top floor...If u didn't managed to get the special suite before u sign the contract, I think it's quite hard to get it now.. but no harm trying..

Music vol ok... I had abt 340 guests so the floyer was rather cramp.. but the older people aka relatives and parents' friends went into the ballroom early... it's our friends n the younger crowd who stayed at the foyer... dun need to worry.. once crowded, some will go into the ballroom wan.

I didn't scan my pics (no time too).. what I did was to go check when are the wedding banquets and I jus tun up at ard 630pm n walk into the ballroom to see the set up... we saw abt 4 diff set ups and made up our minds as to what we wanted for the wedding favours, flowers, table cloth covers, etc.

kite~

thanks kel for e info.

btw gals,

i heard that Angeline is handling over to a new lady by the name called "Adeline" who wil replace Enya. Hmm seems like so many staff getting in and ot of intercon. confuse.

ingenue78

hi all future HI brides,

i just had my wedding at HI. It was really beautiful. The venue was fantastic, the food and service was great. A lot of my guests complimented on a lot of things, right down to the cute wedding favors(wedding bells). The red roses used for the centrepieces were real big and a lot of guests took it back as souvenirs...the stage decor was just the way i like it...with the tentage filled with ivys and roses (topped up some $$$ for it)

The shophouse suite was quite romantic, with ambient lighting...we even had a little balcony overlooking the bz parco bugis junction and a little foyer for you to sip some tea during snack-time...it's indeed a unique experience staying there...

Co-ordination work at HI is generally ok....Music (my own song list) and lighting was just rite...so for all those still preparing for yr wedding...enjoy!!! ;-)

onee

Ino : Thanks for your assuring message, it was very sweet of you to drop by with updates. Glad that despite the changes after Anya left, things are in place. It sure reinforce my confidence in HI. Could I take a peep @ your pics? [email protected]. Thanks, happy honeymoon period...

kite~

hiyee!

Latest updates from me.

Recently, i have met Angeline and the new co-ordinator Adeline. Both are very very nice ladies. Angeline seems very professional n understanding. Adeline is quite new as she just joined in.

That day, Angeline brought us to view the shophouse suite, not bad, very spacious but one thing i realised they do not have any dressing table in the bedroom, abit difficult if want to makeup for wedding dinner.

They even show us the wedding favours and invitation cards. The new wedding favours is the wedding bell, so cute, come in 4 different colours, pink, blue, green n another one i cant remember.

Also heard from them, there will be a new/latest invitation card. This new card is already ready just that they never show us cos the company is not printed yet. Yeppie, more options for us to choose besides the 3 existing ones.

Btw i m very glad that Enya has left/resigned! cos before and after i signed with intercon, she DIDNT even bother to bring us to the lounge at all to hv a drink or let us view the wedding favours, cards n suite. She only know how to give excuses that all these r not available.

Anyway i m glad that the present co-ordinator are real nice, brought us to lounge hv a drink, listen to us n discuss n r very accomodating too.

Even we signed the contract n Enya doesnt allow to hv any wine wavied, but Angeline is very nice to let us wavied some bottles of wine NOW even contract hv been signed.

Really glad things r getting better in intercon.
hehe

rainbow

Hi all HI brides,

I'm about to sign on the dotted line with HI! Can any of you advise what freebies or stuff to negotiate for? Read in the earlier posts about asking for the special suite + waiver of wine corkage!! Thanks so much for these suggestions!!!

Also, can you also give me some ideas about how I can decorate the ballroom? If i just stick to the basic package of floral arrangement provided for, will the ballroom look very bland and normal? I'm quite a flowers person so would love to have lotsa flowers in the ballroom! Any ideas on how and where to place them? Is it necessary to get my own florist in? For those of you who have paid extra to do up the ballroom, can you kindly share with me pictures of how the ballroom is done? My email is [email protected] Thanks in Advance!!

kite~

Hi rainbow!

u can request more like printing of invitation cards, car park coupons, increase no. of dishes n ppl for food tasting, upgrade to special suite, free usage of piano, n corkage wavied for wine.

for car park coupons, they cant give u much, e most 30% cos it shares e car park w Parco bugis junction. i cant imagine the car park at bugis is always fully packed esp during e wkends. i might afraid my guests will waste on finding a slot.