Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Hi Ratna... read abt ur MUA and the PG great work... Could u email me ur pics... My Rom is nxt yr feb 08... still have not decided who to choose... it'll be good if u could email me... thx a million... This is my email add [email protected]

I guess i must the newest member here...have been reading the past posts, for quite some time. Figured i should be part of the act and not a mute spectator...heh.

For details: ROM-ed in June 07, but now planning for traditional wedding and dinner reception in 08. Problem is, and i am sure everyone started with this line in this forum, dunno which venue is good and cheap, where to get good sarees and tailors, cheap and good PG/VG, decor, etc etc etc.

So, I am hoping to get more and more tips from you all, and i can see you guys are real experts at all the wedding paraphernalia.

HEHE!!

Luv,

Bhav

Hello guys,

Among all the MUAs, which one is the best: Shanti, Shereen or Bubbly (LOOKS)?

Between the decor providers, who is better: Pandora or Deepam Wedding Svcs?

Sigh, you guys wun believe it, but i actually did my ROM based on all the recommendations in this forum. Blessed to have this forum.

Sorry for being MIA for so long,went wedding shopping in india. so much more relaxed now that all the major items have been bought including all my clothes and jewellery.

i've sent the pics from my engagement to Anu and Sha82.

The last thing to decide where to host the reception, im leaning towards Holiday Inn but the ballroom at RTC is so nice........

agh! my photoshoot is on 24/11 and im still fat!!!!!!!!!

heyyy ratna! glad to hav u bac! hwz was shoppin??seems like u had a blast!
n u DO NOT look fat babe. Pictures don't lie
(referring to the pics u sent me)

Debbie- hi gal! could u puhleeeze enlighten me on hw much does it cost to book d yishun safra n if they allow outside caterers...
Thnx in advance babe

The weekend'z nearin gurlz! Slip on yer shoppin shoez n get readyyy.....!

raspberriez! heylo!!! I did have a blast and brought back 51 sarees. in the north indian custom the parents gift the girl a certain number of sarees so my parents are giving me 51; including the wedding saree and the bridal lehenga, etc.

my lehenga is 13KG, i doubt i can stand for long in it! teehehee. still floating from that shopping high!

bhav, i've sent u the pics too! Will add u on friendster

Heylo everyone !!

Updates : Have chosen a Prewedding photoshoot package from JB City square . Nice layouts, Gd photography and above all ... warm, friendly staff and gd price ! .
Just got back home after choosing my 5 outfits . Had a difficult time choosing infact . My Photoshoot on 5th November ... excited .
Doing a lil more exercise to tone down . keke

Hello Ratna,

The initial package differs . We bargained abit actually.
The packages are priced according to the album size that the couple chooses. We chose an average sized album.
2albums(Big and small)-25pics
24/30 size potrait
8RTableTop
4R-60pcs(giveaways)
CD-1
Indoor and Outdoor
4indoor costumes
1 outdoor costume
Includes Makeup,accessories and Groom outfits as well .
Price - RM2888 plus abtRM100plus for fakeeyelashes,ampoules and some hair stuff.
Every other additional Pics above the 25pics is abt RM 90 each.I exchanged some stuff from the inital package to extra pics.
What about yours in SG ?

Btw, am looking for wedding favours. Anyone with infor?

wow..long time...hows everyone here.my laptop was down for so long that i cldnt log in for a looong time..ok..am like 20 days away from wedding and i still dont have a MUA...Ratna...pls can u share ur pics with me too..am so lost! [email protected] wedding outfit? wow...thats heavy...think on that day u will be so hyped-up that the mental strenght will be all u need for that weight!

Hi, gurls!
Shan: congrats on getting a deal that is worth ur $$. Do choose reali gd gowns cos i heard the material used are different from Spore.. so hope u get to choose the best designs.. I am sure u will enjoy ur shoot.. it's truly fun! hehe.. and dun worry.. i had a little bit of arm fats and lovehandle issues but i highlighted to my studio that i want it to look trim and much to my elation, when i checked the album layout last Sat, they were 'erased'! muahahaha! THANK GOD FOR ADOBE PHOTOSHOP =)

and of cos Shanti's makeup made me look super gd.. seriously ryt, if u guys can, get Shanti. She's real good, man! I'm sure Sphire 80 will testify to that. *winks

You can view Babli's work at her shop, located beside Stylemart.

Another reason y i really liked Shanti is she has a personal touch to waht she does.. A perfectionist bt that works reali well to the benefit of us brides.

Shanti ever so kindly recommended me to another MUA who's open to Shanti's comments.Her name is SUJI.And she even accompanied me to her place, sacificing her Sunday for me.Suji did well for my modern makeup trial. So i'll b taking her.

But honestly,we found her charges quite high- 450 ++ so i wouldn't recommend her to brides who are working on a budget. unless u reali got that kinda $$ to blow. Also, she is like super pregnant so she won't be doing any assignments from Dec onwards bt since Shanti recommended me, she is actually willing to help me out. =)

To be honest, I am also kinda stretching my dollar here but hv no choice since another bride has already booked Shanti prior to me. I guess even tho' I m sad I can't have Shanti on my very special day, I am kinda ok cos I believe that the Lord will still shine forth His glory- minimal makeup or otherwise.

So u see, if u want shanti, BOOK EARLY. hehe..

But gurls, just some frenly advice.

Please remember not to spend too much for your wedding makeup. U WILL B SURPRISED by how much some folks will charge u for it..

Keep a budget and work from there. I have heard some folks charge as much as 470-500 and they all say the same cliche' line, "It's once in a lifetime!"

But then, after that day is over, U still have to live ur own life. So dun let tbe lack of time rush u or anythg.

Choose wisely and enjoy the preps.. sighs.. bittersweet experience for me now cos I am loving every moment of this prep but it is about to end soon..

By the way, does anyone have ideas on how to decorate a candle? would like to have a personal touch with the candles used in my church ceremony. bot them at IKEA about a week ago for the Unity Candle lighting ceremony.

Do lemme know, gurls.. till we 'meet' again..

Hello debbie . Thank you. I have chosen my gowns. They have a wide range of gowns actually . The couture i went to is rather a modern designer kind as well as their photography. I have seen their albums on Indians . Quite impressive. Anyhow, i will still keep a lookout.
Glad that you are enjoying yourself . Have fun girl !

Just to add on , Shanti's work is quite good. Seen it personally.

My makeupartist for my ROM is also quite good. She has a place in penninsula plaza called Lavieenrose. http://www.lavieenrose.com.sg
My guests did comment that i looked great . keke
Oh yeah btw, her name is Arase. Former Mrs singapore i think .

hi, girls..

Bhav: so sorry gurl. din take any pics as I was reali in a rush on the day i went for my trial. as for my wedding album, the pix are so not ready lor. so once i get i dun mind sharin bt then again, it will b digitally enhanced, ya.. and thank God for that... heheh.. got a smaller arm simply thru that magical touch ala Photoshop!!

Shan: Awesome to kno u guys got a place where they are up to date in terms of style and pg skills.. Kinda rem reading that u will also be having a Christian wedding right? How's the preps cmg along? or is urs indian style? how's it all cmg along anyhows.. need any reco for anything?

Angelic - My PS went on real fine !Infact i enjoyed taking the snaps so much that before i knew it , it all ended !keke
Hopefully the pics turn out gd ....
Sarees ... no yet lah . Mayb end of the mth or early dec . Howz things @ your end ?

Nothing much done! Hahaha..Need to go to the Printers for invitation & buy saree. In laws will make the Thali. That's abt it I think. Dunno if there's anything more to be done.
U still doing yr wed at marsiling CC rite?

Nope changed my venue . They apparently overlooked the dates as they claim . So instead of 2 halls only one hall was booked . Totally rude staff as well . Long story .. haiz ..
My new venue : Foo chow building . The preps are draining me out slowly ..

Are you going for Photoshoot ? or done with it already ?

Hello .. Bhav

Its double storey whereby the 2nd floor will be still able to view the ceremony .
Yeah quite reasonably priced.
1st floor - $1650
2nd floor - additional 300plus(up to you if you want to take it depending on your guests number)
Security deposit - $1000 (refundable after the wedding)

Inclusive of Tables and Chairs.

Joshany,
Can I know how much did the invitation cards cost you? Was thinking of printing in sg but dunno the price diff.

Wat info must we provide to the printers b4 printing the card?

im wondering also how much it is to print cards, we'll be given the cards for the reception by the hotel, but must print on your own. hmmm.

finally decided upon holiday inn for my reception...

how are u babes doing???

Each card price differs according to design and the quality of the paper.
Mine is about RM1.50 per piece.If calculating with an exchange rate of 2.7 , It would be around
SGD 0.55cents. Total cost was RM 900.

You need to provide
The couple's names
The parents names
The date and venue details
If you are a Hindu, bring along the formal paper written by the priest that contains details of the wedding date in Tamil format.

For mine, they emailed me the proof. If there are mistakes, you can let them know and they will amend and resend for approval from you.
I hope my infor helps .....

I am getting busier day by day .. What about you girls ..

helloe.. me again.. disappeared for 3 mths... was bz with chinese dinner wedding.. finally over.. thank god.. saw some healthy posting here and there... so glad that you BTB are keeping this thread alive..

everything went well with the wedding.. just that the preparation really kills me.. everything i need to save so was doing lots of DIY,... wedding invites, favours, evening gown...decorations here and there... sigh.. really straining my health.. now i'm still nursing the flu i had since the wedding..

Saw some threads about staying with in-laws. i'm actually staying with inlaws now.. so far so good.. actually i started staying with them before i got married.. so far abt 3-4 years..

actually i tot i would have alot of pressure marrying into the family cos hubby is the only son and sister has married away 16 years ago.. on top of it, he's like the king in the whole clan - eldest grandson (both parents eldest and their grandparents also eldest..) so he was so spoilt la.. everyone have to give in... i was like... i'm so dead if i were to be "mischievous"..

To my surprise .. i was treated like the queen.. they give me face lor... haaa...
...I think i have an added advantage cos i'm not indian and in terms of language wise, we can only express in English... it's harder to express your emotion in a 2nd language other than your own mother tongue..

At the same time, i guess u just have to always remember that there are house rules in the family, unless your hubby determines the house rules..(he is the stubborn sort)... in my case, it is so.. Most of the time, mum in law gets bullied by hubby... this is the time u have to stand on MIL side (provided MIL is not at fault)...FIL used to be the difficult man in the house and everyone is scared of him.. but now he is more quiet.. only talk when necessary... more so.. i think u need to have an open mind with your in-laws.. i stay positive, i talk to them like my parents and i extend my help to the family even if they don't need me to help.. now my hubby even jealous of me being close to his dad.. cos he caught me and my FIL having small talk and chit chat every morning before work and evening when i come home...

I'm very lucky that my in-laws are very open minded.. otherwise it will be thunderstorm every day at house...

In terms of other family affairs like relative rivals -- stay on the neutral end.. let bygones be bygones.. even though the old folks may not practise it.. but sometimes, even your in-laws may have opinions towards you (for example, they commented the way u dry ur laundry or wash the plates), just acknowledge and they will just let it go...

Just sharing my thoughts and ways to handle in-laws... so far no major disagreement with my in-laws.. or Mayb i just have a way with old people???

Good luck to all staying with In-laws...

Oh.. i'm also looking to get my own flat.. more for me to rent out.. anyone have lobang.. ? i'm looking in the EAST area..

Joshany,
The names, addresses, venue add-must we give them in written English & tamil? I'm afraid I dun noe the spelling of my address in Tamil.
As for the formal paper written by the priest, I dun have it. So shld I just go to the temple & ask them to write me one? Do they need any info also?

Thanks again. I wish to try sg printers coz troublesome to go JB but hv to see the price diff 1st b4 deciding. Actually I'm very free...noting much to do for wed prep. Just have to buy saree, order garlands etc...hehehe..y u so busy?

Angelic - Normally Eng & Tamil . But anywayz up to your preference. ermm .. yes you need to get a priest to write it down . I suggest you get the elders to help you out .
I am occupied because I have got to organize most of the stuff myself as Hubby is offshore most of the time. Apart from that, need to settle my new home as well . Buy new furnishings, curtains blah blah .. and i do 3 shifts . Most of the things are settled ... just here and there .

Joelle - Nice to see you here .
Glad that you have settled everything. I am looking for favours too . Any lobang ?

Another Q!- Are most JB printers open on Sunday?Wat time do they usually close?

Shan & others: Do u hv d add of any gd printing companies in JB? I only have the names of printers but not the address. Eg: Sri vani, parvathie printers etc...

Hi everyone...been away from this forum for 4 months, which was since the wedding! Nice to see many familiar names still esp those who've already gotten married.

Hi Joelle!! Me and hubs are staying on our own..it's nice to live by ourselves though, especially since we're still getting used to each other's habits. He's really house trained now though, hee hee. ;-)

We go back to his parents' and my parents' place each once a week for lunch or dinner. N his mom smses/calls me very often to chit chat!(!)

Anyway, my housewarming is in two weeks' time and i'm quite excited. Been embellishing the house with decorative items and furniture..

Hi Shan,

Thanks for the info. How is the ambience? Does it look like a cc? Is it carpeted? Guess i have to go down and take a look huh..sigh so tiring to do this venue-search..

Kimberly Mary Anne and Debbie, can share contact details of Mr Ravi (Deepam) and Ms Sunita (Regal events) pls? looking for someone to really decor up my wedding hall (kalsa)! thanks babes...

been awhile and busy with my house reno..so much so I really forgot all abt my wedding in Jan! gotta start giving out the wedding invites in Dec as well...pheww...

Hey gurls! So sorri been so busy wif wedg preps tt i din check online for messages. Nw typing tis msg using my pda-like bt nt pda phone. Hope my bills wont rocket outta e earth.
Deepam wedding ravi: 97490587
RASpberriez: Yishun Safra: outdoor rental is a very unbelievably affordable $100. No external caterers- they hv chinese rest or Casuarina Curry. $15+++ for south ind menu. Oso hv north ind n vegetarian. Food's halal. Bt personally, we have much probs wif safra mgmt side so pls get all matters clear fr e start n in black n white. =) so excited abt my wdg. Tom's e wdg rehearsal n yst wore my wdg dress n it still fits! Hehe. Praise god! As for photoshoot, collected yst e album n all. Me DIYd angpao box n unity candles n church wedding booklet. Very excited, girls. =)

Hi, babes..
just completed printing my wedding booklets.. looks nice. yst me and my bridesmaid went scouting for very nice deco items for the guest book and managed to get some ideas from Spotlight(Plaza Sing).Rehearsal went alright. everyone was late including Yours Truly. But all was well and the weather was really good. Hope and pray that it will be just as good on that day too. My gosh! just 5 more days! so excited! dunno if i can sleep like this! tonight meeting my helpers for a briefing. grace grace =)
How are u girls? need any help? will be 'freer' after 14 Dec so can help u gals if u need me, leme know =)*hugs to all*

hello everyone !

Debbie - Ooooo happy happy excited bride !
Dont worry, everything will go just fine ! make sure have good sleep ! My chinese friends have been telling me to drink American Ginseng and Bird Nest ... so that i will radiant on that day ? . Mayb you should try that too .... Promotes gd sleep as well ..But expensive though!

My invites have arrived ! I have to agree ... i thought it looked funny having my own name printed on the cards .. kekekeke . I had some trouble with the invites .. due to the mishandling of the lady boss . But thank god the boss came to rescue !!

I have chosen my pics for the photoshoot .. Infact added 4 more extra ... Kept telling myself to control !! haha

Anyone knows how much Photo printers charge for printing ? I need to print my wedding program . anywhere else with reasonable charges ?

Hehe.. yup, superrrrrr excited lor.. but all is well. u know, feel so much better after my facial today. the lady has got blessed hands. truly. i looked so radiant in jus one session - no kidding! and best part is the whole thing costs 255 dollars but i paid nothing. she said it is a wedding gift to me and gave me a set of products worth 1125 - complimentary as well!!! hallelujah!! and to be honest, i was worried abt the cash flow seriously n i was praying before i left home and i m amazed at how Jesus worked it out. i never said anythg abt cash flow probs. yay!! so anyways, got my weding montage fr my fren n so cute, she spelt his name wrongly bt ok, la.. she has done the changes already. went for fitting of bridal gown on wed n praise God, it fit!!! now waiting to pick up rings, coasters which are my wedding favors, go for another facial with hubby to be on Friday and body massage tmr. yipee! our 4 poster bed will come on Friday evening. so excited!!

oops.. forgot to mention. good and cheap printing services available at Ultra Supplies, Queensway Shopping Centre. Did my 320 wedding invites which were postcard sized with color at 50 cents a piece. If u use their paper, will be more. but get ur own envelopes. and as for the people, u need to get the indian men- unless are chinese or can converse fluently in mandarin. cheers!

Hi to all,

I'm getting married next year. I need a caterer and someone to do deco. I also need to do my photoshoot. Does anyone have any suggestions.

There's a new bridal shop at Suntec City. I saw the ad in malaysia's bridal magazine. Never been there though so new brides can check them out.

Shop Name Vaani's Exclusive Beauty Salon
Unit Number #03-029/029A
Telephone Number 67343272

Dear ladies,

I'm new here. My Wedding is in 2008. I'm looking for someone to do my deco for my traditional weddding and a good bridal boutique to do my photo shoot.

I have been reading through all of your previous posts. I hope to get some tips and suggestions from all of you.

Hellow there,
i'm new to forums!! my wedding's in June 2008! looking out for makeup artists and wedding venue decor.
Can i get contact details for Shanti and Shereen please??
Thanx Thanx!!

After much, much discussion, my FH and I have decided to hold the reception and trad ceremony together. Anyone know of any venues where the fire ceremony and the dinner can be held together? Dun want the CC-types or temples. Anyone knows of any hotels that allow?

BhAV

Goodness i've been so busy! Finally it seems as if the most major hurdles are behind! Photoshoot is done, reception venue booked and finalised, all cards printed and being distributed, even flights to india for the trad wedding booked! *heaves a sigh of relief*

let me know if any of you girls need help or any info ya!