Indian wedding Services in Singapore

Hi Sphire..no worries, no need 2 pay 4 my 'used' dvds... Lemme go check what i have and i'll see if i can get the rest in China..will email u...

M actually looking at chinese wedding dinner but thanks for the offer..guess i jus hv to bite the bullet and SIGN! Jus wished i had sourced around during hotel wedding fairs..

Hey Chick... Nooo.. I'll pay for the DVDs. Its only $2 bucks each. Unless u wanna make a profit...kekekek. Jus kidding... U wont jack up the price rite? I'm kinda broke here.

Hats off to u couples. Love ya ppl. I'm amused that u girls (with other halves of cos) r so open to even serving chinese food. My fiance is like "Make sure food is indian". Hope ur bullet finds the bull-eye *wink*. Dont try hyatt for chinese food.. they dont hv good review.

Sphire, not to worry, most men are like that. Mine on the other hand isn't. He has indicated his "strong" interest in what I should wear at the banquet. He - Lengha, Me - Made to Measure Audrey Hepburn-type dress or Grecian/Empire type Emerald Green dress. It's not always a good thing when they have an opinion. Hah!

But girl, if you need to sound off or vent, you're always welcome to do so here.

Holly, do you know if Jonathan does pre-wedding outdoor photoshoots? My fiance wants Jonathan to do both AD and pre-wedding photoshoots. Whereas I kind of like Kelvin from Lighted Pixels pre-wedding portfolio - prob also cos I haven't seen samples of Jonathan's pre-wedding photoshoots.

Have a look at these works from Kelvin (btw, if you find the guy in the first link familiar, he's our national bowler, Andrew Fang!):

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=176195

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=100031

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=187689

Holly, just about all my wedding details are TBC!!! It's so frustrating but we're not able to confirm anything until my fiance gets in in August.

Temple Wedding & AD Date: Mid 2007 hopefully (TBC)
Temple: Yishun Temple (TBC)
Banquet: Vansh/ Little Bali/ One Rochester
BS: (TBC)
MUA: (TBC)
PG Photoshoot: (TBC)
PG AD: Jonathan Ho - Expressively *oho (TBC)
VG: None

Chick, I heard Ananda Bhavan is pretty good.

Mabel, looking forward to getting a copy of this paper you talk about. And are you going to get external catering for your temple reception? Or using the temple's kitchen?

Hey ya Rany.
We girls are always full of complaints. Mi brag abt my guy dont get involve... and u brag ur's is too involve. We r women... allowed to brag. kekeke. BTW thanks for officially agreeing to be my punching bag. Well.. I'll be urs too. *WINK*
Ur wedding plans look a lot like mine. All TBC.

Ananda Bhavan is great, Rany. Love their food. But is there anyone serving anything else but the norm for ur temple wedding? I was thinking of more north indian cusine with Naan hot from the pot, Thosai, ice-cream. Whichever, looks like briyani has to stay.. or change tht to pulau.. not so heavy. But guess its gonna be ex. If else... I'll use temple kitchen and table server the good old authentic way in banana leaves.

sorry Rany and Sphire....I'll send the email to u tonight. Am rushing out now to go collect my cards. Feel abit nervous and hope they did a good job of it

Mabel - All the best for the cards. Dont worry. Something tells mi that they'll be fabulous. Hey send us a pic... c wht bad critics we cn be, babe.

Like the Bjork song goes, "It's all so quiet...." ;) Everyone's vanished. Hee!

Mabel, like Sphire said, you go do your thing. Really. We're in no hurry. I'm sure the cards will come out fine, and you'd be very pleased with them.

Yes as Bjork says....."....so peaceful until...you fall in love!
I have neglected the board these few days. Have been busy and also battling the most severe of cat allergies *as usual I can hear u say*. so let me update.

The cards turned out well. I am 100% satisfied with the quality. SO I CAN wholehartedly recommend Interactive to all of you for cards!
I'll upload a picture of it on my Blog tonight so u gurlz can have a look...as Sphire requested.

I collected my Fiance's Sherwani yesterday and it turned out nice too. He seems happy with it. I had to email him pictures of it last nite and he liked it. Phew ....He is my Simon Cowell!hahaha. Nolah....not so bad. But u know men.

RANY: CATERING! Yishun temple does not cater for wedding receptions for weddings held there. You have to cater from outside. I would have loved to cater from the temple kitchen itself...always something special about their cooking. But no choice now. I am thinking of Ananda Bhavan.NOt sure at this moment. That is next weeks work.

SPhire: Yes I too like North Indian food for a bit of a change. I am actually having a family reception in my home the nite before the wedding and am catering North Indian food from Tandoori Restaurant. Its the one located next to Mustafa Shopping C. I catered from them for my ROM last year and their food and service was excellent.

Ok thats all for now.

Hi gals, how's everyone doing?

Mabel - glad to hear ur cards turned out well, 1 headache less :-)Seems like u've got a lot of things done...hang in there yah..

Rany / Sphire - Thanks for the tip on anandha bhavan. Thk we have no choice, will probably go with the standard fare from the caterers for the temple reception..Any idea if the there is a temple caterer at Tank Rd temple?

Btw i got my temple dates for June next year, 17th or 18th June, so we are going with 17th June (sunday). Next step - find n book the temple..Booked the church as well, so quite pleased except i havent finalised by banquet venue!! Stress... Going to check out meritus tis wkd...

Oh yeah..sphire..i'll go ahead n get the dvds i dun hv in china yah..Dun worry..no profit making venture in mind.. :-))

K..me signing out as well

Mabel - Yup. Tried their food before. Nice! Does woodlands ganges cater food? They r veg; they carry both Nth and Sth foods. Kinda like their food but never seem anyone cater from them.

Chicks-- thanks, lady. Enjoy urself in China.. leave DVDs as ur last priority there. Make sure u really let ur hair down and enjoy ur holiday as a singlehood.

Not sure abt Tank rd. I guess they do hv. But Perumal temple food is Yummy.

Rany, Sphire: Can the both of you understand Tamil? Its jus that the temple checklist is in tamil. So if I write out the tamil words phonetically in English, will u be able to understand?

Hey Mabel, great to hear about the cards and sherwani!!! You must be so relieved (to have finalised these things) and just absolutely delighted (that they turned out just the way you want)!! And thanks too for the heads up on the catering at the Yishun temple.

I've got great news too. Sort of! It looks like my wedding is going to be either June 07 or Sept 07. Wooohoooo!!! My mom was talking about Jan - April 2008 but the astrologer was saying June or Sept next year is better for me. Hee!

Chick - if my fiance and I decide on June 07, we'll be getting married in the same month!!!

Mabel, I'm sorry but I'm not entirely good with Tamil (even phonetically). Erm... in fact, I got an F at O levels prelim and everyone did much better at the actual paper, me included!! I was such a happy little thing. So everyone asked for my grade. I got an E. Hey, it's still an improvement from my F! Hee!

I realise it's a terrible thing to ask especially with your wedding just a month away but is it possible to translate this to English? Please let me know if it's too much trouble, I'll get someone else to help with the English phonetics. Because I really don't want to impose or stress you too much. You probably have alot on your mind at the mo.

Mabel- No prob, gal. My tamil is not so polished but I cn get my MIL to help out. She's a tamil teacher.

Rany - Congrats on ur date. Now things will be racing fast for u. I was very lucky to have a merit for my Tamil 'O' Level oral.. or rather the invigilator. He thought I was a chinese (or something else). So he was conversing with mi in english all the way. I made sure I gave him all facts he needed (except my unpolished tamil). He issued mi a merit.

ooh...ok Ill try my best to translate it. Some words I dont even know their english equivalent. But Ill try my best.

hahaha...it's so funny how all of u struggle to translate tamil into english....let's struggle together to make sense of things. it'll be good comic relief for all of us.. Hi ladies, am so sorry I haven't been chipping in..i've been working on a presentation to minister and i've been so stressed up abt it. but it went well and i'm so happy now. whew.

i'll be getting my fiance to email me our engagement pics so if any of u wants to see, i can email it to u guys. I have some pics on Friendster but those were all from my personal digicam..

Yes ananda bhavan is excellent. Dunno if u guys noe this Vasantham presenter called kalpana. She's my childhood fren n i attended her temple wedding where they catered . The food was super good! freshly made tosais n appams..really good food. so they r pretty trusty i guess. I heard they r pricey tho. for veg food..

Mabel: I didn't know u kept cats now..gosh and u r allergic to them? stay away from them b4 the wedding girl...dun want u sneezing ur mukuti away
if u will wear one tt is. i have to go gold shopping soon...do u have to wear a ton of gold? apparently my parents have to put for me abt $40k worth of gold...so scary man. my MIL is super traditional. and i dun even like gold.
hey how to access ur blog?n I wanna see ur cards!

Hi Mabel, can send to me as well pls? sfedric@ yahoo.com. Me dunno tamil, so english is gd :-), othw my FH can review with his pathetic tamil..hehe

Sphire - not holiday, its work!work!work! Given a choice, china wld not be my holiday destination la..Thanks for info on Perumal road temple. Is that the newly renovated one?

Rany - KOOL. We can stress together :-) Less than 1 year to go if its June...

PB - $40K of gold?.. WOw! I like plating my golds to white gold and telling my MIL to get mi the minimum required. I wldnt wanna advertise for the jewellers for free...kekekek.

Chick - Well u still get to travel to china. Wld u hv language barrier there? Perumal was the first to be reno. But it quite small. Go check it out. Its also a hot plc.

Hi PB - wah, make sure u got bodyguard on the wedding day ah..40K is a lot of gold! Can send me ur pics? Me would like to see...my email add is in a few of the postings here...Hey btw, is this Kalpana the one from NUS Bizad, she's got a kid now?

My FH was sayin that Anandha Bhavan is super stuck up tho...heard any such feedback? Guess no choice lah, gotta put up with it..

Hi Sphire..not really language barrier cos me noe quite a bit from watching chinese serials..hehe..just paiseh to speak in front of my frens n colleagues..As for temples, will leave that to FH...since he hasnt done much :-)

K gals..have a gd weekend...

None of the guys seem to do very much. Guess that is why there is a singapore brides forum and not a grooms forum.

Sphire - Heh! Lucky you!! I don't remember clearly the details of my Tamil Oral Exam but I'm sure that I was amusement for the invigilator. It was like, "OK, tea-break! Send in the clown!" ;)

Mabel - Thanks thanks thanks so much for trying to translate the list. Really appreciate it!! If there are some words there that you're not sure of, the equivalent english phonetics will be just fine.

Out of curiosity, when you take medication to counter your kitty allergies, do they give you any side-effects? Does the medication control the allergies entirely??? It's just a real worry you have to put up with the furries (no matter how cute they are) right up til your big day because you're supp to be feeling your best and looking your best on that day. You poor thing!!

As for the catering, can i also ask, if you're catering from an external party, are they allowed to serve the food in the dining hall at the yishun temple? And who exactly lays out the banana leaves and dishes out the food? The caterers or the temple people?

P B - I'd really love to see your photos once they are ready. My add is [email protected] . Also, can I ask about your package at French Bridal? Could you share with me the details of the package? E.g what it covers and how much you paid for it?

And was the catering at Kalpana's wedding on banana leaves at the dining hall where they serve food to you or is it the type where you help yourselves to the food? I would really love to serve appams. They are my favourite!!! Yes, yes, yes, I'm just a sugar junkie.

ok here is the list. Ill just put in on this forum ok. Hope it helps
Groom’s side
Turmeric powder
“varali†turmeric
Rock candy sugar-kalkandu
Dates
Betel leaves
Pakku
Sunnambu _some lime thing for the betel leaves
Turmeric coated coconut
Banana
Kumbamaalai
Garland for marriage
“seeyakai†garland (soapnut)
Kaichendu –bouquet
Assorted flowers
Jasmine garland
3 types of fruits
Rose water sprinkler set “pannier sembuâ€
Grooms vetti
Thalli
Brides metti
Bride’s saree
Bestman’s ring
Vetti for bestman
Vetti for priest
“Kumba†silk cloth

Brides side

Mat for wedding dias

Rose water sprinkler “paneir sembuâ€
Metti for groom

PB: Yes we have cats now...2 of them actually. Also have a dog. Thankfully, I dont have to wear a ton of gold for the wedding! Both sides are pretty easygoing on the subject thus far and it is fine by me!

Rany: I am taking antihistamines and nasal corticosteroids for my allergies. I'll have to be on it till I leave Singapore. No choice about that.
Catering, Yes...the external caterer can serve food in the wedding hall as long as it is vegetarian.I think it is the caterers who have to do all the arranging of the food.I dont think the temple people get involved much.

I still remember my tamil oral so clearly it could have been yesterday. It was pretty uneventful..the normal run of the mill exam. My tamil skills have really detriorated so much....as I found out last nite while trying to translate the list.

On a lighter note....instead of a "kaichendu" for the wedding, I have decided togo with a small posy of flowers. At the moment, I am contemplating pink peonies. They are such beautiful flowers. I really dont like the idea of a kaichendu, they really arnt aesthetic at all. And my fiance def does not want to be carrying one of those kaichendus either(traditionally both the bride and groom carry them). So I am going now to a florist called ASTORIA and am going to see what they can do for me in regards to the peonies. I'll let u all know how it goes.

Sheesh..I really should talk less. All my posts are so long.

Looks like u gals beat the keyboards on weekends...kekeke. Mi feel left out..
I c tht ppl call mi out occassionally...kekeke

PB - Yes lady.. forgot to add previously. Mi too wanna c ur pics. Cld I take a look at ur bridal package too?.I'm at [email protected]. Thank you.

Mabel - Thanks for the listing. Cn u change the bouquet? I thot it's always a must for the traditional ones.

Holly - Congrats ger. Love nest is settled. Whts next?

Chick - Great idea. I shd let my fiance to take charge of the temple thingy.

Rany - I guess if u r getting external caterers.. chairs & tables cn be rented from temple. Food and cutleries wld be from the caterer. Is urs gonna be morning wedding or evening? Appam sound more suitable for morning.. its still ur preference.

Hey Mabel, thanks so much for the list!!! Really appreciate it!! Does the groom also have to have a bouquet too or is it just the bride??? But peonies are lovely!!! They are just the prettiest!! Also, what sort of ring must the groom get for the best man?

Holly - that's excellent news!!! you must be so ecstatic!!!

Has anyone been to the Chiang Mai Night Bazaar and the Chatuchak Market in Bangkok?? We're hoping to get some home decor stuff like lamps, silk bedlinen etc but I've only been to Chatuchak in BKK and not Chiang Mai. So wondering if its comparable or if Chatuchak is a better avenue for such stuff. Any idea??

Sphire - it'll hopefully be a morning wedding because we'd like to get everything done in 1-day. That's the plan at least. ;)

Holly - congrats! Can start on next project - furnishing the place ;-)

Rany - i've been to both. Personally preferred Chatuchak. The bazaars in Chiang Mai are much much smaller and Its probably easier to find things there cos of the smaller scale. U get more variety in Chatuchak and can buy loads of other junk in BKK 2..clothes, shoes, bags..besides the home deco stuff :-)If you really cant decide, take thai airways to chiang mai and transit over in BKK on the way back, thats what i did :-)Best of both worlds...

Hey girls, thanks for the heads up on Chatuchak and Chiang Mai.

Chick - Maybe I'll do just that, stopover in BKK on the way back so that we can fit in Chatuchak in our itinerary. Btw girls, do you know if they open on Fridays or just on Saturdays and Sundays?

Sphire - Hahaha! I know what you mean about getting lost there. My problem is I always think I can get a better bargain at another stall further down the stretch but then when I don't and want to go back to the first stall, I can;t find it anymore!!! Picky, picky, picky!!!

Hi Rany,

Erm i think its open on Fridays, but jus to trade people..u mite wanna confirm..So exciting, i luv going bkk :-)

Also heard there's a new place called Platinum in Pratunam..check it out ya..

Hey Sphire - Looks like it's gone all quiet. Hahah! Hey, great news! I'll be venturing into my first bridal boutique next monday. It's Thomson Wedding D'sign along Thomson Road. I thought I'd start with the cheaper ones first. ;)

But Chick, no lah, we're not going anytime soon. This is prepatory work for next year. We want to coincide this trip to BKK with a little holiday after our wedding. And because we want to pamper ourselves yet hopefully get some great stuff for the home, we thought going to Thailand would be a good idea.

Btw, anyone got any quotes for temple catering? Like from Ananda Bhavan, etc? I guess that's something I should be doing soon.

I'll be doing the food stuff next week. I keep putting it off but def next week, it will be done. So I'll let u know what Ananda Bhavan quotes.

My Peony dream is wilting. Florist says they are only in season during CNY. ?!? Maybe other florists might bring them in. Nicole Kidman had peonies in her bouquet. Im jealous

Rany - Great! Its fun to venture those BB. Heard Thomson as nice designs.. but hvnt seen it tho. BTW is thomson cheaper?. The coordinators will physco u to sign up. Dont get drawn by wht they offer. Before u decide, chart down wht u really need eg. MTM or OTR WG, EG, MUA, bridal car deco.. etc. For mi, I told them I don need EG and MUA for AD and AN. Go thro everything in list and make sure he/she writes everything down on the paper. Highly advice u to check the forum on past experiences of other brides. I believe service is most important. NEway have fun lady.

Mabel - Yeah lady. Could u also let mi hv the quote? Thanks. Probably u wanna try the florist at Holland V? But not sure if they hv peony.

Mabel - I lurrrrrve Nicole's gown. So vintagely gorgeous!!! What colour is your saree? Will pink peonies go with them?

I found these 2 florists who charge quite reasonably. Maybe you want to try them?

Delicate Matters
http://www.delicatematters.com/index1.htm

Redbox
http://www.redbox.sg/products.php?cat_id=34

Btw, thanks in advance for the ananda bhavan quotes.

Sphire, point taken. That's why i need company when I go into these BS. Because I need backup in case I get swayed or psychoed.
Hey, are you guys getting your wedding cars from your BS? I thought of getting a VW Beetles, Morris Minor or London Cabs. But I checked prices on London Cabs. They seem to be pricier than normal cars. It's like $500++ without decor!!

Hey Rany - I'm the same as you. Need someone along to distract mi from being a bait.

I'm thinking of getting a jaguar or bently or any vintage car. Yup its expensive. but its the only chance in getting into such cars. Try getting car deco from BB.

hey..do u know where I can rent a wedding car. Nothing to fancy, a Merc or something like that. Do any of you have contacts?

Rany:thanks for the flower links. will look into that. Yes Nicole's dress was very nice. Marcia Cross's wedding gown was nice to. Very pre raphaelite.

Hi rany, try golden horse for ur Bridal shop, really like the makeup there and their gowns are pretty nice, but be careful who you choose as the coordinator...

Rany - sent u a small list on car rental.

Mabel - cldnt loc ur email add. Gimmi ur email add. I'll sent u the list as well.

Hi Gals, back from China...Sphire..sorry only could get hold of season 1,4,5. Am asking sm1 else to try and help me get the rest...

Sphire..btw, can send me the list of car rental 2? U guys considered borrowing around from friends or family contacts..??

Rany - gd luck with BS shopping....Saw the HerWorld Brides Mag is out..prob can get some ideas

Sphire - Thanks so much for the car rental links! Do you know how much it is to rent a Bentley? I have been in contact with Terence from Vintage Wedding Cars. I really love the Morris Minor but my fiance says its small, like the VW Beetle. I always thought it was big like the London Cab.

Chick - welcome back! I didn't manage to get inspiration from the recent issue of HerWorld Brides.
Waiting for other mags to come out in the meantime.

Infinite - thanks for the tip on Golden Horse. Did you use them/are you using them? Who's your coordinator and when's your big day?

hi i used them last year...and so did my friend and was happy with the results...big day is in dec..(the traditional wedding) had my rom done already and that's why i needed the pics last year

Mabel - U've got mail.

Chick - Welcome back. Thanks for the CDs. U bought seasons 1,4 and 5 this time round? wht abt the CDs u hv? I dont mind old CDs. Hv sent the list. Friends and relatives dont hv big cars. Will be using be fiance lancer for banquet. Will rent for AD.

Rany - Not sure how much it is. My fiance said it would cost abt 1K. If u wanna big cars, hv u considered lexus RX300? Its an hit for brial car nw. I cld pass u some bridal mag. But tore some pages out already.

Infinite - My friend also took GH and was very satisfied. Which outlet did u go to? Heard the Yishun one is good.

Girls

Did u read or saw the luxury wedding of $4M at Ritz? Tht really a dream come ture for the couples. Cant imagine my fiance come to banquet on a horse or elephant.

Sphire - No way!! $4M??? Whoa!! And I think I'll stick with the London Cab - cheaper! heh! Btw, when you said try getting car decor from BB, what do you mean by "BB"??

Infinite - who was your coordinator and MUA at GH? so they're good with indian skin tones? if you don't mind it, could you share with me some of your photos from photoshoot? my email add is [email protected]

Hi Sphire..Thanks for the list. Rather ex ah just to rent cars...we are hoping to borrow from FH's frens..Btw where did u read the $4M story? With regards to DVDs, i only got season 5 this time. 1 & 4 are my old ones plus i hv more with my colleagues..lemme get the final tally n pass u details k..

Rany...think Sphire meant getting car deco from BS...