Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Hey everyone...hows preps going?

SK-Thanx gal! u sound so prepared! am still in jitters..i have 6 mths to prepare everythin!

PB- double bonus! a wedding and a baby! Congrats!

To all the sikh brides--i have a question...is it ok to bring the Sri Guru Granth Sahib to a hall to get married instead of a Gurdwara?..Thanx

anyone took Robert for VG/ PG recommended by Ravi ? how is the service? btw, those thinking of taking VG i recommend ask them for HD video camera usage instead of the old DV standard video, but expect to pay more for the new technology.

i took Ravi for the decor since i find him reasonably priced and nice person, his designs looks simple though. i believe if u clarify what you required it will help clear out any misunderstanding, and i do agree u will get only what u asked and cant expect much creativity ;-> i didnt wish to spend so much for decor. i think sometimes it may be the colors that matters and i am still undecided whats the best color to choose for the theme. any suggestions or advise? My event is morning 11-3pm. thanks!

Hey Piggy..thnx so much for the info! i think we received the package from Bethany too...still looking into it butit sounds fantastic!

SK- thanx! will do..actually will be doing the traditional ceremony in Jakarta so i dont quite know how it is there..but will find out!

hey PB.. congrats...

Babli.. i was worried abt the same thing but then spoke to heaps of people and did my research. the ultra conservative will be against it but the general consesus is that its ok... sikh weddings take place all the time in hotels and halls in india. i've even gotten someone from dharmak sabha to be there on the wedding morning to conduct the ardas and hukumnama...as for jakarta, know heaps of sikh weddings that happen in the ballrooms of hotels etc so your fine there.. jakartan weddings are the ball.. yours gonna be there? all the best...

hey dearies...!

Apologiez for doin the disappearing act for the past couple of weeks..Iv been ultra buzy with work!

Joelle - hi dear! We'r still considering Khalsa, n it'll b great to have the floor plan pls
I'v been to the marina pier place that u mentioned! the blue sparkly lights in the evenin is really nice n the plc is really chic! but i doubt it'll b able to cater to the 500pax that we've gotta invite ;( we'r currently considerin grassroots club at yck.. well we'll hav to see hw it goes.. anyhow... joelle, plssss do mail me a couple of yr makeup pics n the weddin in khalsa ya!
[email protected] thanxxx!!

Puffz - Gongratulations babe!!! do send us sum pics of yr photoshoot wen ur more settled done aiite!
n like Sphire suggested, start a thread for the modern indian mummyz!

Piggy- Im sure u n yer hubby had a blast at the Maldives! Keep the love goin, u two!

Puffz: Tho' i may not know u, congratulations! nice to hear one of the pioneers here are moving up to the nex stage. May it be a safe n lovely process.

Piggy: maybe u can write in to Oriental n tell them what a good job they have done for ur wedding so that they can get some positive comments from their superiors? hehe. i,m sure it will do good for their team morale. =) jus my 2 cents worth.

hey Kismet! Thanx for the reassurance..feel better now...yeah its gonna take place there..but hope to get the Gurdwara..it'll be held in the evening...if not the Gurdwara, prolly a hall...my in-laws are going back next week to look for a place cause their guest list is huge! am excited! but ur wedding is gonna be so unique! congrats..am doin my sangeet at SSC..i love the place!

starts from $28 per head.. depending on the menu u chooose,, in addition, if u don't spend a min of $7000 theres a $4000 hall hire charge.. but u have to cater from them. the good thing is that they have quite a variety of indian caterers... riverwalk, moghul mahal and tandoor are also inculded...

hey there...actually i got a few menus from them but it goes lower to $27 if u go for a local spread with separate stalls like chicken rice etc. Moghul Mahal's variety isnt good. there is Gayathri's too.. BTw..the hall hire charge i got was $1300 for weekday which is waived if u spend min $3400 and $2400 weekend which is waived if u spend $7000..how come yours is $4000 hall charge?...mine will be in mid-nov...date is yet to be confirmed...how about yrs,kismet?

It's funny tat i dun have a post i submitted on friday....well maybe i forgot to confirm the submission. My apologies gals for not getting in touch earlier.

Babli wow u havin ur wedding in Jakarta...u're gonna enjoy it. Well u dun have to worry abt makeup, wedding outside a temple, etc. I've attended couple of wedding in hotel ballrooms both in Jakarta and Bali...either the mandap or Guruji is brought to the ballroom. The one in Bali had a mandap with oceanview on the open space garden of Intercontinental. I'm sure u'll have a beautiful wedding to remember.

Raspberries...Maldives was too good...we're glad tat we didnt abort plans to Maldives due to cost. I'll remember my beautiful honeymoon foreva.

Debbie, my bro-in-law and hubby both wrote to the GM, Mr Jhingon complimenting the whole team working at our wedding soon after the event. We've got replies oredi and they've taken note. My dad-in-law met up with the HR Director personally and they touched on the excellent service rendered at my wedding reception. Where credit was due, it has been given promptly and hopefully it has/will passed down to everyone working on tat day. Pls thank ur fiance for me..sincerely appreciated everyone working tat blessed day.

Hey kismet how's the preps going...need any help pls let me know. Dun have pixs yet cos told the photographer and videographer not to rush wan them to do a great job. Especially the one with u...i'll email when received k.

ermm .. angelic girl .. why dont you take a package from those decorators . I am sure they will provide you ?

For myself, managed to have deal with this company called Mount Zion .
I am taking the decor and food from them .
They liase with Mayura caterers from what i understand and are providing me with service staff as well but then, yet to have food tasting with them .any comments ?
For decor - a simple decor . Their work is pretty nice ..

Hey .. angelic girl ..
Hmm i dont think they are of same company . but anyway, what about malay decorators?
I do have a quotation from a malay decorator. If you are interested , let me know .

Hey BTB, how’s life and all preparation? Hasn’t log on for sometime due to work commitments… so I have decided to give work a break and want to stay home to enjoy life..hahaha…
.. actually more like chasing up time with friends and relatives.. and springcleaning the clutter in the house.. since the wedding, we haven't got the time to re-arrange the stuff in the room.... sometime i can't even remember where i keep my stuff..hahaha..
..Will be going to Bali for a short break this coming Thu so I’m soooo looking forward to it..

Officially I’m really a Tai-Tai now..
but not for long cos savings are depleting fast…hahaha.. But after the Bali trip my pocket will have a small hole.. More traveling on the same week cos I need to get sarees from KL for my niece puberty ceremony…so another hole in the pocket..so need to budget spending.. haiz..

Anyway, juz dropping by to see what’s up with ur preparation.. KPO abit lah..

It's suddenly sunk in that my wedding's two months away. Very nervous! Trial makeup is tomorrow, food tasting at The Fullerton's on Saturday and my photoshoot is next week! Decided not to do any studio shots and just shoot outdoors, Grand Shanghai and Zouk instead.
Does anyone know any shops i can find elegant 31/2 inch silver or gold strappy heels besides the usual malls?

Joelle - enjoy your Bali holiday..!!

hi Joshany!
thx for the email. was wondering if u can share with me the quotation they are giving u for the decor as well cos i think their webbie doesnt have much information abt their works.

thanks, dear =)

hi galz... anybody has booked the Grassroots Club for their reception? Went to their website for some enquiries on the how tos, and it was stated that u've gotta be a rc member 1st. After which, you can apply to be a member of the Grassroots Club. Does one really have to go thru allll that fuss to book that plc?? Can u juz find someone whos already a member thr n get the person to book it on yr behalf?

And if any1 IS having the reception thr, I would reallly appreciate if you cld kindly tell me abt their svc and what they offer and all pls.

Anybody kind enuff to shed sum light on these?

Debbie - I suggest you meet them personally to view their pics and enquire re: their packages. It will def. give you a better idea.

Raspberriez - I think if you have a relative/friend who is a member,you can book through them . I do know ppl who have done that .

Hi everybody,

I'm a new BTB joining this wonderful forum. Have been reading all the posts for the past 2 days, and boy, i'm completely amazed at all the exchanges of info and useful tips.
Well, my customary wedding is on Nov 16 2007 and i have a lunch reception at Hilton Hotel on Nov 18 and a dinner reception at Khalsa on the same day. So, a total of 3 ceremonies. Gosh, I'm going to be so tired. Worse still, I have nt done anything at all. So, i'm in alot of trouble, i guess. Haha. But this forum is going to be my life-saver until Nov. I just need some info abt the decorators for Khalsa. Any contacts gals?

SK - Thanks to your recommendation, i managed to get two pairs of shoes from Metro Paragon. One black strapped diamante 4" heels and a gold jewelled one. Both rather gorgeous.. ;)

Hi Angelic,

Ya very late. I just decided to tie the knot suddenly this year with my significant other. That's why there's a bit of a mad rush now and also to beat the GST hike in July! And to make things worse, my fiance doesn't stay in S'pore. He stays and works in the States so, all instructions come from there. Haha.

Anyway, can i have the mount zion company website as well? It seems quite popular on this forum. My MIL was recommending Guna as he is her gd fren. Have to get as many quotes asap.

Hi lavani - welcome to the forum

Jeinthi - you can try sungei kadut . There are several wholesale shops there .

Angelic - Managed to contact them ?

hey all!!!! hows preps? Have officially started buying stuff and booking places! YAY..date has been set--21st Nov in a Gurdwara in Jakarta.. ROM will be on 17th Nov(keeping fingers crossed) still need to confirm venue.....so excited!

Kismet--SSC is tentatively booked on 17th Nov..so am worried..lets see if i get it!

To the rest..have fun..coz it will all be over so soon...and we will be left reminiscing...

Hey Jeinthi...i got my mattress from Balestier. It's oso warehouse prices but cant remember the name off hand. Will ask my hubby and let you know. As for poster bed..uhh..sorry cant help. I got my full bedroom set custome made. If you interested in designing ur own let me know..i can pass you the contact.

Hello gals.. i'm back from Bali.. wooohhh the place is really nice for honeymooners, especially u have a budget..
but i dun mind to go another time again.. lucky thing we stay a couple of days at the spa resort cos it was alot more peace and scenic than the main town..when we move to stay at Hard Rock Hotel in the later part of the week, the rooms are not very fantastic..
too touriscy though.. beach was so congested so we spent more time shopping.. as usual for me.. 1 luggage there and 3 luggage back.. no regrets lah.. now just look forward to go a 2nd time this yr..

saw that u gals are really busy with the preparation.. which is good.. June is a hot month for wedding.. i received at least 3 invitations already..

Brokenbudgie >> Hey gal.. looks like u went on a big shopping spree in Tekka.. hope u had lots of fun with your “new costumesâ€..

...was abt to recommend a couple of places that u can get those gold strappy heels.. anyway, u had got some good choices there..

Think u will have lots of fun at the outdoor shoots.. dun forget the paper blotters and flat shoes.. walking around the high strappy heels will be too much for the feet, so u can change into some comfy flats when u wait around…

SK >> only managed to upload a few pic of my wedding pic just now.. will email u soon
.. have u got the gold strappy heels from Metro? U can also try Novo and City plaza.. lots of choices..

Yvannia >> I have emailed u the pics of Khalsa…
... Looks like u have most of the wedding preparation done.. good work.. at least no last minute stuff and no worries…

Jan >> emailed u the pics of Khalsa as well.. how’s ur MU trial with Bubbly and Susiee went? Did u manage to contact Nasir? Sorry for the late reply.
His number is 94529202

Sphire >> emailed u my version of the temple program. Thanks for adding me in your friendster.