Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Hi Jay

I'm actually gonna do my make-up myself. Just need someone to do the hair & sari tying only.Can u do bridal hair & sari tying?

Hi all, i was reading through and I gotta say " my exact sentiments" to most of u guys..Wedding is not as easy as they seem. prep,actual day , in -laws, finance, house etc..gosh I think I am going to go crazy & I have not even started much
((panick attack))

Hi Andrea,

Do let me know what kinda hair style you wan. If reali interested pls call me dear. So that i know what you exactly wan. I can do full bridal make up with hairdo and sari.

hey all.. anyone know where i can rent indian sari? the white grand wedding kind.. sorry im not an indian bride.. but wanna wear one for my wedding coz my FH is malayalee..

I would like to know where i can rent white sari? those grand wedding ones.. intend to use that as one of my outfit change during dinner reception.. as my FH is indian..

Hi Jay, could you advice how much you will charge for doing the bridal hairdo and 2x sari tying - 1 at home & 1 at temple. I intend to do very simple bridal hairdo (like actress Jothika for her wedding)

Leelavathy: Hi, have u any samples of his (Harry) works? If yes, pls do post them. Thanks for sharing his contacts, ya.

Sphire: Congrats on confirming Shanti for actual day makeup.. happy for u tho i cant say i m a tad disappointed. Dn wori, I m nt saying it out of bitterness. As a Christian, I believe God will work it all out for my gd. Gd luck with the preps for the big day.

The rest: Please fill me in on reviews for good makeup artists. Currently, I have narrowed my options down to 2 freelancers : Yasmine, Ahmutha and Shereen (Saheli). As I hv less than 2 mths to decide, please feel free to give me ur comments/reviews of their works. Pix of trials wd b excellent! =)

Thnks in advance =)

Finding a good make-up artist is very important.She should be like your friend. A few days back i had my engagement ceremony, shereen from saheli did my make-up. I would say,she is one of a girl, her magical touches is superb. I love the way she do my eyes. When i came out of the room, my family memebers was like.. WOW!!!! you look completely like a actress.. hahahaha..I should thanks shereen from saheli. Her mom is so sweet, shereen works with her mom, she keeps me so comfortable like her own daugther.I have booked shereen to stay on with me. And she took care of me so well, touching up my make-up whenever it needed too,her eyes was just on me, whenever my dupatta gets stuck, she will be there in a sec to help me out. She is such a adorable girl. Oh yeah, She is so young and talented. I would say, All brides, do try Shereen from saheli. She is very open with your choices. I read in the forum some bad review about her, i feel, every individual have different opinion. But trust me, she is a excellent make-up artist.
(Regarding the saree tying, she have this indian lady, to tie the saree for her brides)

Recently, she bought a few sets of accessories, its soo beautiful.... more for a temple set. Sadly, i couldnt use it. It was juz a simple engagememt. But im diffiently gonna use her for my wedding next year...

hey sweeties, i need some help:

1. Where can i get good decorators? I was thinking to have like a rajistani look for the deco.

2. Where in india can i get good wedding lengga?

3. Im still thinking where to hold my wedding..
Any idea girls, some nice place? which can take about 800 to 1000 pax

Im so happy i found this forum. It took me 2 days to read tru the whole discussion you girls wrote.

Sumaina: I truly agree with you. Shereen got magical touched on her hands to make brides beautiful. A few months back..she did for my cousin wedding and reception. She gave 2 different looks for my cousin wedding and reception. Amazing work. My cousin looked like a doll.Her eye make-up skill is excellent.Blending is very important.

Photographers: DO NOT TAKE WILLAM SARAVANAN !!!
My friend had a very very bad experice with him. I dont want to go in details, but i only can say,just becareful. His attitude stinks. The way he talks is so professional, but end up not giving a good job.

If you're looking for Good accessories to buy,
Its quite expensive but i like his quality.
He got a shop at Little Indian Arcade, Halifax Trading..

I hope everything is going fantastically well for every1... it is really nice of you guys to share ur contacts ..
Am deciding on either riverwalk tandoor or sakunthala for the dinner caterers.. any comments?Thanks
does anyone have the Baldev's(PG) no? have read some good reviews about him.. Thanks

hey babez...!
Itz bn a loong time.. hwz it goin, Joelle( Miss ex tai-tai :D ), SK n Spire! iv been super buzy with wk n havnt been able to quite concentrate on preps, n itz gettin to me, though i should say i THINK iv still got time in hand..

Sphire, if u need help with gettin a flat, do giv me a call babe. 94661129 or email: [email protected]
im in real estate(ERA) so if u need some insight on the prices, i'l b glad to help babe

Galz, if u're plannin to get a flat, but not sure jus hw much u can spare,, do feel free to gimme a call n i can help work out the finances u might need for a flat/ condo. Property prices are goddamn steep nw babes. N itz juz gonna get higher in some areas, like in the central with the marina buildup n the coming of the new hospital in the north, etc.. so jump in on the wagon before it getz higher babes!

All u babes tying the knot in the next coming months, have a blast rushing thru the last min preps, n do hav fun while doin it! Have a few laughs! Take time(a few mins) to put yr feet up n get some shut-eye! I believe the whole sense of havin a fantastic big day is havin fun doin the things u do on the dayz leading up to THE day
hmmm... thatz a mouthful eh ;) hahaa.... have a gRRRRReat weekend dearies!

CheerioZ!

Sheetal: hey! were u from JI? Yup, Kumaran's designs (Halifax Trading) are made to measure and one of a kind. I got my set from him also. So dun waste money on v ex shops, ppl.

Gill: Thanks for the thumbs up review abt Saheli. Gng to do mine in 2 weeks. Hope it goes real well.

Anyone else has any reco for the makeup artists?

Hi Vijaya

So, did you call PG Ramesh?My sis booked him for Rom & wedding last year.He did a good job.Anyway please check his work before you book him.

hi brides! Im a fellow BTB... reception is on the 9th of feb and actual wedding is in india on the 27th jan.

I just had my engagement on 23 august and i must say shereen is excellent!

Hi Vijaya

Tks, I'm good.
glad that you managed to get one.Ya,he's always busy.A friend of mine booked him for her wedding PG&VG recently.She also told me that she liked his work and service very much.I'm going down to his Spa for threading.hahha Take care ....

Hi gals..
Ratna: please share ur trial pix with Saheli as I will be gng tis sun and wana see wat she can do. u can email me at [email protected]

Raspberriez: Well, the only trial i hv done so far is with an artist A.... I won't reveal her name here la cos I don think it is nice. can email u the pix if u need. But altho she is a very nice person to work with, i felt a tad disappointed. cos it didn make me feel or look like 'wow'. I am quite average looking la so thot e makeup cn bring out my best features..looking fwd to the one wif Shereen.

Leela: Well, i already hv someone taking my actual day pix but wont mind a 2nd pg.. initially had one bt his work committments dun allow him to take on that day. sighz... just trusting God that all will turn out well.

Today gng to Yishun SAFRA to discuss deco with my coordinator and deco person, Mr Ravi from Deepam Weddings. Hope it all goes well.

Hi deb.. im sorry to hear u were disappointed with the trial.. i think i'v got a rough idea of who your artist was, n in contrast to your comments, iv actually heard raving reviews abt her work. She's part of the team who did the IIFA makeup this year. I guess it really is up to each individual's expectations of how they expect to turn out after the makeup. Im hoping your other trials turn out jus the way u like it babe
it'll b great if you could share your pics with me pls.. [email protected]
thnx babe!

Hi, I'm actually getting mine made by one of the little prayer-flower sellers outside Nalli store. I always but my prayer flowers from him, so he's doing a wonderful job with the garlands... he showed me some of the garlands he had and we worked a design out. You might also want to try the flower guy outside jothi store

Ratna: Got your henna pics dear! gorgeous
U mentioned that yr makeup waz done by some1 else? i'd love to see those pics as well babe.
Will be calling u soon with rgds to the flat!

thnx 4 d pics agn!

Rasp: Hi, babe.. ya, she is good la, but somehow the make up din look so good on me. like my features disappeard of sorts. She is an amazing person tho and I like her personally. Just that I didn feel like 'wow'ed enuf. I wud gv her a rating of 7/10 bt since it is THE DAY of my life, was looking to settle for someone who made me feel like giving 10/10. Shanti is definitely 10/10.. sighz.. neverminds.. jus praying for things to work out.

Ratna: U looked sweet in ur pix.. thanks for the pix.. can i have ur makeup person's contacts? can email me again at the same email add. come to think of it..i think i already emailed u and asked u for her number. if i m repeating myself, sorry =( jus anxious to find someone who will make me look and feel like 'wow' on my big day.

Met Mr Ravi on Wed for the deco. He is a very nice man and great to work with. Very open to ideas and tho his are the tried and tested ideas, he charges quite low. My entire deco (2 col tablecloths, centrepieces, stage deco, 60 cushion chairs with covers) cost only 1k!! Really prayed that the Lord will bless us with a gd quote but this was beyond wat we imagined. =) Indeed, He is faithful to provide.

Leela: function's on 8 Dec 07, at Yishun SAFRA. hehe.. as we already have a PG/VG, we wont b sourcing for anymore PGs unless they are doing it for free( one dude offered that to us but backed down due to work commitments). So unless ur PG is for free (i know, i sound super cheapo), dun think will call and waste his time, liao. But thx for sharing.

Ratnaaa! Flawless makeup babe! U looked every inch THE bride! very nice *hasn't stopped nodding head in approval*
hahha... Whr was yr engagement held? The whole ceremony looked stunning.

Deb, iv emailed u regarding the pics babe. N i agree with u wholeheartedly that a bride's gotta feel 10/10 on her big day

$1K for deco is almost unheard of for the stuff that Mr Ravi is providing u with babe! Which company is he frm?

Have a great weekend babez!

Btw, i had an almost major hiccup on my venue . I actually made a booking for 2 halls .. end up when i went there to make my final payment, the staff there told me i made for ONLY one ! and it was a CC !
Totally irresponsible of them and they were talking as if they did not make any mistake @ all .
Anyway, i changed my venue . Dint feel right about the place anymore . Thank gawd i went earlier .. cant imagine if i had gone any much later.
Oh bother !

Otherwise, everything else is falling in place. Hopefully!!
Anyone going for their Prewedding shots in SG/JB ?

Hi, I was introduced to a Wedding Planner by my friend who had used her services and had most wonderful thingsto say about her. Believe me, i had no regrets. She has been the best person whenit came to my wedding from planning to, decor to ideas. My advice any brides wish to have a great planner you should contact her. She resides in KL but does many weddings in Singapore and many parts around the world. Apparently she is the most sought after planner for brides from India who have their weddings in Singapore,Bali and Malaysia. Try her. Anyone interested can email me for her contacts.

Hi There!!

I am rather new to this forum and reading thru all ur posts is just so great.

Hi Sumaina: As for your decoration you shud try Sunita PEter of Regal Evnts. She is sooo great. I had taken a look at her decor stuff and seriously she has these utmost gorgeous decorations that are from india. She also seem top have many wedding lenghas for rent and sale. I particularly loved the mujrha dress of Ash in Umrao Jaan which she had. Great. Basically she is a wedding consultant who runs this one stop business for weddings. All you gals interested in getting married you shud really gv her a shot.

Hello Ladies,
i had previously booked William saravanan as my wedding PG...which is in like less than 3 mths away?! But after reading the comments about him i really want to change my PG. I was thinking of getting Ramesh from spa alangra...any one knows about his work?? does he do the magazine sort of album thingy??

Thanks a ton Raspeberriez, i did the engagement function at Aangan restaurant at Excelsior Hotel
It's a really wonderful place and the manager is like a teddy bear! Utterly sweet and accomodating!

I'm confused girls, shall i have my recetption at Raffles town club - not so great food but nice place and grand look or Holiday Inn Atrium - better food, less grand entrance, but overall more perks???

Dear SKM

Hmm... you can try Ramesh.He's from Spa Alangkaara.H/p 96756242.I saw his work at his yishun branch last week,gosh!! he is really really good.

Ratna & Raspberries: Mr Ravi is from Deepam Wedding Services. He is super nice guy lor.. tho some ppl have said not so nice things abt him bt he comes across as someone with integrity and gd service. shud give him a shot if u wan smtg simple and gd.

Joshany: hey! welcome back! long time no see.. =)

SKM: Hi, dear.. gd thg u read abt him n hv a chance to change ur mind. I went to Mr Ramesh many moons back (i prepare early one so started my PG/VG shopping a long time back). I would say he is more modern than the traditional Indian PGs and is a very nice and accomodating man. He uses Adobe to do the pix up nicely so u can give him a shot. He has the album style and all that as well. So he will b a gd stop for u.

Having said that, I am not taking him cos my fiance has someone who he knows doing it for us and he is not Indian.. nt sure if that matters to u, ya =)

Dear Debbie, Naveena and leela,
Thank you so much for the info! I called Mr.Ramesh but cldnt get thru, he then called back although i was making a call from overseas. He was really nice and he blocked the date out for me...that was amazing! unlike other photographers who need a deposit before they block the date for you.Now i have to face the unpleasant situation of informing William saravanan.On another note...does anybody know where i can go to get my hair done for like the reception? ive got a MUA , she does hair as well...but i want smthing more stylish rather then a bun! Thanks heaps guys!

Back again! Now preparing for trad wedding in jan 08.
Where are u guys printing yr wedding cards from? Any recommendations? Tks

When is the best time to buy wedding saree for Jan wedding? When will the latest designs be out & where to buy a nice one?

Heya GurlZ!

Angelic: I suppose the new desgns are out, in conjuction with the dewali season. n im sure tailors are already packed with bookings with dewali nearing. So maybe u can shop around for the saris, n then arrange for the sewing AFTER deepavali. U wouldnt hav to worry much abt a rushed work then

I have a brand new beautiful ivory gown to let go. Worn only once for first march-in. The bodice is fully beaded with crystals and it has a beautiful thick crystal border at the bottom of the gown. It comes with a long train. Perfect for photoshoot or wedding dinner. The gown sparkles in light because of the full crystal bodice...Anyone interested, please email me at [email protected]

Ratna - Thank you for sharing your pics . Yes you looked radiant !

Angelic - I have already selected my invites . Awaiting proof from them . The shop is in JB called Sri Vani Printers . Many singaporeans have printed from them I think. My invite is a simple one . The colours - maroon, cream and gold .

SK - Thank you for popping by

For myself , this friday most likely going down to JB to have a look @ the bridal shops in City Square. Anyone with information ?

Hi everyone... So nice reading all these posts once again...

Ratna - would it be posible for you to email me your engagement pics too? I am still looking for a good make up artist and have noticed alot of praise towards your make up. My email id is [email protected] Could you also provide me details of the make up artist? Thanks so so much...

Hi Ratna
I think Raffles Town Club is an excellent place for reception. I was very very keen on it myself bt for various reasons we cld not pick that venue. It's a tough dilemma u have there. Personally I will pick place over food bt the guests might just prefer better food to place. Did u ask RTC if u can arrange for food from elsewhere to be catered?
Am looking forward to seeing your pics and hearing where u got your make up done from... Thats my biggest worry till now!

Hi Kimberly Mary Anne - Can u pls provide me the contact details of Sunita Peter of Regal Evnts? Any pictures? You can email me at [email protected]