Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Hi Mabel..good for u..Btw u hvg a dinner as well?

Sphire...with a budget of 1K..shouldnt b a problem to find venue right..Raffles the plaza - not bad..The bridal suite is gorgeous *wink*, heard intercon is gd as well..M kinda leaning to hilton now..but i'll kp options open. Crown - u have the package to share? Heard the reception area not so nice leh..U been there? i'll go recce this weekend if possible..How abt york hotel? U went there?

Btw..i got 1 more qn. My FH said that for temple wedding after april, we can only get date next year. Is that true? Have you fixed ur dates?

Hi Girls!

Thought I'd make a quick entrance and say hello.
Glad all your preps are coming along well. I've been ultra busy with fiance in town last week. Had my food tasting last week which was really productive. Ended up tweeking the menu quite a bit.. wondering if they'll give me a second tasting to try the changes. I'm off to India tomorrow to do wedding shopping. Its my first trip to the subcontinent. Looking forward to it.

Hi Bridezilla, have a fun + productive shopping trip :-)

Btw can i ask which part of india are you going to? M also planning to go and get sarees from there..hehe

Also, where's your dinner? Sorry me new here..and also v KPO..hehe

Hi Chick. Yup my options with $1000 is high but I dont want ballrooms with pillar. No point in spending so much yet some of my guest cant see the stage properly. All my proposals are of indian banquet. Yoke hotel and Raffles do not provide indian food. Interc is above $1K. Dont want to go overboard. Chick cld I hv your email add again?
Yup, after April dates u hv to wait till next yr. The indian date book comes out every April. But I'm kinda beating the system. I told my mum and in-laws that I hv to confirm the banquet date for next yr sept; if else no plc. So my mum is going to consulted an Astrologer. If can.. also my AD. If cannot wait.. bo pian lah. I would love both dates to fall on 15th Sept'07 and 15th March'08 tentively.

Hi Sphire, my email is [email protected].

So you are having the dinner as part of ROM? Your temple wedding in March'08? My FH said there is some calender which has dates for 10years, but apparently its in India, so it'll take a month to get the dates. Me also told FH and family must book banquet place first..

Umm..pillarless ballroom is definitely more important for yours cos you have a lot of tables. Did you try Orchid country club or Rasa Sentosa etc? M sorry i hv bn enquiring for chinese dinners so not sure if these places hv indian food.

Hi Chick.
You've got mail.

Probably u try hinting to your parents or ILs to check out temples and astrologer for dates. I think they can give u a date. Couples hvin weddings in may or june cannot be bookin just 2mths earlier. There must be some avenues to get the dates.

Yup it'll be with my solemnization.
Dont like to trouble my guest to travel to Sentosa. Even if someone invites mi, I would think twice.
OCC quoted me $400 without food.. Its really madness. Imagine plus food, will shoot to $700 at least. Ppl will give u most $50 for the location. End up loose more $$ than in hotel. Hotel standard ang bao is abt $70 to $80. If that's the case I would go for RTC as I've always loved the place.

Chick, can I ask what are these dates you're referring to? Are they auspicious dates for a wedding or dates for the temple hall bookings?

I'm trying to reach the astrologer at Yishun Temple (Mr Ghanamoorthy) for my dates but haven't been able to talk to him. I was told he was out of town.

We would like to have our wedding sometime next year. So does this mean I won't be able to get any auspicious dates at this moment? I'll only be given ausp dates next April???

Sphire, you mentioned that your mom is going to chk with an astrologer for ausp dates. So do you you mean to say an astrologer can give you ausp dates now for a wedding that's going to take place after Apr next year? Erm...I'm confused. Then what's this thing about the indian dates book? Does the astrologer need to refer to this to tell you when your ausp dates are?

Erm...one last question. Any difference in getting your dates from an astrologer at a temple and from the temple itself??

Hi Rany

My mum and MIL told mi the book of auspicious dates will be out every April when the indian new year is born. However, temples and astrologers are able to predict from pass year books or not sure if they hv the 10yrs book. Sometimes even we can somewht predict. For mi, I feel save with the dates I hv in mind. Cos in Sep and March theres always lots of weddings. So i kinda of think they r of good dates. Still got to check out to be save. I think astrologer and temple does not make a diff. Most probably there is someone in the temple who would be able to see the dates like an astrologer.

Hi Rany, i am referring to auspicious dates for temple weddings. My church wedding and dinner will be end June and i need to do the temple wedding sometime early-to-mid June. My FH was saying that his parents have asked someone..probably a temple astrologer. I can check with him and find out who/how they are getting the dates for next June.

I really hope there are some gd dates in June, otherwise..there'll be a big gap btw our ceremonies.

So Rany, u confirmed taking Yishun temple? How about yourself Sphire? My FH looking at Tank Rd, but rental is 3.5K. Is that the same everywhere?

Sphire..thanks for the Crown Hotel package. U going down to view this weekend? Agree that Sentosa bit far. M going to give Hilton another look on Tuesday, they have a wedding going on - BUT the co-ordinator there gets on my nerves. Also,looking at ACM..sigh..getting stressed

Thanks Sphire & Chick for the info!

It looks to me that to settle on your wedding dates, you guys won't be waiting for this book of dates to come out next April, is that right? So there is hope still and a way round it, right?

Because if not, it'd be quite depressing to think that for weddings after April, we can only know of definite auspicious dates after April itself. I was really banking on my fiance and I making progress with our planning i.e settling dates and bookings etc by the end of this year.

Chick, yeah, we're thinking of the Yishun Temple cos I stay not very far from there. I don't really know what the actual rental is like though I was told to put a budget of $3K.

Hey Bridezilla - You probably can't read this now but I hope you're having a smashing time in India and get really good bargains!

Hey Mabel - Glad you're taking a breather! Feels good, doesn't it? ;)

Hi guys!

I'm burning the mid-night oil trying to sort out the last minutes!Sigh..

Hey chick.. (*big wave*). Going to bombay and chennai. My reception is at the Ritz Carlton and the wedding is at the ceylon road temple.

RE Tasting, yes I'll probably have to pay for the second one but the bridezilla in me just can't leave it to chance.

RE Auspicious dates, it is possible to get the dates before April because I did.

Hi Ladies. Dont think I'll be waiting till April to get the dates. Gettin my mum to see dates ASAP.

Chick.. wow! 3.5K for just rental? I'm also thinking of Tank road. My mum told mi to prepare $30K jus for the temple wedding. Hope u find ur venue. I'm considering Oriental now. Cos ballroom pillarless. Heard that although crown hotel pillars are by the side, its big enough to block min 8 tables. May go down to c Oriental and just drop by crown this wkend. Hilton max 300pax... too small for mi. Else Hilton package is really fantastic.

Rany.. the yishun temple is really nice. But its way out for mine and his family.

Looks like Mabel, Bridezilla and Holly are full swing into the wedding plans. All the best girls. Update us if u hv any info.

Hey girls!

Thanks for that. That's a relief to know we can get dates at this time.

Sphire, $30K for temple wedding alone??? Whoa!! I only put aside $3k for rental and $12K for reception at temple thereafter. Am I missing something here? Heh!

And yeah, the Yish temple is quite out of the way for you. You mentioned u live close to the Ceylon temple. So that's a good option and so is the Tank Road temple. I heard the Tank Road temple has one of the largest temple halls in Singapore.

Chick, have you got your AD photographer, and BS settled? Out of curiousity, who are you going with?

OMG...cant believe thats a void deck! Very well done decor and even photography is good...

Rany - my BS is Z'wedding - signed up with them at a wedding show without even seeing their gowns..so..fingers n toes crossed..got my first appt this sunday...As for AD PG and VG - havent even started..How about u guys? Settled on any PG and VG? Any idea how much to budget??

Sphire..yr budget v high lei :-)..my FH and i trying to keep temple wedding expense to 10K includin the rental..cos we got to spend on church wedding, church reception as well as wedding dinner..

Is it? 10K enough?.. I was so concern how to come out with another $30K. My mum jagged the price up. Or probably its inclusive of the suits and gowns. Cant ask my mum or his to strink on the guest list for temple. Already they not happy tht we squeezing them for dinner. If we invite 1000pax and food per head $15, is already $15000. Or whts the standard? I'm just following the adults blindly. Must check out with my friend. She just had her wedding last Sat at Tank Rd.

Chick, I was phycoed by Z'Wedding during a BS also. But found the lady a little too dominating. Heard very good remarks of Z'Wedding and their gowns are beautiful.

Wow Rany! The deco is really gorgeous. It looks very grand. The PG is really good.

Hi Sphire..

My budget so low cos only FH side invited to temple wedding, me inviting < 10 pple. So think we only hv abt 350 people. I think you can get food for $8-10 per head. Also, we going to India to get wedding suits, print cards, favours etc. My 10K doesnt include india trip expense la. Cos we have additional expenses with multiple celebrations, trying to be more prudent. Let us know how u fren budgeted....

Hope what u said bt Z'wedding gowns is true..agree with u tho that they v pushy. Which BS u with? So u headed to oriental this wkd? Me takin a break..

Hi chick. Hope you enjoy ur trip to India. I've never been to india before. Will update u want i get the info from my friend. *wink*.

I always find Z'W gowns very nice in the magazines and during their runway. Quite interested to sign wif them but the lady (she looked old alth sexy in dressing) was tryin to dominate the whole package. Until both my fiance and myself dont feel comfortable. I signed with Yvonne Creative.

Going down to Oriental this weekend. Hope its good. Else i hv to fall back to Furama Riverfront or Amara.

Good tht u taking a break. Mi too need a break but cant rest till i confirm my banquet. Stress.

Hey Chick, I haven't really signed up with anyone yet - BS, AD PG, MUA and pre-wedding photographer! I feel so far behind. But because we haven't quite settled on the wedding date, it's very difficult to do these things. We are hoping for a date next year but my mom for some bizarre reason, wants it in jan-april 2008. So my fiance needs to have a talk with her in August when he comes up.

But in the meantime, I'm trying to get some quotes via emails until my fiance comes up. That's when we'll be relentlessly trying out gowns and looking at sarees, kurtas/sherwanis, PGs, etc.

I'm not engaging a VG but for a PG on the actual day, I've only budgetted for $2000 if its all in one day and $2500 if its spread out over 2 days. It's a really prudent budget as you can tell.

If you are looking for a PG for church wedding and reception, I can recommend Christopher Lim. His rates are pretty reasonable. His website is: http://www.chrisppics.com/chrisppicsgallery/weddings

He doesn't have experience with temple weddings so its unfortunate I can't engage him or recommend him in this forum.

Which part of India are u going to, Chick? My fiance and I are planning for our honeymoon in India. But it'll only be a year after the wedding because we're giving ouselves that time to save for a trip like that. I'd really like to go to Kerala, Rajasthan, and Delhi.

Sphire, I was told to budget $12 per head for temple reception. And because I'm hoping the guest list won't go beyond 300, I guess I'm able to get away with a smaller budget. I know what you mean about the mother and MIL kicking up a fuss about the guest list. I am dealing with the same. In my case, its only my mother. One person but still its a big headache!!! Yeah, you should ask your friend who recently got married about how she budgetted. It should be quite relevant to you since you're also considering Tank Road temple too.

Hey, have u guys tried your gowns yet? If you don't mind, can send me some photos of the gowns?

Hi girls! I am new but have been reading this forum for some time. It was because of this forum that I contacted Shanti for my ROM recently. So 1stly, i wanna say thanks!

My trad indian wedding is in nov. But Shanti is double booked on that day and would not be able to stay with my through the wedding. Im lost.. the more 'well known' make up artist (Menaka, rupini etc) already booked. Does anyone have any suggestions or recommendations?? Thanks in advance!

Hi Sarah. Welcome to the crowd.
Hows ur preparations getting along? Nov is coming soon. Enjoy the remining preparations and relax. We r here to help each other.
My friend just had her wedding last Sat. Her MUA was the VG William Saravannan's wife. Her makeup looked very natural and alot of ppl commented the makeup really fitted the bride very well. Probably u could contact her to view her portfolio. If u require the contact number, i cld email to u.

Hey Rany
So ur AD will be abt the same time as mine if it goes by ur Mum's decision.

Is $12 eoungh to provide a good spread? At my friends wedding, the spread was kinda normal. My fiance said it would cost abt $15. Her wedding budget would be very helpful to mi as I expect my crowd to be of similar size of her's. My mum is asking 300 invitation cards for my temple ceremony. Cn u imagine tht?.. I went like "HA???!!?!". Looks like the whole Singapore is goin to be there.

I hvnt tried any gowns yet. I've only paid a minimal deposit with YC. Hv to discuss further for more perk when I make balance payments.

How far r u with ur preparations? I'm only worried abt venues. Just waiting to finalise my banquet venue. Hoping that Oriental wld be it.. but the pic in internet looks very China.

Rany - Thanks for the PG contacts. noe wat u mean about settling the weddin date thingy. We went from early next yr to dec this yr n finally only recently settled on june. As for BS - actually u can take yr time cos most impt is the venue - temple, banquet etc. My package with BS has got MUA, pre-wedding photography etc, so once u settle BS, shld be able to settle those stuff. My first appt with BS is this Sun, will let u noe how it goes k. Will most probably go chennai or delhi for my india trip..quite excited. Kerala is nice, my roots from there. Havent bn to delhi n rajasthan though. Btw me being kpo..ur fiance working overseas?

Sphire - me kanceong abt venue also. Decided its gonna be hilton, raffles the plaza, acm or laguna. me gonna view 3 of those places on tues, so i think i'll b able to confirm nxt week. havent checked out those places u mentioned...hope everything goes well..furama is rather popular..so shld book early lah.

Hi Sarah, welcome onboard..my cousin used this MUA..Arase, who's the Mrs World..it was nice. located at Peninsular Plaza..63399588. Check it out..

Sphire- Yup sure i would like to have the contact. You can email me at [email protected].

N Thanks Chick!

I'm actually having two weddings. One day is the indian traditional one and the next day is the christian wedding. N another challenge of mine is that I sooo wanna put on weight! i have been underweight all my life.. haha.. have been trying to eat more

wow...nice to know I have company in weight gain wants....I usually get no sympathy from anyone about my weight gain needs.

hi girls..wow i've got so much to read..My arizona trip was so fun....i'll download some pics than share with u girls okie...

I've been busy looking for a new 1 bedroom apt here. Currently living in a house but we've got other roomates. Can u believe this ....rental in arizona for a huge house is US$800 but for a 1 bedroom apt in Los angeles is US$1200???!!!!
arrrghhh.....

Welcome Chick and Sarah!!
Btw, i am already married but it's always nice to come around and check if any brides need any help...haha..

Mabel, glad you're chilling out!!

hiii ..Sphire, Rany...you guys are so much luckier than me. During my wedding preps, i din had this forum to help me.. I had to read and get info from other threads...

Take care girls...i will come by again...sooon.....!!!

Sarah- U've got mail.

Chick- its my fiance who is delaying. He's too slow in making up his mind. To mi, its either Oriental or furama. To him.. i'm not sure wht he is thinkin.

Mabel- hearing something from u at last.

Holly- WB. Hope ur trip was real good. Cant wait to c ur pics. U r right. We r lucky to hv this forum.. especially with Mabel's constructive infos....kekekeke

Hi Sarah, me 2 also got 2 weddings...but we're trying to have a couple of days in between to rest..wont it be 2 tiring having it 1 day after another?

Mabel &amp; Sarah - u guys have happy problem..try the weight gainers powder at gnc etc or eat supper every day..sure work. But no so healthy lah

Sphire, your fiance sounds like me.. :-))

Holly - Hi, u r our 'senior' here...got pics and tips to share?

hi girls. I have chosen my wedding card. I went with interactive printers in toa payoh. If anyone is interested, i have their address and number. I can also give you the name of the lady who helped me out if you need. She is very patient and helpful. I went there today to look at the formatting of the invite. I like the fact that I could sit there in front of the computor and tell them exactly how I wanted the fonts changed and the spacing altered..blah blah blah. Ill have to go in again next week to choose the paper for the insert because they were unable to show me samples today.

Yes, on the weight gain front. I have to make a effort to do something about it. I must start today. Im not so sure about the weight gainer powders at gnc.....they seem protein filled. May not be good for kidneys. I think Ensure powder is better, SARAH - if interested...i recommend that.

Ok..thats all for me for now. Have a lovely weekend all!

Hey Mabel... do give mi the contact for Interractive printers. Want to get nice and simple indian cards for my bandquet cum engagement. Thank, babe. [email protected].

While u gals look into weight gaining products?.. I hv to source for weight losing ones. I just keep on putting on weight like nobody biz.

Hey Mable, where to get the Ensure milk powder? I've been drinkin chocolate milk..haha..

Today i went to look at bridal gowns.. Was a little disappointed with the selection. But I can make to measure..so not so bad.

Chick- which is 1st? Your Indian trad wedding or the Church one?

Hey guys!

On the topic of weight gaining measures, I find getting into the habit of a big breakfast is good but be sure to start this off early (7 or 8am), by which time you'll be hungry enough for lunch and then dinner. And I find drinking a warm glass of milk (I take freshmilk) before bedtime also useful. Mabel, Sarah, that makes 3 of us in the same predicament!

Mabel, great you've settled on the invites!! You must be relieved!! Can I pls pls have the contact to Interactive Printers too? Me email is [email protected]. Thanks heaps! Is it far in or near the Toa Payoh MRT?

Holly, hey girl, good to hear from you! Whoa, the rent in LA is steep innit?! But I can understand why its so expensive though. I mean, this IS LA we're talking about. But I do agree, we're definitely lucky to have this forum going!!! Otherwise, we'd be so clueless about everything Indian in a wedding!!! Heh!

Sphire, the $12 per head budget is an ordinary spread catered from within the temple. So it's nothing flashy. But it's always good to budget a little more so I think your $15 a head budget is a safe bet.

Chick, yeah, my fiance is overseas. He's from Perth and he lives and works there. So it makes planning a wedding a bit of challenge but when he's here in August for 3 weeks, we're going to try and get as much done as possible. Btw, I don't know if it's appropriate to ask but do you have any pics of your cousin's makeup by Arase? Do you/she mind sharing them?

Sphire, can I ask the same too with your friend's MUA (William Saravannan's wife)? Would you have a photo of your friend's make up that your friend wouldn't mind sharing?

And Sarah, do you have pics of your ROM makeup by Shanti? Can I also ask if you mind sharing them? You can send it to my email address at [email protected].

Eh, it looks like I'm asking for alot of photos of make up examples. Paiseh.

Sarah: Did u like shanti's makeup for your ROM? Im going for a trial with her soon. Just curious to know ur experience.
Rany: Will email u the details of the printers. Can't seem to log into my email account right this minute
Sphire: I emailed u the details last nite. Hope u received it!

Hi Rany,

Emailed u the pic already..actually i dun have it with me but i pulled it off the website
www.lavieenrose.com.sg.

Hi Sarah, can send me yr pics by Shanti please if u dun mind? [email protected]. Also answering yr previous qn..yup my temple wedding is b4 church. Hope this doesnt come out wrongly, will u b wearing the thali with yr gown?

All ya skinny gals out there...Am so envious...I need to lose weight lah...Tips please??!!!

Hi Ladies... I day did come in.. u gals really flood the place...kekekek. Keep it going gals. gI'm kind of settling for RTC...but got to c much they will quote for the menu i want.

Sarah - u r able to get a MTM gown. There'll be extra $$. Did u sign a package with a BS? Babe, culd i also hv a look at your ROM pic? Considering Shanti for my banquet. Wht does her package consist? thank you. [email protected]

Rany - If i cn get hold of my friend's pic, will sent it to u. So looks like $15 is a very safe budget,.. or is it still little? I'm so confused.

Mabel - Thanks, dear. Received your mail. U r a very good guide...kkekekeeke.

Chick - I'm not skinny. I used to be last yr. Donno whts happening to me. Dont eat much but keep putting weight..hai.

Mabel- Everyone commented that the make up was sweet and natural (Shanti's make up). However, since i was not able to have a trial first there were some minor details which was not wat i really wanted. Since you are gonna have a trial first im sure it'll be good. :-)

Chick- That's my problem. My temple wedding is before the church one. Im wondering how to deal with the thali. My gown surely will not be covering my neck. Im Christian n i dun mind taking it off.. but Im afraid that my in laws will be offended... I dun wan any problems. So i am thinkin of ways i can cover it up. What about u? Are u gonna be wearning the thali with ur gown?

Sphire- Yes, the MTM gown is part of my package at a bridal studio. Im having a hard time pickin a design..sighz. Shanti just did my hair n make up. I didnt require sari tying (but she does do it).

Chick n Sphire i just emailed you guys.

Hey everyone!

Thanks Sarah and Chick for the photos. Really appreciate it!! Have emailed you back.

Chick - re. weight loss, I find that some brides-to-be think they really need to lose weight to get into the perfect gown or to look perfect on their big day but in actual fact, they really are quite perfect.

But if you die-die want to lose weight, go to ur office or neighbourhood gym. Try it once a week first. And then progress to twice a week. Alternate with jogging or swimming at your nearby park/pool as well. The important thing is to find something you like to do. Some people prefer blading, others like badminton, others swear by swimming and then some like yoga or cycling. If you can find a kaki to do it with, even better because that would be more fun. And if you live on high floor, take the stairs. But then again, this all depends on which part of the body you want to tone. The trick in an exercise routine is to start small. Don't dive into it.

Sphire - no lah, $15 per head is not little. Must remember, this is for vegetarian food from the temple. ;) If you plan on engaging external catering, then it might cost more.

Mabel - Thanks dear, take your time with the mail.

Hi ladies.

Sarah - Thanks for the mail once again. Wow! U look stuning. A beautiful couple i shd say. U hv such a cute smile. Now I know wht u mean by putting on weight *jealous*.
Shanti's makeup is natural. The more I c, the more i want her. U took a ROM package from her is it? I need a banquet package. Checked with Menaka. She told mi there's a trial make-up (incl various styles of hairdo till I'm satisfied), 2 makeups and 2 hairdos on AD. Wonder is Shanti provides the same.

Chick - Cld I also view the pics n contact if possible? I'm afraid before my fiance makes up his mind, Shanti or Menaka may not be avaliable.

Rany - Thanks for the clarification, gal.

Not sure if I shld lose weight.. maybe a little. Cos everyone says I look alrite... its only when my fiance stands beside mi. He is such a stick. He makes me look abnormally fat. He's the type that cannot put on weight no matter wht he eats. I'm the type cannot lose weight no matter wht I do. World is unfair.

Rany: Sent u the mail.

Today I am not doing any running around. I am sitting here and trying to type out addresses for the guest list onto a spread sheet. So in other words..gives me a chance to eat and put on weight. By my calculations....i must gain 625gms and week to meet my target by the wedding. Seems like a lot of eating I have to do!!!

Mabel- Haha thanks, I guess all the credit goes to stylemart, Shanti n my photographer. I'm not sure of wat Shanti's package contains. I went for a parisam a couple of weeks ago. Menaka did the make up. The bride really looked very nice. The accessories were glittery, foundation seemed good. Overally she I felt she looked great.

Hey Sarah: It was Sphire who saw ur photos!
anyways...did shanti use her own foundation or did u provide ur own? which brand does she use?

Hey guys,

Mabel - Thanks for the email and directions! Btw, I'm trying to eat as much too but its so insanely busy at work that it throws my eating times out of whack and I find myself losing weight instead. Not happy.

Sarah - Of course you should take credit. You've got a great smile!

Sphire - Can share how much Menaka is charging for the whole thing i.e trial, 2 makeups, 2 hairdos on AD? Btw, will she be present throughout if AD is from 8am to lets say 9pm??

Holly - how goes the search for a decent 1-bedrm apt? Btw, are you going to be in LA long term?

Wow this thread is happening.

Rany - thanks for the advise on slimming, guess my problem same as sphire's - my FH too thin lah, so either way i will look big esp since m considered quite tall lah...

Sphire - sent u the pics already.

Sarah - erm told my FH tat i wont b using the thali with the gown, he's ok with it. He understands Its not that i dont want to, but it wont go with the rest of the outfit. Hv left it with him to tell his parents :-)Mayb u can try that approach?

Btw, whats a parisam?

Also, anyone checked out Rupini's for make-up? Heard she's quite popular...

HI
Rany - Menaka quoted $250. Dont think she'll stay throughout. I suppose she'll be around till the second set.

Chick - Thanks for the pics.

Mabel - Sad to say. Havnt heard any good remark for Rupini's... be it their makeup or even threading.

If I hv the choice, I would go for Shanti for my banquet and Menaka for my traditional. Hope they r not booked for my dates.