Indian wedding Services in Singapore

My sis is planning to hold her traditional wedding at an outdoor area. Any idea where they will allow to conduct the fire rites & all?

Hi gals... I just had my Indian style engagement cum ROM last saturday!! ooo...had a good time....felt like a mini wedding in fact with all the customery prayers and etc....everything went on as planned and my guests were happy with the food as well...Its from Gayathiri's...am now considering to fix them for my wedding in Jan next year as well!!! ; )

hmm we seem to have a few Jan 2008 brides here .keke
Swarna - when is yours ? Congrats anyway ..

Jac Jac - Firstly, Congrats on your upcoming wedding plans .

Btw, who is Indian here? you or your bf?
You can do your customary.. but then there is just one problem . Its not recognised by the law here as a marriage. Thats the reason all the couples decide to do ROM first. Honestly, I think its really up to you whichever "style" of wedding you may choose.
Most couples from Mixed Marriages i know have done both in Indian and Chinese way just to please their families of both sides.
Please do discuss your wedding plans with both side of families esp on the "tight budget".

Oh and yes .. so far from what i have seen .. both sides have been invited to make it a joyous occasion . Congrats again..

Angelic girl - I think you have to check with the management of all the outdoor venues.

Best Wishes to all BTB...27th jan is a very auspicious day for weddings! thats my parent's wedding anniversary too!!!
mine is in Feb 08..

God willing and if everything goes well,I will be having my traditional engagement ceremony this weekend...jittery spider..kkkeke..hope all goes well.
ROM in dec' 07 and temple wedding and hotel reception in Feb 08..

I have one more thing...housewarming.....i havent thot abt it..having soo many things to settle already kekeke.....soo its just hanging..

Strawberry - Yeah I think so . But then again, Its all up to the couples on how they lead their lives irregardless gd day or not .

Houswarming was more fun then preparing for wedding .. lol. I got all my prayer stuff from JB .Of course very cheap compared to SGD rates . I havent done my official party yet though .After the wedding as what we have planned . when is your wedding date ?

finally finished my traditional engagement yest...still have like 2 more occasions to go...solemnization, temple wedding and hotel reception....dont feel anything.....didnt really enjoy it..was just soo tired with all the frills!Didnt even feel like having my dinner..Got soo full just with the frills.. kekekeke

Btw, gals, i have a very good and responsible photographer to recommend...he took shots for my traditional engagement in the temple yest...the day before the event i was soo caught up with other tasks that i forgot to even call him to remind him..and he called soo courteeously and even asked what sari color i was going to wear so that he could bring the appropriate backdrop color to take some preliminary shots at home...kekeke..was really impressed...
His rates are reasonable too...so may wanna consider engaging him for your functions..his name is Ganeson and contact detail is 91543743..you can say that u were referred to by pam.

Hi Gals... I'm back again.. sorry i have not come by for a long time.. at least 3-4 mths.. been bz with my life.. and i'm back to the work force again.. after being a "tai-tai" for 3 mths.. no choice.. have to work la.. bills are piling and saving are depleting..

Glad that the thread is still going on.. and more BTB.. welcome all.. watever u do, please take it positively and enjoy the journey..

There's too much for me to catch up but i saw some stories sharing.. and someone MIA - the PG?

ok.. Nasir was my PG and he also helped me with the VG (one of his contacts).. to be frank, everything went on as scheduled & he was obliging too.. photos & Video were given within 3 wks.. all well taken and turned out great... for those who are trying to get him, i think he is having some problem @ home. He has not been so irresponsible.. however, i too cannot contact him cos i needed his help for the Chinese dinner actual day.. yeah.. this is the 3rd banquet event i'm doing and honestly, i'm so tired of getting wed 3x.. haaa
.. but wat to do, having an ethnic marriage is like that la.. plus too many friends and families..

As for Nasir, i will try to call him thru our family friend.. see wat had happend. will keep u guys posted..

I think someone wanted to do a photoshoot with LOOKs.. my advice is please don't have too high expectation, her makeup is great.. but PG is not as experienced.. U need both party to be skillful in order for the photos to turn out good.. The albums u saw @ her shop are not real bride and groom..the PG was a part-timer some more.. his airbrush skills not very good hor.. and he did not give much advice to how we should pose for the pics..
it was all our own creativity and lucky thing both of us love to make funny faces... or at least i'm a cam -whore... haaaahaa

Anyway, the idea is.. please think and choose carefully.. Do not rush into things..
even u have not enuf time..Creative-Daisy is not bad... the PG are experienced.. her makeup is professional la.. i have friends and relatives used her for wedding and ROM before. Anyway, the Pre-wedding shoot costing is abt the same.. (+/- $200)

For those who don't mind a Chinese PG, i have this guy whom i'm gonna booked for my actual day dinner PG. Don't know if he has done for Indian customary, but having another contact is always gd. His work is not bad.. Name: Peng Wah. website: www.pwphotography.com.sg. Email and Contact number is on the website.

BTW, someone was clueless wat to do for an Indian wed Chinese marriage.. Can ask me la.. i'm a classic example. had to do 3 weddings arrangement.. So have to decide which one u want to do it lavishly.. i spent quite a bit for the Indian ceremony. For the ROM, it was under 7-8K. The Chinese dinner now... i think it should hit prob under 10 depending on crowd.. problem is i did not prepare savings for this.. don't know where to find the money... So i'm opting for DIY.. from wedding cards, favours till wedding dress. See How la..

Need help, can email me. [email protected]

Its been awhile since i've been on the forum...How are all your preps coming along?
I see many of you are excited about your preps etc...I also know that it can get really tiring and frustrating at times but please realise that its more than just the wedding you are planning and have to look forward to...Its the rest of your lives...This doesnt really set in until after you are married and actually move in with your new family...Do note that there'll be alot of adjustments to make on your part...If you and hubby are living on your own then you dont really need to worry that much, but if you are moving in with in-laws, then do note that you will have to compromise...I dont mean to scare anyone but this is just some advice from me...

Anyway, have a blast while you are planning and really, dont let the small details bother you...Your wedding will be perfect as long as you remain happy...if you need any contacts for photographers, videographers or make-up artists, just ask...the people i used were fantastic

Hi there SK...hows marriage life like? Hope u r happy..am moving in with In-laws too..so am worried..but you r rite..lots n lots of compromise...btw..i am looking for a videographer for my reception..do u have any recommendations? thanx in advance...

Hi Joelle.... So nice of u to share all this info with us...
thanks... I read ur comment on Lookz... u r saying that her makeup is good bt photography is bad ya? So do u think it might be a good idea for me to engage her for actual day make up bt look for a better photographer and videographer?

SK- my in laws will probably be moving in with us 1-2 years after my marriage... they are currently not living in singapore bt will be packing up and moving to singapore to live with us soon after the marriage.. have met them quite a few times and they seem nice... bt i keep hearing so many horror stories about living with in-laws.. its scary... what kind of compromises have u had to make??

Babli- Hi dear!!! i have been so caught up and not had time to reply ur mail properly.. so sorrryyy...
u asked me whether bobbi brown or MAC make-up is better if u need to buy a make up set right? personally i like bobbi brown shades alot.. bt MAC has an eyeliner thats really nice.. the eyeliner has glitter... u can ask them for it.. am not sure what its called... ur wedding is so nearrrr!!! how are the preps coming along... so exciting!

hi babli, i used Damon Low for my wedding ceremony. I only hired a videographer for the actual wedding ceremony and did without one for the other ceremonies becos i personally prefer looking through photographs as opposed to watching videos...Damon did a great job with the wedding highlights which we featured during the dinner reception. I had given him the song 'tumhi dekho na' from Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna and without knowing the meaning of the song etc, he did a fantastic job in co-ordinating the various events of the day with the music...2 thumbs up for Damon...

sha82, i guess if your in-laws are moving into your place, then its not so bad as you having to move into their house...You can do as you please in your own house. As for me, i've moved into mom-in-laws house and as such, i'm not as comfortable as i was at my parents place...Also, they are already used to doing things in a certain way which you might be used to doing in a different way, but you would then have to adjust to doing it their way, especially if you move into their house...Its not so bad in my case but of course alot of adjustment is required...I cant wait to get a place of my own though...But this will only happen next year..

Hi gals, Moses is a good vidoegrapher if you need his contact, its 96391384. He is one of those who stays throughout your events and i used him for every event from engagement to reception. He was always around even when my reception ended close to 4am..he was still there to wrap up the whole event.

Some videographer will take shots for couple of hours and leave...i do not like that cos i'd like the whole thing to be covered. Even on my sangeet Moses stayed till everyone left and we cld take family shots.

He did a great job with the songs, etc for the video however being a perfectionist, i still went thru every song and made some changes...added my personal favourites here and there, which he did wo questions asked and at no cost.

Hi Sk, how's it being married. I saw your pixs on friendster...very nice. Where was the honeymoon...the resort looks great.

Btw gals, i'm also stayin with in-laws in their place. SK is 100% rite abt the comfort...you'll never be comfortable unless its ur parent's place or your own.

Although i've known my in-laws for almost a decade, it's different living with someone other then ur own family.

Well hubby may not be family but tat's a relation wic is strangely the most knitted...the immediate attachment...it's weird but no matter where u'd be u'd be comfortable with ur hubby.

As for me, i'm a very stubborn person and therefore have made it very apparent tat i do things to my liking before i got married.

But then again remember mother-in-laws hv certain expectations...especially cos now u're more impt to the son. You have to track ur path well....i do not get in their way with regards to their son. So i leave my hubby to spend time with them when i'm spending time with my family or friends. I guess everyone needs their space.

Find ur way to ur husband wo stepping on ur mother-in-law. Compromises...yes there will be but make sure u r not unhappy. A piece of advise...if u r not happy thrash it sooner then later. If you do not tackle the issue...it'll grow to become worst. Let it become bad now for a better tomoro.

Sk, property prices are crazy..i was also looking at gettin my own place but situation is horrible.

Strawberry08 - Hi gal. Me tried contacting Ganeson. But whoever picked up said its wrong number. Desperately looking for PG for my engagement.

SK, angelic, piggy - Great to see u girls here. Property price is also hitting on mi. Dont intend to stay with ILs.

HI there!!! Thanx for all the info...
Piggy--i wanted Moses to but he is not available! Any other recommendations?
SK--Thanx but i have a photographer..will just be holding one event here..the rest will be in jakarta n i have no control of whats goin on there...so i hope to get a good one here...
SHa82--Thannnnx...not a problem..time is seriosly an issue for me too..i did my photoshoot with Looks..had a great time and Bubbly was great..will be seeing the outcome soon..loved my outfits..keepin fingers crossed that they turn out fantastic!

With regards to in-laws...i agree with Piggy that mum-in-laws are the toughest..esp if ur getting married to the eldest or only son...its very stressful..esp if there are differences in culture and practices...i have no choice..even if i get a place of my own, they will be stayin with us as they are not Singaporeans..sometimes..as i am sitting at their place...i just take a step back and wonder how it will be like..n honestly, i freak out..and sumtimes..i cry at night..at the thought that in a few months..i cant just walk out n see my mum..or talk to her...i cant sit or relax completely..go to the kitchen n do whatever i like..or mess up..with mum clearing up behind me..n i will miss her nagging...i think i am gonna cry bucket loads at my vidaai..gosh..getting married is seriosly a bitter sweet event for a woman...
As for preparation..its not easy..there are so many differences in opinion that sumtimes..u feel..am i making the right choice? am i ready? but then i know..deep inside..i wouldnt want it with anyone else..so yeah..am lamenting again..sorry..hahaha..
i just hope everything is goin good for everyone..

Oh yes! one more thing...i need a decorator urgently as Pandora is already booked for my date..any recommendations? THANX!

Angelic - Haha...No i'm not expected to cook cos we have a maid who does that...But i do cook from time to time cos hubby likes certain dishes to be made by me...Thats not a problem cos i enjoy cooking...

Piggy - Thanks, girl...I went to a resort on an island off Phuket called The Raccha...My hubby is pursuing his MBA full-time now and that alone is setting us back by $100K...Thats why we will only look to get a place next year once he graduates...And yes, property prices are crazy now but the market's is starting to stabalize and hopefully next year it wont be crazy...

Babli - You might want to try Ras at 92701772. I used him for my sangeet and he did a great job. From what i know, he is the guy that Pandora uses for the ceiling decor especially...You can find out more by dropping him a call..

Hi everyone, new to this chatroom. just would like to share my story. this wedding videographer dragged editing my wedding video for two years n then told me he lost my original copy. his name is naren, he cooked up stories in between. was very rude, no ethics no moral. just beware gals. till now i can't accept that its lost. saw his name being mentioned when i Chanced upon this website today.WELL GOT TO GO. BE back with my full story later abt 11pm.

Hi Sphire and all gals!!!!!

Sorry i accidentally typed the wrong number for Ganeson, the good photographer..the number is 91543753..sorry for the incovenience caused....sphire, try again and let me noe how it went k?>

the videographer who claims to have lost my wedding video copy is NAREN HP no. 94300514. Bhairavi wedding svc person SEGAR 98777494 is the one who gave him the job of editing, but he refused to come along with me to make a police report, refused to give a statement that he had collected my tapes from me n given it to NAREN for editing.Brides to be PLS TAKE NOTE OF THIS PPL. They even told me that it is not written in black n white that they should return my original copy- when i had paid for it n collected it from my own videographer n given it to SEGAR for further editing.

such horrible lies they told me,considering that the tape already paid for is my personal property, they could talk to me abt B/W. My only concern is that these ppl are not misusing the wedding tapes in any way. my advice to Brides hav everything written on ur receipt itself. 1]original copies of the wedding video to be returned to the couple with no extra charges. 2] in the event if the photographer exceeds the given limitations of rolls, half the cost of the extra negative rolls n the photographs to be paid by the photographer. a wedding is not just an EVENT, but a SACRED PRAYER where the couples ask for blessings from God to begin a journey of love together, an ongoing journey that never ends till their last breath, which continues into the next birth. Wedding SVC providers need to understand the importance n give selfless effort to bring happiness to the couple even after the wedding, when it comes to the handling of the after svc of photo n videography.

Strawberry08 - Thanks gal. Will contact Ganeson and update u.

Meshashwini - Thts very irresponsible of Naren and Segar. Hope u cn solve this issue. Do u hv a receipt? Probably u cld bring this up to CASE.

No problem sphire....
quite sure that u will have a good experience with ganeson if u engage him..
yay its a friday...looking forward to the weekend!!!!

Hey babli@!!!!Im going thru the same trauma too...I juz collected my keys for my new house and I just could not sleep that nite...not becoz I was that excited, but just at the thot of not seeing my mum after work everyday and how am I gonna cope without seeing my family members...I know I can always visit everyday but its just never gonna be the same anymore!!! I really wonder how much I'm gonna miss my own room andif I will ever be able to sleep peacefully at my new place etc...As I think theu all this, I just could not do any thing but cry....

i wanna ask a finance question... i know its kinda personal so if no one wants to answer its fine

do you guys have a budget and how are you going about financing the wedding?

the fiance and I are going to pay for it ourselves and so are thinking abt taking out a loan and we think that we may need around the 30000$ mark.

most of it is to fly his family over and we are also having 2 ceremonies....

i dont want us to go into debt just to get married

would appreciate any info...

Samiya - Its a common dilemma that every couple faces.
A few key points
- Consider how much cn u & FH cn put aside monthly for saving towards ur wedding.
- Be sure that the loan will be paid off with a certain period instead on accumulating. Marriage is not only abt your wedding day itself. There's lots more expenses.
- Forecast on the Ang Bao $$ that cn offset ur wedding expenses... unless u got other plans.
-How grand u want and now grand ur event shd be.

Basically these are the factors tht my FH n I considered. We decided not to take loan for wedding as loans will definately pile up for hse and reno. We started saving for the past 2 yrs with a fix amt and also extra $$ where possible. We din get the joy of using bonuses and all extra allowance as it goes towards the wedding. It was very hard but in the end it will definately pay off.

Sphire, thanks for that.. apppreciate it
some good advice.

we had money saved up for the wedding but ended up buying a house due to his parents being against us marrying n stuff (typical indian drama)

now we really wanna get married and we have no money
hence the loan part.

not really planning for a grand wedding coz no amount of money can buy true commitment but we do need funds to cover the travel costs.

didnt really think about the ang bao bit but yeah it helps.

samiya - U Welcome. At least u hv a roof over ur head. I'm still siting on tht idea due to funds as well. I'm very sure things will work out well for u and ur FH.

Angelic - No news of him, dear. His hp is still switched off. Probably a family affair issue. Mi looking for alternative PGs already.

Samiya - Wowwee .. 30k is hell lota Moolah for me ! Mayb you have a gd coffee discussion with your fiance where you might wanna include all the breakdowns?
Monthly savings as Sphire had mentioned?
If really, no choice, take very careful looks at all the types of loans available. As long as within your comfort zone,
there is nothing wrong in taking loans . Make sure you guys execute a good plan . Work it out .
When is your wedding btw?

On my case, we decided for a budget for the wedding and we are ONLY working within the budget. Not more. Instead, we decided to invest extra on our Homey. By having a budget, it is so far keeping us on the track. Hopefully.

Marriage is far more than the BIG day. Well, @ least from what I understand !
Most couples face these kind of woes. You are NOT alone girl .
Have fun planning !!

Angelic - is there any way of getting hold of his hse contact? I'm sure Nasir doesnt mean to disappear jus like this. Maybe something really croped up.

hi, Sphire, I did call up CASE n talked to an officer but according to them,at most they would ask them to compensate for the tape. thats all they can do n if i want to head further i could go ahead and file a case. But my in-laws are the ones who have the receipt, n its difficult to convince them to do so, they have to make the complaint coz the receipt is in their name, coz they collected the tapes for us after our wedding.N as usual Indians they think of Family reputation they don't wanna go to court, they don't want me to complain. If I go ahead i dread how the relaionship with my In-laws will be. I can only hope n Pray that these guys are punished eventually for what they did to me. I was so depressed i cried to them over the phone, n they told me they will sue me for harrassment if i keep calling them n put the phone down on me. according to my husband, when he came back home from work,he found me crying away behind my bed poster. he took me to NUH n I got admitted for depression.After a week They were going to transfer me to the psychiatrist ward to assess my situation further, but my elder sis got me discharged. i stayed with my mom for two months till i started being myself again. my husband calls me almost every two hours to talk to me coz we are back in our home, and he dreads leaving me alone. Our lives are not the same, everything seems gone at the end of the day. He doesn't even allow me to keep our wedding photos around the house, for fear of it reminding me of the traumatic loss of tapes. Putting this message on this site gives me releif that hopefully i will be able to prevent this guys from destroying other couples of their precious moments. Thank you for reading my message, n I hope that everyone takes note of this two person with no professionalism n no passion for the job that they do. they just cannot be trusted nor do they deserve any chance. If anyone wants to confirm their atrocities, i have saved all the SMS sent by them to me- with details of their story day by day all the lies they have told.

Further more Segars mom Saroja goes around telling people that she did my make-up n saree tying for me. Which is totally bullshit,I did my make-up n saree tying myself, n the mehndi too. some decorations on the mandap was done by my family. The design for my lotus garland was designed by my mom n me. one of a kind garland, the first ever in S'pore n worldwide. My make-up, my garland my hairdo n my mehndi was the talk on my wedding day. Everybody was stunned i did everything by myself!!!! even the table layout n deco idea was designed by us, we told him what colour combination for the tablecloth we wanted n what deco to go with it. even the lunch setting was talked about. and when ppl asked which wedding svc we had booked,coz the wedding was unlike anything they had attended before, my mom told them everything was designed by us. If anybody happens to see any sample wedding tape with the couple wearing a lotus garland,pls inform me thru this website.Thank you everyone Pls be on the lookout for my tape. To those Brides with Budgets, there are many ways to cut down on unnecessary wedding expenses. Stuffs that u can do urself n save a few hundreds. i saved a lot of money on my Make-up, hairdo, mehndi, my garlands n my wedding dias deco. You don't need to pay hundreds fpr things you could do urself with a little bit of help fromm family members n improvisation.!!!!!

$400 for my make-up n hairdo-saved, $100-$150 for my mehndi saved. $80 for my garland saved. $200 for my dias deco saved. $200 saved on the banana tree tied outside the temple entrance. You could also save on food, if you order ur items carefully.

meshashwini,

I am really sorry with what has happened with your tapes. you seem to have suffered alot and no one can understand how you feel until they go through it themselves.

but having said that, you should seek comfort in the fact that you had a great wedding and from your post your husband sounds understanding as well. focus on the good things, despite what happened with the tapes, you will always have your bond with your husband

i am in no way discounting what you have been through but sometimes when we are down, everything seems doomed. Smile and think about your wedding, no tape can replace what you hold in your memory

Thanks Samiya, I am Slowly getting over it, after all life still has to go on. I have found great comfort in passing my message through this chatroom. I never want anything like this to happen to any brides-to-be out there. The joy of preparing for the big day n getting married will always, as you said be held in memory. Thanks again for that lovely message. To all brides out there,preparation for the wedding itself is hard work, mind boggling n stressful for some. But the mind blowing comments that you get, when you come out dressed up, looking as beautiful as ever to take ur place as the bride, will make it all worthwhile n you will really feel the happiness on ur debut day. i will always be posting every now n then,feel free to ask me anything about wedding preparation, make-up, saree tying, mehndi, what kind of sarees,colours,matching foundations, bangles, choker sets, best place to shop. best brands for make-up, how you could actually do stuffs urself. Bye for now.

For those BRIDES looking for flats, HDB has a lot of schemes to offer. one such scheme is the WALK-IN-SELECTION, where you can buy ur flats at a rebate price. after application within 3 months you get ur keys. there are certain criteria for eligibility, first time buyers, couples combined salary must be below a certain ammount, n enough CPF to pay a downpayment for the flat, option fee in cash. Check out the HDB website, lots more schemes. Bye!

Am looking for someone who can do south-indian temple bridal hair-do & sari tying only. Any recommendations?

Hi Andrea,

I m doing freelance Bridal make up. If u r interested pls do feel free to call me. You may come for trial make up. My number 98119974

Hi Vijaya
if u wan photographer, i can recommend> i have. His name is Ronnie. He did for my niece wedding. Super great HP no: 93877275