Indian wedding Services in Singapore

hey chick.. thanks. thats cheaper than most places have contacted me. most have said $400 plus or more and some only for half a day which is worst.... and thanks for the shoes tip ya.. really appreciate it...

Angelic, got mine in India, these brocade tin boxes which i'm going to fill with dry fruits or indian sweets haven't decided.but they weren't cheap either.. $2 a box or something....

Chick- Do you know of any websites that sell indian favours or any other favours?

Debbie-r u taking modern deco? U can search here for other contacts like mediawave etc

Kismet-The Kuna guy quoted me $350 for Mercedes & $500 for jaguar. Inclusive of deco & chaffuer. Try the others like Mr Don, deepam wedding services-Ravi or KM wedding services. or go direct to any car rental websites to ask them for quotation.

Hi gals, I'm sure you gals r busy planning n preparing for ur big day. It's fun and trust me you'll remember all the planning after and i wld do it all over again anytime but of course with the same one and only love of mine...my husband.

Marriage life is so wonderful....now whenever my hubby meets frens all he say is dun wait too long to get married....hahaha dunno if its good or bad.

Anyway back to helping u gals...ok if i miss out any questions tat we put to me i apologise...pls ask me again. So sorry.

Sphire i'm so sorry tat Oriental didnt let u hv a look at the set-up...i had actually left a word wid my coordinator tat a few bride2b wld be coming to have a look at the set-up. Dun worry too much just let me know if you need any assistance. Will try to put you to the rite ppl. All i can say is i have no complaints abt Oriental at all. Except have not used my free couple spa so cant tell u much abt it...does ur package include spa!! Will do it when i get back from my honeymoon. Other then tat everything from decor, personalised service to accommodating our every request....they were just great. Will let you hv pixs once i get them.

Raspberrie, Brokenbudgie, Yvannia, Debbie thx for ur wishes. Pls do not hesitate to ask fro any assistance. Will try my best to be useful.

Brikenbudgie if i havent already mention, i got married at the Sikh temple in Towner Rd.

Debbie pls thank you fiance for doing such a great job...the whole Oriental team was excellent. Cannot get enuf of their politeness n friendly service.

Kismet i'll try to forgive u for missing my wedding but dun worry i understand 'wink wink'. Do not hv pixs yet but will email you when i get them. Call me any time if u need anything.

Sk i used Rishi from Nasha One. Do you need his contact? He was great...he followed my themes with great professionalism. He went all out to find the songs tat wld suit the theme...the 60s for engagement, typical punjabi for the sangeet, lovely hindi tunes for the lunch and great english hindi mix for the reception to cater to the non-indian crowd. Everyone had their dancing shoes on.

Rishi even organised my voice-over...recording, background music, etc. His team has been very professional.

Will be away for honeymoon but will try to help as much as possible before i leave otherwise will get online when i return.

Have fun planning ur WEDDING...

hi piggy,

would really appreciate Rishi's contact...may i know what his charges are like? thanks, dear...
Enjoy ur honeymoon!!

Where are u off to?

hey piggy... enjoy your honeymoon! have lots of fun! and i have one question,how did u guys go about arranging a horse? was it very difficult?

pls provide me the contact details for the decorators - Mr Don and Kuna. thank u all the brides for the wonderful sharing. cheers

those thinking of pre-wed photshoot can consider JB instead. lots of pros and cons to consider. I completed mine at JB. the service is good including outdoor to desaru. cheaper and u can request for return of negatives, more pages/ poses etc.

hi gals.. thanks for the names and contacts of the decorators that u guys have.. someone mentioned Mediawave.. are they listed online or smthg? cant seem to get their contact. what are their services?

I guess all of you are busy with work and planning the wedding. Many haven't been logging in for sometime...

Anyway, i found a beautiful gown at D'sire. I didn't quite like their evening gown collection. Wanted something a little grand. Then i chanced upon one of the wedding gowns and fell in love immediately. Price was reasonable too.

For those looking for accessories, especially for gowns, you might want to try Takashimaya. Some of the counters there have nice stuff.

Anyone know of decorators who are not too pricey? Many i've spoken to seem to charge over $1K. I'm looking for simple ceiling and back drop decor.

i too look for a decor who is not pricy, so far i found the Ravi deepam wedding services mentioned by Angelic gal, he quoted $1200. it exceeds more cos i quoted 150 chairs with ribbons. 2 archs, bridal chairs, back drop decor, Am still considering others before deciding. He seems reasonable my hubby says.

Hi girls .. me on the lookout for decorators as well . I have contacted this malay decorator . The pics in her site looks nice as well . She did quote me for my wedding . Pretty reasonable but i have not made any confirmation yet .
http://rosemolee.multiply.com . Her name is Rose.

Hi ladies, we engaged Z decor to do my wedding decor and we were more than pleased with the delivery. Zhori does not repeat a decor that he does and it is customised to your theme. Our budget was only $2000 and he did a beautiful taj mahal themed decor for us in white and gold. They do not compromise on the overrall look and fresh flowers and crystal lights are his specialty for every decor. You guys should go and have a talk with him to see his works.

His HP no is 90234774. His website has only the malay wedding stuff that he had done. He's a malay dude but I suggest you speak with him as he is very customised and has done a lot of non malay weddings as well. You happen to have a theme in mind?

hey SK, me KPO. Can share how you gown looks like..hehe? Did you leave it there or brought it back with you? I've left mine there cos i wan them to touch up the beads..

Guess everyone is busy. Had my photoshoot early this week and just confirmed temple caterer as Gokul.

SK - have you done your photo selection?

Initially when we wanted to do our hall decor we actually went to the Indian wedding services people like Murthy wedding services. Then realised that their decors are very standard and quite outdated.Classic case of 'you want this add $100, for $10 less you must minus kind of thing'. That's when we went looking for malay decorators, they are more in line with the market trend. Same for photography and Video, they are still stuck in the 'we were there' shots. For my wedding, I particularly chose a Indian photographer to take the typical shots and a chinese dude to take the artistic ones. BUT Indian food is still superb
Let me know if any of you gals need contact for DJ services, cos 2 of my friends are in seperate companies.

Hi all BTB babes.. have been missing in action for sometime…was trying to catch up with work since the wedding and No.. I was not on honeymoon… after the wedding my piggy bank is very dry so will have to shelf the plan till next year. Meanwhile, my laptop just crashed recently... Big headache
cos lots of work and personal files were lost, especially stuff on my wedding… going crazy,
trying to recover files from the backup…
Meanwhile, I was busy helping my cousin-in laws organizing their birthday parties.. so having lots of fun so far.

This thread is getting busy and so exciting as most of ur wed dates are getting closer and closer.. No panic ok! Think most of you had all areas covered… Apologies for those who posted lots of enquiries and perhaps still waitng for my replies… I’ll try to catch up with the readings!

Hi YB thanks for the contact.and thanks angelic for the site.. not really going for a theme.. just looking at alot of flowers most prob...

YB do u have photos of your hall deco? would really been keen to take a look.. email add is [email protected]

Rany >> hey gal..Thank god u emailed me.. I hope I have answered your queries pretty much.. Have you confirmed Shereen as your MUA.. I think it’s impt to work with someone that you can trust most, especially when she has a good listening ears.. Pls tell her all your concerns so she can make improvement to make u shine on your most impt day!

How’s the temple wedding program coming along? I hope you have improved it better from my version. Key thing for the program sheet is to share briefly abt the steps/process u are doing during the ritual and the significance. Be precise and concise.. of cos by making it look more professional is a plus point..

I lost the softcopy on the list of items for the ceremony that Uncle Vishnu wrote me… but I managed find the handwritten one.. let me type them out and send u soon.

I hope u have found your gift box for the laddu..Instead of giftbox, perhaps you can host the item in a shot glass? You can customized it with your thank-you greetings on the shot glass..

Not sure if the temple can play burnt CD.. but perhaps you can try it on your laptop, in the car and on DVD player and test out.. I’m sure it should be ok. I had no problem playing my Mandarin song compilation CD…

As for wat time to put on your invitation card, I put from 630-830pm which is my arrival time to the function hall.. perhaps you can do the same.. Nowadays most people are very punctual, esp the relatives, even some of my friends… so it would be good to have the guests come on time to view the ceremony..

Rany gal, I remember u asked abt where i sew my saree blouses.. i sewed at S.V. Tailor, Chander Road.. he’s been my tailor for at least 3 deepavali.. hahahah…

as for dry cleaning them, usually the drycleaning service at tekka is ok..even those normal laundry/dry cleaning shops can dry clean sarees too.. not sure if they are expensive or not.. I used to bring it to JB for dry-cleaning which is cheaper but too much hassel cos i need to get my hubby to drive there for pickups.. i end up taking more than 1 month to have it dry-cleaned. I live near ceylon road temple, there’s a dry-cleaning service just at the end of the road, facing the main street.. it is called the Wash-Land dry cleaning and laundry.. they may not be the cheapest but i think still reasonable. Sarees blouses are abt $4, sarees itself is $10. long kurta coat is $15 and silk vishti is abt $6... btw are you intending to dry clean the wedding sarees before you wear? Sorry.. it sound like a silly question..

Re. the toe rings, I bought mine from MKM.. not the most ideal ones but it cost me $20.. they go by the weight…very expensive but I did not have time to hunt for a better one then… Yes.. it must be pure silver.. you need 2 toe rings.. one each for right and left foot.. place on the 2nd toe.. same goes to your hubby, 1 set of silver toe ring….. very important item for the ceremony.. cannot do without..

For your toe ring, your hubby will wear for you, when the priest asked you to place you foot on the stone and step on it firmly… For your hubby, your brother will wear it for him on both feet. Same on the second toe.

Of course, after the ceremony, you can change to the nice ones to replace the old one.. but must be a set..I’m getting mine from India with the semi-precious stones on it.

Oh yeah…I remembered you asking abt some opinion on the wedding saree blouse to have capped sleeves or at least shorter than the usual length… Please go with the normal sleeve length… puffy sleeves is ok but no capped sleeve.. the tailor is right.. your arm band will fall below the sleeves.. I made a mistake on the sleeves to have it shorter.. the armband cannot be fasten in place so it keep slipping off my arms…. The MUA had to keep adjusting it..my bridemaid also had to now and then help me to fasten it.. finally when I went home and remove my gown.. to my horror.. I have bruises under the arm area… it was not painful but it took days to go away.. i took a pic of it.. it looked like i was abused…

Actually armbrand is not a MUST.. but it give u a complete look with the rest of the accessories…Up to you.. I took it off after it keep falling of the arm later part of the wedding..

Oh yeah.. can u share with me the details and price of ur gown rental package from Dio Gio… and how much u paid for the separate PG with Jonathan… u can email me if u don’t mind

Anyway, Rany, abt ur saree color and melting yourself into the background/decor, I think it’s still ok, especially with the evening warm lighting.. But if there’s a second choice, a darker background will help u to shine better with ur off-white/beige stonework saree. Perhaps u can ask the hotel to change the cream roses and cherubs to yellow or pastel pink roses to give a soft romantic look..

hi Chick >> hope the tips abt the bangle ceremony helps. Be really careful with the bangles if you are wearing all glass-made ones
.. Did u manage to get ur costume jewellery or U decided to get from the MUA?..

oh yeah.. I took the traditional bouquets for the wedding… kinda of a MUST for the temple wedding… i don't think u can miss this 2 items..
... both u and your FH.. Modern bouquet is fine for the dinner reception at the hotel.

Oh yeah.. you were asking abt going back to work on the 2nd day after the wedding.. Why are you rushing back to work so soon..?
should take a good rest after such a long day at the wedding.. it helps to get yourself oriented before going back to piles of work..
... Try to take another 2 days off after the wedding… if you can’t…you may need to have a word with your in-laws cos usually the older generations are more wary of the customs.
They believe that wearing the bangles out of the house will attract evil eyes and bad omen..
Meanwhile, you need to have to strung the thaali chain on the same day at your prayer room. I hope they are more understanding…

Sphire>> Think you wanted a copy of my temple program sheet (aka the rituals)? My version is not the most ideal and I try to write it as accurate as possible..
I hope can serve some help.. Your email?

btw, Just to share my studio shoot… When I took mine.. I wanted the MUA to follow me cos we had some walking around.. a little hard to walk with the gown.. furthermore she need to do some touchups with the face here and there… U should ask for the 2nd outdoor shoot at the temple cos they have nice spots in the temple that we can take good photos..
... anyway, during the actual day, you will not have time to go for the PG around the temple...I did not wed in the temple so could not take much pics wif my actual wedding saree….that’s y I did some shots at the temple in my lengha suit..

Sphire and SK >> Re: the Tailor in Plaza Seni in JB, he did manage to sew a nice one for my lehenga suit.. just that I lost a little weight so need alterations.. please go and do the fitting on the same day of collection, so that he can alter for you on the spot and u don’t need to waste a 2nd trip..

Piece of advice.. if u are not very tall, please don’t sew the mermaid cut type.. I saw a lady who come by to collect, sew a mermaid style, don’t suit her..
the tailor also commented it will look weird on her and offer to change the style but customer insist it’s ok.. well… The tailor also does punjabi suits for RM 60or 70.. very cheap..

of course u want to save the trouble, u can always go to the Herbans @ Selegie.. they sew well too, starting from $120 for simple designs.. U have your design ready? Perhaps u can check around the few to compare price.. the tailor that I use for my saree blouse can also sew lengha.. u can check out too..

Deborah >> hey Deborah… Have not really talked to you much.. but have seen u sharing lots with the gals.. welcome to the club ! Thanks for offering the help during my wedding.. everything went fine.. anyway… when ur turn is up, just let us know, I would love to help..

My scrapbook thingy well fine.. even though it was not entirely in great shape after the wedding.. u know hw people handle them..
lucky it could still withstand wear and tear.. so now I’m taking my time to restore some of the pages.. u know stuff coming off here and there…
... I have just collected my actual day wedding photos last week.. so will surely work on this 2nd scrapbook immediately..

Oh! my angpow box turned out great..
.. it cost me not cheap but lucky I made it big so that I can use it to keep my wedding stuff (my photos, leftover favours and journals I wrote..)..

Raspberriez91 >> Have U decided on the venue for your ROM? Heard u tried the safra clubs which are all full.. I supposed same goes to the Safra Mount Faber? Have u tried the Marina South Pier Ferry point..they have a nice outdoor Rooftop area which u can have your reception there…
.. I wanted to do there last year but they were not ready yet..
.. now they have a restaurant there now called Pier Eleven @ Marina South and I’m sure fitting 200 pax is no prob. Nice view too..
.. but they serve more Mediterranean and Modern European fare with a asian interpretation.. perhaps u might want to consider fusion food for ur reception..?

How’s ur arrangement with Khalsa on the dinner? I’m sure You will be taking the food from Riverwalk right.. did they give u a discount since u might want to opt the deco using ur own decorator? Can’t they help u to change the deco and perhaps charge u a little more instead? Cos I think it will cost u much more to have a separate decorator since you still have to get your chairs and tables from SKA.

Managed to get the layout plan? If not.. I can email you the pict.. may not be the best pictures taken but still can gives u a good idea..
... I did my DIY site drawing of the floor plan.. so I hope it helps.. your email add ?

By the way, re: the pricing for vasantham central artiste Ananth, Have you met up with her? Looks like she is doing this part-time and she may not know the market rate therefore charges seems to be much cheaper.. Try to see the range of makeup she use when you meet her and some of her portfolio pics.. my guess is that she may be good with modern evening makeup.. but Indian bridal makeup is totally different.. that’s y there’s different courses specially for Indian bridal MU and professional MU…Does my logic sounds right?

Jan >> Hi hi…how’s the menu with Khalsa.. is the price reasonable? Can u share the package with me cos I’m helping my cousin to scout for a deal with Khalsa and she does not have the time to do the research…

Actually the Khalsa hall can only fit at most 600 plus people.. but becos it’s a moving crowd, we have people come and go… I did the ceremony and the dinner on the same venue, so I arranged the dinner to start first while we do the ceremony.. at least they don't need to wait in hunger ...

For Stage Decor..No plumping was ok for me cos I needed a simple look with a backdrop.. I just picked up the wedding photos last week, did not have the time to load it in my wedding blog..but I have a shot of the stage from one of my “spy cameras’ around.. will email u.. and your email is?

Oh.. good choice that you engage Saheli.. don’t worry abt yourself being dark… so long you make the effort to keep the henna as long as you can and reduce washing chores, they should look very good.

Btw, my PG is Nasir and he helped to arrange the VG who is from India…. Decorators contacts I have are Vanan, Mr Don and Rajoo.. the few same people in the market place. My MIL decided to use Ravi Deepam wedding service whose is a contact she got from her sister… to be frank, I do not recommend, his design not very fantastic, too simple, but he’s cheap if u are on the budget... my MIL wanted to save money so i left it with her.. big mistake lah.. deco is not as expected… Oh, he’s Rajoo’s uncle by the way, but they do not work as a team. heard they have some problem with each other.

Btw, I took up “LOOKS†for my studio photoshoot. The MU is ok, she blends quite well my skin colors but when comes to photoshoot, the PG was not as experienced and he does not know how to get us the right poses.. I had an outdoor shoot @ fullerton, not nice cos it was taken during mid day. I’m a little less satisfied with the work. Temple shoots were not too bad.

Hey Fyda >> welcome welcome the newbies to the club… Have u booked with Creative Beauty?..

But one question… Why u need a WG? For the dinner reception or? Don’t worry abt the negative comments.. perhaps u need to let daisy know that u need her to be there to do the MU and not the assistant.. she’s quite professional but just that she has been bz running 2 shops.. follow ups alittle slower than before.. she has an assistant is quite on the ball…her name is Hamida so u can always talk to her… she is much more easy to locate… …perhaps the reviews are from the assistant..

I have a pic to show but more of a normal makeup with their service.. i have a cousin in law who goes to the shop for MU service whenever she attends for wedding function.. think each time is abt $70 for MU, hair and tying the saree... I email my cousin’s pic for ur reference? Your email?

By the way, Susiee’s MU is fabulous too.. my hubby’s best friend’s wife took her for the ROM MU and the next day at the temple.. good choice.. actually Susiee was there at my wedding dinner… MIL invited her so she came by for a guest appearance! If u don't mind.. I can try to steal the wife’s pic from the friendster and show u.. but pls don’t circulate around.. heheheh

Angelia Gal >> Hi again… have not talked to u for sometime...Can’t remember whose whose at my wedding tat day.. but I will check with my MIL.. she has all the addresses which she sent the invites too.. perhaps they are distant relatives??...
hehehe..
... Anyway…my MUA is Kavitha.. she has a shop at dunlop street.. normally she works through referrals and close contacts.. Sometimes with clients in JB too… She’s nice.. and easy going.. very jovial and been in the industry for last 12-15 years.. so knows a few people around like my PG Nasir.. they are friends too.

I took 1 or 2 pic while she did my MU for the wedding day at home.. sorry the pics not the best shots cos I was bz snapping with one hand when she tried to get my MU done in time..
... I think Nasir did took 1 pic with me and her.. mmmm... will check it.. do u want me to send u the pic? your email address?

Oh.. I heard u wanted to try creative wedding but they don’t have any temple pic for creative wedding… don’t worry.. I have seen how daisy worked.. she did a good job with my cousin-in-law’s ROM.. she blended the MU well and really turn my cousin like a bride.. She also give my cousin a good price for the stuff she wanted.. like the décor, the food, MU and PG.. I have a quotation from her which my cousin have asked her to quote her for her wedding next yr.. if you want, let me know.. I can email u.. also i see if i can send u 1 or 2 pix that my cousin in law has taken.. (I have to “steal†it from her friendster account.. dun tell anyone.. it’s betw u and me)

Angelic Gal >> hey.. i read abt your story with Menaka... Sorry to hear that ur trial with her did not go well...
... that’s the problem with Menaka.. she is very nice lady but she is too accommodating with walk-in crowds and she still refuse to get an assistant to help her with all the bookings for weddings.. she prefer to do on her own.. Meanwhile, she is very easily distracted cos she tried to do everything..
... she cannot organise her time properly.. even though she is my ah-teh’s best friend.. i have to offer my honest truth… she’s a veteran in the market and she did my SIL’s wedding 15 years ago.. Menaka did a fantastic job back then but she has to follow the trend and start looking at how she can bring her business to the next level.. she didn’t even have time organize her photo album.. there are still pix more than 7 years ago.. if only I can speak the language.. I would have done the bridal business differently..

Well as for the rakodi, of course u will have the authentic look but it will add a lot of weight.. the garland on your neck is already abt 3kg heavy.. rakodi will add at least 2kg to drag ur head down.. will surely gives u a BIG headache…
...I took bun instead cos I cannot take the weight and at the same time try to smile for cameras..i was actually complaining abt the garland already, I can’t imagine I had the rakodi..
... Meanwhile, if u are not very tall like me, I think it will make you look shorter with it…

Some of the gals suggested “Shop in style†for rental of nice sets, LOOKS also do rental which starts from $80 for simple designs… Tekka Mall- Mishkaat jewelers and Shri Narayana Pearls also do rental too.. from $100 and above..

For me… I decided to buy a set (2nd hand piece).. so I can wear it for weddings..
... For the bangles, I did not get it from Shop in style.. I bought from different shops, MKM, the jothi shop and JB.. my MIL and aunties sat down to match them for me.. they match like 2 to 3 designs and finally settled with the best … now I have lots of leftovers so I used it to match my daily work wear..
.. but if u can, try to get the person to match for u.. save alot of trouble and money..

Angelic Gal >> Think u asked me abt the the stick on nails:

How much?- Most of the shop can charge from $55-80 per set of nails (10 fingers), depending whether they are the upmarket spa nail salon or the neighborhood ones.. I go to Nail Palace which has a few outlets.. I did not trust the neighborhood ones..
... cos I was afraid that they will not stick well and will come off in 3-4 days time. They charge me $60 per set which is quite reasonable..
..the stick ons plus nail painting.. manicure is charged separately (think abt $25-30).

Lasting?- it can last from 1 week plus to 3 or 4 weeks.. I did not do much washing so I’m still having it on last week which abt 1 month old.. although I had lost 2 of it dropped off my fingers..
... i just had my new ones fixed... very nice..
... most of the time it will start to come off when u wash too much like washing plates and stuff.. cos the water will slip in bet the nails and once that happens, the glue loses the grip.. usually they come off 1 piece at a time.. and it is usually u can notice the edges has a gap between the stick on nails and your real nails.. U can actually peel off to remove the whole stick on artifical nail.... normally I keep it and use super glue to stick it back for the time being until my next manicure..

How do u remove it?- the next manicure should be scheduled abt 3-4 weeks after the last visit..U should not attempt to remove it/peel it off urself as they have used a very strong nail glue to stick it on so it will damage the real nail if u try to remove it urself… they will soak it wif nail softener material during removal.. however that is chargable at $20 for the session.

How to take care: Try not to use it to open can drinks for the 1st 2days.. it seem very vulnerable.. whenever u do lots of washing, dry them well.. no prob with washing hair and showering..

Plus point for having it- if ur nails are too short and refuse to grow, then this is the best option.. for those who have a nail bitting habit..
.., It can help to curb as well… for a start u may not get used to it cos it seems too long.. it feels like u have a paperclip stuck on ur fingers all the time...
.. u also can decide how long u want and how u want them to look natural and shape to the size.. Best is the nail polish last as long as the fake nails. They do not peel off, chip or run, unlike when it is painted on the real nails.

Minus points- getting used to it will take like 2 days or so.. especially u do a lot of typing and sms with ur phone.. i had a problem sms-ing and unbuttoning.. typing on keyboard was such a funny feeling..
.. after a while i used my nails to type and it's actually faster...
.. When one or 2 nails dropped off (like mayb the middle finger or the index finger), it looks weird and ugly..
... u will always want to hide the fingers, they look rather unsightly.. When the new nails outgrown during the 2nd week, the fingers look very fakey.. a little awful lah.

Angelic Gal >> Not sure if u are still lookng for a function room u needed for ROM, Cafe-at-sunrice will be a little to cramped..
the fort canning's burkhill room which is on top of the hill but rental is abt $3K...
..and u can cater for the food.. environment is nice with both indoor and outdoor.. other spots at Fort Canning charges abt $650.. but u need tentage.. the garden/ park is very romantic and is an excellent venue for outdoor wedding.. I almost did it there but the dates I wanted was fully booked. So had to scrap the idea. I know for the Art Museum and ACM Empress Place charges abt $1800 ++.. depending on your crowd, think u cannot cater outside food.. Anyway, ACM is having a wedding show now this weekend, u can go and check out. The 2nd floor comes with indoor seating and outdoor seating so it is nice to have some people mingle around..
... very nice view over the Singapore river...However, as I know the sitting capacity indoor is abt 180 for round table..
...sometime catering outside food is much cheaper and you can also determine the quality of food.

I just recommended Raspberriz the Marina South Pier venue.. U might want to try out.. Changi Chalets is not a bad idea too.. i have seen some of the malay wedding done there.. also u can check out the function halls at some of the nice condos..i remember my MIL wanted us to do it at one of her friends' condo function hall area which overlook the fountain/ reservoir/ hill something.. U can check with ur relatives if they stay in a condo and check out the conditions of the function halls..

Another outdoor choice will be Rochester Park. But sitting will be a slight problem and it's outdoor.. i did mine at the Masonic Club, near the ROM, at the foot of coleman street.. the deor is a little towards the English style but the Indian kitchen chef is not bad.. i serve international food for the reception though.. i had the outdoor for soleminsation and indoor air-con for the reception..
it was in April so we are not sure with the weather.. could be hot and could be rainy..
..don't want to take the risk...i think i paid abt 15-17 per head (food+ venue)..i think it includes the outdoor venue.. cockage fee for wine is $10 per bottle. i brought my own wine (abt 25 bottles). Deco is done up simply.. so i did not incurr on that.. but if u want u can add on.. The reception is a high tea/lunch package.. so i had only 4 hours to get everything done.
... which was just nice lah..

Hey Angelic, i was reading the threads and u spoke abt the price quoted by Kuna.. i think is quite reasonable..
... the food catered is meant for how many pax? It’s best to check which VG and PG they are offering in this package.. ask them to itemised the costing for you and view their photo albums... Good choice of opting out some of the food items cos it will be wasteful if the guests can’t finish.
...Again, I have no comments abt Anadha bhavan coz I had such a terrible incident with them.. just total disappointed with the management.

As for the wedding fav, I DIY myself, so I can control the cost under $0.80 each.
... I wanted to give something more oriental since I’m a Chinese and most people always receive the usual kumgaman holders, candles, mini tea cups etc at the Indian wedding so I thought of giving something different. I shipped the fortune-cookie shaped coin holder sewed in oriental silk from China, got a printing house to design the packaging and I stuffed it with sweets and choco. It makes sense for me to customize my own cos I needed abt 1200 pieces. The shops I have seen quoted me abt $1.10 for a simple tea cup. I did not give the ladu so everything else is simple... Packaging was done in a day with the cousins help. So I managed to bring the cost down. I have some pic taken, I can share with u if u want.

The modern wedding fav shops offer the usual stuff.. like keychains, sweets-holder or candle holder, photoframes, chopsticks, paper fans etc.. more for typical English and Chinese wedding. I DIY my own sandlewood fan with a butterfly motif for my ROM reception, so it was more of one of a kind.
...I do have a contact for wedding fav shop which is at Delfi but her prices are on the high side.. most items starts from $3 cos her clientele are more expats.. I would recommend u if u have a good budget.
...But her designs are very creative, all comes with different theme.. I usually go there for “research†then I DIY myself for alternative ideas..
.. Let me know ur budget and I can bounce u some ideas.

Joo Chiat area (Joo Chiat/Tanjong Katong/Malay village) have some wedding service shops that can get some nice wedding favours, but prices starts from $1.20 and depending in ur quantity. I’m looking around for other wedding fav for my reference (in case I want to start my own business), will keep u guys posted when I come across.

Have not come across any Indian Fav selling online, except the online ones from India. So can’t help much.. Did the deco guy show u the sample of the organza bag with a heart shape box, cos I think it’s very expensive.
... Usually those small nice incense stick holder can get from Thailand. I have a contact somewhere that they can ship from Thailand for u.. let me go check my files...

Actually Batam/ Tanjong pinang is a good place to source for handicrafts-like items if u want to give something more ethnic.. i do not have a contact now but think my MIL has.. so i might just go there with her to jalan jalan and to see if i can get some business opportunity to ship to s'pore for sale.. will let u guys know..

Hey Angelic... with regards to the car rental, try to ask around the relatives and friends to see if they have any Mercedes or BM for loan cos I think this cost can be saved.
... Décor for the car usually cost around $80-150 depending ur requirements.

I did mine under $100 for deco, I got 3 BMs from 3 close friends and relatives and chauffeur was my uncles..
.. I had a mini in mind but I thought it would be tough for my hubby to drive on his own cos he’s quite tall..

Another tip: If u want the nice cute wedding teddy bears that they tie at the front for the wedding car deco, please get it from precious moments or Hallmark gift shops and pass it to the deco guy to tie it.. NEVER get it from the décor guys cos they really jerked up the price...
...They charge me abt $120 for 1 pair which the price was so atrocious. We refused to pay for it..
... Anyway, we realised that there’s not much photo-taking for the bride and bridegroom at the car..more photos are taking inside the car though... so more impt to get a nice good comfty car
... than having to spend on the décor. My friend has some car rental contacts. Will check wif her and post it on the web.

Hi Yvannia >> the accessories set u saw is really over-priced.. I think u are better off renting it off shelf.. can try the above place I mentioned to Angelic Gal.. better don’t try online.. cos u would not know if it matches ur saree outfit..

Saheli house henna is so far the best I have seen.. A little pricey but I think worth the price since it’s once a lifetime event u are going to doll up this way..

I agree wat ur SIL said abt the MUA.. as I mentioned, Menaka is not focused enough .. Nasir’s work has been good so far.. had just picked up the pixs from him.. by far is quite good.. U will have a great time working with him.. i'm thinking of getting him to cover my Chinese wedding dinner...

I’m thinking that u need the guestbook for the ROM reception or dinner? If for ROM reception which is a small group.. then ok..
... u can get it at precious moment shops.. even the popular book shops sells... think abt under $30... Bras Basah have one or 2 shops sells the typical white wedding album.. price range from $29 + to $60 depending on wat style u need. Being the DIY queen, I have mine customized when I did my ROM reception…
..but for my indian dinner reception, I think it’s not necessary cos there will be at least 400-500 pple coming and most of the time they do not have the time or mainly not interested to sign in any greetings.. so I kinda of skipped it cos I have a good turnout of 800 pple.

Wat is ur budget like? Customization can cost anything from $50 onwards depending on wat material used and how we embellish it.. I’m learning to do customized scrapbook, photoalbum and guestbook… I do ringpillow too..

Can you give me your email address so that can send you the pics of Khalsa if it’s not too late for u…

As for Nasir charges, I took up only the actual day PG and bangle ceremony.. abt $1750 (for PG and VG) If I remember it correctly…He do not go by the number of film rolls.. he will shoot unlimited pix.. will select abt 120-150 pics for BG and abt 250-280 pics for the AD. It comes with the 12x14 album with 8R table top, edited video DVD (with songs) x 2 pic. Very satisfied with the photos with some candid shots and journalistic style. Video is quite well done too.

One mistake I made is to save on PG for the thaali prayer.. my Vishnu uncle actually did a traditional ceremony for my Hubby.. so it was kinda of elaborate.. we did not know he had pre-arranged it so did not get the PG to come and take the pics..
.. then there was a couple of fun moments with the cousins drew faces on my hubby using the yellow turmeric powder. We tried to take the pics using a normal camera, the photos are not so fantastic..So do ask if the PG can cover this day’s event as well.. I think VG is not necessary.

Oh yeah.. Angelic gal.. As for the decorater's namecard u took from the hotel, Ravi Deepam Wedding Services. I used them for my AD wedding at Khalsa.

I’m not trying to bad mouth them but i would give u my 2 cents worth advice.. I would STRONGLY NOT recommend them..

I paid abt $1600 for their décor..They did alrite for the stage design + the banana tree plants, as according to my MIL’s instruction but they did not cover the Khalsa signage at the stage area. The interior décor of the hall was too simple, they did not do a drop down décor for ceiling
and had “scallop†skirting along 2 sides of the hall, eewww..
... Lack of creativity and no initiative... The entire hall does not have the wedding atmosphere and they did not do up the reception area well..
.. They just put a stupid fountain at the reception table and my portrait was put on a wooden easel stand..
... I asked them why they did not do the décor for the reception area, they replied: “ your MIL did not ask to do so†How stupid can they be?

It was my biggest mistake to have my MIL to take care of the décor.. I’m sorry that I sounded so critical
cos I handle events in my job so I’m very particular with mood and atmosphere, plus creativity has always been my strength
and my circle of friends know that I can do a very good job to bring out the beauty of the event. Such a disappointment I must say..
.. Anyway, please ask them to show u more works they did if u want to check them out. I know I would not recommend them to my friends or relatives.

Hey Nec >> long time no hear.. how's the preparation so far?

Did you manage to sew the saree blouses?
.. I sew mine at S.V. Tailor, Blk 672, Chander Road, #01-26.. it’s next to this deserted looking food place…small shop but he sew fast..abt 4-5 days… MIL and I have sewed some of the blouses from him.. accommodating as well..i’m even thinking to try him out with a cheongsam dress..
...there’s a pattern chart to choose the design for the back of the blouse..

think he charge abt $25-30.. he can sew patti coat too, even though u can get some ready made ones @ abt $8 each.. Forgot how much he charge but I prefer him to sew them as he will add trims and the ends are well done.. hahhaa…
...I’m more fussy on details..

By the way, I saw u went to a recent bridal fair at city square... can u share with me the packages?

Brokenbudgie >> Hey, how’s the prep so far my friend?

I saw u gotten some nice EG.. I’m hunting for 1 too.. more for the Chinese wedding dinner.. .. I have seen some of the gowns at the Daniel Yam outlet @ Suntec.. not very impressed with the collection.. U got urs at Wisma outlet? I must check out there..
... I can’t take organza material cos I’m on the heavy side, even though I’m down by 6kg now..
have not got toned arms as well.....
... any other recommendation.. definitely not the auntie-style or Taiwan’s sweetie type…
... I tot of wearing black but not sure it’s a good thing for wedding dinner…
...my budget is abt $350 for one...will be checking out Tangs 2nd Floor and Olive suite.. ...

btw, why didn’t you try getting ur EG from a BS.. like rental or something? Will u be wearing a WG for your dinner too?

Anyway, it’s a good choice you confirmed your henna with Saheli.. can’t wait to see the designs on you.. I think it will look very good..

I agree with you abt the bridal fairs...they basically want to close sales with you so they will sell you a package that may not suit your needs. For research will be good… Actually, having a garden wedding is feasible.. you can host it at the park and actually a marquee does not cost this much.. depending on your requirements, I’m surprise they quoted u a marquee for 10-15K..
... my contact only quoted me under 1.2K..but that was 1 years ago..

Hi Suhana.>> my MUA is Kavathi…. I had shared this with angelic gal.. She is not as famous as the bigger boys like Menaka and Sussie.. but she does a good job for me and imptly she has gone the extra mile…I told her that i need the fake lashes cos I have very short ones.. she walked Tekka for few days and finally found for me.. so that’s wat I call professionalism..

Her shop is quite small and she does not have much of the wedding set but I guess for me I think the MU was the most impt factor.. Her charges are reasonable too…Can try to send u 1 or 2 pix while she did my MU for the wedding day at home.. again..these are shots that I was bz snapping with one hand when she tried to get my MU done in time..
... Kavitha joked that she should have handcuff my hands on the chair when she is bz working on the MU..

I have done trial with Bubbly but the MU did not suit me.. the studio pics are not too bad.. I can send u one or 2.. but I lost ur email.. pls give me again..

By the way, I don’t recommend to rent a lengha cos It comes up the same.. especially u want those heavy beaded ones.. rental abt $400 or so.. but to get a good material to sew a nice one is not easy to find, especially u want to have one that really shine on ur wedding night...
...if the lengha is more for just like a change of the gown during the dinner, then u can go for the less beaded ones from hanifas, fashion palace or even arab st.. For wedding saree, spending the money for the moment of the lifetime.. it is priceless.

Hey Piggy >> read abt your infamous fairytale dinner reception.. Wow! Wat an event...think your Oriental co-ordinator really do a fantastic job to make it happen.. i always wanted my hubby to ride a horse and receive me.. i wonder where did u loan the horse?

Sphire and Brokenbudgie, you guys made a good choice with the hotel booking! i wish i could attend urs and be part of it..

Babli >> hey, welcome aboard.. getting wed on the hottest date huh!..7/7/07...
... Did you managed to get the date booked 2 weeks ago? I bet the online registry is busy with this date!!! Good thing u are doing it off the ROM registry… but having it falling on a Saturday is madness.. so venue decided? Let us know ur progress so we can exchange ideas...

Raji >> Welcome on board. U have the same hot dates too. Hows your preparations so far? a North indian wedding?